In the grim darkness of the far future, there is only war. Warhammer 40,000 is a detailed futuristic table-top battle simulation.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

2
votes
3answers
760 views

What the key minis for a new Ultramarine player to get?

I am starting to play Warhammer 40,000 as an Ultramarine Space Marine player. I got the starter kit: Assault on Black Reach and have been enjoying painting stuff since. Where should I look next to ...
2
votes
2answers
143 views

In warhammer 40k can I combines these armies?

I have an Ezekiel, Grand Master of Librarians, which is a dark angels HQ and I have a grey knight army. Can I use Ezekiel as my HQ?
2
votes
3answers
1k views

What's better for Ork Nob in Warbiker Mob: Big Choppa or Klaw?

I've been assembling a warbiker mob recently and I've wanted to make one unit a Nob. According to the Ork Codex I can then give him either a Big Choppa (+10 points) or a Klaw (+25 points). I know the ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Do Monstrous Creatures still only have AP6 when using Scything Talons?

Scything Talons have AP6, but to me it seems odd that a creature the size of a Carnifex with talons nearly twice the size of a human would have trouble cutting its way through a Guardsman's flak vest. ...
2
votes
1answer
167 views

Can I put any ranged weapon on a Crisis Battlesuit?

I've read the Codex (6th) entry for the XV8 Crisis Team and it says: Any Crisis Shas'ui may take up to three items from the Ranged Weapons and/ or Support Systems lists. I can see only one ...
2
votes
1answer
389 views

Where can I find the rules for the Roc Pattern Storm Eagle?

I've seen that its rules exist, but not in which book or web supplement to find them. Where can I find them?
2
votes
2answers
212 views

Going to ground behind a Aegis defense line

If a unit goes to ground while behind an Aegis defense line (or some other "high" terrain), do we still consider them visible and potential targets for other shooting attacks? After all, they're ...
2
votes
1answer
22 views

Warhammer 40k - Tau detachment benefit clarification

Coordinated Firepower is a Tau detachment benefit: Whenever a unit from a Hunter Contingent selects a target in the shooting phase, any number of other units from the same detachment who can still ...
2
votes
1answer
114 views

Warhammer 40k Unit Composition - Marines

If I make my own chapter, lets just call them Flat Black, and they are all painted flat black, can I also include a hero from the Ultra Marines, painted blue, such as Magnus? Or a librarian that is ...
2
votes
1answer
302 views

Putting a reclusiarch terminator in a drop pod?

I'm thinking of putting a Death Company in a drop pod for my next game. The HQ would be either a librarian or a reclusiarch in terminator armor. Can I put my HQ in the drop pod with the DC? Can ...
2
votes
1answer
937 views

40K: No Retreat! combat assault results loophole?

This is a follow on question to Orks Mob Rule in Warhammer 40k. This situation is "No Retreat!" when a fearless unit is defeated in an assault, the fearless unit takes wounds equal to the number their ...
2
votes
1answer
495 views

How do the new Dark Eldar interact with the Kill Team rules in the Battle Missons rulebook?

The Battle Missions book, near the end, features a scenario called Kill Teams, wherein: Your force org chart is: 0-1 elite 0-2 troops 0-1 fast attack 200 points. Exact Rules: Every man For ...
2
votes
1answer
47 views

First blood on the same initiative step

If two opposing forces completely destroy each other at the same initiative step in combat, who is regarded as the first casualty for the purposes of things like first blood?
2
votes
1answer
2k views

WH/40k - The age-old instant death and multiwound models question

I'm asking this because I can't find an up-to-date and credible source of information on the subject (since it has apparently changed at least once over the years). My question is, when does instant ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Calculating reserves, and the 50% rule

According to the rules, 50% of units, rounded up may be in reserves. Also, some units (flyers, drop pods) don't count towards the units counted in reserves. But do we count the latter including or ...
2
votes
0answers
39 views

What is a “Small Area” when talking about Cluster Mines? [WH40K]

When I was building a scout-heavy army, I noticed that cluster-mines could be taken by my scout-bikes to mark a "small area" as dangerous terrain. However, there is no actual measurement in how big ...
1
vote
2answers
103 views

Where can I find Storm Bolters

In what kits can I find storm bolters to use them in my space marine's army? Or how can I model/craft them instead?
1
vote
1answer
120 views

Warhammer 40K 7ed: Haemonculus Covens “It Will not Die” rule effect on units with 1 wound

In Warhammer 40K 7ed, the Dark Eldar's Haemonculus Covens "power from pain" rule gives their wracks the "it will not die" (IWND) special rule by turn 4. My question is this: Does a unit with one ...
1
vote
2answers
318 views

Mêlée based, fantasy themed Warhammer 40k army?

Which army is best suited to adapting to a fantasy themed, mêlée based army (in both rules and look of model)? Do 40k armies suit mêlée combat at all?
1
vote
1answer
67 views

What are the rules for Storm Giants?

When I started looking up Warhammer 40k, I had selected the regular Space Marine book and a few models as a reference. After finding out how incredibly powerful scouts could become, I decided that a ...
1
vote
1answer
376 views

How many different right-handed Power Swords are there on the sprues of the Space Marines?

I am looking to make a group of Vanguard Veterans who wield Power Swords, but since they are not on the sprue I will have to pilfer them from other boxed sets. But since the GW website is rather ...
1
vote
1answer
783 views

Space Marine squads and “Split Fire” rule

With the 6th edition rules, squads must all fire upon the same unit. An exception is made if the unit contains at least one model with the "split fire" rule (6ED, page 42). Neither the Devastors, nor ...
1
vote
3answers
329 views

What is a strategy rating?

My Tau Codex features a strategy rating. I've not seen this before. What is this used for?
1
vote
1answer
45 views

Is the following considered battle-forged?

I have recently been collecting models for my first WH40k Army, but I have yet to receive a core rule book that I have ordered. However, I do have the Space Marine book and have constructed a Gladius ...
1
vote
1answer
198 views

Victory point counting and Sanguinary Priests

Up to 3 Sanguinary Priests (Blood Angel Codex) count as a single unit choice, but how must we count the victory points for killing them? Do all 3 must be removed for it to count as 1 VP? Or do each ...
1
vote
0answers
69 views

Are there online variants to “Path of Glory”? WH40K

I've been watching a handful of this extended campaign type for a while now and I just saw a video where someone created an Ork war-band by using a dice-roll sheet prepared from custom rules. Can ...
1
vote
0answers
17 views

How does “Concealment” transfer to Dedicated Transports? WH40K

I have been looking over the combat benefits from the various force organisations granted by Gladius Strike Forces. The one that interests me is the 10th Company bonus where all units in this Company ...
1
vote
0answers
23 views

Does anyone know the Campaign Badges for the Second Purging of Lastrati or the 3rd War for Armageddon? **WH40K**

I am in the process of painting an obscure Space Marine army of mine called the Storm Giants. Due to having a similar name to the Storm Lords, I was looking to include a campaign badge from either of ...
0
votes
2answers
834 views

Space Marine Attack Bike Twin-Linked bolter

According to page 62 of the Codex: Blood Angels (5th), the Space Marine Bike are equipped with twin-linked bolter. According to the army list, neither Attack Bike Squad nor Bike Squad mentions this ...
0
votes
2answers
488 views

Can a non independent character deploy in a dedicated transport?

Can a non independent character (not attached and not attachable to the unit) deploy in a dedicated transport of any unit? I'm thinking of putting Death Cie. Tycho with 9 Death Cie. inside the unit's ...
0
votes
1answer
92 views

Drop pod deviation above terrain

Assuming a drop pod place 2 inch away from a 6 inch wide impassible terrain (eg: river of lava). Drop pod deviation says that it has to deviate 12 inches, in the direction that passes above said ...