A conquer-the-world game set in a fantasy realm. Players must take control of various different races and use their special abilities to dominate their opponents.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

1
vote
0answers
27 views

Should spiderines be allowed in 'A Dig Too Far?'

I was playing the Small World Realms scenario 'A Dig Too Far' with some friends the other night. The map has 'veins of gold' that must all be dug from top to bottom, simultaneously. Strategically ...
4
votes
3answers
177 views

Use of race tokens when conquering new regions

When conquering a new region, do you deploy race tokens from other regions you have already conquered, or do you use your unused race tokens?
7
votes
1answer
256 views

Are players required to make conquests on their turn?

I did not find it clear in the rules if a player is required to make conquests on his/her turn. Is it legal to turtle on your turn by not making any actions, redeploying troops and then scoring?
1
vote
2answers
67 views

Use of the special power “Diplomat” against another player not yet entered the game in Smallworld [duplicate]

If you're playing a race with the special power "Diplomat" during the first round, are you allowed to declare peace with a player that has not yet entered the game?
2
votes
1answer
187 views

Why do dwarves only have a racial base of 3 tokens?

You only get three dwarves for a base, whose special ability is an extra victory token for mine tiles, and that this ability is retained when in decline. This seems like a rip off! There are other ...
3
votes
1answer
92 views

Small World, what does “permanently discard” mean?

In Small World, after conquering region for loosing player rules state: Permanently discard one Race token back into the Storage tray Now I'm not totally sure what does that mean. For most races ...
2
votes
2answers
224 views

Small World: Why does it use 3-point coins? [closed]

What is the point of using 3-point coins in a base-ten coin game? There are 5s and 10s, and you can almost never exchange the two for any multiples of 3.
6
votes
3answers
324 views

Tactics to fight or deter Diplomatic races in 2 player games

Last night I was playing a two player game and my opponent swapped to a Diplomatic race partway through the game. they managed to surround me, effectively hemming me in and limiting my score. In the ...
9
votes
1answer
550 views

When your active race has no tokens on the board, do they still have to go into decline before you choose a new race?

This is a pretty simple question, but I can't find a definitive answer for it. Let's say that my active race has only a single race token on the board. During another players turn, that last token is ...
7
votes
2answers
473 views

When does the Gypsies racial ability come into play?

Do you collect the coins at the end of the Gypsy player's turn, or at the end of the game round?
4
votes
1answer
431 views

Can a Seafaring race attack the land from a sea or lake region?

As a seafaring race if I conquer the lake in the middle of the map, do the regions adjacent to the lake become vulnerable to my attack?
3
votes
2answers
441 views

In Smallworld, do Fortresses pay the +1 VC only on the turn they are placed, or do they each pay for every turn that the race is active?

The question is regarding the fortresses. If they each pay +1 VC for each turn that they are on the map and your race is active, then they become quite powerful because the VC will be building ...
7
votes
4answers
795 views

What (if any) is the relationship between your Active and In Decline race?

If the special power of the active race pertains to regions occupied by the race you have in decline, are you allowed to collect coins for that? For example, you control the Iron Dwarves which are in ...
8
votes
1answer
839 views

Can the sorcerer's ability be used at any time during the turn?

I've always played Smallworld with the belief that the Sorcerer's swap/replace ability was only used at the end of the player's turn. But I recently played it with a different group who said the ...
6
votes
1answer
283 views

What are the differences between Vinci and Small World?

Small World has been described as a re-implementation of Vinci, but I've heard that there are some non-trivial differences. How do these two games differ in terms of rules/mechanics and feel of play? ...
11
votes
2answers
672 views

What happens when you can't conquer regions?

I came into a situation with a 2-player Small World game, where I was surrounded by an active race with the Diplomatic power, and that player had declared peace with me. I could not attack the active ...
10
votes
1answer
361 views

Do any Small World expansions lengthen play time?

I have recently bought Small World and I'm loving it. I find it hovers just on the edge of what I find an acceptable play time, but I figure that once it's learned, we can speed it up a bit. I'm ...
5
votes
1answer
823 views

Can Sorcerers convert two units from the same Tribe in one turn?

A Cunning Rules Lawyer pointed out that, while the rules for Sorcerers say: Once per turn per opponent, your Sorcerers can conquer a Region by substituting one of your opponent's Active tokens ...
5
votes
1answer
290 views

What Happens If The Sorcerers Run Out of Tokens?

In a game of Small World we were playing recently, we were facing Seafaring Sorcerers in a 5-player game, and they managed to expand very well, to the point where they were rapidly converting over ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Can the Diplomat power be used against a player without an active race?

Tonight I gained Diplomatic Sorcerers, two of the other 3 players were in decline so had no active race. A reading of the rules implied to us that the Diplomatic power could not be used against those ...
7
votes
1answer
394 views

Do bonus coin powers include territories controlled by races in decline?

Some of the special powers give bonus coins based on regions you "occupy at turn end." Does this include regions controlled by your previous race that has gone into decline? For example, if you have ...
5
votes
1answer
764 views

In Small World, how does the Spirits' ability apply to already declined races?

I have a small question regarding the "Spirit special power" (quote from the rules: You may thus end up with two different races in decline on map at the same time and score for them both.) If I have ...
13
votes
1answer
1k views

Sorcerers versus Seafaring

We had this situation in a game of Small World tonight. Seafaring Tritons took over the lake (using two race tokens) and then removed one of them during re-deployment. There was an adjacent Sorcerer ...
2
votes
1answer
853 views

Smallworld: scoring points during decline of second race

If I have a race in decline and choose to decline my current race, do I score both races or just the new race in decline? I am assuming that just the new race, since we (normally) cannot have two ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Smallworld: Can the sorcerer's ability be used on a lost tribe token?

From the rulebook: "Sorcerers can conquer a Region by substituting one of your opponent's Active tokens with one of your own taken from the storage tray". In this case, is the lost tribe token ...
5
votes
2answers
205 views

Is it better to go first or last in Vinci?

My son is convinced that it's best to go last in Vinci because you have the more complete information of seeing where other players have started their civilizations and you always get last turn (like ...
6
votes
2answers
590 views

Pygmies vs. Sorcerers

When Pygmies are killed the player can roll the die and get 0-3 new pygmies for his next turn. Does he get to do this if a sorcerer uses his special ability to take control of a lone pygmy? My guess ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

In Small World: Underground, do the Iron Dwarves keep their hammers from turn to turn?

We just played our first game of Small World: Underground, and we're not sure if we played the Iron Dwarves right. The Iron Dwarves can get Silver Hammer tokens for occupying Mine regions, and it ...
9
votes
1answer
362 views

Can I combine troops from multiple regions when conquering?

I have a question regarding Smallworld and using tokens to attack a region from multiple regions. The scenario is this: A group of 7 Shrooms is sat between a group of 2 dwarfs to the north and 6 to ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

What are the differences between Small World and SW Underground?

I was excited to see Small World Underground on the shelves of the local game shop yesterday, but neither the box nor the official web site seem to offer a succinct comparison with the original game. ...
16
votes
1answer
3k views

Playing spirit ghouls in decline

Consider a scenario: Round 1: I play spirit ghouls and dispatch them somewhere on the map. Round 2: I make ghouls in decline. Round 3: I choose the other race (X) and play them according to the ...
13
votes
3answers
2k views

Small World: Strategies for using dwarves in a 2-player game

We started playing Small World in a 2-player setup and the race which we found very difficult to play was Dwarves. The con of dwarves is their low number of troops (3), which means that it is hard to ...
9
votes
1answer
569 views

Small World : purpose of hiding VP

Have you ever tried playing Small World with visible VP ? It sometimes frustrates me to discover in the end that some player had much more or less VP that we expected. Memorizing the VP count for ...
4
votes
1answer
664 views

Small World: Do Orcs Get Race Bonus When Conquering Abandoned Territories?

So Orcs get a bonus for conquering unoccupied territories. If the Orcs abandon a territory and then re-conquer it later in a turn, do they get the bonus? Technically they are conquering an unoccupied ...
4
votes
1answer
798 views

Small World: Do Spirit Ghouls Score When Active Race Declines?

So I already understand that when Spirit Ghouls are the already-in-decline race, they cannot make any conquests on the turn that the active race declines, but do they score victory points for the ...
12
votes
4answers
2k views

How does the Amazons “+4 When Attacking” power work?

So I got a copy of Small World, and in our first game, the "Amazons" came up early. According to the rules, they get "+4 when attacking". What exactly does that mean? We argued it out and what we ...
17
votes
4answers
15k views

What's an effective Small World strategy for new players?

I've played one game of Small World. I thoroughly enjoyed it, despite losing badly. For one, I had no game plan, and was sort of just trying things randomly. Is there an effective, yet basic, ...
7
votes
1answer
725 views

Small World: Seafaring Necromancer!

We played a 6-player game of Small World with the Necromancer Island expansion and a lot of fun it was too. Our Necromancer pulled off a narrow win by getting his 14th ghost onto the map at the very ...
13
votes
1answer
3k views

Does Small World's Dragon Master allow conquering non-adjacent regions?

Dragon Master: Once per turn, you may conquer a Region using a single Race token, regardless of the number of enemy tokens defending it. Once conquered, place your Dragon there... Does ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

In Small World, with berserk, do you roll reinforcement die before you nominate how many troops you're attacking with?

I.e., Do you: Roll reinforcement die, and add troops to make the short fall? Declare the number of troops you're using, and use the reinforcement die in an attempt to bolster your numbers?
19
votes
3answers
4k views

How can I counter Merchant Elves?

In Small World, the only combination we've encountered that we consider "broken" in any way is Merchant Elves - the Merchant property doubles the value of every occupied area, while the immortality of ...