1
vote
1answer
108 views

Could Cemetery Puca copy a Primordial Hydra?

If I kill my opponents 4/4 Primordial Hydra, will I be able to use my Cemetery Puca's activated ability on the Hydra, and have it become a 4/4 Primordial Hydra, or will my Puca die because the Hydra ...
1
vote
1answer
87 views

When do static bonuses go away relative to damage dealt?

I use Radiant Archangel in a deck full of flying creatures. It is a 3/3 flyer with +1/+1 for each other flying creature in play. During a game, I had seven other flying creatures, making it a 10/10. ...
7
votes
2answers
732 views

Does a +1/+1 counter remove a -1/-1 counter?

My opponent controls a Kulrath Knight. I control a 4/4 creature (with a -1/-1 counter on it, due to an earlier cast Black Sun's Zenith). If I use an ability to put a +1/+1 counter on my 4/4 ...
2
votes
1answer
142 views

Are expansion sets in magic designed for use with specific deck archetypes?

I'm new to Magic so apologies in advance if this is an obvious question: Are expansion sets designed to accommodate any/all deck archetypes? For example, my current play style gravitates towards red ...
4
votes
2answers
82 views

If the Warlord destroys a player's eighth district, does the game still end?

In Citadels, if the Warlord destroys a player's eighth district, assuming no other players have eight districts, does the game still end at the end of the round? If so, does that player still get ...
1
vote
1answer
94 views

When do transformed creatures go back to their original forms?

It's not clear to me from reading Double-Faced Card Rules: do transformed creatures revert back to their original type automatically? And if so, when? End of your turn or beginning of your next turn?
5
votes
5answers
747 views

Why would I want to use the activated ability of “Scalding Tarn”?

I think I'm missing something here. I thought that land cards that have two colors at the bottom mean that they can be used as land for either of the colors. Take for example Scalding Tarn: It ...
1
vote
0answers
75 views

Tactics/strategies to win the chip firing game between two-players [closed]

Given a connected, undirected graph, two players (black and red) play the following game: Note: Initially, all vertices do not contain any tokens. To begin the game, each player (black or red) ...
4
votes
2answers
470 views

Do gods keep their +1/+1 counters if they stop being creatures? [duplicate]

Do counters added to a god with Gleam of Battle disappear when the god stops being a creature? Scenario: Purphoros, God of the Forge is a creature (due to devotion reaching the required amount) and ...
0
votes
2answers
111 views

Celestial Flare Question declaring blockers

Celestial Flare is an instant that says: Target player sacrifices an attacking or blocking creature. Suppose the instant is played on on the attacking player after the defending player has ...
2
votes
1answer
50 views

How do you score 5,5,5,5 in-hand with a non-ten, non-face card turned up?

You are dealt 6 cards and find you have four 5s plus two other cards. You put those two non-scorers in the crib. You hope for a ten on the turn-up, but it's an off card that doesn't help anything. How ...
4
votes
1answer
278 views

Can a red spell (Sorcery, Instant, etc) affect a green creature?

I have a red/green deck. Can I use my red spells on my green creatures, and my green spells on my red creatures? I am fairly new to MtG so I am sorry if this appears as a sort of nooby question.
3
votes
1answer
89 views

Purpose of needing 12 swords in Camelot to trigger end of game with no Traitor

In the beginner rules, one is encouraged to play without a Traitor. Under these conditions, does it make sense to wait until the knights have 12 swords in Camelot before determining the winner? It ...
4
votes
2answers
64 views

Forbidden Island: Can the navigator move another player 4 tiles for 2 actions / 6 for 3?

The navigator's action is moving another player 2 tiles for 1 action - it does not specify once per turn. Does this mean he could move another player 3 or 4 tiles for 2 action points, or is there a ...
2
votes
1answer
126 views

How is Test of Faith resolved with multiple blockers?

As an extension of this related question, how is Test of Faith resolved in a situation where this instant is cast on one of multiple blocking creatures assigned to a single attacking creature? Let: ...
0
votes
1answer
183 views

Player with the Stinkiest Armpits [closed]

I bought a used copy of Munchkin (bundled with several expansions) to play with my family while we are on summer vacation. While reading the instructions of the game to the other players, we noticed ...
1
vote
1answer
83 views

Hex game strategy

I was teaching myself how to play a hex board game by reading some books. I learned how to do $2$ x $2$ and $3$ x $3$ hex games by starting at the principal diagonal. I wanted to know what the winning ...
5
votes
3answers
265 views

Which is authoritative: Ban List or Gatherer?

I built me a comannder deck for Athreos, God of Passage. I did some searching for ways to get card draw (because I was running out of cards) and one of the card I looked at was Yawgmoth's Bargain. ...
2
votes
1answer
128 views

How To Play Coup: The Resistance with more than one set of cards?

I recently purchased 2 sets of Coup: The Resistance So that I could play with more than 6 people. However, The included rules don't state how many of each card to use when dealing with more than 6 ...
0
votes
1answer
87 views

What are some of the different interactions with empty remote servers in Android: Netrunner?

This is a multi-part question about empty remote servers. Each of these questions came up during gameplay and I'm hoping to get clarification on them since some of the interactions aren't completely ...
1
vote
1answer
38 views

When playing Phase 10 with 2 or more players, how do we conclude the hand?

Why keep score for the points if on phase 10 there will be only one winner? I assume as soon as one person lays the phase 10 and goes out first he or she will be the winner regardless of the previous ...
1
vote
0answers
49 views

In Pandante, why is the fine for a failed challenge against a player telling the truth multiplied by the total number of players?

From the rules of Pandante, about resolving the winner of a gambit: When you’re challenged as lying about your poker hand, your two options are: a) keep your hand secret, fold, and pay each ...
2
votes
1answer
71 views

Clocking Android Netrunner

I started playing Netrunner quite recently. Love it so far. However, we're finding it slow--or rather, I think Netrunner is finding us slow. I've only played a handful of games with one friend so far, ...
3
votes
1answer
255 views

Abilities that need a name and unnamed tokens

I am fairly sure on this one, but I wanted to ask to be really sure. Say I have Secrets of Paradise and a deck with a lot of Rousing of Souls. Am I right in thinking that because the tokens made ...
3
votes
2answers
112 views

Are there any dice games you can play with a standard 7-die set? [closed]

Are there any dice games that you can play with a standard role-playing 7-die set (d4, d6, d8, d10, d%, d12, d20)? Maybe you have some time to kill before your tabletop session starts, or during a ...
1
vote
1answer
84 views

How should I start with Hero Clix?

I am interested in playing Hero Clix but I'm not sure how to start. What starter set should I get? Are individual figures expensive? How do I find a community of players?
7
votes
1answer
318 views

Drawing and going first

In what scenarios or formats can a player draw even when they are going first? For example: I usually play that if there are more than 2 teams (each team having 1 or more players) then the first team ...
4
votes
1answer
255 views

Can I activate the tap ability of a creature summoned last turn before I have to remove it to my hand?

We had this situation come in a game last night, and I wanted to make sure that we played it correctly and that I understood the rules. Player A had an Eiganjo Free-Riders in play. During this turn, ...
1
vote
1answer
53 views

When is Dúnhere considered to be attacking alone?

In The Lord of the Rings LCG, Dúnhere is a hero with a permanent effect: Dúnhere can target enemies in the staging area when he attacks alone. When doing so, he gets +1(Attack). ...
1
vote
1answer
24 views

The Nexus - when does its ability resolve?

I'm confused about the base from the Science Fiction Double Feature expansion. The Nexus (19; 3, 3, 2): The winner replaces this base with a base of his or her choice from the base discard pile, ...
2
votes
2answers
135 views

Cards entering the battlefield simultaneously and “Enter the Battlefield” effects

I was playing modern with the owner of a shop. He played a Scapeshift which he used to bring in 7 lands: 5 basic mountains and 2 Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle cards. He then claimed that each Valakut ...
5
votes
2answers
311 views

Stifling a storm card

Can I play Stifle on the storm trigger on cards like Grapeshot to prevent any copies from being made?
1
vote
1answer
128 views

Wall of Frost vs a cyphered Hidden Strings

My mate just attacked with 2 creatures. One is unblockable and has Hidden Strings as a cypher on it. The other has been blocked by Wall of Frost, which now doesn't untap next untap step. Can hidden ...
1
vote
1answer
93 views

Speeding up complicated games by limiting player interaction

Without changing "the official rules" of the game, what sorts of house rules can be imposed on player interaction to speed up game-play for games that generally encourage players to discuss options ...
2
votes
0answers
45 views

Beast combat in Scenario 19 (The Beastmaster)

In Scenario 19, the Traitor's Tome says that certain beasts get extra successes when they initiate an attack. What does "extra successes" mean? When we played, we assumed it meant add the number of ...
1
vote
2answers
68 views

Does “next” in line-of-succession mean “first remaining” in line-of-succession?

The rules for BSG state that "Should the President or Admiral be revealed as a Cylon, the next player in the line of succession for that title claims it". However, because of the Administration ...
1
vote
1answer
63 views

What card should I play when my partner has bid nil and I can't follow suit in Spades?

Setup: My partner has bid nil or blind nil. The player to my right led the trick, and I can't follow suit, but have one or more Spades in my hand. Possible situations: I know my partner has no ...
2
votes
1answer
122 views

Are There Any Good Tools For Developing CCG Or Other Card Games?

I've been brainstorming a new card game idea for a while, something that could be described as "Cards Against Humanity" meets "Munchkin" but while I mostly have the rules and everything together I ...
2
votes
1answer
57 views

When does the parasite lose its power?

We ran into this crazy situation tonight in a game of cosmic encounter. (shocking...) The parasite had the chance to force an alliance with an attacking player and then win, but he had no extra ...
1
vote
2answers
142 views

If partner opens and I have 7 in a suit, do I go to game?

Partner deals and opens 1 club. I have 8 points and 7 diamonds. Opponent has passed. Should I say 3 diamonds to show 7 card suit?
5
votes
2answers
188 views

What happens when I redirect multiple large sources of damage through the en-Kor ability to Mogg Maniac?

The situation is this: I control a Shaman en-Kor and a Nomads en-Kor and a Mogg Maniac. During my opponent's turn, I cast Inferno, dealing 6 damage to all creatures and all players. Is it possible ...
3
votes
1answer
143 views

Can Grave Betrayal give me a Mutavault?

Would Grave Betrayal give me a Mutavault? I'm guessing no, but enough rules have changed since Onslaught that I'm not going to guess.
7
votes
2answers
949 views

How do you run a short multiplayer Conspiracy draft tournament?

There is a new set in Magic the Gathering coming out, called Conspiracy. Conspiracy is a set specifically designed for drafting, and notably, multiplayer games. My question revolves around how to ...
2
votes
1answer
232 views

How does Swindler interact with Spoils (or other cards not in supply)?

The Swindler card says: Each other player trashes top card of his deck and gains a card with the same cost that you choose. We've encountered a situation when Swindler stumbled upon Spoils card, ...
1
vote
0answers
31 views

How to understand the given Preferans puzzle solution?

There is a Preferans problem: South chose crosses as the trump. How many tricks will get South? Part of the solution the author of problem proposes and that I can't understand is: Please help ...
2
votes
1answer
21 views

Relic - Activated Corruption Cards and discarding

Quick question regarding corruption cards: If you have 5 corruption cards and one of them is activated because it has an activation value of 5, what happens if your discard one or several corruption ...
2
votes
1answer
199 views

Pyxis of Pandemonium and 'enters the battlefield' abilities

My question about Pyxis of Pandemonium is: When all of the cards are finally turned face up, what determines the order in which their "when X enters the battlefield..." effects resolve?
2
votes
1answer
159 views

What kind of action is selling cargo and contraband to a solid contact?

Solid When you are Solid, Contacts will buy Cargo and Contraband from you. The prices offered appear on the Contact side of the Job Cards. What kind of action is selling cargo and ...
3
votes
1answer
45 views

Do crew receiving a better offer bring their gear with them?

A Better Offer Other players may hire Disgruntled Crew away from you when in the same Sector by paying their hiring fee to the bank. The Disgruntled crew joins their new Captain’s crew ...
3
votes
0answers
122 views

Help identify old advertising card game

Over the weekend I picked up a deck of cards that was originally intended to advertise the 'Page Woven Wire Fence'. Each card has 4 little phrases on it about the company or the product. Each card ...

15 30 50 per page