3
votes
1answer
33 views

What is the advantage to starting your meld and laying it down when it isn't complete? Why not just wait until you have all seven?

What is the advantage to starting your meld and laying it down when it isn't complete? Why not just wait until you have all seven?
2
votes
2answers
153 views

How does double strike work?

If I have a creature with 4/4 double strike, does it kill each blocking creature with toughness 4 or less due to first strike?
2
votes
1answer
105 views

Lose Calm, if you make a creature attack does it become tapped?

Lose Calm says Gain control of target creature until end of turn. Untap that creature. It gains haste until end of turn and can't be blocked this turn except bye two or more creatures. So it ...
2
votes
2answers
469 views

What does outlast do?

On Disowned Ancestor it says Outlast {1}{B} ({1}{B}, tap: Put a +1/+1 counter on this creature. Outlast only as a sorcery.) Why do you pay the cost to activate it twice? Would it not be the same ...
4
votes
1answer
43 views

Are the boats you build in Stone Age visible to other players?

In Stone Age, when you build a boat you receive a Civilization card. This card gives you an immediate bonus, as well as some form of additional points to be calculated at the end of the game. I've ...
2
votes
1answer
141 views

How do costs to attack work?

Despite having what I feel is a fairly solid understanding of most rules and timings, I can't figure out Archangel of Tithes, and I'm clashing with intent and wording. Archangel of Tithes says "As ...
4
votes
2answers
533 views

What is the timing of “you may pay” abilities?

With abilities that allow a player to pay for optional effects, is that payment made as the ability resolves or as it goes onto the stack? If it's made as it resolves, do you have the opportunity to ...
1
vote
1answer
103 views

Effect of nope card mid attack

Playing exploding kittens and the game is unclear about the effect of nope cards mid attack. If a player has already drawn one of their attack and it's a nope, can they play it? What happens?
4
votes
1answer
83 views

Merger in Monpoly?

We've had multiple games with three players left, where it became clear one player is significantly stronger than the two other players combined. At one point the two weaker players realized this, ...
0
votes
1answer
72 views

In Matchpoints, is it worth risking a ruff to try for an overtrick in the following situation?

You are in a four spade contract, (West and East passed throughout), and the two suits of interest are spades, and a side suit (call it hearts). These are the North and South hands, as given in a ...
0
votes
1answer
37 views

Am I allowed to take a red 5 after reaching?

When I'm in riichi and draw a red 5 from the wall, am I allowed to exchange it with the non-red 5 in my hand? I would argue it might be allowed, because it does not change the yaku, wait or hand ...
4
votes
1answer
88 views

Can you play Dixit cooperatively with only 2 players? [closed]

My son (age 5) enjoys Dixit, but often it's just the two of us. I've come up with my own variant, below, but I want to hear more from the community. We play with a hand of four cards, and we take ...
0
votes
0answers
17 views

Does damage count as an effect?

Dr. Wheelo has a constant ability that says: Whenever one of your effects destroys cards from the top of your opponent's Life Deck, increase that amount by 2 and Rejuvenate 2" For the context of ...
-1
votes
1answer
96 views

Can I untap an attacking creature and avoid exchanging combat damage? [duplicate]

Can I untap an opponent's attacking creature with Kiora's Follower's ability, and avoid the combat damage that I would be dealt by that creature in the combat phase?
2
votes
1answer
87 views

Settlers of Catan Cities and knights - Knights VS Barbarians

From the official introduction video of Settlers of Catan Cities & Knights, it mentioned that if barbarians value is "equal" or less than the knights value, catan wins. If there's a tie, each one ...
4
votes
2answers
392 views

When you use 'Rebound' does the card go to the graveyard? [duplicate]

Someone suggested I read the basic guide of mtg because I'm new to the game, so I was reading it and on page 7 (Game Zones) where it talks about Exile it says: If a spell or ability exiles a card, ...
1
vote
2answers
85 views

Assigning damage to multiple blockers

Okay so when I was looking up the answer to a different question I had I found this You assign 2 damage on the first target, but he's not dead yet until you assign all 5 damage that you have. So ...
1
vote
1answer
84 views

Could I double team a blocker with Swift Kick?

Swift Kick So lets say I have a 1/1 and another 1/1 on the field My opponent has a 3/3 I attack with 1/1, and they block with 3/3 If I play Swift Kick on my unused 1/1 making it a 2/1 and target ...
1
vote
1answer
104 views

Does 'Other creatures you control have intimidate' affect new creatures brought out?

Bellowing Tanglewurm and Dwynen, Gilt-Leaf Daen have abilities like Other green creatures you control [...] and Other Elf creatures you control [...] Do abilities like these only affect ...
0
votes
1answer
69 views

Creature fights target creature

So I've read a few cards that say this and only just now notices while reading Hunt the Weak It says specifically "Each deals damage equal to its power to the other" So does a +1/+1 counter add to ...
1
vote
1answer
24 views

Elder Sign Terror Effect Timing

Terror effects are applied after a roll when you cannot complete a task and at least one of the dice shows a terror icon. Is it possible to avoid the terror effect by 'securing' the terror die on a ...
0
votes
1answer
47 views

Does attacking creature take damage when playing instant “Ride Down” before combat damage but after blockers declared

If I attack with a 4/4 and am blocked with a 4/4 Can I play an instant before combat damage, Im pretty sure I can so If I play Ride Down to destroy their blocker Does my attacking creature still take ...
0
votes
1answer
57 views

Does Lighting Shriekers ability activate if it dies or was exiled?

So if anyone noticed I've been asking a few random unrelated questions since last night Im new to magic and I bought a box of bulk common cards to get started (Theres been a few I added to my main ...
2
votes
3answers
98 views

Bridge: Opening lead from AK - why K instead of A

Many books, including Goren, recommend leading K from both a AK (or AKQ) and also a KQ. Why an ambiguous lead like this? Why not A from AK and K from KQ? Consider a trump contract. Partner ...
3
votes
1answer
292 views

Is the scry mulligan rule implemented in the rules at large yet?

On Friday, my local store said the mulligan rule being tested at PTORI (Before starting the game, any player who mulligans to less than 7 gets to scry 1) had been implemented into the game proper. But ...
1
vote
1answer
53 views

Identify this strategic, war board & card game about Italy (not Carcassonne)?

The name of this game was a word I'm not familiar with, probably an italian word, starting with a C and around 8 to 12 letters long (it wasn't Carcassonne!) The goal of the game was to conquer 3 ...
4
votes
2answers
126 views

Does turning a card face up cause it to lose any counters it had on it?

If a card is played face down for some reason, like Guardian Shield-Bearer: Megamorph 3G (You may cast this card face down as a 2/2 creature for 3. Turn it face up any time for its megamorph cost ...
0
votes
0answers
13 views

Can i strike backward directly?

I am an amature player of carrom & i have seen in tournaments players striking backward their striker to pocket the coins behind the hand.Is it allowed ?
1
vote
2answers
80 views

Bridge: Which transfer do you use with both majors - one 5 carder and another 4 carder

Partner opens 1NT. With a 4 carder Spade and a 5 carder Heart, what do you do? And with a 5 carder Spade and a 4 carder Heart? Specifically, should you use Stayman, Jacoby Transfers, or some other ...
1
vote
1answer
24 views

Can the beetle start on top of the hive?

When placing the beetle, can he be placed on top of another piece as long as he doesn't touch an opponent's piece? The rules don't appear to prohibit this.
1
vote
1answer
22 views

Ramses and Babel tile 23: are Guilds free or do you have to pay coins?

If you have recruited the Leader Ramses and the Babel tile 23 is active, can you build Guilds for free, or do you have to pay coins? Leader Ramses: (Leaders, page 6) As soon as Ramses enters ...
0
votes
0answers
10 views

Maecenas and Rome (B): are the extra Leaders also free?

The Leader Maecenas allows to build Leaders for free (Leaders, page 6): As soon as Maecenas enters play, his controlling player can recruit all of his or her future Leaders for free (during the ...
0
votes
0answers
44 views

Magic the Gathering, when a player dies what happens to their cards? [duplicate]

Today me and 3 friends were playing Magic, we are all new to it (One guy taught my friend, my friend taught me and his girlfriend, I taught my sister, besides the first guy thats who was playing) My ...
1
vote
1answer
17 views

Do players make rolls with the dice simultaneously or just make a mad dash of individual rolls?

When the players begin rolling in Escape: The Curse of the Temple, do they all pick up the dice they want to roll and roll all at once, then wait for everyone to be ready to roll before all rolling ...
0
votes
1answer
28 views

7 Wonders: Do board resources (brown and gray) count for VPs when counting guild and commerce points?

Three guilds (Workers, Shipowners, Craftsmens) award VPs for resource cards. Also some commerce cards (e.g., Haven) award coins and VPs for resource cards. Do you include Board resources in the count, ...
0
votes
2answers
60 views

is your turn over after playing an action card and doing what the card says

The Action card "Draw two, play two" says to draw two cards and play them. Then you're supposed to continue your turn. But isn't your turn already over? Because you've already drawn a card and played ...
3
votes
0answers
18 views

If I escape and give my die to an adventurer, can he use the rolled value immediately?

Rules say, for a player who escape, ...he can give one of his dice to any adventurer still inside the temple. This adventurer may use the die immediately. Does this mean the person can use the ...
0
votes
0answers
6 views

Where do I insert the exit tile in a 1-2 player game

In Escape: The Curse of the Temple, the rules say if you are playing 1-2 players to insert the exit tile in the middle of the draw pile With the base game (I'm assuming expansions maybe add to ...
0
votes
1answer
89 views

Who gets the tokens from Chasm Skulker? [duplicate]

If a player takes control of your Chasm Skulker, then it dies while they control it, do they also get the tokens it creates?
0
votes
1answer
107 views

What pauper cards are legal in paper but not MTGO

Note: This is exactly the opposite question of: What pauper cards are legal in MTGO but not paper? I am trying to collect most cards relevant to pauper. Because MTGO pauper is more popular than ...
3
votes
1answer
607 views

Does “sacrifice those creatures” happen all at once?

Do the sacrifice triggers of Wake the Dead happen at the same time, or do I get to stack them? As an example, say I cast Wake the Dead targeting Liliana, Heretical Healer and another creature. ...
0
votes
1answer
104 views

Do multiple Eternal Thirst give a creature multiple copies of the same triggered ability? [duplicate]

If I have a creature with two copies of Eternal Thirst on it, and a creature my opponent control dies, do I get one or two +1/+1 counters?
1
vote
1answer
97 views

Jhessian Thief and Aqueous Form

If I have a Jhessian Thief enchanted with an Aqueous Form, and it deals damage to my opponent, do I get to Scry 1 before or after I draw a card from Jhessian Thief's ability?
1
vote
1answer
24 views

Do Dunwich monsters get removed from gate closings?

When a gate is closed, do matching monsters in Dunwich get removed? I'm aware the monsters in Dunwich do not count toward the monster limit as the vortices handle that dynamic. I would think the gate ...
0
votes
3answers
123 views

What does it mean that only permanents are legal targets for spells or abilities?

I just noticed rule 114.2 in the comprehensive rules: 114.2 Only permanents are legal targets for spells and abilities, unless a spell or ability (a) specifies that it can target an object in ...
0
votes
1answer
71 views

Does a countered spell still target? [duplicate]

I have a Phantasmal Dragon in play. My opponent casts Unsummon on it. In response, I cast Cancel on the Unsummon. Do I sacrifice my Phantasmal Dragon because it was the target of the Unsummon, or does ...
2
votes
2answers
136 views

Munchkin Combat Rules Clarification: Do you lose one-shot items played if later forced to run away

Say a player is level 6 and faces a level 10 monster, the player decides to play a one-shot +5 card, making the player level 11. After that card is played, another player enrages the monster making it ...
0
votes
1answer
25 views

What is proper order of resolving players actions?

In Jamaica each player selects a card with two actions on it. The left action is connected to the Morning die and the right one to the Evening die. So, basically there is somerhing that happens for ...
0
votes
2answers
49 views

Whisper tie phantom example

For the "whisper" pilot of the tie phantom in x-wing, can someone please give an example of how the pilot ability works?
0
votes
0answers
89 views

What paper pauper cards on not legal in MTGO [duplicate]

I am trying to collect most cards relevant to pauper. Because MTGO pauper is more popular than paper pauper, and because it is so easily available electronically, it is easy to find data and analysis ...

15 30 50 per page