3
votes
5answers
121 views

How can we avoid big money in casual games?

My girlfriend and I have recently discovered the Big Money strategy in Dominion, and it's killing the game for us. We're not very competitive, so we don't want to spend a lot of time and effort trying ...
0
votes
0answers
6 views

Trick Joseki? Shoulder hit after keima to 3-4-stone

In a game I played, the following "Joseki" occurred: I played the low keima against the 3-4-point, and Black responded with a shoulder hit. This move is not in the book by Takao Shinji. In the game ...
2
votes
2answers
102 views

How do continuous effects interact with the stack, your hand, and other zones?

For example, Chief of the Foundry has an ability that says: Other artifact creatures you control get +1/+1. If I were to cast a 1/1 Artifact Creature it would enter the battlefield as a 2/2 due to ...
5
votes
1answer
223 views

Can I Stifle Heritage Druid's ability?

Heritage Druid lets you tap three elves you control to add GGG to your mana pool. Stifle counters activated or triggered abilities. My question is... if I use Heritage Druid to tap three elves and ...
0
votes
0answers
19 views
+50

Luck ability is useless when starting a fire or returning to the camp?

Jean-François and Marguerite de La Rocque abilities say: You may add 1 to any die roll by discarding 1 random story token. This ability can not be used on a reroll. Emphasis on the 'add'. By ...
8
votes
1answer
275 views
+50

Help identify an old board game with three rooms in a castle and a ghost

Some things that I can remember: There is a castle with 3 rooms. There are tree treasures in each of the rooms Maximum about 4 players Someone plays as a Ghost and others as people Ghost is hunting ...
4
votes
1answer
93 views

Blinking face down Auras and Non-Permanents

When I exile a manifested permanent like an enchantment or creature with something like Roon of the Hidden Realm, it comes back face up (from what I understand). What happens if I exile and return an ...
0
votes
1answer
342 views

If Queen covered with opponent coin and both players have coins to pocket, Queen will be recovered?

In carrom, if the Queen pocketed, while covering, covered with opponent coin by mistake(both players have coins remaining on the board), will the Queen belongs to opponent or recovered to place on ...
1
vote
1answer
22 views

What if a player forgot to take the noble tile?

A player has all the cards to be visited by one noble, but at the end of their turn they forgot about the noble tile. If another player in their turn also have all the cards for this noble who gets ...
6
votes
2answers
52 views

Carcassonne Flying Machines + Ferries

Today we were playing Carcassonne with two of the mini expansions, Flying Machines and Ferries. The following situation occured: The yellow player is launching one of his meeple from the bottom ...
3
votes
2answers
65 views

Are there partnerships that win major events by using unpopular systems?

There are some bridge combinations that most players shun, at least when possible. One of these is the so-called Moyesian or 4-3 trump fit. The result is that there are bidding systems that require ...
1
vote
1answer
109 views

Missed triggers in two-headed giant

My partner and I recently played in a Two-Headed Giant Sealed. As is the case with most multiplayer tournaments, the event was run at Regular REL. My partner has an upkeep trigger (Thopter Spy ...
1
vote
1answer
20 views

Do reserved cards influence the end of the game?

I have some reserved cards in Splendor and 15 prestige points at the end of my turn. Is this the final round of the game, or do I have to buy all my reserved cards to end the game? Do reserved cards ...
1
vote
2answers
99 views

Would Restore the Peace affect a hexproof creature?

Would restore the peace affect creatures with hexproof? I have Archetype of Endurance (all creatures you control have hexproof, your opponent cannot have hexproof). I attack and then my opponent ...
4
votes
2answers
114 views

Risk turning in cards five or six?

In regards to turning in Risk cards the rule book says if you have five or six cards you must turn in at least one set. My question is why do they give you the option of five or six. If you have five ...
1
vote
3answers
139 views

Would this rule help in ticket to ride?

The game balance in Ticket to Ride (in my social not highly competitive environment) seems to favour the person with the longest tickets and getting short tickets is almost automatically a loss. I ...
8
votes
1answer
73 views

Big expansion boards for ticket to ride

I enjoy giving anniversary or otherwise "nicer" editions of games to family and friends. Last year for Christmas, I got my sister and brother-in-law a copy of Ticket to Ride 10th Anniversary Edition. ...
0
votes
1answer
33 views

Boggle Rules - Two same letters to make a word

Why can't we use two dices at different positions that have the same letters to make a word? For example: -DEED --> INVALID -NEON --> INVALID Why..?
5
votes
1answer
896 views

Can I steal a creature then block my own attack with it?

My opponent casts a creature. During my turn, I attack and cast Temporary Insanity on the creature and want to force it to block my attacker. My opponent claims that since I control the creature and ...
0
votes
0answers
12 views

Braille-Cribbage

It's already known that Cribbage can be played by blind people by using Braille-cards, but what I need to know is whether there is a data base for Braille-players to get together in their local areas. ...
2
votes
2answers
36 views

Is there any methodology or pattern to picking better stats to emphasize for location and other world encounters?

I know this of the 6 basic stats speed: for moving through arkham sneak: for evading fight: for combat and gate closing lore: for spell casting and gate closing luck: for....shrug. Encountery random ...
16
votes
2answers
1k views

Is this a win or loss?

Does a player need to complete a full turn (i.e. 4 actions, pickup, infect) if during the action portion the final disease was cured? I only ask because there was only 1 player card left in the deck ...
3
votes
1answer
24 views

In Hive, can a beetle go up/down into an empty space?

Consider a Beetle surrounded on 5 sides, thus there is a space in the ring around it. Can the Beetle move from the centre of this arrangement, into the space? A normal 'planar' move is prevented ...
5
votes
2answers
39 views

Does the mayor count as multiple knights during taxes?

We were playing Carcassonne last night using the expansions Wheel of Fortune and Abbey & Mayor. A situation came up where a player had his mayor on a large unfinished city with several pennants ...
0
votes
1answer
16 views

Stalingrad Pocket 2nd ed Air Power Barrage Shift

According to rule 1.10g Divisional Integrity Artillery Bonus: "Artillery which does not have a friendly unit adjacent to the intended target ... will receive a (leftward) shift on the Barrage ...
3
votes
1answer
30 views

Is the unique asset deck reshuffled when cards are discarded?

It is quite clear from the base game rules that normal asset cards are put in a separate discard pile when they are discarded, whereas condition cards and spell cards are shuffled back into the deck ...
0
votes
1answer
98 views

Can you kill a Blessed Spirits with a Fiery Impulse in response to an enchantment being cast?

Here's the situation: my opponent has a Blessed Spirits in play, and he he casts a Grasp of the Hieromancer targeting it. I respond by casting Fiery Impulse, targeting the same card. Is the Blessed ...
0
votes
1answer
99 views

Saving throws against Destroyer weapons

If your opponent hits one of your models with a D strength weapon, rolls on the table and gets a 'Seriously Wounded' result, then rolls 3 for the number of wounds. How many saving throws do I roll? Is ...
4
votes
1answer
62 views

Teamwork in bridge

I am new to contract bridge, and wish to understand how it is a team game. I am playing at a low level, but it seems that it is more like two individuals that are playing for the same side, rather ...
5
votes
4answers
3k views

What should be used to represent creature tokens when the printed token card isn't available?

Many spells or abilities cause one or more creatures to join the battlefield (i.e. 1/1 white Soldier creature tokens, 3/3 green Beast creature tokens, etc.). These token cards are not included with ...
1
vote
2answers
130 views

If someone blocks an infect creature, do the -1/-1 counters stay on the creature?

The Infect ability is worded as follows: Infect (This creature deals damage to creatures in the form of -1/-1 counters and to players in the form of poison counters.) I'm just wondering if these ...
23
votes
6answers
3k views

In Ticket to Ride, how do you overcome bad initial tickets?

I've played fewer than a dozen games but have noticed that I can now guess with about 75% accuracy whether I'll win or not just based on my initial 3 tickets drawn. If I have a long transcontinental ...
4
votes
5answers
31k views

Which MTG booster packs have the highest rate of return on investment?

Most players will tell you that buying booster packs for values is a loosing investment, and for the most part this is true because the average expected value of cards in a set is lower than the ...
0
votes
1answer
130 views

Can you play base-game Claustrophobia scenarios with De Profundis included?

Perhaps stupidly, I bought both Claustrophobia and its De Profundis expansion both at once. After doing so I discovered that the designer has stated the scenarios in the base game are not suitable ...
1
vote
1answer
21 views

If I claim a monster token from the cup, do I pick at random?

One of the Other World encounters says Pass a Luck (-1) check to claim a monster trophy from the cup (even if it is Endless).... Does this mean I pick randomly?
11
votes
3answers
368 views

In Race for the Galaxy on 6-cost development cards, does a player receive VPs for all of the categories they have satisfied, or just one?

My family and I are confused about the wording in the instructions. Perhaps my question is best asked with an example: I have the Alien Tech Institute card, which has three parts: 3 VPs for each ...
4
votes
1answer
92 views

Are power and toughness “used up”?

Let's say I get two creatures to fight. One is a 4/4 the other is a 1/1. The 4/4 destroys the 1/1, but does the 4/4 become effectively a 3/3, so that later in the combat step it will only be able to ...
1
vote
1answer
28 views

Can you become the deputy of Arkham after another player has?

If someone has taken this card, is another player able to seize it from them by trading in trophies at the police station to become the deputy themselves? If so, do they take the Patrol Wagon (whether ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

What is “summoning sickness” and how does it affect my creatures?

Note: this is intended to be a canonical question about summoning sickness. "Summoning sickness", broadly, is the rule that stops you from attacking or paying {T} costs with a creature that you just ...
1
vote
2answers
311 views

Does military power accumulate in Race for the Galaxy

I have one card placed down with a plus one to my military on phase three. I have already placed down a card in a previous settle phase that cost one military. If another settle phase comes along ...
1
vote
1answer
24 views

Alternative to Dixit Odyssey voting boards+pegs

I recently bought Dixit Odyssey to enable more players at the same time. One thing about Odyssey that I absolutely don't like, is the new voting system with the cards and pegs. It's a lot harder to ...
0
votes
2answers
39 views

Can anyone block a steal or assasination?

Lets say: It's Andy's turn and he pays three coins to assasinate Bob. Charlie has a Contessa and wants to disrupt Andy. Is Charlie allowed to use his Contessa here?
4
votes
2answers
168 views

Can I sacrifice the same creature twice with Blood Host?

So for example I am using Blood Host and I sacrifice Reassembling Skeleton, then revive him using his ability. The description says "Sacrifice another creature" to activate the ability. Because I have ...
5
votes
1answer
106 views

Is an ability that can only be activated once per turn still considred activated if it gets countered?

Stifle counters activated abilities. Quirion Ranger has an activated ability that can only be activated once each turn. Does the ability count as being activated for the turn if it was stifled?
10
votes
3answers
18k views

How can I tell which cards or sets are currently legal in various formats?

I haven't played Magic: the Gathering since the days of Onslaught and Mirrodin, and I would like to try to catch back up. Since all my cards are quite dated now, I may be more interested in formats ...
0
votes
1answer
93 views

Spells placing effects on heroic

I know this may really sound dumb for asking, but.. Say you have a card like Dragonrage and it applies onto say Favored Hoplite. I know the Dragonrage's affect will trigger Heroic, but the "R: This ...
0
votes
0answers
71 views

How can you distinguish a “Standard” Card fro a “Modern” Card? [duplicate]

I recently played in a Standard draft at Friday night magic and I was informed that there are certain specific sets of cards that can be used in Standard. I am aware that Modern includes all standard ...
3
votes
1answer
67 views

interaction of “Foreclosure” and “Crop Insurance” cards

In the game Farmageddon, if the Foreclosure card is used to "buy" a crop from another player with a Crop Insurance card on it, is the crop acquired complete with the Crop Insurance, or does the Crop ...
0
votes
2answers
115 views

How much damage does Acolyte of the Inferno's ability deal?

Acolyte of the Inferno has this ability: Whenever Acolyte of the Inferno becomes blocked by a creature, it deals 2 damage to that creature. Does that mean it deals 2+current power to blocking ...
2
votes
1answer
81 views

Is it possible to change or destroy goods that a scout is sending?

In the rulebook of Civilization (p.26) it says that The player declares which of their cities the scout is "sending" the square to during the Start of Turn Phase, and all the icons in that ...

15 30 50 per page