4
votes
2answers
77 views

When are targets chosen in Final Fantasy TCG?

In the FAQ, some cards, like Hades (1-046U ハーデス) mention a need to have valid targets when the card is used. This entry also implies that some targets may become invalid before resolution time. This ...
3
votes
1answer
221 views

Does Redshirts Deluxe fix the stalemate issues of the original game? [closed]

It took two hours to end the game originally, and by that point everyone was just glad to have finished. Does Redshirts Deluxe, the new version of Redshirts, fix any of the stalemate issues ...
4
votes
1answer
299 views

Is Brasilia a weak starting investment in Imperial 2030?

The other day I was playing said game, and I draw Brasilia as my starting investment. While I don't feel I played particularly well, I did find it harder than the others to expand my empire. Further ...
1
vote
1answer
77 views

Guards! Guards! starting volunteer's effects

The board game Guards! Guards! has a system of recruiting volunteers which have various effects on the players who recruit them. These effects range from permanent bonuses to stats (e.g. +1 charm to ...
4
votes
1answer
110 views

Can you turn around in Circus Imperium?

In FASA's Circus Imperium, are you allowed to turn your chariot around on an oval track? One of the tactics suggested during a previous game was for a player who has no chance of winning to turn ...
5
votes
1answer
528 views

Choosing early round paintings to auction in Modern Art

One game that still leaves me stumped for good strategy is Reiner Knizia's auction game Modern Art. The last time it hit our table, I noticed that when it was my turn to auction a painting early in ...
1
vote
1answer
28 views

In Scarborough Fair, how is the length of a path defined?

The rules say that the customer always takes the shortest number of paths to the next stage. It also says that the number of tents along the way is irrelevant. Is path defined as a segment between ...
1
vote
1answer
31 views

Where do trashed Travellers go?

In Dominion Adventures, when you trash one of the Traveller cards, where does that Traveller go? The rules seems to imply the Trash pile. However, since there are only 5 of each pile, I was ...
3
votes
1answer
72 views

Does sliding/shifting have to happen in a straight line, or can it be curved?

I've started playing Dungeons & Dragons Dungeon Command and had a question regarding sliding/shifting. Does the sliding/shifting have to happen in a straight line? In one case, the other player ...
9
votes
2answers
140 views

Why do older players keep their money under the edge of the board?

I've been seeing a strange behavior that I don't understand. It seems to only happen with somewhat older players. When they have paper money in a game, they slide it partway under the edge of the ...
2
votes
1answer
18 views

In Arkham Horror, are Ally cards treated specially in setup?

The rules say this in setup: The players shuffle the Common Item, Unique Item, Spell, and Skill decks, then return them face down to their places next to the board. Whenever players draw cards, ...
1
vote
1answer
36 views

How prepared will I be to play Arkham Horror after reading just the Rulebook?

I noticed the faq files for Arkham Horror are very large and are partially incorporated into the revised printing, but will I simply be doing some things outright wrong unless I review the faq first? ...
5
votes
2answers
755 views

If I copy a spell, do I need to pay the costs again? Will copying a spell trigger Prowess?

If I cast Howl of the Horde and then cast a Collateral Damage, do I need to sacrifice a creature for each new copy of Collateral Damage? Does each new copy trigger Prowess?
1
vote
0answers
16 views

Additional/Make up roles in Resistance or Resistance avalon

My friends and I have started making up new roles for resistance when we get tired of using the basics like Merlin, Percival Mordred, Morgana and Oberon. So far we've played where Oberon is blind. ...
1
vote
1answer
13 views

In Elder Sign, can I use Jenny Barnes' ability to discard a spell when the mythos lingering effect bars investigators from using spells?

Can I use Jenny's ability to discard a spell to gain the dice, because discarding is not the same as 'using' a spell?
6
votes
4answers
936 views

Do morph cards suffer summoning sickness

When you have the card face down then you morph the card to face up, does it suffer summoning sickness? My friend has lots of them in his deck and I'm not too sure and would like to know whether they ...
10
votes
5answers
3k views

Is it impossible to pay off-color mana costs in EDH?

In Commander, there is a rule that states: During the game, if mana would be added to your mana pool that isn't a color in your commander's color identity, that much colorless mana is added to ...
3
votes
2answers
130 views

How can I efficiently filter MagicCards.info searches down to cards castable with only certain mana colours?

I've been constructing a green/white commander deck, and doing a lot of searches on MagicCards.info for its cards. To cut out all the cards I can't use, I've been using the search term c!gw to get ...
2
votes
2answers
27 views

A Game of Thrones Feast breaking ties for objectives

In A Game of Thrones the board game the player who holds the iron throne breaks ties. In the expansion A Feast for Crows, objective cards are introduced such as Control more land areas than any ...
3
votes
2answers
29 views

In Arkham Horror, does the first player look at the drawn monster before deciding how to place it?

What is the accepted procedure for drawing monsters? If I need to draw 8 monsters for 3 gates, it's easy to determine which two will get the extra monster, but do I draw them one by one, looking at ...
1
vote
1answer
20 views

In Arkham Horror, should the newly placed monsters or the final count of monsters be evenly distributed?

The rules state: When placing monsters, they should be divided as evenly as possible among the open gates, with no gate having more monsters placed on it than the gate where the monster surge ...
4
votes
2answers
55 views

If I lose my central tile, do I lose the round?

I was playing a game of Galaxy Trucker the other day when one of the players took a small meteor to his exposed central tile. He had a number of other occupied crew pods, but I was under the ...
41
votes
2answers
4k views

Which property group colour gives the best ROI , undeveloped or fully developed, in Monopoly?

Everybody always goes for the dark blues in Monopoly (Mayfair and Park Lane in the UK edition), but I'm convinced that the cheaper colour groups offer a better return on investment, partly because you ...
1
vote
1answer
62 views

In what ways does the Arkham Horror Toolkit app improve or detract from the experience?

In what ways do people find using the Arkham Horror Toolkit reduces the play time, and how much does it further enhance or detract from the experience? I can imagine one negative is that it simply ...
3
votes
2answers
62 views

Who is the male investigator on the cover of Arkham Horror, Elder Sign, and Eldritch Horror?

The 30- or 40-something dark-haired male on the cover of these games appears to be the same character, but it's not clear to me which. Is it one of the in-game characters?
3
votes
1answer
34 views

In Robo Rally, does a powered down robot get to earn option cards and repair?

If he is pushed onto repair spaces etc, does he repair and earn option cards at the end of the 5 register phases if he is on an option space? The rules state: The robot doesn’t receive or execute ...
1
vote
1answer
65 views

Dividing up Hexagonal Board Tiles

So I'm designing a board game that uses a number of adjacent hexagonal boards. These boards need to be divided up into spaces (tiles) that players move through. I've been playing with using Hexagons ...
0
votes
1answer
13 views

Islands as Coastal Spaces

Do Islands count as Coastal spaces? One specific effect in the game makes reference to coastal spaces, which do not appear to have a clear definition or specific terrain icon. Do islands count for ...
0
votes
1answer
61 views

How to balance Dixit?

The rules of Dixit that the game ends when the deck runs out (leaving players with full hands at the end). Every time I have played, the players have commented that this means that some players have ...
2
votes
1answer
102 views

Mindslaver and Conspiracy's vote cards

I have a Mindslaver and my opponent has a Coercive Portal on the board. I use the Mindslaver's ability to take control of my opponent's next turn. Do I get to choose what his vote is for the Portal's ...
8
votes
3answers
1k views

When to make suggestions that include cards in my own hand in clue?

One strategy I've heard of in clue is to name a card or two in your own hand when making a suggestion. I presume this is primarily so you can gain information about the other two factors that need to ...
1
vote
1answer
33 views

Why am I seeing the same 3 Spider Solitaire games today that I saw 2 days ago [closed]

For the third time in 5 or 6 games today and yesterday I am seeing the same Spider Solitaire layout that I saw two days go. These three games all had very unique patterns, and took a large number of ...
2
votes
1answer
26 views

Accessing Tale 2,600

Is there a way to access passage 2,600 in The Book of Tales through normal play? Passage 2,600 in The Book of Tales appears to be a humorous easter egg referencing the fact that it is the last ...
5
votes
1answer
82 views

Can I use Settlers of Catan (older edition) with Catan: Explorers and Pirates (2015 ed.)?

I have an older version of The Settlers of Catan (part number 483), and an older version of The Cities and Knights of Catan (part number 494), which were purchased sometime around the late 1990s. I ...
1
vote
1answer
25 views

Returning to Origin city when Married

Do you need to end your turn in the city with your origin marker in order to satisfy the condition on the Married status? The status Married says, in part: After you have an encounter in another ...
0
votes
1answer
14 views

Fabulous Wealth as Sultan

Does being Sultan bypass the special requirements for being Fabulously Wealthy? When gaining the Sultan status, a player automatically moves their wealth counter directly to fabulous (the highest ...
0
votes
1answer
305 views

If Queen covered with opponent coin and both players have coins to pocket, Queen will be recovered?

In carrom, if the Queen pocketed, while covering, covered with opponent coin by mistake(both players have coins remaining on the board), will the Queen belongs to opponent or recovered to place on ...
1
vote
1answer
9 views

In Elder Sign, can I free a focused die?

If I focus a die, can I free it and reroll it later in the same turn? The only reference I see in the rules is the following (with something similar in the faq as well): Note: A player can focus ...
0
votes
1answer
13 views

In Elder Sign, If I free a locked die by defeating a monster, can I use it in the same turn?

If a monster locks a yellow die, can I use an item/spell to gain that die once I defeat the monster? Also, I have not looked through the cards, but if there is a monster that locks the green die, ...
0
votes
0answers
5 views

Skills as a Victory Tie-Breaker

How are skills counted for the victory condition? The first tie-breaker for winning the game is the number of statuses each contested player possesses, followed second by how many skills they ...
0
votes
1answer
18 views

In Elder Sign, if you need to draw from a deck and there are no cards left, do you lose the opportunity?

There don't seem to be a large number of spell cards, and Dexter Drake can accumulate cards very fast. If the spell deck (or any other deck for that matter) runs out, do players simply lose the ...
1
vote
1answer
6 views

Can i cast a spell after collecting rewards for an adventure?

Page 13 says a player can only use his items, clues, spells, and allies during his own turn. Does this mean I can use a spell immediately after collecting adventure rewards, such as opening an other ...
1
vote
1answer
5 views

Can I use a spell after I complete all the tasks?

Can I use a spell to heal all my stamina after I complete the final task?
1
vote
1answer
17 views

In Robo Rally, what happens if I run out of cards and can't play a card on the 5th register?

The crab legs option card lets me play 2 cards in one register. If I have 4 damage, this leaves me with no cards to play in the 5th register. Is this just a pass in that turn?
1
vote
1answer
20 views

In Robo Rally, what happens to locked registers if I power up with more than 4 damage?

If I wake my robot with locked registers, do I have a 'blank' there until it unlocks?
0
votes
1answer
647 views

Returning Monsters to my hand

I'm looking for cards that allow me to return one or more Monster Cards from my own side of the field to my hand repeatedly. By repeatedly, I mean that they can be used several times per turn, ...
0
votes
1answer
25 views

Can land and sea units adjacent to the territory or sea zone being attacked ( also units range permitting) move in and help defend?

My friend and I recently started playing a&a 1941. I played the germans which attacked Caucasus then my friend started moving in units from other territories into Caucasus to defend. Can you do ...
8
votes
1answer
196 views

Help identify an old board game with three rooms in a castle and a ghost

Some things that I can remember: There is a castle with 3 rooms. There are tree treasures in each of the rooms Maximum about 4 players Someone plays as a Ghost and others as people Ghost is hunting ...
0
votes
0answers
64 views

Mtg tournament play [closed]

Are alternate art dual lands cards from fate reforged allowed in tournament play? The art on the card is extended but applied to an original mtg land card and the wording is exact with proper borders. ...
0
votes
1answer
12 views

Can Unity play Mechanical Golems when she gets to play a card outside of her turn?

All Mechanical Golems in Unity's deck say the following: This card cannot be played during your play phase. It's pretty clear that this means that during your turn, you cannot play a Mechanical ...

15 30 50 per page