7
votes
2answers
197 views

How should we setup Settlers of Catan for three players?

Settlers of Catan for three players suffers slightly from too much space. I find the four player game much more enjoyable because of the tense competetion for places to settle. It seems that this ...
6
votes
5answers
170 views

Do Get Out of Jail Free cards “have value”?

When going bankrupt in Monopoly the rules state that you must either turn over to that player all that you have of value and retire from the game if going bankrupt thanks to another player, or turn ...
0
votes
1answer
48 views

Delayed and detained

Say your investigator gets delayed (cannot perform any actions bare "standing up") and then get Detained (for example, via a Mythos card). The Detained condition states that the investigator can only ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Does declaring victory end your turn?

A scenario that played out in our game of Settlers of Catan: What happens if a player falsly declares he won when he was at 9 points instead of 10? Does declaring he won end his turn? (and this is ...
4
votes
2answers
309 views

Are old Magic: the Gathering boosters worth more sealed, or should I open them?

I won some magic the gathering 10th edition core set booster packs, are they worth anything? Or should I open to get rare cards? Also have 2 core sets — Molimo's might and Exincar's tyranny ...
5
votes
1answer
169 views

How do major online game stores set Magic: the Gathering card prices? [closed]

I understand complete answers might not be public, but is there any public information on how major sites (like StarCityGames, TCGPlayer, Abu, etc), price their cards? In particular, since the prices ...
0
votes
2answers
88 views

Munchkin “Shrieking Geek” Bad Stuff

If you lose to the Shrieking Geek and fail to run away, the Bad Stuff that happens is described as: Bad Stuff: You become a normal boring Human. Discard any Race or Class cards in play. If I ...
4
votes
1answer
82 views

Chesscademy exercise: material part 2 - why doesn't this move result in a 2 point material lead?

I'm trying to re-learn chess with the wonderful Chesscademy site. This exercise asks me to "make a move that will leave you up two points in total". As the hint suggests, I've counted up the ...
1
vote
1answer
42 views

Cultists flying mat

Cultist description says that any regions adjacent to cuthullu (even due to special powers) are one cheaper. Now flying mat gives flying, which kinda allows treating any territory as adjacent (not ...
4
votes
1answer
67 views

Where can I buy a deck of personalized cards?

I want to design my own cards, backside and frontside (on the frontside only the pictures for jack, queen, king, and ace). One of the biggest problems is that I only want two decks, not thousands of ...
8
votes
2answers
562 views

What cards give +1/+1 counters to all creatures?

I wonder if there is any card that gives +1/+1 counters to all creature I have on the field? I have Krenko, Mob Boss, Abzan Battle Priest and Mirror Entity so it would be awesome to have +1/+1 ...
0
votes
2answers
35 views

Failure to take a call for step in Pokemon

If a mistake is made in a Pokemon game, and neither player catches it, does the player who failed to do the correct action lose the game, or is the game a draw, or do you continue to play the game ...
0
votes
1answer
106 views

Strategy for Yahtzee

Yahtzee (aka "Nokia Dice") has the following rules: The aim of the game is to score a maximum number of points. There are 13 hands on which you can get points, as well as a bonus. 5 dice are used in ...
0
votes
1answer
51 views

Does the zombie lord from haunt 21 take damage from a sanity roll?

We were playing Haunt 21 and I was the zombie lord. My friend had the Ring and the Medallion and decided to use the Ring to attack me with Sanity. Would the zombie lord take damage or be stunned from ...
0
votes
1answer
44 views

If I use a trainer card that removes damage, can I remove less than that amount of damage?

If a trainer card states that it removes 60 points of damage, can you use it to remove 50 points or less of damage? I have one card that says up to 30 points of damage, so I know I can use it to ...
2
votes
1answer
65 views

Destroying units due to a crisis card

In a game of Xcom: The Board Game, a crisis card came up that said we needed to destroy two interceptors. Can I destroy the interceptors from the reserves or do they need to be destroyed from the ...
3
votes
1answer
50 views

No leader at end of round 1

In the game Two Rooms and a Boom, the leader of a room is the first person to be nominated by another player. What happens if no one has done this in a room by the end of round one and the room has ...
0
votes
1answer
97 views

Where can I find an opening database of professional games for 9x9 Go?

I'm looking for an opening database (also called game explorer) for 9x9 Go, showing in every position the percentage of times each move is played and also possibly the percentage of times each move ...
0
votes
2answers
111 views

Fight - can black stones be killed?

I just tried a fight that ended up this: Can the black stones be killed? It's whites move. First, let's assume that white's chain is safe and look at it as tsumego. I tried several sequences but ...
0
votes
1answer
28 views

Heroic leader after his unit is eliminated

If the unit with the heroic leader dies but no star is rolled, does the enemy still get one victory medal for the destroyed infantry unit? Action Cards 8 - Heroic Leader
0
votes
1answer
39 views

Crazy 8s rules question

I was recently playing a game of crazy. We had a dispute over the rules I said: A 2 means that you have to pick up two more cards A Jack means that you skip town My friends disagree. So I was ...
0
votes
1answer
32 views

Can I use Hannibal Necromancer's effect to destroy a trap card my opponent just activated?

I have Hannibal Necromancer on the field with 1 spell counter. It is my opponent's turn, and he activated the (previously-set) trap Horn of the Phantom Beast. Can I remove the spell counter from ...
15
votes
6answers
3k views

Am I obligated to identify cards owned by an opponent?

Nathan controls Jeskai Infiltrator. His deck has green sleeves. Anthony controls three Mountains. His deck has blue sleeves. Anthony casts and resolves Act of Treason, gaining control of Infiltrator. ...
3
votes
1answer
86 views

What are all the previous Oracle text revisions for Time Vault?

On Gatherer, I can see the original wording for Time Vault: Tap to gain an additional turn after the current one. Time Vault doesn't untap normally during untap phase; to untap it, you must skip a ...
1
vote
1answer
37 views

Tsumego intermediate problem 11 - possible without winning ko two times?

This tsumego (intermediate problem 11) gave me hard time: I actually only found a solution where black must win the ko two times, which is nasty. Is there a better solution? It actually looks like ...
1
vote
1answer
40 views

How can I create my own card for my own game? [duplicate]

I've created a set of rules for a card game I would like to test, but I have no clue on how to build my nice-looking cards. Any hint on what program/site to use is very welcome.
3
votes
1answer
70 views

Does Livewire Lash trigger if a spell is countered by Chalice of the Void

I have a creature equipped with Livewire Lash and my opponent has Chalice of the Void in play. I play a spell which targets the creature equipped with Livewire Lash but the spell is countered due to ...
7
votes
1answer
237 views

Why did Wizards of the Coast change the minimum deck size for Constructed from 40 to 60 cards?

In the beginning, Magic: the Gathering decks had to have at least 40 cards. Later, the developers changed the deckbuilding rules in two ways: The minimum deck size went from 40 cards to 60 cards in ...
2
votes
2answers
35 views

Is a player limited to four In-Town Deed cards?

Doomtown: Reloaded comes with a very helpful player board that looks like this: (Original image source) Notably, there are four spots for In-Town Deed cards. Is this a hard limit? I didn't spot ...
2
votes
1answer
528 views

Will a creature cast with Dash still return to your hand if it dies in combat?

While going through Fate Reforged, I became a little bit confused by the new mechanic Dash. For example, if you take a look at Goblin Heelcutter, the ability states as such: Whenever Goblin ...
1
vote
3answers
89 views

How do CCGs/LCGs have an ongoing metaplot?

I am told that there are some collectible card games and living card games that have a metaplot. For instance, I am told that Alderac Entertainment Group (AEG) has Legend of the Five Rings and ...
1
vote
1answer
32 views

Can shootouts happen in the town square?

The rules are a bit confusing about where shootouts can happen. All of the examples, both in the Welcome to Gomorra tutorial and in the rulebook, show shootouts happening in order to contest control ...
6
votes
1answer
162 views

Triggered abilities from multiple players. Whose resolves first?

If triggered abilities from sources controlled by multiple players all trigger at the same time, in what order do they resolve? For example, if I control Obzedat, Ghost Council and at least two other ...
11
votes
3answers
274 views

Can you shuffle your discard pile?

Is there any rule or reason why you can't shuffle your discard pile during moments of downtime, in order to get a better shuffle once your deck is fully depleted? My understanding is that the discard ...
0
votes
2answers
50 views

3-3 invasion into 4-4,6-4

In josekipedia, they state that this exchange is a mistake See http://www.josekipedia.com/#path:pdttpfqcpcqdqepbobrbpaqaqb for the full sequence they argue with. But, I think that their argument ...
0
votes
1answer
135 views

Can I turn a manifested card face up during the declare blockers step?

If I attack with a manifested (face down) card and my opponent declares blockers, is priority then passed to me so I can turn it face up for its mana cost, or must I turn it up after declaring ...
2
votes
1answer
97 views

Can I use a creature's ability on my opponent's turn?

If I were to have a card on the battlefield such as Archers' Parapet and it was my opponents turn could I play the ability of Parapet if I had player priority? {1}{B}, {T}: Each opponent loses 1 ...
3
votes
2answers
273 views

Why are some decks (i.e. Meandeck Tendrils) not playable in tournaments?

I have been working with Meandeck Tendrils lately. In the linked article, Stephen Menendian indicated that while the decklist was tournament legal (at the time), it was not possible to play it in a ...
3
votes
1answer
85 views

Thud! - Can the Trolls win?

In every game of Thud! that I have played, the Dwarves win hands down. It is somewhat off-putting as whoever is playing the Trolls seems to have to simply minimise the losses. Are there any opening ...
5
votes
2answers
71 views

How does infect step of epidemic interact with mutation?

As the current player pulled an epidemic card, we do the following steps: increase, infect, and intensify. Infect: Draw the bottom card from the deck and put three cubes in that city. Discard ...
1
vote
1answer
128 views

When a permanent has a “When a creature dies” ability, and gets destroyed at the same time as creatures, does that ability trigger? [duplicate]

Say I control Fecundity, which states: Whenever a creature dies, that creature's controller may draw a card. If I control 2 creatures and my opponent controls one creature, and I cast Planar ...
0
votes
2answers
117 views

Do pre constructed decks refresh standard rotation? [duplicate]

I'm a starting player, so I'll be getting the Fate Reforged Clash Pack coming next week to hopefully get playing into Standard. I get this clash pack can be made into a BG Dredge deck, which seems ...
1
vote
2answers
78 views

In Pandemic can I immediately cure disease to return to the 7 card limit?

I have 7 cards in my hand 4 red, 3 yellow (both uncured diseases). I take a red card from another player in my city, can I immediately cure disease (there is a research center in my city) to enable me ...
3
votes
1answer
228 views

If damaged by another player's Acid Attack, can I cede Tokyo?

If I'm in Tokyo, and a player outside of Tokyo has Acid Attack, they will do one damage to me on their turn (even without rolling a claw). But will that damage from Acid Attack allow me to leave Tokyo ...
2
votes
3answers
203 views

How do you deal with the edge of the table in tile laying games like Carcassonne [closed]

When playing a tile-laying game, like Carcassonne or Qwirkle, what rule should we use for reaching the edge of the table? Play "off the table" is illegal Play is legal, and we'll faff around moving ...
4
votes
1answer
170 views

What is the status of Fruitcake elemental?

I have found a card called fruitcake elemental. This card does that does not appear to be on gatherer, but is on magiccardinfo.com. It is a 7/7 green indestructable creature costing: 1{G}{G}. At ...
2
votes
1answer
59 views

Can you trash Crimium Grid to make the run Successful?

Can as a runner when you encounter a server that has Crimium Grid trash it to make that run successful or do you have to make another run after you trash it?
2
votes
1answer
99 views

Does Hardened Scales interact with the undying mechanic?

Would a creature with undying (like Young Wolf) get 2 +1/+1 counters instead of 1 when it dies if I had Hardened Scales out?
5
votes
3answers
336 views

Are you required to pay all mandatory additional costs for Wild Evocation?

I found this year old question on a blog. Anthony controls Wild Evocation. At the beginning of his upkeep, he triggers and begins resolving Wild Evocation's triggered ability, revealing Disaster ...
1
vote
0answers
30 views

Solitaire variant: Piles of 3, top moved by value match. Name=?

I'm in the UK. My sister taught me this as "American Patience" in the 1960's (it is not a straight Solitaire). Object: To clear the tableaux and move all the cards to the 4 foundation piles, Ace ...

15 30 50 per page