In the grim darkness of the far future, there is only war. Warhammer 40,000 is a detailed futuristic table-top battle simulation.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

0
votes
0answers
24 views

The best Space Wolves Formations and Why? [on hold]

I'm starting to build an army of Space Wolves, but I don't know where to start and what is the best/competitive formations to Space Wolves. I'm very newbe at this hoobie yet.
1
vote
1answer
49 views

Does anyone know the Campaign Badges for the Second Purging of Lastrati or the 3rd War for Armageddon? **WH40K**

I am in the process of painting an obscure Space Marine army of mine called the Storm Giants. Due to having a similar name to the Storm Lords, I was looking to include a campaign badge from either of ...
2
votes
1answer
47 views

Why does a Thunder hammer have Concussive?

In the Space Marine Codex, the Thunder hammer has the Concussive rule, allowing it to force the model it hits to Initiative step 1 during that Assault Phase. However, it also has the Unwieldy rule, ...
2
votes
1answer
100 views

Are there online variants to “Path of Glory”? WH40K

I've been watching a handful of this extended campaign type for a while now and I just saw a video where someone created an Ork war-band by using a dice-roll sheet prepared from custom rules. Can ...
4
votes
2answers
95 views

Does a Venomthrope gets an extra attack for using multiple weapons?

This question is related to the 7th edition core rules and Codex Tyranids 6th edition: The Codex has a "designer note" in the Melee Weapons section stating: Tyranid Melee weapons come as pairs. ...
2
votes
1answer
64 views

What is a “Small Area” when talking about Cluster Mines? WH40K

When I was building a scout-heavy army, I noticed that cluster-mines could be taken by my scout-bikes to mark a "small area" as dangerous terrain. However, there is no actual measurement in how big ...
4
votes
2answers
78 views

Can you use custom made cosmetics on 40K figures?

In tournaments are you allowed to custom cosmetics like custom Space Marine shoulder Pads and heads, as long as the rest of the figure, weapons and wargear are all official. I found a website that ...
4
votes
1answer
89 views

Could i run a stormcast eternals body with a head from a space wolf?

I was wondering if I could use a stormcast eternals body but use a space wolves head and run him as a terminator? I got some stormcasts from a small local tournament and I run space wolf army so I was ...
0
votes
0answers
27 views

Can two races form one large army? [duplicate]

I wanted two know if I could make one army with Tau and Space wolves? I don't mean like one being an ally, I was thinking more along the lines of say them both have an equal force in the army.
2
votes
1answer
44 views

Warhammer 40k - Tau detachment benefit clarification

Coordinated Firepower is a Tau detachment benefit: Whenever a unit from a Hunter Contingent selects a target in the shooting phase, any number of other units from the same detachment who can still ...
3
votes
3answers
201 views

In Warhammer 40k is it possible to have your army use vehicles from other factions?

Is there anything in the rules that say you can have your army use vehicles from another faction? I use Harlequins and I always thought about trying something new and using some Eldar vehicles like a ...
1
vote
0answers
26 views

How does “Concealment” transfer to Dedicated Transports? WH40K

I have been looking over the combat benefits from the various force organisations granted by Gladius Strike Forces. The one that interests me is the 10th Company bonus where all units in this Company ...
2
votes
1answer
54 views

First blood on the same initiative step

If two opposing forces completely destroy each other at the same initiative step in combat, who is regarded as the first casualty for the purposes of things like first blood?
4
votes
1answer
54 views

Blast markers hitting multistorey buildings

This has caused a large amount of discussion today and we couldn't find a suitable answer in the rule book. When a blast marker (not flamer template) hits a multistorey building, who gets hit? Is it ...
3
votes
2answers
610 views

What do the Tau battlesuit numbers mean?

Tau battle suits are often dubbed XV88 or XV81, is there a pattern to the number? What does it mean?
5
votes
6answers
591 views

Are there any tabletop apps to allow you to play warhammer 40k with friends in other cities?

Pretty much as the title; I've looked at vassal 40k, but it hasn't been updated in a while and is missing units. I'm not necessarily looking for something for WH40k in specific - as long as it allows ...
1
vote
1answer
76 views

What are the rules for Storm Giants?

When I started looking up Warhammer 40k, I had selected the regular Space Marine book and a few models as a reference. After finding out how incredibly powerful scouts could become, I decided that a ...
1
vote
1answer
194 views

Warhammer 40K 7ed: Haemonculus Covens “It Will not Die” rule effect on units with 1 wound

In Warhammer 40K 7ed, the Dark Eldar's Haemonculus Covens "power from pain" rule gives their wracks the "it will not die" (IWND) special rule by turn 4. My question is this: Does a unit with one ...
1
vote
1answer
51 views

Is the following considered battle-forged?

I have recently been collecting models for my first WH40k Army, but I have yet to receive a core rule book that I have ordered. However, I do have the Space Marine book and have constructed a Gladius ...
1
vote
2answers
113 views

Where can I find Storm Bolters

In what kits can I find storm bolters to use them in my space marine's army? Or how can I model/craft them instead?
4
votes
1answer
236 views

Saving throws against Destroyer weapons

If your opponent hits one of your models with a D strength weapon, rolls on the table and gets a 'Seriously Wounded' result, then rolls 3 for the number of wounds. How many saving throws do I roll? Is ...
3
votes
2answers
130 views

Beefy assault marines

I'm going for a very expensive but hopefully good assault marine setup, but I require advice. The setup is 5 marines total in the squad with one wielding an evicerator, two wielding flamers and the ...
2
votes
2answers
151 views

In warhammer 40k can I combines these armies?

I have an Ezekiel, Grand Master of Librarians, which is a dark angels HQ and I have a grey knight army. Can I use Ezekiel as my HQ?
8
votes
3answers
864 views

Can I mix Fantasy and 40k in a game?

I'm trying to get my fiancée interested in playing Warhammer games. She's interested in fantasy and I'm interested in the sci-fi 40k branch of the game, plus I've already got an army in the making. If ...
3
votes
5answers
1k views

Which has to be declared first: Marklights or Jink?

Situation: A squad of (jet)bikes has several Markerlights on them. The tau player is about to shoot at them with some Plasma or other weapon w/ low enough AP to punch their armor. Does the Tau player ...
2
votes
1answer
119 views

Warhammer 40k Unit Composition - Marines

If I make my own chapter, lets just call them Flat Black, and they are all painted flat black, can I also include a hero from the Ultra Marines, painted blue, such as Magnus? Or a librarian that is ...
1
vote
1answer
397 views

How many different right-handed Power Swords are there on the sprues of the Space Marines?

I am looking to make a group of Vanguard Veterans who wield Power Swords, but since they are not on the sprue I will have to pilfer them from other boxed sets. But since the GW website is rather ...
5
votes
2answers
602 views

Modernising a 90s Warhammer 40K Army

I collected and gamed with a Blood Angel and Dark Angel army during the mid to late 90s. I have (I think) the second edition that came in a box set of basic Space Marines and Orks, and also have the ...
5
votes
2answers
81 views

Mounting a Hive Crone with Harpy parts

I am new in this game and right now mounting my first unit: a Hive Crone. In the box it contains the pieces for mounting either a Harpy or a Hive Crone. I already decided I want the Hive Crone, but ...
2
votes
2answers
218 views

Going to ground behind a Aegis defense line

If a unit goes to ground while behind an Aegis defense line (or some other "high" terrain), do we still consider them visible and potential targets for other shooting attacks? After all, they're ...
6
votes
3answers
18k views

Can a Space Marine army consist of units from different chapters?

I'm a newcomer to the Warhammer 40K tabletop miniature game and I'm researching different armies, but I wasn't sure if different Space Marine chapters were compatible. For example, could I play an ...
6
votes
2answers
14k views

40K: What are the disadvantages of playing Necrons?

I just picked up a 40K Necron codex today and I am rather astonished. They appear quite overpowered to me. Then again, I play Orks and Imperial Guard, so maybe that's why they appear so. My question ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Do Monstrous Creatures still only have AP6 when using Scything Talons?

Scything Talons have AP6, but to me it seems odd that a creature the size of a Carnifex with talons nearly twice the size of a human would have trouble cutting its way through a Guardsman's flak vest. ...
2
votes
1answer
175 views

Can I put any ranged weapon on a Crisis Battlesuit?

I've read the Codex (6th) entry for the XV8 Crisis Team and it says: Any Crisis Shas'ui may take up to three items from the Ranged Weapons and/ or Support Systems lists. I can see only one ...
4
votes
3answers
761 views

Which battleforce should I buy as a newbie player?

After playing some Mordheim games we decided with my friends to buy a Warhammer 40k battleforce and start playing Wh40k. I started reading all the codexes/forums but I feel a little overwhelmed with ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

What is new in the 6th edition of Warhammer 40K?

So it has been a couple years since I played 40K, and it seems Games Workshop has come out with a 6th edition rules book since then. I saw it in the store and first noticed that it is almost twice as ...
2
votes
1answer
3k views

WH/40k - The age-old instant death and multiwound models question

I'm asking this because I can't find an up-to-date and credible source of information on the subject (since it has apparently changed at least once over the years). My question is, when does instant ...
0
votes
2answers
501 views

Can a non independent character deploy in a dedicated transport?

Can a non independent character (not attached and not attachable to the unit) deploy in a dedicated transport of any unit? I'm thinking of putting Death Cie. Tycho with 9 Death Cie. inside the unit's ...
2
votes
1answer
305 views

Putting a reclusiarch terminator in a drop pod?

I'm thinking of putting a Death Company in a drop pod for my next game. The HQ would be either a librarian or a reclusiarch in terminator armor. Can I put my HQ in the drop pod with the DC? Can ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

40K Orks: what is the tactical value of having Mekboys in a mob of Lootas?

I was considering strategies to help my armored infantry style Ork army get into assault range and was looking at Lootas as a long range direct fire support option. I see Mekboyz may replace 1-3 ...
3
votes
2answers
590 views

40k - Ork Mob Rule vs Psychic Shriek

I think I know the answer to this but was just hoping someone could prove me wrong... Let's say you're casting Psychic Shriek against a mob of 15 Boyz. Psychic Shriek states "Roll 3d6 and subtract the ...
3
votes
1answer
577 views

40k - Kustom Force Field and Vehicle Explosions

I've asked this numerous places and no one can seem to agree or provide a completely sound explanation on it... When a transport containing a unit that includes a KFF explodes, do the models inside ...
2
votes
1answer
402 views

Where can I find the rules for the Roc Pattern Storm Eagle?

I've seen that its rules exist, but not in which book or web supplement to find them. Where can I find them?
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Calculating reserves, and the 50% rule

According to the rules, 50% of units, rounded up may be in reserves. Also, some units (flyers, drop pods) don't count towards the units counted in reserves. But do we count the latter including or ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Look Out Sir save clarifications

I got in a heated argument over the following case, in which I created a scenario below to have clarifications on the Look Out Sir rule. Let's say you've got a squad made up of: 1 Space Marine (...
7
votes
2answers
730 views

What army are these Warhammer 40K Robots from?

I found a picture of an old advertisement for Warhammer 40,000. It shows "ROBOTS", which resemble Terminators or Space Marines somewhat. Here's a copy of the image: Which army are these robots ...
0
votes
2answers
872 views

Space Marine Attack Bike Twin-Linked bolter

According to page 62 of the Codex: Blood Angels (5th), the Space Marine Bike are equipped with twin-linked bolter. According to the army list, neither Attack Bike Squad nor Bike Squad mentions this ...
0
votes
1answer
93 views

Drop pod deviation above terrain

Assuming a drop pod place 2 inch away from a 6 inch wide impassible terrain (eg: river of lava). Drop pod deviation says that it has to deviate 12 inches, in the direction that passes above said ...
5
votes
4answers
5k views

Can I combine different races as a single army? [duplicate]

Can I mix soldiers from totally different armies? I mean, can I have some, say, Necrons in among my Chaos Space Marines? I have a couple different armies, and I'd like to combine them.
3
votes
1answer
708 views

What is the reasoning behind some of the allies, in 6th edition Warhammer?

I find some of the alliances in the new edition of Warhammer confusing. Looking at Tau, for instance, they are Battle Brothers with Eldar and Spacemarines, although neither of these are, to my ...