The stack is a common system for managing the order events resolve in. It is used as the foundation of event resolution in Magic: the Gathering and many other games.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

25
votes
4answers
11k views

Can I cast a spell after a certain part of the stack is resolved in MTG?

Let's say my opponent plays a spell like Fireball. It is put on the stack. I cast a Snapcaster Mage in response. My opponent does nothing in return. The Snapcaster Mage resolves first and it seems ...
16
votes
2answers
15k views

Does an activated ability resolve if the card with the ability leaves the battlefield?

Player A taps Goblin Fireslinger targeting Player B; its "deals 1 damage to target player" ability is placed on the stack. Player B gets priority and responds with Snap, targeting Goblin Fireslinger. ...
16
votes
2answers
655 views

Epic Experiment

My brother showed me Epic Experiment today. Now he says you can use it to put creatures in the graveyard and then fish them out with the free spells you get, because the free spells get put on the ...
8
votes
2answers
534 views

Are creatures destroyed if their destruction happens at the same instant they lose “indestructible”?

Scenario: I play Timber Protector which makes all other Treefolk indestructible (I only have Treefolk in play). My opponent plays a Day of Judgment. Does this only destroy the ...
5
votes
1answer
705 views

When is my earliest opportunity to destroy a creature I couldn't counter?

My friend has been playing a sliver commander deck and uses Root Sliver which is a thorn in the side of my control. Lets say I have an instant in my had that can destroy the Root Sliver and a counter ...
3
votes
3answers
625 views

Indestructible and the stack

If I play an instant that grants target creature "indestructible" can an opponent use an instant in response to destroy said creature? Would the stack resolve their ability first? If so, would I be ...
3
votes
1answer
763 views

Can I cast a Slaughter Pact on a Spellskite after I played Lightning Storm and I already discarded some lands?

My opponent has a Spellskite on board. He is at 17 life, has one blue mana and one land in hand. I just resolved Ad Nauseam + Angel's Grace and I have my entire deck in my hand. I have 2 Slaughter ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Triggered abilities: Whenever a creature deals damage

I have among others the following two permanents in play under my command: Derevi, Emyrical Tactician, which has "Whenever Derevi, Empyrical Tactician enters the battlefield or a creature you control ...
2
votes
2answers
469 views

Do spells targeting Daring Thief follow it after control is exchanged?

Suppose I have Daring Thief out. My opponent attempts to kill it via Doom Blade or another kill spell. In response I untap Daring Thief with Thassa's Ire, and attempt to gain control of, say, my ...
2
votes
3answers
208 views

Can I respond to a draw from Gitaxan probe?

If I resolve a Gitaxian Probe, can I crack a Lion Eye Diamond before I draw?
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Will a creature cast with Dash still return to your hand if it dies in combat?

While going through Fate Reforged, I became a little bit confused by the new mechanic Dash. For example, if you take a look at Goblin Heelcutter, the ability states as such: Whenever Goblin ...
2
votes
1answer
265 views

+1/+1 counter, where does it go when my adversary bolts it's target?

Vastwood Hydra is on the field, 7/7 atm (7 x +1/+1 counters). My adversary blocks it for combined strength of 7, all creatures in combat die when the damage resolves. When Vastwood Hydra dies I get to ...
1
vote
1answer
146 views

When is a Spell considered to be “Cast”?

Is a spell "Cast" when it is first declared and put on the stack? Or when it resolves? I used to think it was when it resolves. But I think I am wrong. For example, if my opponent puts a creature ...
1
vote
2answers
146 views

Multiple stack abilities and casting spells in that time

My question is as follows: If I have multiple "At the beginning of your upkeep..." abilities, and I want to cast an instant spell or activate an ability during that time, can I cast the spell between ...
0
votes
1answer
82 views

Can I activate an ability after part of a spell has resolved? (please read example) [duplicate]

I made a Phelddagrif group hug deck with Windfall as my win condition (obviously I would only use it in an emergency) and Elixir of Immortality. So, I cast Windfall with, say, 40 cards in my hand, ...