3
votes
1answer
38 views

If too many players wins the game, can the Boss and Profiteer win no gold?

If 5 players wins the game (2 green dwarfs, 1 blue dwarf, a Boss and a Profiteer), they only get 1 gold piece each. But the Boss gets 1 less, and the Profiteer gets 2 less. That means that they get no ...
1
vote
1answer
32 views

Does a Geologist get their gold if they're locked up?

At the end of a game I just played, there were 5 crystals on the table, and the geologist was locked up. Everyone else in the group said the geologist didn't get the gold, but nowhere in the rules ...
3
votes
1answer
37 views

Are there any restrictions to the number of weapons a survivor can equip?

In the game, Dead of Winter, one of the players had their survivor pretty much camp out at the police station and search for weapons. He then equipped pretty much every single weapon he found to the ...
2
votes
1answer
43 views

Forbidden Desert: Valid Navigator and Climber combo to save two buried players for one action?

In the game Forbidden Desert, players can be buried when there are too many sand counters on their location. Tiles with more than one sand counter on them are considered blocked. The Navigator can ...
1
vote
1answer
97 views

Am I understanding the China Card right in Twilight Struggle?

I want to make sure I understand this right. Most cards, I can either choose the Event, or use the OPS Points in the top-left corner. If I choose the Event, then the OPS points in the corner is ...
4
votes
1answer
37 views

Can you confirm these DEFCON verbs for Twilight Struggle?

For example, DEFCON is currently at 3. Due to some trigger (event card, end of turn, etc.) it needs to move. Can you confirm my understanding of the verbs? INCREASE: Move DEFCON to left to 4 ...
2
votes
1answer
14 views

Changing player turn order

In Belfort I find it confusing when turn order is changed. Do you immediately swap turn markers during the placement phase? Do the turns take effect immediately (still in the placement phase) or do ...
0
votes
0answers
12 views

Close combat after a rank is removed from an attack on any flank

I asked a similar question recently. However, i believe this question to be different since that question was in regard to "incomplete" ranks. This question is in regards to a rank that is completely ...
2
votes
1answer
74 views

Can Legion's Initiative save permanents from Bearer of Heavens's destruction ability?

When Bearer of Heavens dies, it destroys all permanents. If my opponent's creature destroys Bearer of Heavens can he activate Legion Initiative's ability (to exile his creatures until the start of his ...
0
votes
1answer
113 views

Can I tap Sliver Hive to pay for Hive Stirrings?

I am playing a game and have no white mana to play Hive Stirrings, but I do have a Sliver Hive under my control. Am I able to tap the Sliver Hive to play Hive Stirrings (assume I have enough mana to ...
2
votes
1answer
50 views

bridge penalties [duplicate]

I am with a group that has been playing bridge for a little over 2 years. We have one member who has, on occassion, layed her hand down towards the end and declared the rest of the tricks are hers. ...
4
votes
4answers
104 views

Duration cards in Dominion - Seaside - Are they your 1st action of your next turn?

When playing a Duration Card in Dominion-Seaside, is that Duration Card your 1st action of your next turn or can you play a card from your hand 1st and then play the Duration Card?
0
votes
2answers
54 views

4-4 high approach joseki question

I have a question about 4-4 high approach joseki. Everything is clear until move 4. I don't know how to respond if black plays C15 instead of the expected C17 (stone number 5). It leads to the ...
0
votes
1answer
23 views

Was a larger version of Chitin I: The Harvest Wars ever released?

I owned Metagaming's Chitin I: The Harvest Wars (MicroGame 2) when I was a kid. I have a possibly flawed recollection that a larger bookshelf game using the Hymenoptera universe was released or ...
0
votes
2answers
84 views

Predator's Rapport and counters [duplicate]

Suppose Predator's Rapport's target has counters (for example, a few +1/+1 counters). Do the counters count when calculating the gained life? I thought power and toughness do not change after adding ...
0
votes
3answers
211 views

How much mana does Radiant Fountain provide when tapped? [duplicate]

Radiant Fountain reads "{T}: Add {1} to your mana pool." Does this card alone produce a total of {1} or {2}? Basic Land cards produce mana when tapped. So, either All land cards produce mana when ...
3
votes
2answers
248 views

When is the game state checked for “Whenever you cast […]” triggers?

When you cast a creature for its bestow cost: When you begin casting, it is a Creature spell We know this because Steel Golem prevents Bestow creatures from being cast When you pay the alternative ...
0
votes
1answer
27 views

Can characters be summoned into a unit?

With the arrival of new summoning spells in the End of Times expansion there is a new spell which allows the wizard to summon a character (worth up to 65 points). Can this spell be used to summon a ...
0
votes
1answer
30 views

Rune of spellbreaking on multiple runelords

If I have rune of spellbreaking on multiple rune smiths can I use it once on each of them? It says one use only, does that mean one use only on that character or for the entire army?
5
votes
2answers
93 views

How to apply the ko rule (Go)

I'm having trouble understanding how to apply the ko rule. For instance, in the description in Wikipedia, there is an example where the ko rule can potentially apply. But suppose there were two, or ...
11
votes
4answers
2k views

Must a player disclose what deck they are using before play?

Our family is just learning this game. We were wondering if each player typically announces which deck they are using beforehand. If yes, in how much detail? I could not find anything in the rules ...
1
vote
1answer
28 views

Does Defectors do anything when triggered by Five-Year Plan

I was playing as the USSR, and Five-Year Plan was played against me. Defectors was the randomly selected card. It has a US event, so it triggers. But, the event in question occurs when "played by ...
14
votes
4answers
437 views

What makes a cooperative game require multiple players?

Many cooperative games (like Pandemic or Arkham Horror) could be played by a single player, even though they're intended to be played by a team of players striving against the board. What makes a ...
0
votes
1answer
38 views

Does a Junta during the Cuban Missile Crisis end the game?

In Twilight Struggle, if the Cuban Missile Crisis is in effect and the targeted player takes a free coup using the Junta event, does that trigger the end of the game clause on the Cuban Missile ...
1
vote
1answer
21 views

Does the event on CIA Created* have a one-time effect or last the duration of the turn?

The event on CIA Created* reads: The USSR reveals their hand of cards for this turn. The US may use the Operations value of this card to conduct Operations. Playing as the US, am I allowed to ...
0
votes
1answer
30 views

Is the extra attack from frenzy on the profile of the Vargheist?

Vargheist have frenzy. Frenzy gives an extra attack. The profile for vargheist says it has 3 attacks. Does the profile include the extra attack from frenzy or are they supposed to have 4 attacks with ...
6
votes
2answers
382 views

If face down permanents have no abilities, why are they affected by “loses all abilities”?

The Khans of Tarkir Release Notes say: If a face-down creature loses its abilities, it can’t be turned face up [...] This implies that Morph is an ability. However, the community here seems ...
0
votes
2answers
54 views

Custom boards for Eclipse

I was thinking of creating a custom player board for Eclipse as a gift for a friend of mine. Looking it up online I found an image of something quite similar to what I wanted: I have three ...
0
votes
2answers
70 views

Does Alien Fuel Refinery count as having a trade power in Race for the Galaxy?

In Race for the Galaxy, does the Alien Fuel Refinery restriction ("you may not trade a good from this world") count as a "trade power" for the purposes of Trade League, or in other words do I score a ...
3
votes
1answer
148 views

Does Soul Link give life twice in combat and fighting?

Soul Link says: Enchant Creature Whenever enchanted creature deals damage, you gain that much life. Whenever enchanted creature is dealt damage, you gain that much life. If the ...
4
votes
4answers
559 views

Putting cards into your hand while the top of library is revealed

Anthony has Courser of Kruphix on the field. He begins resolving Dig Through Time. While Dig Through Time is resolving, must the top card be kept separate from the other six? I'm thinking that ...
1
vote
1answer
51 views

Translation Software [closed]

Which software is best for translating Yu-gi-oh cards from Japanese to English without changing the original art.
2
votes
2answers
71 views

Handling dwindling supplies in Splendor

Splendor is a great game, but the rules were written sub-optimally. The following quotes the rules that specify what actions a player can take on his turn: On their turn, a player must choose to ...
4
votes
1answer
229 views

When a creature dies and later returns to the battlefield, does it keep +1/+1 counters?

If I have a Bloodcrazed Hoplite that's been given +1/+1 counters from its heroic ability, and then it's killed by an enemy creature, and then I cast a spell that returns it to the battlefield, does it ...
1
vote
1answer
72 views

What deck should be used for a beginner in Netrunner

The Netrunner rules suggest playing with Jinteki as a first hand, but I have heard that is a bad starting deck. Which should be used for a starting deck for introducing someone to the game? And which ...
1
vote
1answer
36 views

Is Ticket To Ride Asia played with stations?

In Ticket To Ride US Edition there was no stations, but in Europe Edition there were. When playing Asia Edition, do you play with/without stations or is there no set rule about them? I couldn't spot ...
8
votes
7answers
265 views

When should I get rid of the queen of spades in Hearts?

Whenever I play the QS on the 3rd or 4th round everyone gets mad at me and says that's a low down nasty thing to do! I thought the QS should be dumped asap so as not to get stuck with it myself - ...
7
votes
2answers
856 views

Mystery cards in Magic 2015 card list

If you look at the full card list for Magic 2015, at Gatherer or elsewhere, you'll see a bunch of cards listed with collectors number 270-284. What are these cards, and why are they listed as being ...
0
votes
1answer
39 views

Model positioning during multiple close combats after removing models

Here is the scenario. A multiple close combat scenario. 3 units are attacking one of my units. One is attacking the front. 1 on my left flank. 1 on my right flank. I have 15 models in the unit. 3 ...
3
votes
1answer
122 views

Can we extend the game by playing Multiple Boards At Once?

I play Ticket To Ride with my gf and friends and we love it! So much so that we always reach the end thinking, 'this went too quickly!'. We've toyed with playing two maps simultaneously, has anyone ...
1
vote
1answer
41 views

Fakir/Dwarf ability

In the rules it states: When taking "Transform and build action" you may skip one terrain or river space With our last game we had a little discussion that produces 2 questions: If you ...
4
votes
2answers
313 views

Does “other” refer to that particular instance or all cards of the same name?

For example Chief of the Edge has the ability: Other Warrior creatures you control get +1/+0. So I understand that it would definitely affect Avalanche Tusker. But if I play another Chief of the ...
0
votes
2answers
171 views

What does “each other player” mean on Unwinding Clock?

If I am playing a four man free for all, when do my artifacts untap using Unwinding Clock's ability? I'm having trouble understanding. The card says "each other player". If I am player one, are ...
0
votes
0answers
33 views

Why do some players get starting trade goods in 7 player TI3?

In 7 player Twilight Imperium there are 3 starting positions that get trade goods at the beginning of the game. The position that gets 6 trade goods is obviously worse than the others. The two that ...
-3
votes
1answer
97 views

Magic the gathering deck foundation [duplicate]

I have 800 cards dated between 2004 up to 2011.... Is it cool to to build a deck from a variety of sets? Trying to get into mtg and need a boost of knowledge.
1
vote
1answer
41 views

Connect 4 with 2 slots name?

Alright, so I had this game for a while, it's a connect 4 , but each column has 2 slots. Some pieces, (called "blockers" take up both slots in the column) I'm not sure if I have enough pieces and ...
-1
votes
1answer
52 views

Are there any games with handicaps/imbalancing? [closed]

Often one will want to play with less skilled players, who are there to be social. This will make a game like Settlers a bit boring for them, as they're likely to lose and have to play the whole ...
1
vote
1answer
22 views

The charged unit dies before combat

What happens if I charge an enemy unit and it dies before the first close combat after the charge? Suppose they die from my magic phase. Do they get any additional movement or anything?
2
votes
1answer
257 views

What happens to cards cast from exile?

There are a few cards that allow you to exile cards and then cast them later (Narset, Enlightened Master for example). After a spell cast this way resolves, does it go back into exile, or does it ...
0
votes
1answer
16 views

Charging a unit with no space?

If my unit is in the frontal charging cone of an enemy unit and I already have a friendly unit in front of that unit and taking up all the front base space, can I charge the enemy unit? What if I was ...

15 30 50 per page