All Questions

-1
votes
0answers
59 views

Why is it called “Chinese Checkers”?

It is not a Checkers variant, nor did it originate in China, how could this name possibly make sense?
0
votes
1answer
44 views

Unusual Chinese Checkers Jump?

I recently found out about a rule where if a marble is 2 spaces away, and the next 3 spaces after it is unoccupied, you can jump 3 spaces? So like your marble is on the board, and there's another one, ...
1
vote
1answer
21 views

Can I put any ranged weapon on a Crisis Battlesuit?

I've read the Codex (6th) entry for the XV8 Crisis Team and it says: Any Crisis Shas'ui may take up to three items from the Ranged Weapons and/ or Support Systems lists. I can see only one ...
0
votes
1answer
74 views

Mimic Vat and Exiling

If I used Mimic Vat on a Licid, created a copy of that Licid, and attached it to a creature, would I still have to exile it during my end step even though it's now an enchantment?
2
votes
1answer
234 views

Losing Control of Bestowed Enchantment Creatures [duplicate]

I've been playing Magic for about six months and thought I had a decent handle on how things work until I ran into the following problem: Set-up: I was playing mono black devotion against blue-green ...
1
vote
1answer
34 views

South African Unrest clarification

The mid war card South African Unrest seemed perfectly clear to me, until I read the Twilight Strategy article on it. How, exactly, can the event be played? South African Unrest reads: USSR ...
3
votes
1answer
89 views

Building Limit in Lords or Waterdeep

Why is there a limit to how many buildings can built by each player? I was the builder lady lord, using the Undermountain Expansion, and would have been about to build 12+ buildings, but game rules ...
2
votes
1answer
60 views

Does Republic of Rome usually generate one or more wars per turn, leading to a loss even when cooperating?

I have played Republic of Rome several (4?) times with a group (usually 4-5 players) without studying the rules myself. We have always started in the Early Republic period, and even when we try to ...
2
votes
2answers
65 views

Leading from the wrong (nondummy) hand in bridge

While playing bridge you were supposed to lead from the dummy's hand, but you pulled a card from your hand by mistake. After putting it back in your hand, do you have to play the same suit when you ...
0
votes
0answers
43 views

Spectra Ward and creatures that give other creatures with +1/1 counters on them buffs [duplicate]

So I'm just wondering if I have creatures that say "other creatures you control have deathtouch, lifelink, first strike, trample, etc." and I put Spectra Ward on one of those creatures with a +1/+1 ...
1
vote
1answer
163 views

How does Dig Through Time work with Courser of Kruphix?

When Courser of Kruphix is on the battlefield and I resolve a Dig Through Time, do I reveal the top card of my library AFTER I pick two cards from the seven I get to look at, or does the top card ...
2
votes
1answer
74 views

How does selling buildings and bankruptcy work in Monopoly?

Player A and Player B are both fairly well-off and developed players. A, however, does not have much cash on hand. A lands on B's developed property. He has to sell some of his buildings to pay the ...
0
votes
0answers
39 views

What happens when I use Feast on the Fallen on Bloodcrazed Hoplite? [duplicate]

Me and a friend were playing magic, and I cast the enchantment Feast on the Fallen, I dealt 3 damage with Jagwasp Swarm. Then at the beginning of his upkeep I put 2 +1/+1 counters on Bloodcrazed ...
4
votes
3answers
552 views

What happens when a double-sided card is returned to the battlefield or a copy of it appears?

Say I cast Oblivion Ring on Garruk, the Veil-Cursed (i.e. a transformed Garruk Relentless). What happens when my Oblivion Ring gets destroyed? My interpretation was that Garruk returns in his ...
-2
votes
1answer
83 views

Does Standard Type 2 Rules applies for lands? MTG [closed]

Does Standard Type 2 Cycling Rules applies for lands too? Those lands that generates two, three manas for example?
4
votes
3answers
709 views

Will infinite loops still force a draw if I have a way to end them?

The comprehensive rules of MTG state: 104.4b If a game that’s not using the limited range of influence option (including a two-player game) somehow enters a “loop” of mandatory actions, repeating ...
1
vote
1answer
38 views

Bang! Calamity Janet and the High Noon Expansion

In the Bang! expansion pack, there is a card known as "The Sermon" which reads as follows: The Sermon: BANG! cards cannot be used in player's turn Seems straight-forward enough, until I realized ...
1
vote
2answers
148 views

Looking for a board game

I once ran into a computer implementation of an old board game that seemed rather interesting, unfortunately I am unable to recall either. What I do remember: Probable Java (advertised support for ...
2
votes
1answer
255 views

Does Hardened Scales trigger when +1/+1 counter are moved from one permanent to another?

If a +1/+1 counter get's moved from one creature to another does Hardened Scales double the amount of counters that the second creature gets?
2
votes
2answers
53 views

Which battleforce should I buy as a newbie player?

After playing some Mordheim games we decided with my friends to buy a Warhammer 40k battleforce and start playing Wh40k. I started reading all the codexes/forums but I feel a little overwhelmed with ...
1
vote
1answer
56 views

How to find people to play Magic the gathering with? [duplicate]

I started playing Magic about six years ago, and I live in a very "Intelligence Deficient" Town. I have tried playing online and I Don't have a game shop nearby. Help me please??????
1
vote
1answer
24 views

What happens if I play Quagmire/Bear Trap on myself on AR 7?

Quagmire* says the following: On next action round, US player must discard an Operations card worth 2 or more and roll 1-4 to cancel this event. Repeat each US player Action round until successful ...
5
votes
2answers
273 views

Can I use an ability granted to a land by an aura immediately?

This is fairly simple question, but I'm unsure. Suppose I use enchant my basic land with an aura like Caustic Tar. The enchantment's ability says to tap the land. Can I tap it immediately to use the ...
4
votes
2answers
200 views

What should be used to represent creature tokens when the printed token card isn't available?

Many spells or abilities cause one or more creatures to join the battlefield (i.e. 1/1 white Soldier creature tokens, 3/3 green Beast creature tokens, etc.). These token cards are not included with ...
3
votes
1answer
40 views

If too many players wins the game, can the Boss and Profiteer win no gold?

If 5 players wins the game (2 green dwarfs, 1 blue dwarf, a Boss and a Profiteer), they only get 1 gold piece each. But the Boss gets 1 less, and the Profiteer gets 2 less. That means that they get no ...
1
vote
1answer
32 views

Does a Geologist get their gold if they're locked up?

At the end of a game I just played, there were 5 crystals on the table, and the geologist was locked up. Everyone else in the group said the geologist didn't get the gold, but nowhere in the rules ...
3
votes
1answer
45 views

Are there any restrictions to the number of weapons a survivor can equip?

In the game, Dead of Winter, one of the players had their survivor pretty much camp out at the police station and search for weapons. He then equipped pretty much every single weapon he found to the ...
2
votes
1answer
49 views

Forbidden Desert: Valid Navigator and Climber combo to save two buried players for one action?

In the game Forbidden Desert, players can be buried when there are too many sand counters on their location. Tiles with more than one sand counter on them are considered blocked. The Navigator can ...
1
vote
1answer
100 views

Am I understanding the China Card right in Twilight Struggle?

I want to make sure I understand this right. Most cards, I can either choose the Event, or use the OPS Points in the top-left corner. If I choose the Event, then the OPS points in the corner is ...
4
votes
1answer
37 views

Can you confirm these DEFCON verbs for Twilight Struggle?

For example, DEFCON is currently at 3. Due to some trigger (event card, end of turn, etc.) it needs to move. Can you confirm my understanding of the verbs? INCREASE: Move DEFCON to left to 4 ...
2
votes
1answer
16 views

Changing player turn order

In Belfort I find it confusing when turn order is changed. Do you immediately swap turn markers during the placement phase? Do the turns take effect immediately (still in the placement phase) or do ...
0
votes
0answers
13 views

Close combat after a rank is removed from an attack on any flank

I asked a similar question recently. However, i believe this question to be different since that question was in regard to "incomplete" ranks. This question is in regards to a rank that is completely ...
2
votes
1answer
76 views

Can Legion's Initiative save permanents from Bearer of Heavens's destruction ability?

When Bearer of Heavens dies, it destroys all permanents. If my opponent's creature destroys Bearer of Heavens can he activate Legion Initiative's ability (to exile his creatures until the start of his ...
0
votes
1answer
117 views

Can I tap Sliver Hive to pay for Hive Stirrings?

I am playing a game and have no white mana to play Hive Stirrings, but I do have a Sliver Hive under my control. Am I able to tap the Sliver Hive to play Hive Stirrings (assume I have enough mana to ...
2
votes
1answer
50 views

bridge penalties [duplicate]

I am with a group that has been playing bridge for a little over 2 years. We have one member who has, on occassion, layed her hand down towards the end and declared the rest of the tricks are hers. ...
4
votes
4answers
105 views

Duration cards in Dominion - Seaside - Are they your 1st action of your next turn?

When playing a Duration Card in Dominion-Seaside, is that Duration Card your 1st action of your next turn or can you play a card from your hand 1st and then play the Duration Card?
0
votes
2answers
57 views

4-4 high approach joseki question

I have a question about 4-4 high approach joseki. Everything is clear until move 4. I don't know how to respond if black plays C15 instead of the expected C17 (stone number 5). It leads to the ...
0
votes
1answer
23 views

Was a larger version of Chitin I: The Harvest Wars ever released?

I owned Metagaming's Chitin I: The Harvest Wars (MicroGame 2) when I was a kid. I have a possibly flawed recollection that a larger bookshelf game using the Hymenoptera universe was released or ...
0
votes
2answers
87 views

Predator's Rapport and counters [duplicate]

Suppose Predator's Rapport's target has counters (for example, a few +1/+1 counters). Do the counters count when calculating the gained life? I thought power and toughness do not change after adding ...
0
votes
3answers
220 views

How much mana does Radiant Fountain provide when tapped? [duplicate]

Radiant Fountain reads "{T}: Add {1} to your mana pool." Does this card alone produce a total of {1} or {2}? Basic Land cards produce mana when tapped. So, either All land cards produce mana when ...
3
votes
2answers
250 views

When is the game state checked for “Whenever you cast […]” triggers?

When you cast a creature for its bestow cost: When you begin casting, it is a Creature spell We know this because Steel Golem prevents Bestow creatures from being cast When you pay the alternative ...
0
votes
1answer
31 views

Can characters be summoned into a unit?

With the arrival of new summoning spells in the End of Times expansion there is a new spell which allows the wizard to summon a character (worth up to 65 points). Can this spell be used to summon a ...
0
votes
1answer
32 views

Rune of spellbreaking on multiple runelords

If I have rune of spellbreaking on multiple rune smiths can I use it once on each of them? It says one use only, does that mean one use only on that character or for the entire army?
5
votes
2answers
96 views

How to apply the ko rule (Go)

I'm having trouble understanding how to apply the ko rule. For instance, in the description in Wikipedia, there is an example where the ko rule can potentially apply. But suppose there were two, or ...
11
votes
4answers
2k views

Must a player disclose what deck they are using before play?

Our family is just learning this game. We were wondering if each player typically announces which deck they are using beforehand. If yes, in how much detail? I could not find anything in the rules ...
1
vote
1answer
30 views

Does Defectors do anything when triggered by Five-Year Plan

I was playing as the USSR, and Five-Year Plan was played against me. Defectors was the randomly selected card. It has a US event, so it triggers. But, the event in question occurs when "played by ...
14
votes
4answers
448 views

What makes a cooperative game require multiple players?

Many cooperative games (like Pandemic or Arkham Horror) could be played by a single player, even though they're intended to be played by a team of players striving against the board. What makes a ...
0
votes
1answer
40 views

Does a Junta during the Cuban Missile Crisis end the game?

In Twilight Struggle, if the Cuban Missile Crisis is in effect and the targeted player takes a free coup using the Junta event, does that trigger the end of the game clause on the Cuban Missile ...
1
vote
1answer
22 views

Does the event on CIA Created* have a one-time effect or last the duration of the turn?

The event on CIA Created* reads: The USSR reveals their hand of cards for this turn. The US may use the Operations value of this card to conduct Operations. Playing as the US, am I allowed to ...
0
votes
1answer
31 views

Is the extra attack from frenzy on the profile of the Vargheist?

Vargheist have frenzy. Frenzy gives an extra attack. The profile for vargheist says it has 3 attacks. Does the profile include the extra attack from frenzy or are they supposed to have 4 attacks with ...

15 30 50 per page