The stack is a common system for managing the order events resolve in. It is used as the foundation of event resolution in Magic: the Gathering and many other games.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

16
votes
2answers
19k views

Does an activated ability resolve if the card with the ability leaves the battlefield?

Player A taps Goblin Fireslinger targeting Player B; its "deals 1 damage to target player" ability is placed on the stack. Player B gets priority and responds with Snap, targeting Goblin Fireslinger. ...
28
votes
4answers
13k views

Can I cast a spell after a certain part of the stack is resolved in MTG?

Let's say my opponent plays a spell like Fireball. It is put on the stack. I cast a Snapcaster Mage in response. My opponent does nothing in return. The Snapcaster Mage resolves first and it seems ...
2
votes
3answers
230 views

Can I respond to a draw from Gitaxan probe?

If I resolve a Gitaxian Probe, can I crack a Lion Eye Diamond before I draw?