15
votes
3answers
2k views

How do you handle two epidemics in a row in pandemic?

Instructions on epidemics ask that the discard pile be reshuffled and put back as the last action to take with the card. This means that if a player draws two epidemic cards at the same time, there ...
14
votes
5answers
19k views

Can instants be played after I decide not to block?

My friend has a green Infect deck. When he declares a creature to attack and I allow it to go through unblocked, he suddenly plays all these Instants that 'pump' the creature up, and because of ...
14
votes
1answer
6k views

Do creatures that enter the battlefield at the same time see each other enter?

Let's say I have Goldnight Commander on the board. He is a 2/2 that says: Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, creatures you control get +1/+1 until end of turn. ...
14
votes
2answers
517 views

Are professional ranks representative for how many stones of handicap players can give each other?

It was mentioned elsewhere that a 9p could not give 7 stones to a 2p. I have no databases available and wondered if this is correct. Bonus: If they aren't representative, why not? And is there a ...
14
votes
4answers
8k views

Are cards of the same “rarity level” really equally rare in MTG?

In Magic the Gathering there are 4 rarity levels: common, uncommon, rare and mythical rare. In a booster pack you usually get 10 commons, 3 uncommons and 1 rare or 1 mythical rare. In Innistrad that ...
14
votes
4answers
33k views

How does regeneration work in Magic the Gathering?

How does the regeneration work? I know that if my creature is destroyed then I can spend X mana then tap my creature and move it out of combat. Is it attackable in any way after that? With spells or ...
14
votes
8answers
5k views

Settlers of Catan play takes hours

I was under the impression that the play time in Settlers of Catan was more modest than say, Risk. However it seems almost as long. This is often due to a lot of trading and talk which drags on for a ...
12
votes
3answers
2k views

Why do mana abilities not go on the stack?

Why this special treatment for mana-abilities? What are the design implications if they didn't go on the stack?
12
votes
5answers
10k views

In the official rules of Monopoly, can you offer immunity to other players in deals?

In the official rules of Monopoly, can you offer immunity to other players in deals? Also, what about tournament play, which has different rules again? For example, it was a common house rule from my ...
12
votes
7answers
1k views

Promised future trades as part of legal trades? (Solution described, alternatives/comments requested)

When making a trade in Settlers of Catan, there is no official rule encouraging or prohibiting making a promise (to make a certain type of trade or perform some kind of action in the future) during a ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

Can Trait Doctoring be used to change words like “nonblack”?

Trait Doctoring reads: Change the text of target permanent by replacing all instances of one color word with another or one basic land type with another until end of turn. Doom Blade, for ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

How can I counter Plasma Missiles?

Our group has recently started playing Eclipse (without any expansions), however we have been having trouble with Plasma Missiles. More specifically, simple "nothing but plasma missiles and possibly a ...
11
votes
2answers
690 views

Are copied spells cast from the graveyard?

If you copy Increasing Confusion or any other "cast from the graveyard" spell with Increasing Vengeance, does the copy act like it was cast from the graveyard? Or, since the copy technically was not ...
11
votes
1answer
10k views

What is the resolution of tapping a blocking creature?

Let's say I have declared a blocker during the correct phase and during the activate abilities step I choose to tap the blocker to use its ability. All the abilities resolve and now we move to the ...
11
votes
1answer
575 views

Can a route be included in more than one destination ticket?

The rules that come with the game do not specifically state the a route (between two cities) can be included in more than one destination string, but this is assumed when we play. Is that a correct ...
10
votes
1answer
475 views

Dark Confidant and split cards

On my upkeep controlling a Dark Confidant I trigger revealing a card and losing life to it's cmc cost. What happens if I have a split card with 2 identifiable spells? Do I get to choose which one I ...
10
votes
3answers
1k views

What are the restrictions on picking up locomotives?

If, after drawing one of the five cards from the face up train cards, and after replacing that card, the second card is drawn from the top of the deck and is a locomotive card, is the player allowed ...
10
votes
2answers
335 views

How do ranks work in Go?

One of the most commonly asked questions of beginners. How do ranks work in Go? Why do we start backwards? And why do we suddenly count upwards again? What is the difference between 9d and 9p? How is ...
8
votes
1answer
566 views

How do I handle casting a spell with a cost of X when the casting cost is reduced?

If I play a spell with {X} in the mana cost, and I have a card out that reduces the casting cost by 2 colorless mana, what happens to the X? Does it start at -2? For example: I have Arcane Melee in ...
8
votes
1answer
523 views

How do I identify the role of a singleton in a well-tuned deck?

In this instance, I'm looking at Matt Sperling's Pro Tour top 8 Boros Burn deck, and there's one thing I don't get--what's the single Eidolon of the Great Revel doing here? Creatures: 4 ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a +1/+1 counter remove a -1/-1 counter?

My opponent controls a Kulrath Knight. I control a 4/4 creature (with a -1/-1 counter on it, due to an earlier cast Black Sun's Zenith). If I use an ability to put a +1/+1 counter on my 4/4 ...
8
votes
2answers
253 views

Identical creatures entering the battlefield

If I have two cards called Sin Collector in hand and I play my first, Sin Collector (A). I use its triggered ability. "When Sin Collector enters the battlefield, target opponent reveals his or her ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Can the Diplomat power be used against a player without an active race?

Tonight I gained Diplomatic Sorcerers, two of the other 3 players were in decline so had no active race. A reading of the rules implied to us that the Diplomatic power could not be used against those ...
8
votes
1answer
461 views

What are the legal tournament formats for MtG?

What are the current legal tournament formats for Magic: The Gathering? What are the differences/definitions of each format? At what point do sets rotate in/out of a format?
7
votes
2answers
77 views

Do you still collect a noble if the day ends?

If there is one noble left in line and you play "fled to England" to discard it (thus, ending the day) do you collect a noble from the new day?
6
votes
1answer
296 views

If a creature loses flying after blockers are declared, is the block still legal?

My opponent declared attack with a flying creature, after that I declared a blocker with my own flying creature. He then cast Turn to Frog, targeting my blocker. My creature was a 6/6 flying, my ...
6
votes
2answers
402 views

Proper use of Stations - and how to convince others

I played a game of Ticket to Ride Europe recently, I don't own it but am vaguely familiar with the rules. When we started playing however there was some confusion about the placement of stations and I ...
6
votes
3answers
3k views

When can lands be tapped?

I'm completely new to Magic the Gathering. I've read the basic rulebook pretty thoroughly and have a pretty good grasp of the basic rules, but it's unclear to me as to when you can tap lands to ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

What are my cards good for once they have rotated out of Standard?

So I'm a little upset, but I am realizing this is just part of MtG. I spent some time last year putting together some nice decks and stocking up on quite a bit of the M13 cards. And then work / life ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Can non basic lands be tapped for colorless mana?

For example, Evolving Wilds has a mana fixing ability, but it doesn't say you can tap it for mana. Other non-basic lands have a mana ability listed on the card. Should I assume that Evolving Winds ...
6
votes
4answers
3k views

When is a creature's toughness calculated

At what point is a creature's toughness calculated? If I have Korozda Guildmage where I can sacrifice a creature and put X 1/1 token creatures onto the battlefield, where X is the sacrificed ...
6
votes
2answers
3k views

Does Cremate counter Flashback, Scavenge, and their ilk?

I'm looking at the card Cremate: Cremate - {B} Instant - common RTR Exile target card from a graveyard. Draw a card. Now, can I use this to respond to a flashback or scavenge? ...
6
votes
2answers
307 views

In Bridge, what is the punishment for misclaiming tricks?

Down to the last two rounds in rubber bridge. Declarer claims remaining tricks only to discover that he has miscounted. He claims the two tricks with Q-10; however, opponent holds the J and ...
6
votes
1answer
822 views

In multiplayer, what happens if a player you're attacking dies before combat damage is dealt?

I can't work this one out. For example: I declare a creature attacking one of my opponents (who's on 5 life). Before he/she declares blockers another player casts Beacon of Destruction (or similar), ...
5
votes
2answers
322 views

If an effect would prevent a spell from doing damage, does it continue to prevent that damage after the spell changes zones?

Anthony casts Searing Blood, targeting Nathan's Elvish Mystic. Nathan casts and resolves Dromoka's Command, choosing to 1) prevent all damage that would be dealt by Searing Blood this turn and 2) put ...
5
votes
1answer
431 views

Is your commander still a “commander” if it gets turned face down? [duplicate]

Does your commander still count as being your commander if it is turned face down? For example, I have my commander on the battlefield and my opponent plays Ixidron. Ixidron then turns my commander ...
5
votes
1answer
719 views

Does a exiling a creature after being destroyed or dealt lethal damage still count as if it “died”?

I'm actually working on an alternative card set. While designing tribal mechanics, I have encountered a problem with a single thing: does a creature exiled after being destroyed (instead of being put ...
5
votes
3answers
462 views

In bridge, are there some 13 point hands that should not be opened?

Suppose you have: (s) Jx (h)KQxx (d) KJxx (c) Kxx. That's 13 points, by the usual count. But I can think of at least two things wrong with it. First, there are no aces, meaning that the hand has ...
5
votes
2answers
10k views

In Sorry, can I be forced to move out of my “safe zone”?

For example, if I draw a 4 (move 4 spaces backward) and the only piece that could make the move is in my "safe zone", do I have to make the move?
5
votes
2answers
2k views

In Axis and Allies, Should the U.S. Build a “Factory” in Brazil?

In Axis and Allies (original version), the basically maritime powers, the US and UK have a problem coming to grips with the land-based Axis. One solution is for them to buy industrial complexes in ...
4
votes
1answer
360 views

What happens when a creature enchanted with Soul Link would deal lethal damage to a player?

Player A has 3 life left. Player B attacks with a Dauthi Marauder that has been enchanted by Player A's Soul Link. Does player B win, or does nothing happen? On the one hand, "whenever" makes it ...
4
votes
1answer
409 views

Drawn through gate during an Arkham encounter

Two investigators were in the same location in Arkham. The first investigator drew an encounter 'A monster and gate appear!'. He resolved that encounter by fighting the monster and then getting drawn ...
4
votes
1answer
3k views

How long does mana from Burning-Tree Emissary stay around?

Does mana added to your pool from Burning-Tree Emissary get destroyed when the card that added it is destroyed?
4
votes
3answers
223 views

How can I tell what has changed in a Comprehensive Rules update?

As an example, the Comp Rules were updated February 1, 2012. I know that a reference to "Fateful Hour" was added to 207.2c since I know to search for fateful hour, but how do I know what else ...
3
votes
2answers
376 views

What does X mean in a spell's cost?

What does the X in a spell's cost do? For example, Strength of the Tajuru has X in its cost. What do I need to do in order to cast that spell, and what happens with the X when it resolves? Note: If ...
3
votes
3answers
2k views

How does priority work in these cases?

I understand the ruling that when a Planeswalker resolves the player controlling the walker can activate its ability without their opponent getting priority in between. Are there any other rules ...
3
votes
3answers
750 views

In Axis and Allies, Can Heavy Bombers Be “Tamed”?

Most players of Axis and Allies understand intuitively that the original heavy bombers tech "unbalances" the game by being disproportionately good. My own research confirms this by valuing the two ...
3
votes
4answers
1k views

Can We Find a Middle Ground on the Russia First Turn Attack Rule In Allies and Axis?

Some (mainly Axis) players refuse to play Axis and Allies if Russia is allowed to attack on the first turn. Other (mainly Russian) players argue that Russia is unfairly hobbled if it has to play ...
2
votes
1answer
141 views

Par-zero deal with many points for N/S

This question is about the card game bridge : How many points can N/S have in a par-zero deal ? (Only consider the high card points) In a par-zero deal, no player can make any contract assuming ...
2
votes
1answer
52 views

Navigator Role ability

If I am a Navigator and I decide to move my partner can I also assume an action through them also? For example if I move a partner 2 spaces beside a flooded tile can I shore up the piece for an action ...

15 30 50 per page