Smash-Up is a card game with pirates, wizards, ninjas, aliens, dinosaur and robots.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

1
vote
2answers
88 views

A good counter faction to Ninja-Zombies

I just played Smash up with the second edition and the first as Bear Cavalry-tricksters against my Dad who played as Ninja Zombies And he kicked my butt, I'm aware that there are counter ...
5
votes
1answer
63 views

What gets Destroyed?

Given Hang in There - Play on one of your minions. Ongoing: If this minion would be destroyed, move it to another base and destroy this action instead. Nukebot - power 5 - Ongoing: After this minion ...
4
votes
3answers
78 views

Can poison action card destroy Warbot?

In the Smash Up game, Ninjas have a poison action card. Will it have any effect on Warbot, who is a minion which cannot be destroyed? Poison - Play on a minion. Destroy any number of actions on it....
1
vote
1answer
62 views

When does a Leprechaun's Ongoing ability activate?

Consider the following scenario: Leprechaun (Tricksters Minion): Ongoing: After another player plays a minion here with less power than this minion's power, destroy it (resolve its ability first)....
1
vote
1answer
51 views

Smash up: First mate with ongoing actions attached to it. Do the actions follow him?

I'd like to hear peoples opinion on this. The text on the cards mentioned below: First Mate: "Special: After this base i scored, you may move this minion to another base instead of the discard pile"....
2
votes
1answer
218 views

Scoring Bases in Smash Up

On my turn, I had tripped a base so it would score. The other player played a special card that let him play any action as a special. He chose to play an action card that blocked the base from ...
1
vote
1answer
84 views

I missed scoring a base

I played my first game last night and on several occasions I missed scoring a base - miscounting, forgetfulness, etc. My daughter, ever vigilant, noticed the missed scoring and brought it to my ...
2
votes
1answer
71 views

Smash Up Question about Werewolves

LET THE DOG OUT... "Destroy any number of minions at your minion's base whose total power is less than or equal to your minion's power." Now, is this referring to the total power of ALL minions that ...
2
votes
1answer
96 views

What is the power of 'Mimic' while it is in the deck?

Mimic's text: Ongoing: This minion's power is equal to the highest power printed on a minion card in play. What is the power of 'Mimic' while it is in the deck? I.E. can a G.E.L.F. or Sprout ...
4
votes
1answer
65 views

Does Microbot Archive Apply to all Bases?

The Microbot Archive minion states: Ongoing: After one of your Microbots (including this one) is destroyed, draw a card. I assume, since it doesn't specify, that this applies to all Microbots on ...
2
votes
1answer
94 views

Can Non-Robot Minions be Reclaimed via Microbot Reclaimer? [duplicate]

When a Microbot Alpha has been played, it gives an ongoing action of [...] All of your minions are considered Microbots. Does this include minions in your discard pile? The question came up in ...
2
votes
1answer
170 views

Does affecting an action card affect the Minion it has been played on?

Can an ongoing action card played on a minion be destroyed when an action played on a base is preventing minions from being affected? For example: A minion has Tooth and Claw... and Guns applied to ...
1
vote
1answer
44 views

Order of Operations on Actions

If a First Mate (power of 2) has been poisoned [...] Ongoing: This minion has -4 power. (Minions have minimum power of 0.) Also, if a Howl action card has been played Each of your minions ...
3
votes
1answer
91 views

Can a Tenacious Z be Played After Drawing Two Cards?

In the scenario where a player has 9 cards at the end of their turn and drawing two more cards gives them a Tenacious Z, can they discard it and play it if one hasn't already been played? In step #5 ...
4
votes
1answer
397 views

Doubts with the “before a base scores” part

I don't fully get the "before a base scores" mechanic. When a base is about to score, can I use EVERY card I have in my hand that allows me to do something before a base scores? And if that card ...
3
votes
1answer
132 views

Can two bases be scored in one turn?

If a base scores and a minion moves to another base, like First Mate or Flying Monkey, and the new base has more power than the breaking point, does the new base score on this turn or next turn?
4
votes
1answer
146 views

How is 'The Homeworld' played correctly?

In a recent Smash Up match we had the base 'The Homeworld', that has the following ability: After each time a minion is played here, its owner may play an extra minion of power 2 or less. I ...
3
votes
2answers
333 views

Can I stack ongoing action cards on the same base in Smash Up?

In Smash Up, can I play multiple actions on a base?
3
votes
2answers
244 views

In Smash Up, do I have to execute an effect when a card is played or can I choose to do it later in the turn?

Fairy Circle from Pretty Pretty Smash Up says After the first time you play a minion here each turn, you may play an extra minion here or play an extra action Do I have to play that minion ...
6
votes
3answers
222 views

In Smash Up, can you “destroy” a card from your hand?

Here are the definitions from their rulebook located here: Smash Up Rules Discard: When a card gets discarded, it goes to the discard pile of the player whose deck it came from, no matter who ...
4
votes
1answer
426 views

Can minions have negative power?

For instance Mr. Grumpers from the Kitty Cat faction says Choose a minion. It has -2 power until the end of the turn Can a minion be rendered with negative power, or is it always at least zero ...
2
votes
2answers
93 views

Can I resolve all special effects or just 1 at a time in turn with other players before and after bases score

The rules say that special effects are resolved starting with the current player and in turn clockwise. Can I resolve all of my multiple special effects when it is my turn, or do I only resolve 1, ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Microbot Alpha: how far does it consider others Microbots?

Microbot Alpha says "All of your minions are considered Microbots." Does this mean while this card is in play, every single minion in play and in discard and in my hand are considered Microbots? ...
2
votes
1answer
227 views

Do I only discard down to 10 after drawing 2 cards on my turn?

If at any time outside of my turn I end up with more than 10 cards, for instance from having cards returned to my hand by another's action, do I keep and play from them on my turn only to discard down ...
5
votes
1answer
170 views

Zombies/Robots, Can you combine they're coming to get you and zapbot?

I was playing zombies/robots and near the end game had all of my zapbots in the discard pile. If I use "they're coming to get you" (you may play a minion on this base from your discard pile instead of ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

smash up? run out of cards

Recently I was playing ninja-mages deck. After I gained 14 points my deck run out of cards. What should I do when I can't draw cards anymore? (because my deck is empty)
2
votes
1answer
425 views

Order of extra actions/minions?

So far, we have always played under the assumption that you can play an extra action/minion before playing the standard one. Another player just challenged that interpretation claiming, "it's not an '...
1
vote
1answer
314 views

The Homeworld base

I have this question about the Homeworld base ability. The text says: After each time a minion is played here, its owner may play an extra minion of power 2 or less". I was just wondering if I ...
1
vote
1answer
266 views

Why would I want negative effects?

In the board game smash up some cards state that if someone destroys a card, that card will have negative effects on them. Therefore, why would I want to destroy the card? I don't know if I'm not ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Smash Up: Microbot Fixer + Microbot Alpha

The Microbot Fixer has the ability: If this is the first minion you played this turn, you may play an extra minion. Ongoing: Each of your Microbots gains +1 power. If the Microbot Fixer is ...
3
votes
2answers
527 views

Using Copycat with one-shot abilities

In the Science Fiction Double Feature expansion, the card Copycat allows you to copy the ability of another's player minion for a turn. Choose another player's minion in play. This card has the ...
2
votes
1answer
132 views

The Nexus - when does its ability resolve?

I'm confused about the base from the Science Fiction Double Feature expansion. The Nexus (19; 3, 3, 2): The winner replaces this base with a base of his or her choice from the base discard pile, ...
2
votes
2answers
405 views

Does the order that cards are played have any effect? (Specifically poison)

If I play a Poison card (from the Ninja faction) on a 3 power minion that minion now has 0 as that is the minimum. Poison: Play on a minion. Destroy any number of actions on it. Ongoing: This ...
1
vote
2answers
527 views

In Smash Up, is the Zeppelin action ongoing?

The Zeppelin action, from the SteamPunk faction, has a talent to move a minion to or from the base on which it was played. It does not specify "ongoing" in its text, but it seems that this has to be ...
4
votes
1answer
382 views

What are the original 16 base cards in Smash Up?

A friend loaned me Smash Up with all the expansions but I'd like to start out playing just the "base" set. Which 16 bases should I use? (He already removed the duplicate bases from Level 9000 so I ...
2
votes
2answers
277 views

May I play only one Tenacious Z or all of them from discard pile in my turn?

The card text of "Tenacious Z" says: Special: During your turn you may play this card from your discard pile as an extra minion. You may only use the ability of one Tenacious Z each turn. I'm ...
5
votes
2answers
819 views

Can you get actions in another players turn with Hidden Ninja and Chronomage?

The card text of "Hidden Ninja" says: Special: Before a base scores, play a minion there. Chronomage says: You may play an extra action this turn. Do I have the possiblity to play an ...
2
votes
1answer
986 views

Survival of the Fittest

Please clarify I am playing Survival of the Fittest properly. Two of the bases in play both have two creatures on them, one is strength 3 and one is strength 2. I play Survival of the Fittest and ...
3
votes
1answer
132 views

Do creature effects trigger every time they move base?

Do creature effects trigger every time they move base, or just the first time they enter play? For example, if I play Invader, gain 1 VP, then play Invasion and move it to a second base, do I gain ...
3
votes
2answers
676 views

Can Bear Hug force a player to destroy an Incorporeal minion?

The wording on Bear Hug states: Each other player destroys his or her minion with the least power (owner chooses in case of ties). The wording on Incorporeal states: Play on one of your ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Play before a base score: deciding the order

I can read in the manual that the active player plays first whenever there's a decision about who first resolves an action. But in this case, what if many players have MULTIPLE cards that can be ...
3
votes
1answer
625 views

Destroying minions with extra power

In SmashUp game: When you have a minion that gets extra power, like the war raptor who gets +1 for every other war raptor including himself: What is the power score that you use to determine if ...
1
vote
1answer
498 views

Elder Thing - “This minion is not affected by opponents' cards.”

Elder Thing's rule text states that "This minion is not affected by opponents' cards." If so, what happens if an opponent plays a card (forget it's name. It was in the Minions of Cthulhu faction) ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

Do actions that affect all cards also affect cards in your hand.?

In Smash Up the wording on the cards is often critical to how they play. Unfortunately the rules are very light on certain situations and I haven't been able to find an answer online to a situation ...
8
votes
12answers
28k views

Are there specific deck combinations to avoid in Smash Up?

I just got the game, and haven't had a chance to play yet, but I did a quick run through on the decks (I got the basic version; no expansions yet), and it seemed like some of the combinations might be ...
9
votes
3answers
6k views

Are the larger base cards available for Smash Up?

In Geek & Sundry's episode of Table Top featuring Smash Up, they were using larger base cards that featured a built-in counter for the break point: I just bought Smash Up, and it came with base ...