2
votes
2answers
44 views

Which battleforce should I buy as a newbie player?

After playing some Mordheim games we decided with my friends to buy a Warhammer 40k battleforce and start playing Wh40k. I started reading all the codexes/forums but I feel a little overwhelmed with ...
0
votes
1answer
64 views

Mimic Vat and Exiling

If I used Mimic Vat on a Licid, created a copy of that Licid, and attached it to a creature, would I still have to exile it during my end step even though it's now an enchantment?
2
votes
1answer
225 views

Losing Control of Bestowed Enchantment Creatures [duplicate]

I've been playing Magic for about six months and thought I had a decent handle on how things work until I ran into the following problem: Set-up: I was playing mono black devotion against blue-green ...
2
votes
1answer
51 views

Does Republic of Rome usually generate one or more wars per turn, leading to a loss even when cooperating?

I have played Republic of Rome several (4?) times with a group (usually 4-5 players) without studying the rules myself. We have always started in the Early Republic period, and even when we try to ...
11
votes
3answers
429 views

How do you prevent deliberately losing in Republic of Rome?

In Republic of Rome, if Rome falls, everyone loses. Some gaming groups I've been in grok this concept completely and players will make major sacrifices of their positions (donating lots of money from ...
17
votes
7answers
9k views

On-Demand Cards Deck printing service?

I'm designing a card-based rpg game and I'm looking for an equivalent to http://lulu.com but for printing online cards on demand. The card would be either playing cards like Magic or similar, or ...
2
votes
1answer
69 views

How does selling buildings and bankruptcy work in Monopoly?

Player A and Player B are both fairly well-off and developed players. A, however, does not have much cash on hand. A lands on B's developed property. He has to sell some of his buildings to pay the ...
0
votes
2answers
52 views

4-4 high approach joseki question

I have a question about 4-4 high approach joseki. Everything is clear until move 4. I don't know how to respond if black plays C15 instead of the expected C17 (stone number 5). It leads to the ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Harmonic Sliver have to destroy a permanent?

If I am the only player with any permanents then does Harmonic Sliver mean I must destroy one of my permanents? Can it destroy itself? Harmonic Sliver {1}{G}{W} Creature -- Sliver 1/1 All Slivers ...
0
votes
0answers
42 views

Spectra Ward and creatures that give other creatures with +1/1 counters on them buffs [duplicate]

So I'm just wondering if I have creatures that say "other creatures you control have deathtouch, lifelink, first strike, trample, etc." and I put Spectra Ward on one of those creatures with a +1/+1 ...
1
vote
1answer
118 views

How does Dig Through Time work with Courser of Kruphix?

When Courser of Kruphix is on the battlefield and I resolve a Dig Through Time, do I reveal the top card of my library AFTER I pick two cards from the seven I get to look at, or does the top card ...
-2
votes
0answers
77 views

What's the name of this simple game comprised of squares? [on hold]

The game is comprised of a grid of squares. The squares are blank except for the upper left square and lower right square. The upper left square is player 1's square marked by a color (usually red) ...
4
votes
3answers
537 views

What happens when a double-sided card is returned to the battlefield or a copy of it appears?

Say I cast Oblivion Ring on Garruk, the Veil-Cursed (i.e. a transformed Garruk Relentless). What happens when my Oblivion Ring gets destroyed? My interpretation was that Garruk returns in his ...
-2
votes
1answer
74 views

Does Standard Type 2 Rules applies for lands? MTG [closed]

Does Standard Type 2 Cycling Rules applies for lands too? Those lands that generates two, three manas for example?
0
votes
0answers
38 views

What happens when I use Feast on the Fallen on Bloodcrazed Hoplite? [duplicate]

Me and a friend were playing magic, and I cast the enchantment Feast on the Fallen, I dealt 3 damage with Jagwasp Swarm. Then at the beginning of his upkeep I put 2 +1/+1 counters on Bloodcrazed ...
1
vote
2answers
136 views

Looking for a board game

I once ran into a computer implementation of an old board game that seemed rather interesting, unfortunately I am unable to recall either. What I do remember: Probable Java (advertised support for ...
1
vote
1answer
33 views

Bang! Calamity Janet and the High Noon Expansion

In the Bang! expansion pack, there is a card known as "The Sermon" which reads as follows: The Sermon: BANG! cards cannot be used in player's turn Seems straight-forward enough, until I realized ...
3
votes
1answer
32 views

Potting red and last piece together

Say I am playing the white and one white is left and the red(queen) is also left. The red and white are both potted together, is this a win or a lose or do you put the pieces in the center again?
5
votes
2answers
264 views

Can I use an ability granted to a land by an aura immediately?

This is fairly simple question, but I'm unsure. Suppose I use enchant my basic land with an aura like Caustic Tar. The enchantment's ability says to tap the land. Can I tap it immediately to use the ...
6
votes
4answers
4k views

Do tokens ever go to the graveyard and can they be sacrificed or exiled?

If I had a card that said something like, "Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 for every creature in your graveyard". Would that also apply to tokens which died in previous turns? Also if I play a card ...
4
votes
1answer
770 views

Put twice as many tokens/counters

If I control 2 copies of Primal Vigor which reads: If one or more tokens would be put onto the battlefield, twice that many of those tokens are put onto the battlefield instead. If one or ...
2
votes
1answer
223 views

Does Hardened Scales trigger when +1/+1 counter are moved from one permanent to another?

If a +1/+1 counter get's moved from one creature to another does Hardened Scales double the amount of counters that the second creature gets?
1
vote
1answer
51 views

How to find people to play Magic the gathering with? [duplicate]

I started playing Magic about six years ago, and I live in a very "Intelligence Deficient" Town. I have tried playing online and I Don't have a game shop nearby. Help me please??????
-1
votes
2answers
113 views

A Couple of Hearts Probabilities

Here's what I don't get. I've played a lot of Hearts for many years - thousands of games I'm sure. The number of times I've played a low heart, and the trick has gone 2H, 3H, 4H, 5H seems way out of ...
1
vote
1answer
19 views

What happens if I play Quagmire/Bear Trap on myself on AR 7?

Quagmire* says the following: On next action round, US player must discard an Operations card worth 2 or more and roll 1-4 to cancel this event. Repeat each US player Action round until successful ...
5
votes
1answer
181 views

is there card game prototyping platform to track, change, print?

this and this and this and this all give good leads, but I'm looking for something with a few specific features: I want a database that does all the basic database things--store cards, find cards, ...
2
votes
1answer
71 views

Can Legion's Initiative save permanents from Bearer of Heavens's destruction ability?

When Bearer of Heavens dies, it destroys all permanents. If my opponent's creature destroys Bearer of Heavens can he activate Legion Initiative's ability (to exile his creatures until the start of his ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

Finding places to play Magic the Gathering games

A friend of mine recently got MTG for the XBox and is talking us into getting real cards. I'm all up for starting but I dread the idea of playing the same two people over and over with no change ...
2
votes
1answer
39 views

Forbidden Desert: Valid Navigator and Climber combo to save two buried players for one action?

In the game Forbidden Desert, players can be buried when there are too many sand counters on their location. Tiles with more than one sand counter on them are considered blocked. The Navigator can ...
4
votes
2answers
185 views

What should be used to represent creature tokens when the printed token card isn't available?

Many spells or abilities cause one or more creatures to join the battlefield (i.e. 1/1 white Soldier creature tokens, 3/3 green Beast creature tokens, etc.). These token cards are not included with ...
3
votes
1answer
37 views

If too many players wins the game, can the Boss and Profiteer win no gold?

If 5 players wins the game (2 green dwarfs, 1 blue dwarf, a Boss and a Profiteer), they only get 1 gold piece each. But the Boss gets 1 less, and the Profiteer gets 2 less. That means that they get no ...
1
vote
1answer
31 views

Does a Geologist get their gold if they're locked up?

At the end of a game I just played, there were 5 crystals on the table, and the geologist was locked up. Everyone else in the group said the geologist didn't get the gold, but nowhere in the rules ...
7
votes
1answer
951 views

Does Dormant Sliver mean Slivers can no longer attack?

Dormant Sliver {2}{G}{U} Creature -- Sliver 2/2. All Sliver creatures have defender. All Slivers have "When this permanent enters the battlefield, draw a card." It would seem if all Slivers have ...
0
votes
1answer
111 views

Can I tap Sliver Hive to pay for Hive Stirrings?

I am playing a game and have no white mana to play Hive Stirrings, but I do have a Sliver Hive under my control. Am I able to tap the Sliver Hive to play Hive Stirrings (assume I have enough mana to ...
1
vote
3answers
58 views

Do you need more to “pre-empt” with a major, than a minor suit?

When I pre-empt at say, the three level, I am doing so with a "lopsided" hand that has relatively few points and is long in one suit (and short in two or three others). Under the circumstances, if the ...
3
votes
1answer
31 views

Are there any restrictions to the number of weapons a survivor can equip?

In the game, Dead of Winter, one of the players had their survivor pretty much camp out at the police station and search for weapons. He then equipped pretty much every single weapon he found to the ...
2
votes
1answer
13 views

Changing player turn order

In Belfort I find it confusing when turn order is changed. Do you immediately swap turn markers during the placement phase? Do the turns take effect immediately (still in the placement phase) or do ...
4
votes
4answers
103 views

Duration cards in Dominion - Seaside - Are they your 1st action of your next turn?

When playing a Duration Card in Dominion-Seaside, is that Duration Card your 1st action of your next turn or can you play a card from your hand 1st and then play the Duration Card?
0
votes
3answers
149 views

Which has to be declared first: Marklights or Jink?

Situation: A squad of (jet)bikes has several Markerlights on them. The tau player is about to shoot at them with some Plasma or other weapon w/ low enough AP to punch their armor. Does the Tau player ...
11
votes
4answers
2k views

Must a player disclose what deck they are using before play?

Our family is just learning this game. We were wondering if each player typically announces which deck they are using beforehand. If yes, in how much detail? I could not find anything in the rules ...
2
votes
1answer
49 views

bridge penalties [duplicate]

I am with a group that has been playing bridge for a little over 2 years. We have one member who has, on occassion, layed her hand down towards the end and declared the rest of the tricks are hers. ...
1
vote
1answer
94 views

Am I understanding the China Card right in Twilight Struggle?

I want to make sure I understand this right. Most cards, I can either choose the Event, or use the OPS Points in the top-left corner. If I choose the Event, then the OPS points in the corner is ...
4
votes
1answer
36 views

Can you confirm these DEFCON verbs for Twilight Struggle?

For example, DEFCON is currently at 3. Due to some trigger (event card, end of turn, etc.) it needs to move. Can you confirm my understanding of the verbs? INCREASE: Move DEFCON to left to 4 ...
0
votes
1answer
20 views

Was a larger version of Chitin I: The Harvest Wars ever released?

I owned Metagaming's Chitin I: The Harvest Wars (MicroGame 2) when I was a kid. I have a possibly flawed recollection that a larger bookshelf game using the Hymenoptera universe was released or ...
0
votes
0answers
11 views

Close combat after a rank is removed from an attack on any flank

I asked a similar question recently. However, i believe this question to be different since that question was in regard to "incomplete" ranks. This question is in regards to a rank that is completely ...
2
votes
2answers
180 views

In bridge, do people go through cycles of under- and -over bidding?

In the board game Go, there are two basic styles, high and low. "High" is all the rage for about ten years, until people have forgotten how to play "low." Then "low" gets "rediscovered," and people ...
1
vote
1answer
21 views

Does the event on CIA Created* have a one-time effect or last the duration of the turn?

The event on CIA Created* reads: The USSR reveals their hand of cards for this turn. The US may use the Operations value of this card to conduct Operations. Playing as the US, am I allowed to ...
35
votes
13answers
19k views

What are good placement strategies for Stratego? [on hold]

How would I set up a good placement in Stratego, especially with bombs and the flag? What is a good strategy for varying the placement?
11
votes
4answers
689 views

In backgammon, can you resign, and how can you tell when you should?

In backgammon, there comes a time when all pieces have passed each other; there is no more interaction, you are simply rolling it out until you can bear off all of your pieces. If one player is well ...
9
votes
1answer
739 views

What rules were used wrong in Tabletop's episode for “Fortune and Glory”?

In the opening of the Tabletop episode for Fortune and Glory, a tabletop gaming series with Will Wheaton, there is a disclaimer in the opening saying that many rules were used wrongly. I liked the ...

15 30 50 per page