Warmachine is a table-top miniatures game published by Privateer Press. Players take on the role of an elite soldier-sorcerer known as a warcaster. While a warcaster and his army is a formidable force on the battlefield, a warcaster's true strength is in their ability to magically control and ...

learn more… | top users | synonyms

3
votes
2answers
125 views

What do I need to get (re)started in Warmachine?

I got into Warmachine a while ago, then fell out of it. I'm looking to get back into it, but I'm not sure what books I would now need. I have a couple of the original books, but I don't have the Mk2 ...
6
votes
1answer
228 views

What can Protectorate do to counter Epic Haley's Feat?

So, I have a friend who plays Cygnar in Warmachine. I play Protectorate, and he has been playing a LOT of Epic Haley. Her feat basically makes you 1) Forfeit either an action or a movement and 2) He ...
6
votes
1answer
128 views

How do I tell at a glance whether a Warjack is focus hungry or not?

I'm fairly new to Warmachine and whilst perusing through various fora and what not, I hear that some Warjacks are focus heavy and some are not. Obviously some like the Berserker are focus-light but ...
1
vote
1answer
57 views

Would a duel model between Khadors' Sorcha and Circles' Kaya seem realistic?

It's for a model painting competition but I don't know if it fits in with any fluff... Opinions? O.o
4
votes
1answer
105 views

What does current focus mean?

I've started playing with friends and for spells, the bonus on the hit dice is current focus. Determine a magic attack's success by making a magic attack roll. Roll 2d6 and add the attacking ...
6
votes
1answer
231 views

Can a Cyclone's “Dual Covering Fire” Special Action be used if the Cyclone is engaged in melee?

This question came up last night while we were playing a game of Warmachine. A friend was running a Cyclone, and he noticed that the Dual Covering Fire special action is an *Action, not an *Attack. ...
5
votes
1answer
529 views

If you're too Tough to die, do you still burn?

In Warmachine/Hordes, there are many models which have the 'Tough' rule: TOUGH: When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, this model heals 1 damage point, is no longer disabled, ...
3
votes
1answer
107 views

Can models give up their Vengeance move to recover from Knocked Down?

I have a unit of Troll Fennblades. On my opponent's turn, they are attacked, and many are killed. Some make a Tough roll, though, and so are merely Knocked Down. In my next Maintenance Phase, all ...
2
votes
1answer
170 views

Does pKreoss' Purification spell clear out Cloud Effects like Murder of Crows?

Does pKreoss' Purification spell (which causes Upkeep Spells, Continuous Effects, and Animi to expire) remove Murder of Crows from the table? If so, at what distance? Does the cloud have to be ...
6
votes
2answers
302 views

Can Dawnguard Scyir get 4 damage dice on a charge?

Dawnguard Scyir has the ability Flank[Faction Warjack]. If a warjack was in melee with a given enemy model and the Scyir charged into combat with that model, would he get four dice on the damage roll? ...
5
votes
1answer
368 views

When a Warlock casts an Animus, is it still an Animus?

So, I was playing a friend who plays a lot of Hordes yesterday, and he mentioned that when his Warlock casts an Animus as a spell, it still counts as an Animus. This means that it cannot be cast on a ...