This tag appears every now and then, when tags are deleted off of a question by automatic means. It means what it says, and indicates that those questions need editing.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

2
votes
1answer
99 views

Can Bazooka Joe use Black Ops when attached to a unit?

Bazooka Joe has the Black Ops special rule that allows him to be given a free order during the command phase. The Black Ops rule is not listed as a "Shared" rule, so it is not normally given to any ...
7
votes
1answer
120 views

How literally should I take the “Man of War” in Pirate King?

I've encountered the following card while playing Pirate King: "Man of War: Fight ship of equal value: win 1 crew 1 cannon and 500 bronze" I'm not sure how to interpret it and I haven't really ...
6
votes
2answers
178 views

Can a player swap position with a dead body in lifeboat?

In the lifeboat game the rules when you are unconscious specify that : Other players could swap their position with yours or steal your cards and you can't defend yourself. But nothing is ...
2
votes
1answer
100 views

How many moves can I make in a single turn in Maharaja?

The Maharaja rules state that I can take my two actions any way I like. I can even sub-divide the actions. So for example, given the "build palace and house" action, I could build a palace in one ...
-2
votes
1answer
113 views

Looking for information about the 1957 board game “The Buccaneers” [closed]

I recently acquired a board game called "The Buccaneers". The box cover has a picture of Robert Shaw, who played the starring role of the TV show of the same name. I have tried researching the game, ...
0
votes
2answers
238 views

What impact will Kickstarter have on how Designer Board Games are released?

There have been some notable releases through Kickstarter. Eminent Domain - one of the earlier big successes. Eaten By Zombies D-Day Dice - most successful board game kickstarter to date. How do ...
3
votes
1answer
115 views

When claiming victory, can one select a character other than the Chosen One or Fenrir?

According to the rules, for a normal Heroic victory: ...you must move the Chosen One (by the normal movement methods) to the building where the Organ of Eternity is located... However, the ...
4
votes
1answer
224 views

In the game “En Garde!” - How do optional routines work?

For some time I've been puzzling over just how optional routines work in En Garde! I'm not even sure I fully understand how the Parry-Reposte routine works, let alone the Optional Block and Optional ...
2
votes
1answer
186 views

How to solve problems with the Invisibility power in Strange Synergy

This question is about the board game "Strange Synergy" by Steve Jackson Games - its a rather complex game so if you are not familiar with it, please ask for clarifications before attempting to ...
5
votes
1answer
138 views

Does “Swarm” AI card affect all Locust on the map?

In the Gears of War board game there are AI cards. These cards generally refer to AI's that fit a specific criteria (like "all wretch with 3 spaces"). However the Swarm card reads: Each Locust ...
2
votes
1answer
37 views

Do you get to draw a card if you rotate a tile?

In Eruption, one gets to draw new tiles by connecting lava flows to cities. If there is already a tile connected to a city, and it is rotated using a Aftershock card, and the lava is still connected ...
4
votes
1answer
138 views

Wargames Research Group

I used to use Wargames Research Group rules, mainly for modern warfare (post-WWII) wargames. Does anyone know if they are still available, or maybe a more recent update of them?
-1
votes
2answers
203 views

Where can I download the mantic Kings of War rulebook?

As Ben said it should be avaliable for download, but I couldn't find it.
4
votes
1answer
200 views

Clarification of the Veto Card in El Grande

In El Grande, it is possible to collect a Veto card, which can be used to prevent a player from performing the action of the card they choose. It can be used to veto one card in the current round or ...
1
vote
1answer
73 views

In Conquest of Planet Earth, Do I conquer a Location with my remaining Alien Ships after Losing the final Fight Round?

Consider a scenario where I land 2 Alien Ships at a Location with a Resistance level of 1. This means there will be 1 Fight. From the Battles, Fights, and Fight Rounds section of the Rules Wiki: ...
5
votes
2answers
235 views

If two people wanted to play Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, would each have to buy the cards?

Would there be enough cards for two players to build adequate decks with only one copy of the base set and/or the Asylum Packs, or would each player have to have their own? Thanks!
2
votes
2answers
53 views

Multiplayer version of Quizl

I recently started playing David Parlett's Quizl. It's a word game that is something like a cross between a word search and Battleship, and I really enjoy it. It's a two-player game, but I was ...
4
votes
1answer
105 views

Typo in the Women's Health Clinic, Richville, MD card?

We dug out my old X-Files CCG cards to play tonight, and in the process of playing, came across the card "Women's Health Clinic, Richville, MD". Card Stats: WOMENʹS HEALTH CLINIC, RICHVILLE, MD ...
5
votes
1answer
408 views

Choosing early round paintings to auction in Modern Art

One game that still leaves me stumped for good strategy is Reiner Knizia's auction game Modern Art. The last time it hit our table, I noticed that when it was my turn to auction a painting early in ...
2
votes
0answers
104 views

Any gotchas/common mistakes for first time players playing Asia Engulfed?

A number of years ago (... 5ish now I think) I played a game called Europe Engulfed a few times, and loved it. Since moving a few years back, I have not had anyone to play with locally. Recently, a ...
3
votes
1answer
56 views

Power Struggle : Is the player being bribed allowed to see how much cash is offered?

In Power Struggle, to bribe a player, you put money secretly in a folder and pass it to the player you want to bribe. Can the player who is being bribed see how much is offered? If not, what is the ...
5
votes
1answer
187 views

Can a berserk unit advance in Advanced Squad Leader?

In ASL, may a berserk unit advance in the APh? It seems logical that it can't, but I cannot find the rule.
3
votes
1answer
130 views

Zeus Role on Odysseus

Besides the Zeus' power of deciding to end the turn prematurely, he also fills the vacated space when the ship moves. Does he choose the "adventure disc" to be placed, or merely selects one at ...
3
votes
2answers
556 views

Shaun the sheep games rules?

Recently I bought some shaun the sheep games from kosmos.de, but the rules are in german. Does anyone know the rules for next two games : card game board game
3
votes
1answer
373 views

Does anyone know the official rules for Destruct 3?

We've got our hands on an old Destruct 3 game that came without any rules. We contacted the makers (Uncle Skunkle), but oddly enough, they wouldn't send us the rules without documentation of where we ...
1
vote
1answer
292 views

Where can I find the rules for Word Thief?

I recently inherited a handful of games from a family member. One of those games happened to be Word Thief. When I sat down to play, I realized that the rulebook had been lost or was not included in ...
9
votes
0answers
130 views

What are some good strategies against land takeovers in Alexandros?

I recently purchased Alexandros and after a few games I found that getting a head start makes you the primary target for land-takeovers. A slow start can also cost you the game, however, and make it ...
8
votes
2answers
232 views

Mystery of the Abbey - How to track clues over time?

If I have Novice Gerard in my hand early in the game, and quickly learn that player A has one Templar Novice crossed off and player B has one Templor Novice crossed off, I know I can eliminate all ...
3
votes
2answers
211 views

In Alien Frontiers, how does Raider's Outpost work after a ship has been teleported to another Orbital Facility?

Scenario setup: A player uses the Raider's Outpost by docking a 3-4-5 set of ships. Same player uses an Orbital Teleporter to move the 5 ship to another Orbital Facility. Do the 3 and 4 ships ...
2
votes
2answers
625 views

Looking for full spoilers for the Shadowrun CCG

I'm looking for full-text (or even better, image) spoilers for the old Shadowrun collectible card game (interchangeably known as Shadowrun TCG or CCG). Basically, I'm looking for a list of all the ...
3
votes
1answer
51 views

Should I avoid getting any pot in Poison or try to pick a color and get as much as possible?

What is the better strategy in Poison (BGG)? Trying to get nothing at all may be a good strategy, but sometimes hard. Is it better to try to get the most of a color, so that this color doesn't count ...
4
votes
2answers
136 views

When does discard happen if player goes over limit after passing in Endeavor?

The rules state: When a player passes, they must discard cards down to their Card Limit if necessary. also: Only when a player passes will they have to discard down to their Card Limit, ...
2
votes
1answer
86 views

Expulsion Card ruling in Mesopotamia

I don't have the english card text ready but the german one translates roughly like this: Move an opponents person or hut (with or without sacrifice token) up to 3 hexes from it's current ...
3
votes
1answer
103 views

Can I put more than one Master Builder in the King's Court?

I played my first game of The Pillars of the Earth today with 3 other people. I had a question about the King's Court which was not specifically addressed in the rules. If I have already placed a ...
2
votes
1answer
165 views

Strategy for Serenissima

Serenissima is a game of trade during the renaissance. Players have ships to carry the cargo across the Mediterranean. They try to controll the harbor cities in order to set the price and collect the ...
2
votes
1answer
63 views

Any defense against the forum cards in Roma?

My friend and I have played about a dozen games of Roma, and it seems pretty consistent that the player with the most forum cards wins. They're just the fastest way to collect victory points. Has ...
3
votes
1answer
65 views

Master of Venice - On Delivering Guild Orders

In the game Master of Venice, what happen if after I have delivered a Guild Order, and upon drawing a new one, I still have enough goods to meet the newly drawn order? According to the rules, I still ...
5
votes
2answers
449 views

Does a Trumpet card count as following suit?

Trumpet includes three "trumpet" cards without a suit that always trump any other card. However, the rules aren't particularly clear on whether they are truly "wild" in the sense that they could ...
12
votes
5answers
9k views

How can I tell if these vintage boardgames are worth anything?

My grandparents passed away recently, and my mother is cleaning out their house. They have some vintage board games (ca. 1960's, maybe?) in their house, and she's wondering what to do with them. I ...
5
votes
1answer
127 views

Rules for the game “Chainstore”

There is an old box in our storeroom containing the game Chainstore. My brother and I bought the game when we were kids (ages ago). Now my children wants to play it, but the rules are missing. I've ...
3
votes
1answer
117 views

Sunrise vs. “Summon Eclipse” in Buffy the Vampire Slayer

Yes, I play the "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" (US) board game. Yes, I like it. On to the question! The Sunrise rule states: When the talisman moves to the Sunrise, all vampires that are outside ...
4
votes
1answer
890 views

Blood Bowl 2nd edition: Star Players

Is there a list of Star Players for 2nd Edition of Blood Bowl somewhere? Obviously the ones from Star Players Handbook and Companion Rulebook is simple enough but the ones printed in White Dwarf etc?
4
votes
2answers
67 views

Can a toilet be covered if the votes are tied in Drunter und Drüber?

In the game Drunter und Drüber a tile that covers a toilet must be voted on by all players. The rules say that the tile is placed if the yes votes exceed the no votes, and the tile is not places if ...
6
votes
1answer
192 views

How does DeGray's Pilebunker chip work when trashing Gems of size 2+?

In Puzzle Strike, the "Pilebunker" chip says: Opponents reveal their hands, trash their largest [Gem chip], then you gain that many [1 Gems chip]s. How does this work when trashing 2-Gem, ...
10
votes
1answer
432 views

Surprise in World in Flames

Assume the following situation: Italy at war with France but not CW. Italian navy is in port in La Spezia, along with one German SUB and a German AA. CW DOWs Italy. In the port strike: Are the ...