Tagged Questions

In the grim darkness of the far future, there is only war. Warhammer 40,000 is a detailed futuristic table-top battle simulation.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

1
vote
1answer
21 views

Can I put any ranged weapon on a Crisis Battlesuit?

I've read the Codex (6th) entry for the XV8 Crisis Team and it says: Any Crisis Shas'ui may take up to three items from the Ranged Weapons and/ or Support Systems lists. I can see only one ...
2
votes
2answers
53 views

Which battleforce should I buy as a newbie player?

After playing some Mordheim games we decided with my friends to buy a Warhammer 40k battleforce and start playing Wh40k. I started reading all the codexes/forums but I feel a little overwhelmed with ...
4
votes
1answer
115 views

Modernising a 90s Warhammer 40K Army

I collected and gamed with a Blood Angel and Dark Angel army during the mid to late 90s. I have (I think) the second edition that came in a box set of basic Space Marines and Orks, and also have the ...
1
vote
1answer
84 views

How many different right-handed Power Swords are there on the sprues of the Space Marines?

I am looking to make a group of Vanguard Veterans who wield Power Swords, but since they are not on the sprue I will have to pilfer them from other boxed sets. But since the GW website is rather ...
0
votes
3answers
163 views

Which has to be declared first: Marklights or Jink?

Situation: A squad of (jet)bikes has several Markerlights on them. The tau player is about to shoot at them with some Plasma or other weapon w/ low enough AP to punch their armor. Does the Tau player ...
2
votes
1answer
104 views

Where can I find the rules for the Roc Pattern Storm Eagle?

I've seen that its rules exist, but not in which book or web supplement to find them. Where can I find them?
3
votes
2answers
349 views

40k - Ork Mob Rule vs Psychic Shriek

I think I know the answer to this but was just hoping someone could prove me wrong... Let's say you're casting Psychic Shriek against a mob of 15 Boyz. Psychic Shriek states "Roll 3d6 and subtract the ...
2
votes
1answer
225 views

WH/40k - The age-old instant death and multiwound models question

I'm asking this because I can't find an up-to-date and credible source of information on the subject (since it has apparently changed at least once over the years). My question is, when does instant ...
3
votes
1answer
238 views

40k - Kustom Force Field and Vehicle Explosions

I've asked this numerous places and no one can seem to agree or provide a completely sound explanation on it... When a transport containing a unit that includes a KFF explodes, do the models inside ...
0
votes
2answers
180 views

Can a non independent character deploy in a dedicated transport?

Can a non independent character (not attached and not attachable to the unit) deploy in a dedicated transport of any unit? I'm thinking of putting Death Cie. Tycho with 9 Death Cie. inside the unit's ...
0
votes
2answers
68 views

Going to ground behind a Aegis defense line

If a unit goes to ground while behind an Aegis defense line (or some other "high" terrain), do we still consider them visible and potential targets for other shooting attacks? After all, they're ...
0
votes
1answer
49 views

Drop pod deviation above terrain

Assuming a drop pod place 2 inch away from a 6 inch wide impassible terrain (eg: river of lava). Drop pod deviation says that it has to deviate 12 inches, in the direction that passes above said ...
0
votes
2answers
205 views

Space Marine Attack Bike Twin-Linked bolter

According to page 62 of the Codex: Blood Angels (5th), the Space Marine Bike are equipped with twin-linked bolter. According to the army list, neither Attack Bike Squad nor Bike Squad mentions this ...
2
votes
1answer
255 views

Calculating reserves, and the 50% rule

According to the rules, 50% of units, rounded up may be in reserves. Also, some units (flyers, drop pods) don't count towards the units counted in reserves. But do we count the latter including or ...
2
votes
1answer
138 views

Putting a reclusiarch terminator in a drop pod?

I'm thinking of putting a Death Company in a drop pod for my next game. The HQ would be either a librarian or a reclusiarch in terminator armor. Can I put my HQ in the drop pod with the DC? Can ...
2
votes
2answers
336 views

In the new Tyranid Codex (6th Edition) is the Close Combat Weapons bonus included in Unit profiles?

There have been some changes to the way Close combat weapons work for Tyranids. The rule used to be, that Scything talons were the only CC weapon that would give a +1 Attack bonus. Now it applies to ...
5
votes
4answers
1k views

Can I combine different races as a single army?

Can I mix soldiers from totally different armies? I mean, can I have some, say, Necrons in among my Chaos Space Marines? I have a couple different armies, and I'd like to combine them.
7
votes
2answers
418 views

Look Out Sir save clarifications

I got in a heated argument over the following case, in which I created a scenario below to have clarifications on the Look Out Sir rule. Let's say you've got a squad made up of: 1 Space Marine ...
7
votes
2answers
347 views

What army are these Warhammer 40K Robots from?

I found a picture of an old advertisement for Warhammer 40,000. It shows "ROBOTS", which resemble Terminators or Space Marines somewhat. Here's a copy of the image: Which army are these robots ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

What is new in the 6th edition of Warhammer 40K?

So it has been a couple years since I played 40K, and it seems Games Workshop has come out with a 6th edition rules book since then. I saw it in the store and first noticed that it is almost twice as ...
4
votes
1answer
146 views

Removing to Reapply Decals

I've painted my new Space Marine chapter Blood Angels style, trying to respect as much as possible the color scheme: squad decal on knee, company decal on shoulder and winged blood dop on other ...
4
votes
2answers
187 views

Can we take “Death Company Tycho” in an army without a Death Company?

Captain Tycho (Blood Angels Codex, 5ED) can be chosen as either as "Captain Tycho" or "Death Company Tycho". I haven't found any indication that you must have a Death Company to include the DC version ...
1
vote
1answer
125 views

Victory point counting and Sanguinary Priests

Up to 3 Sanguinary Priests (Blood Angel Codex) count as a single unit choice, but how must we count the victory points for killing them? Do all 3 must be removed for it to count as 1 VP? Or do each ...
1
vote
1answer
470 views

Space Marine squads and “Split Fire” rule

With the 6th edition rules, squads must all fire upon the same unit. An exception is made if the unit contains at least one model with the "split fire" rule (6ED, page 42). Neither the Devastors, nor ...
4
votes
1answer
245 views

Can I use my Dark Angels with my Space Wolves?

I got a Dark Vengeance box recently so I could use the Dark Angels with my Space Wolves, but after reading the history about them it made me think. Can I use Dark Angels with Space Wolves?
5
votes
1answer
580 views

Space Marine Charge & Rapid Fire

In the 6th edition, the "Declare Charge" rule specifies that if the unit shot a Rapid Fire weapon then they can't charge. Tactical Space Marines have a bolter (24ps range) and a bolter pistol (12ps ...
6
votes
3answers
398 views

Can one 40k army fight another of the same?

My friend is starting a Necron army, and I was going to start a Space Marine army, but Necrons are really an interesting army to play, while the Space Marines are very generic. Could I build a Necron ...
6
votes
1answer
6k views

What is the exact size of all the Warhammer 40k bases?

I'm looking for a list of the dimensions of all the bases in Warhammer 40k. I know there is a 60mm base, for large models, and there is one that is 120mm x 55mm for really large models. I don't ...
4
votes
1answer
620 views

What is the ruling for Warhammer base size when GW has not produced an official model?

I understand this ruling, which is pretty normal for Tournaments: •Models must be played on the bases provided with them. In my specific case, there are quite a number of Tyranid Special Characters ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

How important is base size in Warhammer 40K?

I have a Tau sniper I want to put on a rocky out-cliff, that would require using a non-standard base (a larger one). Is that allowed in the rules? Would it fly in a casual game?
3
votes
1answer
528 views

Can Necron Deathmarks shoot in your opponents turn?

Necron Deathmarks get to intercept an enemy unit when they deepstrike, deepstriking themselves. Because they appear in the other player's turn, I've heard arguments to say that this means the ...
4
votes
1answer
775 views

Creating small flat bottom holes in plastic models for magnets

I want to insert and glue 1/16" diameter rare earth magnets into holes I create in my plastic models. The purpose of the magnets is to make it easy to swap weapons/options on my Warhammer 40K models. ...
4
votes
2answers
662 views

How well do differently-sized units of Fire Warriors work?

I've heard varying opinions on the 'best' sizes for FW squads, mostly at 6 or 12 warriors to a unit. Pros and cons of that I've heard for each are: A unit of 6 Smaller footprint - easier to hide ...
3
votes
1answer
490 views

What is the reasoning behind some of the allies, in 6th edition Warhammer?

I find some of the alliances in the new edition of Warhammer confusing. Looking at Tau, for instance, they are Battle Brothers with Eldar and Spacemarines, although neither of these are, to my ...
3
votes
2answers
376 views

What do the Tau battlesuit numbers mean?

Tau battle suits are often dubbed XV88 or XV81, is there a pattern to the number? What does it mean?
1
vote
3answers
237 views

What is a strategy rating?

My Tau Codex features a strategy rating. I've not seen this before. What is this used for?
4
votes
1answer
292 views

How could I augment my Tau army with Necrons?

I'm planning on using the 6th edition Allies rules to add some Necrons to my tau army. As a novice player I'd like to know which units would best suit this mix? I only barely know my Tau army, and I ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

I've massively over-sprayed my models! Help!

I foolishly over-sprayed some of my Warhammer models. They are now have a thick coat that obscures some details and has cracked in places. Can I remove this coat at all? Do I use chemicals? Do I ...
4
votes
2answers
980 views

Do I have to physically cut into my Necron Overlord's Staff of Light to upgrade it to Warscythe?

I'm just double checking so that I don't ruin a $20 model. Clarification: I don't plan on playing in tournaments, however, I would like to stick to the rules as far as my army is concerned just to ...
1
vote
2answers
207 views

Mêlée based, fantasy themed Warhammer 40k army?

Which army is best suited to adapting to a fantasy themed, mêlée based army (in both rules and look of model)? Do 40k armies suit mêlée combat at all?
6
votes
2answers
368 views

Can I mix Fantasy and 40k in a game?

I'm trying to get my fiancée interested in playing Warhammer games. She's interested in fantasy and I'm interested in the sci-fi 40k branch of the game, plus I've already got an army in the making. If ...
5
votes
2answers
515 views

What's the AP of Eldrad's Staff and Yreil's spear?

The 6th edition of 40K introduces AP for melee weapons. Previously many melee weapons where listed as "Ignores Armor Saves". Now they have an supposed to have Armor Penetration value just like ...
2
votes
1answer
587 views

40K: No Retreat! combat assault results loophole?

This is a follow on question to Orks Mob Rule in Warhammer 40k. This situation is "No Retreat!" when a fearless unit is defeated in an assault, the fearless unit takes wounds equal to the number their ...
6
votes
5answers
6k views

What is the most cost effective Warhammer box set based on size and number of models?

I've only been able to find comparison of points/price ratio of single armies. What I'm looking for are the best quality models (number of models/box, size of models etc.) for the lowest price. So, ...
6
votes
2answers
7k views

40K: What are the disadvantages of playing Necrons?

I just picked up a 40K Necron codex today and I am rather astonished. They appear quite overpowered to me. Then again, I play Orks and Imperial Guard, so maybe that's why they appear so. My question ...
3
votes
2answers
685 views

40K Orks: what is the tactical value of having Mekboys in a mob of Lootas?

I was considering strategies to help my armored infantry style Ork army get into assault range and was looking at Lootas as a long range direct fire support option. I see Mekboyz may replace 1-3 ...
4
votes
1answer
318 views

40K: strategies to help my Ork Trukks/Battlewagons survive long enough to deliver their passengers into assault range?

I have an armored infantry style 40K Ork army: Nobz/Boyz/Burnaboyz in Trukks and Battlewagons. Against an army with any sort of shooty capability, I rarely can get the troops into assault range. Their ...
3
votes
1answer
298 views

Which 40K army is this?

A friend of mine has recently acquired some models from 40K that look like space marines/chaos marines. Can anyone identify which army their from?
4
votes
2answers
662 views

Is there a Warhammer 40K codex/proxy for the Interex?

The Interex appear in the first Horus Heresy book, Horus Rising as a branch of humanity heavily influenced by eldar. I was forever saddened to hear they never made it. Do any rules official and/or ...
4
votes
2answers
691 views

Are heavy bolters and storm bolters a viable anti-Imperial Guard option?

I am playing against an Imperial Guard player at 1500 pts. He has ~ 7 lascannon squads + an assault cannon squad. He just sits there and shoots at me while I try to advance. I have since switched ...