2
votes
0answers
23 views

“Stay Away” how to handle case with 4 Infected cards

Last night I had a game where I was infected by The Thing and drew a Panic! card (Forgetful) which states that I should discard 3 cards and draw 3 more. What happened was that after that Panic! card I ...
2
votes
2answers
197 views

Toughness and the Stack

If a creature's toughness were to reach 0 before the stack is finished resolving, does it die, or does the stack finish. For example, if a Llanowar Elf had Gigantic growth cast on it and the growth ...
1
vote
1answer
31 views

What elements of Arkham Horror balance the difficulty across the number of players?

I know the number of open gates that triggers the awakening of the Ancient One reduces as the number of players increase, and the number of roaming monsters in Arkham increases as well, so there is ...
1
vote
1answer
21 views

When the ancient one awakens, do we pass the first player token?

Since the token passes at the end of the turn, and the awakening goes immediately to the awakening, do we skip passing the first player token for the first attack?
0
votes
1answer
14 views

In Arkham Horror, do 'leftover' successes after triggering a doom token removal still count? [duplicate]

In a 2-investigator game, if he rolls 3 successes, does the remaining success get accumulated toward the next doom token removal? Along the same vein, if he rolls 4 successes, does he remove 2 tokens? ...
0
votes
1answer
12 views

In Arkham Horror, can Shrivelling be used to compound bonuses?

Probably the generic question is whether combat bonuses can be compounded at all or if it works like Eldritch Horror where '+' bonuses are only ever used for one item while re-rolls can be compounded. ...
0
votes
1answer
17 views

In Arkham Horror, does a third separate instruction after a pair of pass/fail clauses imply that it occurs in both cases?

Here is the text in question from the Celeano world: On a failure, a monster appears from the book. On a success, you are drawn into the book for a time. Stay here next turn. I know the last ...
2
votes
1answer
34 views

What spaces are considered not 'in Arkham'

For the action "All Cthonians and Dholes in Arkham are returned to the cup," does this include the outskirts and sky spaces?
4
votes
1answer
34 views

In Arkham Horror, if a monster surge exceeds the max allowable monsters, does the monster that caused the max to be exceeded get discarded?

If I the outskirts is already at maximum capacity, and I have to add 5 more monsters because of a monster surge, do I empty the Outskirts and then add 4 monsters? More specifically, does the monster ...
1
vote
1answer
17 views

In Arkham Horror, can my investigator only use Dragon's Eye on the drawn gate if she is the 'first player'?

Dragon's Eye says Any Phase: Exhaust and lose 1 Sanity after drawing a gate or location card to draw a new card in its place Does this mean the investigator owning it must be the 'first player' ...
1
vote
1answer
16 views

In Arkham Horror, where do flying monsters in location areas go when no investigator is near?

The rulebook says If the flying monster is in a street area with no investigators and there are no investigators in a connected street area, it moves to the Sky. Does this imply if it is in a ...
3
votes
1answer
47 views

In Eldritch Horror, do epic monsters have to be encountered before non epic monsters?

The guide by The Esoteric Order of Gamers says If you are on a space with 1 or more monsters, you must resolve a single combat encounter against each monster there, one at a time, in the order of ...
1
vote
1answer
87 views

MTG Sliver Commander: Can I declare Brood Slivers tokens as attackers?

So in my sliver deck I am running Brood Sliver and Heart Sliver. Let's say their both on the field and a sliver deals damage to a player, could I declare the tokens made as attackers or is it too ...
0
votes
2answers
42 views

Looking for a simple yet deep card / board game featuring superheroes to use as an introduction to games [closed]

I am looking to introduce a new player to the world of card and board games. This person shows an interest in getting into the hobby and after a conversation I was able to ascertain that she is a fan ...
0
votes
1answer
43 views

Acing a copy of a unique card that you have in play

Say that you have a character or deed in play that does not have the non-unique keyword (which are most dudes and deeds), and another card of the same name in your hand. You would not be able to play ...
5
votes
3answers
597 views

Can abilities with no “tap/untap” cost be activated while a creature has summoning sickness? [duplicate]

From the MTG rules: 302.6. A creature's activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can't be activated unless the creature has been under its controller's ...
1
vote
2answers
79 views

What state and trigger events apply when you “put creatures onto the battlefield?”

For instance, the -8 ability for Liliana Vess says, Put all creature cards from all graveyards onto the battlefield under your control. This sounds distinct from casting/summoning, and there's ...
0
votes
1answer
22 views

Can the Beast attack from a distance?

The rules state the Beast can move 5 spaces on a turn, but can attack the Agent only if it shares the same space that turn I believe this means that the beast can only attack the Agent it ...
0
votes
0answers
15 views

In Arkham Horror, do I have to perform the upkeep action for the Blessing card during the fight with the Ancient One? [duplicate]

This question is an added question to here. I thought I'd post it as a separate question. From the rulebook I see At the beginning of a round of combat with an Ancient One, the investigators may ...
1
vote
2answers
31 views

Euchre played by a group of 3 people

I have played Euchre for years. Often a group of us finds ourselves one player short of the required 4. We then usually joke that we should play Canadian Euchre, which apparently allows rules for ...
0
votes
1answer
36 views

Bet process when 2 players and Big blind is all in on the Pre-Flop

as I understand when 2 players playing no Limit Hold-em dealerButton is smallBlind bigBlind goes All-In at the preflop. smallBlind opens the game and he CALL. how does the game move forward? (does ...
5
votes
1answer
182 views

Should a judge assume that any triggers not mentioned have been missed when providing a ruling?

Alice and Nathan are playing a friendly game of magic in a tournament run at Competitive REL. They run into a situation that they don't quite understand, and so they call for a judge. Jason arrives, ...
7
votes
1answer
105 views

Does “return” from graveyard to Zone X require a card to have been in Zone X?

When an ability says, return X from Zone A to Zone B, can the ability only be used if X was in Zone B previously? In particular, consider the Reassembling Skeleton's ability text: {1}{B}: Return ...
1
vote
1answer
32 views

In Arkham Horror, what card is shown on the bottom right of the board display of the rulebook?

The rulebook here shows a board layout on page 4. At the right side are the various investigator items (common and unique items, skills, spells, allies, etc). There are 11 cards stacked there. What ...
3
votes
2answers
246 views

Can I play countered sorcery speed spells with Guile?

During an opponent's turn, I had Guile and used Rethink to counter a permanent spell (in my case, it was a Deathbringer Thoctar). Guile's second ability states "if a spell or ability you control ...
2
votes
0answers
31 views

Can I add Ogre mercenaries to any army in Warhammer fantasy?

In the fluff, Ogres are generally employed as mercenaries, as opposed to an army in their own right. Can I do the same in the tabletop version? And if so, does it matter which army? Could both the ...
0
votes
1answer
80 views

Has Hive already been completely 'solved' for AI?

According to some calculations, Hive has not too many positions to check them all out through programming, and basically make the best possible AI for it. Has it been done yet?
4
votes
1answer
42 views

In Arkham Horror, do you ignore counting items that can't be lost or stolen when going insane or unconscious?

The Arkham Horror errata says on page 6: Q: Some Items state that they cannot be lost or stolen unless you choose to allow it. When does this ability come into play? A: It would come into ...
4
votes
1answer
263 views

Who gets to “search target player's graveyard, hand, and library?”

When a spell says, Search target player's graveyard, hand, and library for X, as is the case with Memoricide and Surgical Extraction, does that mean the casting player gets to look? (Thereby being ...
0
votes
1answer
17 views

Stalingrad Pocket 2nd ed Air Power Barrage Shift

According to rule 1.10g Divisional Integrity Artillery Bonus: "Artillery which does not have a friendly unit adjacent to the intended target ... will receive a (leftward) shift on the Barrage ...
6
votes
1answer
151 views

Is this box an official MTG product? Who are the featured characters?

I got this box years ago from a (then) friend together with their collection of cards (many from 5th edition up to Urza's Saga). It is a flip-top box with a warrior on the top (pictured), the sides ...
2
votes
1answer
45 views

Additional/Made up roles in Resistance or Resistance avalon

My friends and I have started making up new roles for resistance when we get tired of using the basics like Merlin, Percival Mordred, Morgana and Oberon. I know Mordred can hide from Merlin, Merlin ...
1
vote
1answer
35 views

Where do trashed Travellers go?

In Dominion Adventures, when you trash one of the Traveller cards, where does that Traveller go? The rules seems to imply the Trash pile. However, since there are only 5 of each pile, I was ...
2
votes
1answer
20 views

In Arkham Horror, are Ally cards treated specially in setup?

The rules say this in setup: The players shuffle the Common Item, Unique Item, Spell, and Skill decks, then return them face down to their places next to the board. Whenever players draw cards, ...
1
vote
1answer
39 views

How prepared will I be to play Arkham Horror after reading just the Rulebook?

I noticed the faq files for Arkham Horror are very large and are partially incorporated into the revised printing, but will I simply be doing some things outright wrong unless I review the faq first? ...
5
votes
2answers
798 views

If I copy a spell, do I need to pay the costs again? Will copying a spell trigger Prowess?

If I cast Howl of the Horde and then cast a Collateral Damage, do I need to sacrifice a creature for each new copy of Collateral Damage? Does each new copy trigger Prowess?
0
votes
2answers
45 views

In a&a 1942 2nd edition is it necesarry to build an industrial complex in order to mobilize units?

Like if the soviet union does not build a complex that means it cant mobilize units anywhere? I dont see any complexes printed on the board itself to start the game off, does that mean i have to buy ...
3
votes
2answers
31 views

In Arkham Horror, does the first player look at the drawn monster before deciding how to place it?

What is the accepted procedure for drawing monsters? If I need to draw 8 monsters for 3 gates, it's easy to determine which two will get the extra monster, but do I draw them one by one, looking at ...
1
vote
1answer
23 views

In Arkham Horror, should the newly placed monsters or the final count of monsters be evenly distributed?

The rules state: When placing monsters, they should be divided as evenly as possible among the open gates, with no gate having more monsters placed on it than the gate where the monster surge ...
1
vote
2answers
129 views

Dividing up Hexagonal Board Tiles

So I'm designing a board game that uses a number of adjacent hexagonal boards. These boards need to be divided up into spaces (tiles) that players move through. I've been playing with using Hexagons ...
0
votes
1answer
68 views

How to balance Dixit?

The rules of Dixit that the game ends when the deck runs out (leaving players with full hands at the end). Every time I have played, the players have commented that this means that some players have ...
6
votes
4answers
1k views

Do morph cards suffer summoning sickness [duplicate]

When you have the card face down then you morph the card to face up, does it suffer summoning sickness? My friend has lots of them in his deck and I'm not too sure and would like to know whether they ...
1
vote
1answer
35 views

Why am I seeing the same 3 Spider Solitaire games today that I saw 2 days ago [closed]

For the third time in 5 or 6 games today and yesterday I am seeing the same Spider Solitaire layout that I saw two days go. These three games all had very unique patterns, and took a large number of ...
5
votes
1answer
107 views

Can I use Settlers of Catan (older edition) with Catan: Explorers and Pirates (2015 ed.)?

I have an older version of The Settlers of Catan (part number 483), and an older version of The Cities and Knights of Catan (part number 494), which were purchased sometime around the late 1990s. I ...
1
vote
1answer
19 views

In Elder Sign, can I use Jenny Barnes' ability to discard a spell when the mythos lingering effect bars investigators from using spells?

Can I use Jenny's ability to discard a spell to gain the dice, because discarding is not the same as 'using' a spell?
0
votes
1answer
15 views

Islands as Coastal Spaces

Do Islands count as Coastal spaces? One specific effect in the game makes reference to coastal spaces, which do not appear to have a clear definition or specific terrain icon. Do islands count for ...
0
votes
1answer
19 views

Fabulous Wealth as Sultan

Does being Sultan bypass the special requirements for being Fabulously Wealthy? When gaining the Sultan status, a player automatically moves their wealth counter directly to fabulous (the highest ...
2
votes
1answer
29 views

Accessing Tale 2,600

Is there a way to access passage 2,600 in The Book of Tales through normal play? Passage 2,600 in The Book of Tales appears to be a humorous easter egg referencing the fact that it is the last ...
0
votes
0answers
5 views

Skills as a Victory Tie-Breaker

How are skills counted for the victory condition? The first tie-breaker for winning the game is the number of statuses each contested player possesses, followed second by how many skills they ...
1
vote
1answer
28 views

Returning to Origin city when Married

Do you need to end your turn in the city with your origin marker in order to satisfy the condition on the Married status? The status Married says, in part: After you have an encounter in another ...

15 30 50 per page