1
vote
1answer
134 views

Can a Guildgate be tapped for colorless?

Can Izzet Guildgate be tapped for colorless mana? For example, could I tap 7 Guildgates to cast Karn Liberated?
0
votes
1answer
172 views

Two players have a straight to the 8 [closed]

Bob had a straight to the 8 and Alice had a straight the 8, Bob had a 4 & Queen, Alice had a 8 & Jack. Who wins?
0
votes
3answers
102 views

How exactly does Extort ability work?

So a friend of mine bought a new deck today which is (heavily) based on Extort ability: Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life. ...
4
votes
1answer
825 views

Can I sacrifice a creature that I lost control of after activating its ability?

My opponent controls a Rootwater Hunter enchanted with Charisma and I control a Tar Pitcher. I tap Tar Pitcher to sacrifice it to deal 2 damage to my opponent. In response, my opponent taps ...
2
votes
2answers
64 views

Can Axis and Allies be played with two players, and does it require all countries to be picked?

I had just recently bought the game and I was wondering if we needed more than two players to control all the countries. We had already decided that I would take the UK and USA while he would take ...
2
votes
1answer
107 views

Would I level up if I “automatically defeated” a monster but someone wandered in a monster that killed me afterwards?

This question arises when we saw this in the FAQ: Q. I used an ability to automatically kill a monster. Another player used Wandering Monster to add a monster to the fight, and then played ...
1
vote
1answer
28 views

Reforming to gain extra rank in close combat

If I have a unit that is 10 models wide. And an enemy unit is attacking me in the front with only one monster size model on the very far left side of my unit, can I reform my unit to gain an extra ...
5
votes
1answer
64 views

Are spells mostly a dubious strategy in Quarriors?

Granted we only have the basic set, it seems every time we play the games don't last long enough for spells to be useful. I can see how it would be a good idea to ramp resources, provide yourself with ...
4
votes
2answers
703 views

What happens if I must attack with two creatures, but am only allowed to attack with one?

I'm a little confused about what happens when the enchantment Dueling Grounds and Juggernaut. Juggernaut must attack each turn if able. Dueling Grounds only allows one creature to attack each turn. ...
0
votes
2answers
157 views

Can Skullcrack's damage be prevented?

Rule 608.2c. starts with "The controller of the spell or ability follows its instructions in the order written.", and Skullcrack's effects read Players can't gain life this turn. Damage can't be ...
8
votes
2answers
169 views

“Counter target ability from a [quality] source” — changing [quality]?

Some cards counter abilities, but only from some sources. For example, Ouphe Vandals can only counter activated abilities of artifacts. I know that removing the source of an ability does not prevent ...
0
votes
1answer
94 views

Will an object trigger if the source is sacrificed to pay a cost?

Will "When/Whenever Foo" trigger if the source is sacrificed to pay a cost for Foo? Examples If I activate Birthing Pod's ability and sacrifice Kurkesh, Onakke Ancient, will Kurkesh trigger, ...
4
votes
2answers
289 views

Why can the activated ability of Genju of the Fields stack multiple times?

According to a ruling on Genju of the Fields, its activated ability can be activated multiple times to enhance its lifelink effects: 8/1/2005: When activated multiple times, it will have the ...
2
votes
1answer
20 views

When taking damage to an outfit, does damaging an arming space also apply a -1 to the outfit's die?

The Xia rules are just slightly vague about damage to outfits. It has two separate sections for "putting damage on an outfit" and "putting damage on a use space": Use Space: If the (damage marker) ...
1
vote
1answer
335 views

Must a “target creature” be on the battlefield?

If an ability says "target creature," does the creature have to be on the battlefield? I think I found a loophole that depends on the answer.
1
vote
1answer
45 views

Trading item cards to another player that already has 5

On a player's turn can they give an item card to another player that already has 5 cards? Would that player just have to discard a card or is it not allowed?
0
votes
1answer
18 views

In Scarborough Fair, how is the length of a path defined?

The rules say that the customer always takes the shortest number of paths to the next stage. It also says that the number of tents along the way is irrelevant. Is path defined as a segment between ...
1
vote
1answer
32 views

Do Monstrous Creatures still only have AP6 when using Scything Talons?

Scything Talons have AP6, but to me it seems odd that a creature the size of a Carnifex with talons nearly twice the size of a human would have trouble cutting its way through a Guardsman's flak vest. ...
1
vote
0answers
22 views

Different backgammon variation name

In my country and in Greece we have three variations of Backgammon. The basic one that is played all around the world and two others. I am looking for the name of on of the two different ones and if ...
1
vote
2answers
40 views

Splitting Movement and Support

In the following example from the rulebook, Tyrell attacks Blackwater using two knights from the Reach with support from a knight in King's Landing, resulting in an initial combat strength of 7. If ...
3
votes
3answers
92 views

4-4 high approach - why is the defensive approach prefered?

In the 4-4 high approach joseki, why would black ever want to play the defensive - left variant? The result of the right variant looks much better! While the left variant leaves monkey jump ...
0
votes
1answer
34 views

Does the robot's 6-cost development counters count towards Galactic Federation?

During solo-play, if the robot successfully places Galactic Federation, do each of the 6-cost counters earned by the robot also earn the additional 2 VPs from Galactic Federation? This is from the ...
1
vote
1answer
84 views

What are common strategies for beating the robot in Race For The Galaxy?

I recently got the The Gathering Storm expansion to Race For The Galaxy and I've played solo against the robot about twelve times, winning only once. I consider myself a competent player ...
1
vote
0answers
22 views

What are some options on using the blank cards in the The Gathering Storm Expansion?

I just got the Race For The Galaxy: The Gathering Storm expansion and it come with 18 blank cards. What are my options for setting up these blank cards? I'm worried I'll drastically alter the game ...
0
votes
2answers
123 views

What are the password requirements for the new Planewalker points system?

What are the requirements for the new planeswalker points login system? I attempted to log in with my DCI number today (which I don't do often) and it informed me I needed to upgrade my account. It ...
3
votes
1answer
118 views

If you help someone in combat and you lose, do you both get the 'bad stuff'

If you are facing a monster, but don't have enough fighting power to win in combat, you can persuade another player to help you. This adds their combat power to yours. What happens if the monster ...
6
votes
5answers
204 views

Why would you not move pawn two spaces during first move in chess?

My Question: It seems like you'd want to make it across the board faster to take control of the board, so... Why would you not move your pawn TWO spaces (instead of one) during your first moves in ...
2
votes
2answers
47 views

Splitting Movement and Power Tokens

When resolving a march order, you can split the movement of your troops into several adjacent territories, but only one of those territories may contain units of another house. Does moving into an ...
1
vote
0answers
21 views

Limits to cities of a given resource in Antike Duellum?

In a current game on Yucata.de (http://www.yucata.de/en/Game/CasusBelli/4606422), both my opponent and I have tried to build gold producing cities and failed. We have a total of 10 gold cities on the ...
1
vote
3answers
229 views

Does the attack or defender decide the order of damage assignment to blockers?

I read from the comprehensive rules guide that there is a damage assignment order, but I've always played the game as if there was a blocking order. Here is the relevant text: 509.2. Second, for ...
1
vote
2answers
110 views

When to discard with Oasis

When do you discard? Immediately after drawing, and before playing more actions? Or can you start/continue a chain of actions, which might include drawing more cards, and then discard after? I ...
0
votes
1answer
78 views

Do opposite counters coexist or cancel each other out? [duplicate]

Nuance abounds nowadays; whereas it was commonplace to mentally coalesce opposing counters on a permanent, I imagine doing so is incorrect. Scenario 1 Suppose one Sengir Vampire has amassed five ...
3
votes
2answers
229 views

Is putting multiple counters onto a target an atomic action?

Consider these two cards: Fathom Mage Whenever a +1/+1 counter is placed on Fathom Mage, you may draw a card. Dragonscale Boon Put two +1/+1 counters on target creature and untap it. ...
1
vote
2answers
197 views

In what zone do the lingering effects of spells reside?

Cyclopean Tomb, for example, creates an effect that continues for the rest of the game, even if it is destroyed. Is there a name for the conceptual "board" of lingering effects whose originating ...
0
votes
1answer
40 views

Does John Pain get cards drawn at the beginning of a player's turn or from Stage Coach and Wells Fargo?

The "Wild West Show" character John Pain states: If [John] has less than 6 cards in hand, each time any player "draws!", John adds the card just drawn to his hand. I've always interpreted this as ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

If both players are killed at the same time, do they both die?

I play Magic: The Gathering and I just had a really strange game with my opponent. We were both about to die (both sides with 2 life) when we both set down instants that damaged each other (at the ...
-2
votes
2answers
164 views

Can Fog Bank be killed by combat damage?

Let's say I have a 4/4 Serra Angel and my opponent has defender 0/2 Fog Bank, which has Defender, flying, prevent all combat damage that would be dealt to and dealt by Fog Bank. Since my Serra Angel ...
0
votes
1answer
49 views

End of Times Summoning Spells

My friend and I have played several games of End of Times now and I was re-reading the rules for summoning units. I am sure that you can only summon something from the undead legions list... however I ...
4
votes
2answers
203 views

Does doubling counters trigger Hardened Scales?

I have a Hardened Scales and Setessan Oathsworn with no counters on the battlefield. I cast Solidarity of Heroes on the Oathsworn, it gets three counters from it's heroic trigger which happens while ...
2
votes
2answers
196 views

Can I attack a player directly if they still have a flying defender?

Let's say I had a 4/2 Spiked Baloth (with trample, which is not relevant) and my opponent has an untapped 1/1 Bird with flying, and he has only 2 lives and I want to finish him off. Can I attack ...
2
votes
3answers
482 views

When is Ferocious checked?

When is Ferocious checked?   A. When casting begins   B. When the spell resolves   C. Both of the above   D. It depends I think the answer is D. If I ...
2
votes
1answer
87 views

Rules for bribes when “Asking For Help” in turn vs bribing outside of a turn

In the Munchkin instructions it says: You can bribe someone to help. In fact, you'll probably have to. You may offer your helper any Item(s) you are currently carrying, or any number of the ...
3
votes
2answers
205 views

Is giving away items as bribes to other players restricted to table cards?

Under "trading" in the Munchkin instructions it states that: You may trade Items (but not other cards) with other players. You may only trade Items from the table - not from your hand. but in ...
1
vote
2answers
107 views

Rules for giving away “big item” if you do not have 1000 gold pieces of items to sell

In the instructions for Munchkin it states: If something lets you have more than one Big item (for instance, the Dwarf race) and you lose the ability, you must either correct the problem ...
0
votes
0answers
23 views

Does discarding a Race or Class card at “any time” apply to both your hand and cards in play? [duplicate]

In the instructions for Munchkin it says: "You can discard a Race card at any time, even in combat" "You can discard a Class card at any time, even in combat" but it doesn't state whether this ...
5
votes
1answer
114 views

How to approach a game of Othello / Reversi game?

I know this would probably fall in the board games site since it is also a puzzling game of thought I decided to ask the question here. I have played the game Othello (Reversi) numerous times but I ...
1
vote
2answers
73 views

When discarding the card in the Love Letter, is it mandatory to show the card you had?

I need a claryfication of the rules: Let's say another player uses Baron and compares his card with mine, mine being the lower valued one. I know that I'm out of this round at that point, but what ...
0
votes
2answers
151 views

Deck card rules for MTG [duplicate]

I'm new to the game and trying to make my first deck. My understanding of the card rule is I can only have four cards of one type. Does this mean I can only have four rat cards total or four rat cards ...
1
vote
1answer
93 views

Enchantment and other continuous effects priority [duplicate]

I have read a lot of questions about the priority in the stack and the triggered abilities. However, I would like to validate my understanding of the continuous effects priority rule. 613.6. ...
0
votes
1answer
39 views

Can you “steal” if the last piece lands in the hole it came from?

In the version of Mancala that i play, if the last stone of the move lands in an empty hole, the pieces in the opposite hole are "stolen" (removed and placed in the "thief's" home hole). Must the ...

15 30 50 per page