0
votes
1answer
10 views

heritage druid and stifle

Heritage Druid lets you tap three elves you control to add GGG to your mana pool. Stifle counters activated or triggered abilities. My question is... if I use Heritage Druid to tap three elves and ...
0
votes
0answers
3 views

Trick Joseki? Shoulder hit after keima to 3-4-stone

In a game I played, the following "Joseki" occurred: I played the low keima against the 3-4-point, and Black responded with a shoulder hit. This move is not in the book by Takao Shinji. In the game ...
3
votes
4answers
79 views

How can we avoid big money in casual games?

My girlfriend and I have recently discovered the Big Money strategy in Dominion, and it's killing the game for us. We're not very competitive, so we don't want to spend a lot of time and effort trying ...
1
vote
2answers
80 views

How do continuous effects interact with the stack, your hand, and other zones?

For example, Chief of the Foundry has an ability that says: "Other artifact creatures you control get +1/+1." If I were to cast a 1/1 Artifact Creature it would enter the battlefield as a 2/2 due ...
1
vote
1answer
19 views

What if a player forgot to take the noble tile?

A player has all the cards to be visited by one noble, but at the end of their turn they forgot about the noble tile. If another player in their turn also have all the cards for this noble who gets ...
1
vote
1answer
17 views

Do reserved cards influence the end of the game?

I have some reserved cards in Splendor and 15 prestige points at the end of my turn. Is this the final round of the game, or do I have to buy all my reserved cards to end the game? Do reserved cards ...
2
votes
1answer
82 views

Blinking face down Auras and Non-Permanents

When I exile a manifested permanent like an enchantment or creature with something like Roon of the Hidden Realm, it comes back face up (from what I understand). What happens if I exile and return an ...
0
votes
1answer
30 views

Boggle Rules - Two same letters to make a word

Why can't we use two dices at different positions that have the same letters to make a word? For example: -DEED --> INVALID -NEON --> INVALID Why..?
5
votes
1answer
887 views

Can I steal a creature then block my own attack with it?

My opponent casts a creature. During my turn, I attack and cast Temporary Insanity on the creature and want to force it to block my attacker. My opponent claims that since I control the creature and ...
0
votes
0answers
12 views

Braille-Cribbage

It's already known that Cribbage can be played by blind people by using Braille-cards, but what I need to know is whether there is a data base for Braille-players to get together in their local areas. ...
3
votes
1answer
23 views

In Hive, can a beetle go up/down into an empty space?

Consider a Beetle surrounded on 5 sides, thus there is a space in the ring around it. Can the Beetle move from the centre of this arrangement, into the space? A normal 'planar' move is prevented ...
1
vote
1answer
105 views

Missed triggers in two-headed giant

My partner and I recently played in a Two-Headed Giant Sealed. As is the case with most multiplayer tournaments, the event was run at Regular REL. My partner has an upkeep trigger (Thopter Spy ...
0
votes
1answer
96 views

Can you kill a Blessed Spirits with a Fiery Impulse in response to an enchantment being cast?

Here's the situation: my opponent has a Blessed Spirits in play, and he he casts a Grasp of the Hieromancer targeting it. I respond by casting Fiery Impulse, targeting the same card. Is the Blessed ...
3
votes
2answers
63 views

Are there partnerships that win major events by using unpopular systems?

There are some bridge combinations that most players shun, at least when possible. One of these is the so-called Moyesian or 4-3 trump fit. The result is that there are bidding systems that require ...
5
votes
2answers
48 views

Carcassonne Flying Machines + Ferries

Today we were playing Carcassonne with two of the mini expansions, Flying Machines and Ferries. The following situation occured: The yellow player is launching one of his meeple from the bottom ...
1
vote
2answers
99 views

Would Restore the Peace affect a hexproof creature?

Would restore the peace affect creatures with hexproof? I have Archetype of Endurance (all creatures you control have hexproof, your opponent cannot have hexproof). I attack and then my opponent ...
2
votes
2answers
34 views

Is there any methodology or pattern to picking better stats to emphasize for location and other world encounters?

I know this of the 6 basic stats speed: for moving through arkham sneak: for evading fight: for combat and gate closing lore: for spell casting and gate closing luck: for....shrug. Encountery random ...
4
votes
2answers
37 views

Does the mayor count as multiple knights during taxes?

We were playing Carcassonne last night using the expansions Wheel of Fortune and Abbey & Mayor. A situation came up where a player had his mayor on a large unfinished city with several pennants ...
4
votes
1answer
61 views

Teamwork in bridge

I am new to contract bridge, and wish to understand how it is a team game. I am playing at a low level, but it seems that it is more like two individuals that are playing for the same side, rather ...
1
vote
1answer
21 views

If I claim a monster token from the cup, do I pick at random?

One of the Other World encounters says Pass a Luck (-1) check to claim a monster trophy from the cup (even if it is Endless).... Does this mean I pick randomly?
4
votes
1answer
92 views

Are power and toughness “used up”?

Let's say I get two creatures to fight. One is a 4/4 the other is a 1/1. The 4/4 destroys the 1/1, but does the 4/4 become effectively a 3/3, so that later in the combat step it will only be able to ...
1
vote
1answer
28 views

Can you become the deputy of Arkham after another player has?

If someone has taken this card, is another player able to seize it from them by trading in trophies at the police station to become the deputy themselves? If so, do they take the Patrol Wagon (whether ...
1
vote
2answers
310 views

Does military power accumulate in Race for the Galaxy

I have one card placed down with a plus one to my military on phase three. I have already placed down a card in a previous settle phase that cost one military. If another settle phase comes along ...
4
votes
2answers
168 views

Can I sacrifice the same creature twice with Blood Host?

So for example I am using Blood Host and I sacrifice Reassembling Skeleton, then revive him using his ability. The description says "Sacrifice another creature" to activate the ability. Because I have ...
0
votes
2answers
39 views

Can anyone block a steal or assasination?

Lets say: It's Andy's turn and he pays three coins to assasinate Bob. Charlie has a Contessa and wants to disrupt Andy. Is Charlie allowed to use his Contessa here?
1
vote
1answer
23 views

Alternative to Dixit Odyssey voting boards+pegs

I recently bought Dixit Odyssey to enable more players at the same time. One thing about Odyssey that I absolutely don't like, is the new voting system with the cards and pegs. It's a lot harder to ...
0
votes
0answers
71 views

How can you distinguish a “Standard” Card fro a “Modern” Card? [duplicate]

I recently played in a Standard draft at Friday night magic and I was informed that there are certain specific sets of cards that can be used in Standard. I am aware that Modern includes all standard ...
0
votes
1answer
93 views

Spells placing effects on heroic

I know this may really sound dumb for asking, but.. Say you have a card like Dragonrage and it applies onto say Favored Hoplite. I know the Dragonrage's affect will trigger Heroic, but the "R: This ...
0
votes
2answers
115 views

How much damage does Acolyte of the Inferno's ability deal?

Acolyte of the Inferno has this ability: Whenever Acolyte of the Inferno becomes blocked by a creature, it deals 2 damage to that creature. Does that mean it deals 2+current power to blocking ...
5
votes
1answer
105 views

Is an ability that can only be activated once per turn still considred activated if it gets countered?

Stifle counters activated abilities. Quirion Ranger has an activated ability that can only be activated once each turn. Does the ability count as being activated for the turn if it was stifled?
1
vote
0answers
13 views

How do I have to arrange the remaining meeples after using the Ultra Bright Smile ability?

The Super Secret ability Ultra Bright smile lets you eat escaped meeples then you can rearrange the remaining escaped meeples. My question regards rearranging the remaining meeples. The first level ...
2
votes
1answer
109 views

Blocker with First Strike and Blocker with Double Strike

I'm playing Magic Duels: Origins and I blocked a 2/2 with a 1/1 double strike and a 1/1 first strike. My interpretation is that that equals 2 damage during the first strike phase and 1 damage during ...
-1
votes
0answers
19 views

Do green m&ms have summoning sickness? or Many questions, one answer [migrated]

Going through the review queue I hit a swarm of questions all asking about summoning sickness in magic All these questions are different, but it all comes down to Do green m&ms have summoning ...
-1
votes
1answer
52 views

How many allowed scrabble words are there in different languages

I just read about Nigel Richards winning the french scrabble championship after learning 370,000 french words by heart. There was also mentioned that the Islandic scrabble society invited him to the ...
1
vote
3answers
137 views

Would this rule help in ticket to ride?

The game balance in Ticket to Ride (in my social not highly competitive environment) seems to favour the person with the longest tickets and getting short tickets is almost automatically a loss. I ...
0
votes
0answers
7 views

In The Captain Is Dead Episode 2: Adrift, do all systems with any damage gain damage no matter where hostile aliens are?

The instuctions here say At the start of any turn in which a hostile alien is present, add a damage token to any system that already has a damage token. Does this mean if an alien is anywhere in ...
0
votes
0answers
93 views

When will MTG start losing its popularity? [closed]

Since I was very young, back to the first editions, I saw Magic the Gathering becoming more and more popular. Needless to say, those who have kept some of the early staples in perfect condition can ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

What is “summoning sickness” and how does it affect my creatures?

Note: this is intended to be a canonical question about summoning sickness. "Summoning sickness", broadly, is the rule that stops you from attacking or paying {T} costs with a creature that you just ...
1
vote
1answer
49 views

How many spades does my partner have when responding to my opening 1club bid and left overcalls 1 heart [closed]

I open with 1 club. Left bids 1 hearts. My partner bids 1 spade. How many spades can I assume my partner has?
1
vote
2answers
130 views

If someone blocks an infect creature, do the -1/-1 counters stay on the creature?

The Infect ability is worded as follows: Infect (This creature deals damage to creatures in the form of -1/-1 counters and to players in the form of poison counters.) I'm just wondering if these ...
3
votes
1answer
509 views

Do creatures put on the battlefield via a sorcery have summoning sickness? [duplicate]

I have a card named Doubling Chant, the effect of this card is "For each creature you control, Search your library for a creature with the same name and put it onto the battlefield. Then Shuffle your ...
1
vote
1answer
48 views

Where can I find 'no limits' Texas Hold'em game logs?

I've been looking at some papers about developing AI players for Texas Hold'em, and many of them have used betting history from expert human players as training data. I have so far been unable to ...
4
votes
1answer
147 views

multiple lines in spell abilities - why new paragraph sometimes

I have a question regarding the structure of rules text in regards to abilities and effects. Incinerate reads: Incinerate deals 3 damage to target creature or player. A creature dealt damage this ...
0
votes
0answers
10 views

World of Warriors - how to play? Follow-Up

In this post someone asked for resources on the how to play the World of Warriors Trading Card Game (not the app): World of Warriors - how to play? The answer was helpful but only repeated what is ...
1
vote
1answer
25 views

Passengers and Fugitives: can they be cashed in at a location, like goods?

Just as some Nav cards give you Cargo and Contraband, which you can sell to a contact for cash, some situations result in you having extra Passengers or Fugitives. I know they may be useful to keep ...
2
votes
2answers
167 views

Double Strike with Lifelink that destroys its blocker in the first strike phase [duplicate]

Say I have a 5/5 creature with double strike and lifelink. I attack with the 5/5 and my opponent blocks with a 1/1. The creature is killed by the damage in the first strike phase and I gain 5 life. Do ...
1
vote
1answer
42 views

Does spreading a bite effect at the colony affect helpless survivors?

Does spreading the bite effect end at the colony if the last player survivor dies, or does it spread to helpless survivors?
6
votes
2answers
207 views

Starting out in MTG, but core sets are being phased out, so what to do? [on hold]

I've played MTG casually a couple times, built some starter decks, but gave all my cards away in a purge a couple years ago. I want to get back into Magic, but after reading about all of the upcoming ...
8
votes
1answer
249 views

Why do double-faced planeswalkers from Origins get exiled before being transformed?

In Magic the Gathering Origins set, there is a cycle of 5 creatures, each that are double-sided and have a planeswalker on the back side. Previously when double-sided cards were used, the cards had a ...
4
votes
0answers
32 views

Betrayal at House on the Hill: Poltergeist haunt (#17) - do item tokens count for the poltergeist's damage track?

In the poltergeist haunt, heroes are collecting item tokens (candles) to defeat the poltergeist. The Poltergeist wants to accumulate items to get stronger (move the damage track). In our game, a ...

15 30 50 per page