In the grim darkness of the far future, there is only war. Warhammer 40,000 is a detailed futuristic table-top battle simulation.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

5
votes
6answers
357 views

Are there any tabletop apps to allow you to play warhammer 40k with friends in other cities?

Pretty much as the title; I've looked at vassal 40k, but it hasn't been updated in a while and is missing units. I'm not necessarily looking for something for WH40k in specific - as long as it allows ...
1
vote
1answer
49 views

What are the rules for Storm Giants?

When I started looking up Warhammer 40k, I had selected the regular Space Marine book and a few models as a reference. After finding out how incredibly powerful scouts could become, I decided that a ...
1
vote
1answer
51 views

Warhammer 40K 7ed: Haemonculus Covens “It Will not Die” rule effect on units with 1 wound

In Warhammer 40K 7ed, the Dark Eldar's Haemonculus Covens "power from pain" rule gives their wracks the "it will not die" (IWND) special rule by turn 4. My question is this: Does a unit with one ...
0
votes
1answer
32 views

Is the following considered battle-forged?

I have recently been collecting models for my first WH40k Army, but I have yet to receive a core rule book that I have ordered. However, I do have the Space Marine book and have constructed a Gladius ...
1
vote
2answers
83 views

Where can I find Storm Bolters

In what kits can I find storm bolters to use them in my space marine's army? Or how can I model/craft them instead?
3
votes
1answer
195 views

Saving throws against Destroyer weapons

If your opponent hits one of your models with a D strength weapon, rolls on the table and gets a 'Seriously Wounded' result, then rolls 3 for the number of wounds. How many saving throws do I roll? Is ...
3
votes
2answers
98 views

Beefy assault marines

I'm going for a very expensive but hopefully good assault marine setup, but I require advice. The setup is 5 marines total in the squad with one wielding an evicerator, two wielding flamers and the ...
2
votes
2answers
126 views

In warhammer 40k can I combines these armies?

I have an Ezekiel, Grand Master of Librarians, which is a dark angels HQ and I have a grey knight army. Can I use Ezekiel as my HQ?
8
votes
3answers
785 views

Can I mix Fantasy and 40k in a game?

I'm trying to get my fiancée interested in playing Warhammer games. She's interested in fantasy and I'm interested in the sci-fi 40k branch of the game, plus I've already got an army in the making. If ...
3
votes
5answers
932 views

Which has to be declared first: Marklights or Jink?

Situation: A squad of (jet)bikes has several Markerlights on them. The tau player is about to shoot at them with some Plasma or other weapon w/ low enough AP to punch their armor. Does the Tau player ...
2
votes
1answer
104 views

Warhammer 40k Unit Composition - Marines

If I make my own chapter, lets just call them Flat Black, and they are all painted flat black, can I also include a hero from the Ultra Marines, painted blue, such as Magnus? Or a librarian that is ...
1
vote
1answer
328 views

How many different right-handed Power Swords are there on the sprues of the Space Marines?

I am looking to make a group of Vanguard Veterans who wield Power Swords, but since they are not on the sprue I will have to pilfer them from other boxed sets. But since the GW website is rather ...
5
votes
2answers
524 views

Modernising a 90s Warhammer 40K Army

I collected and gamed with a Blood Angel and Dark Angel army during the mid to late 90s. I have (I think) the second edition that came in a box set of basic Space Marines and Orks, and also have the ...
4
votes
2answers
75 views

Mounting a Hive Crone with Harpy parts

I am new in this game and right now mounting my first unit: a Hive Crone. In the box it contains the pieces for mounting either a Harpy or a Hive Crone. I already decided I want the Hive Crone, but ...
2
votes
2answers
198 views

Going to ground behind a Aegis defense line

If a unit goes to ground while behind an Aegis defense line (or some other "high" terrain), do we still consider them visible and potential targets for other shooting attacks? After all, they're ...
6
votes
3answers
16k views

Can a Space Marine army consist of units from different chapters?

I'm a newcomer to the Warhammer 40K tabletop miniature game and I'm researching different armies, but I wasn't sure if different Space Marine chapters were compatible. For example, could I play an ...
6
votes
2answers
13k views

40K: What are the disadvantages of playing Necrons?

I just picked up a 40K Necron codex today and I am rather astonished. They appear quite overpowered to me. Then again, I play Orks and Imperial Guard, so maybe that's why they appear so. My question ...
2
votes
1answer
876 views

Do Monstrous Creatures still only have AP6 when using Scything Talons?

Scything Talons have AP6, but to me it seems odd that a creature the size of a Carnifex with talons nearly twice the size of a human would have trouble cutting its way through a Guardsman's flak vest. ...
2
votes
1answer
153 views

Can I put any ranged weapon on a Crisis Battlesuit?

I've read the Codex (6th) entry for the XV8 Crisis Team and it says: Any Crisis Shas'ui may take up to three items from the Ranged Weapons and/ or Support Systems lists. I can see only one ...
4
votes
3answers
663 views

Which battleforce should I buy as a newbie player?

After playing some Mordheim games we decided with my friends to buy a Warhammer 40k battleforce and start playing Wh40k. I started reading all the codexes/forums but I feel a little overwhelmed with ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

What is new in the 6th edition of Warhammer 40K?

So it has been a couple years since I played 40K, and it seems Games Workshop has come out with a 6th edition rules book since then. I saw it in the store and first noticed that it is almost twice as ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

WH/40k - The age-old instant death and multiwound models question

I'm asking this because I can't find an up-to-date and credible source of information on the subject (since it has apparently changed at least once over the years). My question is, when does instant ...
0
votes
2answers
449 views

Can a non independent character deploy in a dedicated transport?

Can a non independent character (not attached and not attachable to the unit) deploy in a dedicated transport of any unit? I'm thinking of putting Death Cie. Tycho with 9 Death Cie. inside the unit's ...
2
votes
1answer
289 views

Putting a reclusiarch terminator in a drop pod?

I'm thinking of putting a Death Company in a drop pod for my next game. The HQ would be either a librarian or a reclusiarch in terminator armor. Can I put my HQ in the drop pod with the DC? Can ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

40K Orks: what is the tactical value of having Mekboys in a mob of Lootas?

I was considering strategies to help my armored infantry style Ork army get into assault range and was looking at Lootas as a long range direct fire support option. I see Mekboyz may replace 1-3 ...
3
votes
2answers
558 views

40k - Ork Mob Rule vs Psychic Shriek

I think I know the answer to this but was just hoping someone could prove me wrong... Let's say you're casting Psychic Shriek against a mob of 15 Boyz. Psychic Shriek states "Roll 3d6 and subtract the ...
3
votes
1answer
506 views

40k - Kustom Force Field and Vehicle Explosions

I've asked this numerous places and no one can seem to agree or provide a completely sound explanation on it... When a transport containing a unit that includes a KFF explodes, do the models inside ...
2
votes
1answer
365 views

Where can I find the rules for the Roc Pattern Storm Eagle?

I've seen that its rules exist, but not in which book or web supplement to find them. Where can I find them?
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Calculating reserves, and the 50% rule

According to the rules, 50% of units, rounded up may be in reserves. Also, some units (flyers, drop pods) don't count towards the units counted in reserves. But do we count the latter including or ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Look Out Sir save clarifications

I got in a heated argument over the following case, in which I created a scenario below to have clarifications on the Look Out Sir rule. Let's say you've got a squad made up of: 1 Space Marine ...
7
votes
2answers
644 views

What army are these Warhammer 40K Robots from?

I found a picture of an old advertisement for Warhammer 40,000. It shows "ROBOTS", which resemble Terminators or Space Marines somewhat. Here's a copy of the image: Which army are these robots ...
0
votes
2answers
738 views

Space Marine Attack Bike Twin-Linked bolter

According to page 62 of the Codex: Blood Angels (5th), the Space Marine Bike are equipped with twin-linked bolter. According to the army list, neither Attack Bike Squad nor Bike Squad mentions this ...
0
votes
1answer
91 views

Drop pod deviation above terrain

Assuming a drop pod place 2 inch away from a 6 inch wide impassible terrain (eg: river of lava). Drop pod deviation says that it has to deviate 12 inches, in the direction that passes above said ...
5
votes
4answers
4k views

Can I combine different races as a single army? [duplicate]

Can I mix soldiers from totally different armies? I mean, can I have some, say, Necrons in among my Chaos Space Marines? I have a couple different armies, and I'd like to combine them.
3
votes
1answer
672 views

What is the reasoning behind some of the allies, in 6th edition Warhammer?

I find some of the alliances in the new edition of Warhammer confusing. Looking at Tau, for instance, they are Battle Brothers with Eldar and Spacemarines, although neither of these are, to my ...
2
votes
2answers
637 views

In the new Tyranid Codex (6th Edition) is the Close Combat Weapons bonus included in Unit profiles?

There have been some changes to the way Close combat weapons work for Tyranids. The rule used to be, that Scything talons were the only CC weapon that would give a +1 Attack bonus. Now it applies to ...
4
votes
1answer
280 views

Removing to Reapply Decals

I've painted my new Space Marine chapter Blood Angels style, trying to respect as much as possible the color scheme: squad decal on knee, company decal on shoulder and winged blood dop on other ...
6
votes
3answers
637 views

Can one 40k army fight another of the same?

My friend is starting a Necron army, and I was going to start a Space Marine army, but Necrons are really an interesting army to play, while the Space Marines are very generic. Could I build a Necron ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

What HQ to take for my 1500pts codex Space Marine army list

I have the following list 10-man Tactical Squad (flamer + rocket launcher) + Rhino 10-man Tactical Squad (flamer + rocket launcher) + Rhino 10-man Tactical Squad (flamer + rocket launcher) 10-man ...
1
vote
1answer
730 views

Space Marine squads and “Split Fire” rule

With the 6th edition rules, squads must all fire upon the same unit. An exception is made if the unit contains at least one model with the "split fire" rule (6ED, page 42). Neither the Devastors, nor ...
4
votes
2answers
238 views

Can we take “Death Company Tycho” in an army without a Death Company?

Captain Tycho (Blood Angels Codex, 5ED) can be chosen as either as "Captain Tycho" or "Death Company Tycho". I haven't found any indication that you must have a Death Company to include the DC version ...
1
vote
1answer
189 views

Victory point counting and Sanguinary Priests

Up to 3 Sanguinary Priests (Blood Angel Codex) count as a single unit choice, but how must we count the victory points for killing them? Do all 3 must be removed for it to count as 1 VP? Or do each ...
4
votes
1answer
320 views

Can I use my Dark Angels with my Space Wolves?

I got a Dark Vengeance box recently so I could use the Dark Angels with my Space Wolves, but after reading the history about them it made me think. Can I use Dark Angels with Space Wolves?
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Space Marine Charge & Rapid Fire

In the 6th edition, the "Declare Charge" rule specifies that if the unit shot a Rapid Fire weapon then they can't charge. Tactical Space Marines have a bolter (24ps range) and a bolter pistol (12ps ...
4
votes
1answer
328 views

How could I augment my Tau army with Necrons?

I'm planning on using the 6th edition Allies rules to add some Necrons to my tau army. As a novice player I'd like to know which units would best suit this mix? I only barely know my Tau army, and I ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

How well do differently-sized units of Fire Warriors work?

I've heard varying opinions on the 'best' sizes for FW squads, mostly at 6 or 12 warriors to a unit. Pros and cons of that I've heard for each are: A unit of 6 Smaller footprint - easier to hide ...
6
votes
1answer
13k views

What is the exact size of all the Warhammer 40k bases?

I'm looking for a list of the dimensions of all the bases in Warhammer 40k. I know there is a 60mm base, for large models, and there is one that is 120mm x 55mm for really large models. I don't ...
6
votes
1answer
876 views

What is the ruling for Warhammer base size when GW has not produced an official model?

I understand this ruling, which is pretty normal for Tournaments: •Models must be played on the bases provided with them. In my specific case, there are quite a number of Tyranid Special Characters ...
7
votes
5answers
9k views

What is the most cost effective Warhammer box set based on size and number of models?

I've only been able to find comparison of points/price ratio of single armies. What I'm looking for are the best quality models (number of models/box, size of models etc.) for the lowest price. So, ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

How important is base size in Warhammer 40K?

I have a Tau sniper I want to put on a rocky out-cliff, that would require using a non-standard base (a larger one). Is that allowed in the rules? Would it fly in a casual game?