RoboRally is a board game originally published in 1994 by Wizards of the Coast and re-released in 2005 under the Avalon Hill label. Players assume control of one Robot Control Computer in a widget factory filled with course altering conveyor belts, metal melting laser beams, pits, crushers and ...

learn more… | top users | synonyms

3
votes
1answer
76 views

In Robo Rally, do robots that get pushed onto a conveyor by a pusher also move via conveyor?

If a pusher pushes me onto a conveyor belt, do I then apply the movement of the belt on my robot as well?
6
votes
1answer
203 views

If I drive through a pit, do I die?

In Robo Rally, if I don't end in but rather drive through a pit, do I die? Instructions seem to literally say if they move into, but I'm not clear if it's strictly if they end there.
1
vote
1answer
26 views

In Robo Rally, what happens to locked registers if I power up with more than 4 damage?

If I wake my robot with locked registers, do I have a 'blank' there until it unlocks?
1
vote
1answer
25 views

In Robo Rally, what happens if I run out of cards and can't play a card on the 5th register?

The crab legs option card lets me play 2 cards in one register. If I have 4 damage, this leaves me with no cards to play in the 5th register. Is this just a pass in that turn?
3
votes
1answer
39 views

In Robo Rally, does a powered down robot get to earn option cards and repair?

If he is pushed onto repair spaces etc, does he repair and earn option cards at the end of the 5 register phases if he is on an option space? The rules state: The robot doesn’t receive or execute ...
0
votes
1answer
28 views

Does move priority come first when deciding option card play?

If you started in Dock 1, but my move has higher priority than yours, and my option cards involve my movement while your option card involves your movement, does the higher movement priority allow me ...
0
votes
1answer
23 views

Can I use more than one option card at a time?

I don't see any explicit rules in when or how to use option cards. The rules on page 8 talk of option card priority and refer to using 'an option card'. Can I use two at the same time, such as Ramming ...
1
vote
1answer
32 views

Can you use the Abort Switch option after seeing the other players' cards for that register?

Do I need to declare I am using the abort switch card before we flip for the current register, or can I call to use it after seeing everyone's cards for that register? The description implies the ...
0
votes
1answer
42 views

In Robo Rally, can any number of robots be pushed?

The rules imply to me that one robot can push a line of robots away. Does anyone know of clarifications or have another reading of it? What I mean is the situation where A robot on cell 1A pushes ...
2
votes
2answers
424 views

What games have plan-moves-in-advance mechanics like Robo Rally? [closed]

I'm looking for games with pieces on a board that move and interact according to actions taken previously in the game. In Robo Rally you give your piece instructions in advance. I recall a similar ...
8
votes
1answer
300 views

Can a powered-down robot be repaired at a workshop?

When a robot is powered down it loses all damage tokens, but can collect new ones by laser fire. If a damaged, powered-down robot is standing on a workshop at the end of its turn: Does it lose one ...
5
votes
3answers
140 views

What are useful guidelines for deciding when to power down in RoboRally?

I'm having trouble putting my finger on clear guidelines for choosing when to announce a power down, and would love to hear some analyses.
10
votes
7answers
1k views

Robo Rally - Alternative rules for option cards?

Robo Rally is a fun game but the option cards totally break it if a person just sits on the wrench and hammer and collects them all. Has anyone tried a house rule to discourage this behaviour? How ...