2
votes
1answer
70 views

If a Hero makes a Speed/Sanity/other non-Might attack, when does the Traitor reveal that the target lacks that trait and can't be attacked that way?

This came up in a game involving Haunt 23, Tentacled Horror. (Spoilers will be kept to a minimum.) There are multiple different types of monsters in that Haunt: some of them have a Sanity trait, and ...
0
votes
1answer
42 views

What does “gain” mean?

What exactly is meant by "gain" a card. For example, if I am asked to draw a card from my deck- have I gained the card? Or does gain only apply to cards from the lineup I gain for no cost (Cheetah, ...
3
votes
1answer
98 views

How to stimulate more creative storytelling?

According to the blurb on the box, Rory's Story Cubes® is a pocket-sized visual story generator that sparks the imagination of all ages. You throw 9 dice and then create a story that ...
1
vote
2answers
167 views

If Soulflayer is returned to play from your graveyard, does it retain abilities it was granted?

The abilities for Soulflayer are... Delve (Each card you exile from your graveyard while casting this spell pays for 1.) If a creature card with flying was exiled with Soulflayer's delve ...
5
votes
3answers
357 views

Are tribal spells with changeling considered creature spells?

Does Heartless Summoning make Tribal Changeling Instants cheaper to cast? Crib Swap's type line says: Tribal Instant - Shapeshifter In the reminder text it says: Changeling (This card is ...
2
votes
3answers
124 views

Betrayal at House on the Hill - “Voodoo” (Haunt 25) - Do you continue if the traitor dies?

We played the Voodoo scenario the other night and I as the traitor got killed in an attack. At the end of each traitor turn, the chance of survivors dying gets more and more likely. So I hoped that ...
-2
votes
1answer
212 views

Why didn't whomever created EDH allow Planeswalkers to be Commanders?

I know only legendary creatures can be commanders unless stated otherwise (for example Daretti, Scrap Savant). Have the creators of EDH ever explained why Planeswalkers cannot be commanders by ...
4
votes
1answer
110 views

What is the typical DPI at which playing cards are printed?

I recently had a deck of custom cards printed at MakePlayingCards. They accept bmp,png,tiff and jpg images at a minimum resolution of 300 DPI. I have a bunch of SVG vector images that I can convert to ...
1
vote
1answer
60 views

How many units and resources will the Germans get when they research logistics?

Is there any official/de facto interpretation for this topic? After setup, each time the Germans research a tech that upgrades or unlocks a unit, they build one of that unit for free and gain one ...
0
votes
3answers
104 views

Why is 'equity' much more commonly used than 'winning probability'? What is the mathematical formula that links 'equity" and 'winning probability'?

In backgammon, people always speak about 'equity', but never about 'winning probability'. To me, 'winning probability' seems much more simple and much more intuitive than 'equity'. So why is 'equity' ...
-1
votes
2answers
96 views

Can boars go inside the cave in Caverna?

So there is some ambiguity in the rules about Boars where the example seems to conflict with the rule statement. This leads to the question: Can Boars go inside the cave (For example in the base ...
1
vote
1answer
112 views

Why is capturing mandatory in checkers/draughts? What if capturing was optional like any normal move? Would the game become completely unplayable?

I am totally new to checkers/draughts. I have just learned the rules today, and I have a question about a specific rule: why is capturing mandatory? What would happen if we changed the rules so that ...
6
votes
3answers
574 views

What's behind the “Duck of Doom” card?

"You should know better than to pick up a duck in a dungeon." Should I, really? Most of the cards in basic Munchkin are humorous references to Dungeons & Dragons or other tabletop RPG ...
1
vote
1answer
74 views

How exactly do “start of turn” affects trigger

This came up in a casual game with a friend last night. He is the runner with an economy based upon the The Supplier. One turn he hosted a Data Folding on it. At the start of his turn the "start of ...
0
votes
1answer
39 views

In cribbage, what ius the count for four 5s in a row?

If the person to the left of the dealer starts play with a 5, the next person plays a 5, the third person plays a 5 and finally, the dealer plays a 5, what is the count for the dealer? Obviously the ...
1
vote
1answer
47 views

BSG Exodus: What happens with a damaged base star on launch raiders?

We played the Exodus expansion with the Cylon fleet option for the first time last night. We had a situation where there was a single basestar on the main board, and we'd damaged it with the "can't ...
0
votes
2answers
126 views

Why is this NOT joseki?

Why is white 4 in this diagram not joseki? How can it be punished by black and how bad is it compared to standard joseki play? $$ ---------- $$ ..........| $$ ..........| $$ ..3.2.....| $$ ...
3
votes
1answer
81 views

Is it possible to fill an othello/rervesi board with one color?

I have a simple question, but couldn't find an answer anywhere: is it possible to fill an othello/reversi with one color? I already played some games where one of the two opponents was wipe out, but ...
1
vote
1answer
334 views

What's the probability of having a combo on the first turn in MTG?

I'm creating a combo deck, and I'm interested in the probability of having a certain combo on the first turn. For this combo, I need 4 different cards. There are 4 copies of each of these cards in ...
1
vote
1answer
87 views

Can you build a ship in the Caspian Sea?

The Caspian Sea is a lone body of water south of Caucasus and north of the Middle East. It is also not connected to any other sea location and does not have a zone number. Here is how it appears in ...
2
votes
2answers
157 views

Can a runner end the run before accessing all cards?

When playing casually, I have seen runners occasionally access some cards but decline accessing the remaining (typically due to hitting a trap and being concerned about subsequent traps). The ...
2
votes
3answers
196 views

Can I respond to a draw from Gitaxan probe?

If I resolve a Gitaxian Probe, can I crack a Lion Eye Diamond before I draw?
2
votes
3answers
100 views

Ticket to Ride: May a train segment count for 2 different routes? [duplicate]

We have a question regarding Ticket To Ride. Can part of one train be used to fulfill two different destination routes? For example, my clever son completed his San Francisco-Atlanta “Destination ...
1
vote
1answer
131 views

Humble Defector and Refocus

Who retains control of Humble Defector if, after it is activated, Refocus is cast targeting it and its ability is used again? I know that the player activating the Defector would draw four cards ...
1
vote
1answer
52 views

Can allies interact with mission tokens?

I'm playing a mission with Luke Skywalker as an ally and the mission requires that I pick up 'X' mission tokens and carry them to a location on the map. According to the rules: Rebel allies are ...
1
vote
1answer
172 views

Can i search a copy of a card in the battlefield in my library?

If i use a Cackling Counterpart to create a token of a creature, can i use cards targeting that token (like Pack Hunt) to search my library for that same creature cards?
1
vote
3answers
337 views

Has there ever been any use for Lich?

Is there any good deck which uses Lich? Sure, there is some very corner-case where having it in the battlefield will help you, such as if you have fewer life than permanents, and you are about to ...
2
votes
2answers
86 views

In Risk Classic, are territory cards drawn by players kept face-up or face-down?

The Risk Classic rules do not seem to specify if territory cards drawn by players are kept face-up or face-down. I can't seem to find anything about this from my research and I was wondering if anyone ...
2
votes
1answer
152 views

If Soulflayer exiles a Winged Sliver from the graveyard via delve does it gain flying?

Soulflayer has delve and reads If a creature card with flying was exiled with Soulflayer's delve ability, Soulflayer has flying. The same is true for first strike, double strike, deathtouch, ...
2
votes
1answer
56 views

Bell tower end game

If you build a card bell tower, the game can be completed after the 7th turn. Can somebody destroy the bell tower with armory, after he build the seventh card? And if it can be destroyed, is the game ...
1
vote
1answer
69 views

How do you select wonders at the beginning of a 7 Wonders game? [duplicate]

At the start of your 7 Wonders game how do you decide which wonder each player gets? What is the intended default rule? Something I'm unsure about is if you are supposed to mix sides A and B. Is it ...
12
votes
2answers
146 views

When playing the road building card, can a settlement be built between a free road and a free ship?

In Catan seafarers expansion, when playing the road building card, can a settlement be built between building a free road and building a free ship?
1
vote
1answer
45 views

How do you awaken the Ancient One by opening the gate of Kadath?

The Arkham Horror Statistics spreadsheet lists one of the ways to awaken the Ancient One as "Opening the gate of Kadath". To date, it has never been achieved and I'm curious about why. I took a look ...
5
votes
1answer
59 views

Do characters roll for Blessed/Cursed during a final battle?

During an Ancient One final battle, do investigators roll for Blessed/Cursed and any other Upkeep rolls? (Not sure if there are any others that matter, since Retainer is useless then). I find that the ...
3
votes
2answers
99 views

How does one evaluate a hand responding to a “strong” two clubs?

When opener bids a "strong" two club, responder bids two diamonds (waiting), and the opener rebids his suit, e.g. two spades, the responder is now the "captain" of the partnership. That's because s/he ...
2
votes
2answers
495 views

Will destroying an enchantment attached to a permanent also destroy that permanent?

I play Awaken the Ancient and enchant my mountain. My opponent plays Priest of Iroas and then activates its ability to destroy target enchantment and targets my Awaken the Ancient. Now I know that the ...
3
votes
1answer
50 views

What happens if the auction nominator is outbid?

Seeking clarification on this issue: In Powergrid, at the Auction phase, a player has the choice of passing, or nominating a powerplant for auction. If they nominate the powerplant for auction, ...
7
votes
1answer
273 views

Does the longest road need to have settlements/cities at endpoints?

The questions is, in the following setup: --S--S---C- where - represents roads, S settlements, C cities, is the 'longest road' at 5, or 8? I had originally thought 8, but as I read the FAQ: ...
2
votes
1answer
58 views

Is 5 a maximum number of buildings in Stone Age?

On the player board there are 3 spaces for tools. Player can't have more than 3 tools at the same time (permanent tools). There are 5 spaces for buildings. Therefore, I assumed 5 is a limit of huts a ...
1
vote
1answer
29 views

Can you retreat with Attacking Infantry in Axis and Allies Original - 2nd Edition

This has been brought up a few times in our group. Infantry can only move one space, so if they move in to attack, they pretty much have to fight until they're eliminated or the defending player is ...
1
vote
2answers
53 views

Bridge the 3 card 7 club bid

chair one opened 1 spade I was chair two and said 3 clubs, saying , I have 7 clubs and a outside ace and not 13 pts to open? She says I would have to open 4 clubs for it to mean that, Who's right, of ...
-3
votes
1answer
118 views

exiling cards from graveyard. can each trigger for multiple cards in play [closed]

if i have multiple cards in play with activated abilities involving exiling cards from my graveyard can each exiled card activate for each of my cards in play? card gets +1+1 for each card exiled and ...
4
votes
1answer
93 views

King of Tokyo: Complete Destruction

What is the expected number of turns required to get the required roll for Complete Destruction, given no evolutions or other cards?
4
votes
1answer
67 views

What do you do when you get stuck in an Eastern Crows loop?

What do you do when you get caught in an Eastern Crows loop? There are three Eastern Crows cards that get shuffled back into the encounter deck every time they're defeated (supposing none are drawn as ...
0
votes
0answers
20 views

Can you play the Crisis Expansion with the core game and Heroes Unite combined?

The description for the DC Comics Deck Building Game: Crisis Expansion 1 says the following: This is not a standalone product. DC Comics Deck-building Game or Heroes Unite is required to play. ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Settlers of Catan - What counts as longest road?

My friends and I are new to Settlers of Catan. We had a dispute over what counts as the longest road. Suppose we have a road that is 8 segments long. Between the 4th and 5th segment we have a road ...
1
vote
2answers
304 views

Will this bounce work?

Here is my problem: I made a really awesome Animar EDH deck and one of my infinite combos involves Animar, Soul of elements with 4 +1/+1 counters on it. This will allow me to summon Pierce Strider for ...
0
votes
0answers
21 views

Is it possible to change or destroy goods that a scout is sending?

In the rulebook of Civilization (p.26) it says that The player declares which of their cities the scout is "sending" the square to during the Start of Turn Phase, and all the icons in that ...
0
votes
1answer
107 views

mortgage deadline

Playing this game in different languages and in different groups of people I've met strange rule "after 3 rounds property goes from mortgage back to bank". Aslo they had strange price to buy back ...
1
vote
0answers
18 views

Does Zombie link trigger when out of models?

In Zombicide, if you have a character with the "zombie link" ability, does that ability trigger only when a spawn card says "all X 1 extra turn" or does it also trigger when you activate zombies due ...

15 30 50 per page