1
vote
1answer
21 views

Do riders have to move at least the amount of their base movement?

Do riders (that aren't part of the peloton obviously) have to move at least the amount of their base movement, or can they opt not to move, or to move less than their base movement? This is an edge ...
0
votes
1answer
29 views

Does sister Mary pass with rolls of 3-6 when Blessed and 5-6 when Cursed?

The faq says Sister Mary and each other investigator on her space adds 1 to the result of each die rolled as part of an effect printed on a Condition card that has the BANE or BOON trait. This ...
0
votes
0answers
11 views

Can you play Big Two with multiple decks for more than 4 players?

We have 5-7 players, which is too much for one normal game and not enough for two. We could just deal less cards per player, but it would reduce the strategy involved. Are there any variants for using ...
2
votes
1answer
154 views

Can you attack any creature of your opponents with flying if he can't block it

Let's say you have a flying creature and your opponent has nothing with flying or reach. Could you attack any one of his creatures you choose?
0
votes
1answer
24 views

Can investigators easily avoid being stuck in the Bent Pyramid and avoid the Sanity loss from Nephre-Ka's reckoning?

This is a multi-faceted question and revolves around Nephren-Ka's reckoning which says Each investigator may move 1 space toward the Bent Pyramid. Then each investigator that did not move loses 1 ...
1
vote
1answer
65 views

How do pump spells interact with damage at end of turn? [duplicate]

My friends recently got into a heated argument over a rules interaction. One player had a 2/2 creature, and responded to the opponent's Lightning Bolt targeting it with a Mutagenic Growth. The player ...
5
votes
1answer
118 views

Getting started (Advanced) with Magic: The Gathering, and where to play

I am a recent college grad without many friends who play MTG, but I am interested in starting to play again. I am familiar with most of the rules, including things like turn phases and the stack. I ...
4
votes
3answers
151 views

Is either player at a disadvantage when cards “arent' shuffled well enough”?

Perhaps I should be asking this on one of the math sites rather than here, but I reckon cardplayers would know: when my wife and I play Skip-Bo and things aren't going her way, she claims that I ...
2
votes
1answer
87 views

Shuffle destination cards in Ticket to Ride

I'm considering a house rule where discarded Destination cards are always shuffled into the deck instead of returned to the bottom. The pros and cons seem balanced to me: Pros :- We may need the ...
1
vote
1answer
36 views

What can be made a free action?

I just got my first model for X-Wing Minis (an E-Wing) and received a card in the box called "Advanced Sensors". It's a 3-point card granting "...1 free action..." "Immediately before you reveal your ...
5
votes
1answer
85 views

What are some basic strategies for Labyrinth?

My comp sci class currently is on the topic of AIs and we're tasked to write an AI for Labyrinth (the Ravensburger game) and have them play each other to see who wrote the best AI. As someone who's ...
11
votes
3answers
184 views

When casting a spell, how can a mana ability be paid with another mana ability?

A situation was presented with Skyshroud Elf and Ashnod's Altar: apparently, you could generate WW or RR by: Activate the Elf's filter ability ({1}: Add {R} or {W}) Activate the Elf's filter ability ...
3
votes
2answers
159 views

How much does Vryn Wingmare increase the cost of my Bring to Light by?

Say my opponent has a Vryn Wingmare on the battlefield. When I cast Bring to Light: Do I pay 1 extra for the Bring to Light? Do I pay 1 extra for the (noncreature) spell I find? Both? If #2 ...
4
votes
2answers
900 views

Why can't I play a card for its alternative cost after searching for it with Bring to Light?

According to the card rulings on Gatherer, I can't, say, fetch Reveillark from my deck with Bring to Light, and then cast it for its Evoke cost instead (which is what I was hoping to do). While this ...
6
votes
1answer
45 views

Can I go for both Tichu types in one round?

The rules seem to imply that people cannot call two or more tichus of the same kind. Doing this would also take the fun out of the game, as the first player to have a strong hand simply calls for ...
11
votes
2answers
234 views

Why is Royal Flush ever listed separately from Straight Flush?

Many sources (including here, here, here, and here) explicitly list Royal Flush as the highest poker hand. This seems unnecessary - it's the highest hand anyway as the highest Straight Flush. When ...
8
votes
1answer
152 views

Two Headed Giant - do I gain life when my teammate gains life?

I'm playing Two-Headed Giant. I have Ajani's Pridemate, which has "Whenever you gain life...". My teammate plays a card, that makes him gain life. As we share our life total, my life is also updated. ...
3
votes
4answers
253 views

Munchkin with 7-12 players

I am wondering on what modifications could we make to Munchkin for a better overall gameplay when adapting it to be played with 7-12 players. I am currently worried with the following issues: ...
3
votes
1answer
54 views

Psi 0, 1, or 2 games - are credits from thin air or player's pool?

Psychic Field mentions spending credits. Are both players actually spending these credits from their credit pool, or are these imaginary credits? If a runner has 0 credits, this is basically a ...
5
votes
2answers
71 views

Companions lost on death in same room as other explorers

I understand the general ruling on companions lost on death. Essentially it says "whomever enters the room first gains custody of the companion". However, this doesn't quite make sense for the ...
0
votes
1answer
67 views

Android: Netrunner judge program

Does Android: Netrunner have anything similar to Magic the Gathering's judge program?
1
vote
1answer
27 views

Twilight Imperium 2 Planetary Defence Units per planet question

So I was reading the rules for PDS units using the Deep Space Cannon technology and I want to be positive I understand it correctly. So if an enemy faction puts a control marker down and moves ships ...
1
vote
0answers
14 views

What counts as an interior square in the Witch House tile?

The rules for Cthulhu!!! Hastur La Vista Baby! cover named buildings: If the tile is any other “named building” (e.g. the “Pharmacy” or “Burial Hill”), place one cultist in each interior square ...
5
votes
2answers
122 views

Texas Holdem All-In Question

This is regarding a texas holdem no limit home game. After the flop, player 1 and player 2 are the only remaining who bet. After the turn of the river card, player 1 goes all in. Player 2 decides to ...
7
votes
2answers
60 views

Spells and Items during combat

It is quite clear that an investigator can only use one item that gives the highest bonus in combat, even if they have multiple items (i.e. Multiple weapons) However, what about spells such as ...
4
votes
1answer
117 views

Does Gleam of Authority care if a creature gains extra counters?

The rules text on Gleam of Authority is as follows: Enchant creature Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 for each +1/+1 counter on other creatures you control. Enchanted creature has vigilance ...
1
vote
1answer
51 views

When referring to “every location” in Dead of Winter does this include the colony?

When a crossroad card says that something happens at every location does that include the colony? Does the colony by itself count as one location or do each of the numbered entrances count as a ...
1
vote
0answers
43 views

Can you deal commander damage with any players commander? [duplicate]

If I gain control of another players commander, does it still deal commander damage or does that only work with your own commander?
3
votes
1answer
139 views

What happens when destroying something that gives flash to a spell on the stack?

Say Player 1 has something like Shimmer Myr that reads: You may cast artifact cards as though they had flash. Then when that player tries to cast an artifact as an instant, Player 2 places ...
2
votes
3answers
97 views

Help with the rules of checkmate

I am playing white and it is my turn. I am currently in check. Can I capture the pawn in front of my king to escape the check, placing his king in checkmate? Or is it illegal and therefore I lose? ...
3
votes
1answer
117 views

Anger of the Gods and totem armor

When my friend has totem armor on a creature and I use Anger of the Gods, what happens? They are both replacement effects but which is applied first?
4
votes
3answers
188 views

Does Reduce to Ashes Kill indestructible creatures?

When I first read Reduce to Ashes: Reduce to Ashes deals 5 damage to target creature. If that creature would die this turn, exile it instead. I thought "ok, a way to deal with indestructible", ...
4
votes
1answer
113 views

Deathtouch/Monstrosity Interaction

Alice has a Wildfire Cerberus and a Bow of Nylea, and Bob has a tapped 3/3 Beast token. Alice attacks with the Cerberus, and activates its Monstrosity. In response, Bob targets the Cerberus with ...
0
votes
0answers
34 views

For Sister Grimm's Super Power, where does the plot twist go if you can't play it?

The Sister Grimm supporting character's Super Power reads: {C} Any Combat {Y}: Search your deck for an {C} Combat plot twist with a different name from each plot twist in your KO pile and play it ...
12
votes
4answers
498 views

When should I play my land for my turn?

Does it really matter when I play my land for my turn? Some people get extremely annoyed/agitated when I play a land before spells and I don't actually need the land right away for casting my spells. ...
4
votes
1answer
55 views

Is there a maximum amount of energy that can be attached to one Pokémon?

I bought the Mewtwo EX tin and he has an ability called "Shatter Shot". This attack does 30 damage multiplied by the amount of "psychic" energy you have on this Pokémon. I have a bunch of ...
0
votes
1answer
155 views

Scion of the Ur-Dragon and Torrent of Souls

When Scion of the Ur-Dragon enters the battlefield it attracts a lot of hate. So my plan is to reanimate it using Torrent of Souls to hit a surprise 16 damage attack using Scion's ability to copy ...
8
votes
2answers
208 views

Will Hallowed Moonlight exile creatures from Starfield of Nyx

A continuous effect that changes enchantments to creatures (Starfield of Nyx) is on the battlefield and the effect is active. During my upkeep, I target an enchantment to return. In response, my ...
4
votes
1answer
108 views

Starfield of Nyx and Eerie Interlude

Say you have 7 enchantments on the field, including two Starfield of Nyx and a creature that cares about creatures entering the battlefield (e.g.Soul Warden). You cast Eerie Interlude targeting some ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a dead player have life restored later to bring them back into the game?

Bob, Timmy, and Susie are playing a Free For All in MTG and Timmy kills Bob by putting him at 0 life. On Susie's next turn, could she play something like Alabaster Potion to make Bob's life total go ...
3
votes
2answers
90 views

Rubber bridge and whether or not to duck [duplicate]

I understand the benefits of ducking especially when playing in NT. If I have Axx in hand and Jxx in dummy how do I decide whether or not to duck the first two tricks? Sometimes it is correct to duck ...
4
votes
2answers
242 views

Help identify card game with teams and secret signals?

Years ago I played a card game with a Swedish friend with a standard deck of cards and two spoons on the centre of the table. There were teams of two, with the team members sitting opposite each ...
2
votes
1answer
46 views

Limit on weapons used during combat

Is there any sort of limit to the number of weapons or items you can use during combat? In Arkham Horror, the hand icons restricted the number of weapons/spells/items that you could use.
2
votes
1answer
34 views

Warhammer 40k - Tau detachment benefit clarification

Coordinated Firepower is a Tau detachment benefit: Whenever a unit from a Hunter Contingent selects a target in the shooting phase, any number of other units from the same detachment who can still ...
12
votes
3answers
866 views

Can you choose not to assign damage to a second blocker?

In a game of Magic, I attack with a 5/5, indestructible, trample. My opponent blocks with a 2/3 and a 2/2. He hopes the 2/2 will die because of an effect when that creature dies. Can I choose to ...
3
votes
1answer
36 views

Can I discard a spell not drawn by Magick Shoppe?

When you gain this card, immediately gain 2 Spells. Then discard 1 Spell and this card. This wording implies that I can keep both Spells and discard a previously owned Spell, but it kind of ...
-1
votes
1answer
113 views

Bridge bidding response after rho overcalls at 2 level and you have stoppers and 14 pts [closed]

My partner bids 1H. Opponent says 2D. I have stoppers in D and 14 points. What do I bid? Can I bid 2NT or must I make a suit bid?
6
votes
1answer
142 views

Can I counter a creature with Shroud?

I was playing with a counter deck, and my opponent played Algae Gharial, which has shroud. Could I counter it?
1
vote
1answer
23 views

Do improvement token bonuses count as skill bonuses when determining the highest bonus to apply to a test?

When one has an asset that grants +2 skill and one that grants +1, the effective bonus is not additive. Rather, we apply the highest bonus. My questions is: do the bonuses from improvement tokens ...
4
votes
1answer
37 views

Can flute of the outer gods be used against epic monsters?

This card allows one to "defeat all monsters." Epic monsters cannot be discarded but can they be defeated with this card?

15 30 50 per page