2
votes
1answer
259 views

In MTG what happens when you have multiple Aberrant Researcher in play?

Aberrant Researcher: At the beginning of your upkeep, put the top card of your library into your graveyard. If it's an instant or sorcery card, transform Aberrant Researcher. Considering I had ...
0
votes
2answers
67 views

texas holdem regarding a pair K8 vs K9 and A comes on the river

I have K8 the other player has K9 K on the board and A comes on the river, who wins the hand
5
votes
1answer
145 views

Layers: Lose abilities vs creatures have ability

My opponent had a Archetype of Finality and a Borderland Minotaur. I attacked with my Ancient Crab and casted Turn to Frog on her Borderland Minotaur once she blocked. Am I correct that both the ...
1
vote
1answer
44 views

Does the game end if all current investigators are defeated?

Page 11 of the rulebook says the game ends if all investigators are eliminated from the game. Does this mean that if all currently active investigators die, the game ends, or does it mean if the pool ...
5
votes
2answers
132 views

Where do Delayed Triggered Abilities live?

From the rules I gather that Delayed Triggered Abilities are objects on the stack, 112.1b. An ability can be an activated or triggered ability on the stack. This kind of ability is an object. (See ...
2
votes
1answer
157 views

Can I use an altered art card in tournament? [duplicate]

I have investigated a lot but I'm still not sure if I can use an altered art card in a tournament. I know that the golden rule is: The head judge will determine if the altered card is legal or not. ...
19
votes
2answers
1k views

Can infinite scry 1 be shortcut by searching through your deck?

One of my standard decks is a 4-Color Rites deck. It has a few combos where infinite "dies" triggers are used. One of them involves having a Catacomb Sifter in play with a Brood Monitor and an ...
7
votes
2answers
262 views

What actions constitute passing priority?

I played in my first PTQ (and got top 8!) a few weeks ago and received a warning for missing a trigger. The situation was as follows: It's game 3 of the last swiss round. I pass the turn with a ...
4
votes
1answer
39 views

When I acquire assets, can I receive the item into my possession one at a time?

If I can acquire multiple assets, can I acquire some into my possession and then, during the same acquire assets action, acquire the final card which then acts on those newly gained possessions, for ...
0
votes
1answer
34 views

Can I use the Shining Trapezohedron against Epic Monsters to attempt to move them?

The trapezohedron allows the investigator to discard the chosen monster on a roll of 5 or 6. Since discarding Epic Monsters is disallowed, would a 5 or 6 result in no action while a roll of 1-4 result ...
5
votes
1answer
66 views

Forester and Copse in Agricola

Looking at some links that show statistics of the most used occupations and minor improvements from winning players, I've noticed that the Forester and Copse do not rank nearly as high as I thought ...
2
votes
2answers
115 views

Do you have to give others a chance to say “Uno”? [duplicate]

I have a friend "J" who will say uno when you say uno to make you draw the the penalty. Does he have to give you a chance to say uno?
3
votes
3answers
153 views

Can Boss Monster work with 5+ players?

The Boss Monster game is specific in that it says only 2-4 players can play the game, but from reading all the rules, and the fact that there are more than 4 monsters, I don't understand why it cannot ...
4
votes
4answers
110 views

Bridge and bidding

If I have an opening strength hand and my best suit is the same major as the opening opposition's suit bid, I don't think I can cue bid in this event. How can I tell my partner that we want to play in ...
1
vote
0answers
24 views

Command cards (Star Trek Catan) for vanilla Catan? [duplicate]

I played Star Trek Catan for the first time last night and really enjoyed what the command cards (Sulu, Kirk, Spock) added to the game. I would like to purchase a deck of command cards themed to ...
4
votes
1answer
89 views

Could i run a stormcast eternals body with a head from a space wolf?

I was wondering if I could use a stormcast eternals body but use a space wolves head and run him as a terminator? I got some stormcasts from a small local tournament and I run space wolf army so I was ...
1
vote
1answer
75 views

Question about April

For example the Funded Event card Remote Treatment, which allows removal of 2 cubes from anywhere on the board,
0
votes
0answers
70 views

If Kokusho is my command and dies, does his ability still trigger? [duplicate]

Okay, so I am intending on using Kokusho, the Evening Star as my commander. When Kokusho dies, each opponent loses 5 life. In normal combat, Kokusho fights a larger creature and dies. Does the ability ...
1
vote
1answer
24 views

Mage Wars Academy - zone spells : do they attack mages?

The spell Voltaic Discharge is said in the rules to target every creatures in the play area, including your own. That being said, and including the mages as creature, it seems right that it affects ...
0
votes
0answers
27 views

Can two races form one large army? [duplicate]

I wanted two know if I could make one army with Tau and Space wolves? I don't mean like one being an ally, I was thinking more along the lines of say them both have an equal force in the army.
8
votes
3answers
628 views

Mercurial Pretender and Typhoid Rats interaction

Player A has Mercurial Pretender on the board (copied a 4/4 creature) Player B attacks with Typhoid Rats Player A blocks Typhoid Rats with Mercurial Pretender Player A then pays 4 mana to "Return ...
1
vote
1answer
39 views

Unexploded Cows placing into another player's herd

So the rules state that you can place on another player's herd and that it must be placed on either end of the herd. However it doesn't not state who decides which end it goes on. The person playing ...
4
votes
2answers
201 views

Does “creature with flying” count creatures that gained flying from an enchantment?

Clip Wings says you have to sacrifice a creature with flying. Assume the opponent has a non-flying creature (Rancid Rats for example) enchanted with Gryff's Boon (creature gains flying). Will Clip ...
1
vote
1answer
99 views

Do creatures with summoning sickness count as tapped? [duplicate]

My friend played Sheer Drop (Destroy target tapped creature) and targeted a creature of mine with summoning sickness. Is a creature with summoning sickness considered tapped?
1
vote
1answer
22 views

Do riders have to move at least the amount of their base movement?

Do riders (that aren't part of the peloton obviously) have to move at least the amount of their base movement, or can they opt not to move, or to move less than their base movement? This is an edge ...
0
votes
1answer
54 views

Does sister Mary pass with rolls of 3-6 when Blessed and 5-6 when Cursed?

The faq says Sister Mary and each other investigator on her space adds 1 to the result of each die rolled as part of an effect printed on a Condition card that has the BANE or BOON trait. This ...
1
vote
1answer
21 views

Can you play Big Two with multiple decks for more than 4 players?

We have 5-7 players, which is too much for one normal game and not enough for two. We could just deal less cards per player, but it would reduce the strategy involved. Are there any variants for using ...
2
votes
1answer
165 views

Can you attack any creature of your opponents with flying if he can't block it

Let's say you have a flying creature and your opponent has nothing with flying or reach. Could you attack any one of his creatures you choose?
0
votes
1answer
31 views

Can investigators easily avoid being stuck in the Bent Pyramid and avoid the Sanity loss from Nephre-Ka's reckoning?

This is a multi-faceted question and revolves around Nephren-Ka's reckoning which says Each investigator may move 1 space toward the Bent Pyramid. Then each investigator that did not move loses 1 ...
1
vote
1answer
76 views

How do pump spells interact with damage at end of turn? [duplicate]

My friends recently got into a heated argument over a rules interaction. One player had a 2/2 creature, and responded to the opponent's Lightning Bolt targeting it with a Mutagenic Growth. The player ...
5
votes
1answer
137 views

Getting started (Advanced) with Magic: The Gathering, and where to play

I am a recent college grad without many friends who play MTG, but I am interested in starting to play again. I am familiar with most of the rules, including things like turn phases and the stack. I ...
5
votes
3answers
180 views

Is either player at a disadvantage when cards “arent' shuffled well enough”?

Perhaps I should be asking this on one of the math sites rather than here, but I reckon cardplayers would know: when my wife and I play Skip-Bo and things aren't going her way, she claims that I "didn'...
3
votes
1answer
101 views

Shuffle destination cards in Ticket to Ride

I'm considering a house rule where discarded Destination cards are always shuffled into the deck instead of returned to the bottom. The pros and cons seem balanced to me: Pros :- We may need the ...
1
vote
1answer
43 views

What can be made a free action?

I just got my first model for X-Wing Minis (an E-Wing) and received a card in the box called "Advanced Sensors". It's a 3-point card granting "...1 free action..." "Immediately before you reveal your ...
5
votes
1answer
93 views

What are some basic strategies for Labyrinth?

My comp sci class currently is on the topic of AIs and we're tasked to write an AI for Labyrinth (the Ravensburger game) and have them play each other to see who wrote the best AI. As someone who's ...
11
votes
3answers
198 views

When casting a spell, how can a mana ability be paid with another mana ability?

A situation was presented with Skyshroud Elf and Ashnod's Altar: apparently, you could generate WW or RR by: Activate the Elf's filter ability ({1}: Add {R} or {W}) Activate the Elf's filter ability ...
3
votes
2answers
172 views

How much does Vryn Wingmare increase the cost of my Bring to Light by?

Say my opponent has a Vryn Wingmare on the battlefield. When I cast Bring to Light: Do I pay 1 extra for the Bring to Light? Do I pay 1 extra for the (noncreature) spell I find? Both? If #2 ...
4
votes
2answers
916 views

Why can't I play a card for its alternative cost after searching for it with Bring to Light?

According to the card rulings on Gatherer, I can't, say, fetch Reveillark from my deck with Bring to Light, and then cast it for its Evoke cost instead (which is what I was hoping to do). While this ...
6
votes
1answer
45 views

Can I go for both Tichu types in one round?

The rules seem to imply that people cannot call two or more tichus of the same kind. Doing this would also take the fun out of the game, as the first player to have a strong hand simply calls for ...
11
votes
2answers
251 views

Why is Royal Flush ever listed separately from Straight Flush?

Many sources (including here, here, here, and here) explicitly list Royal Flush as the highest poker hand. This seems unnecessary - it's the highest hand anyway as the highest Straight Flush. When ...
8
votes
1answer
172 views

Two Headed Giant - do I gain life when my teammate gains life?

I'm playing Two-Headed Giant. I have Ajani's Pridemate, which has "Whenever you gain life...". My teammate plays a card, that makes him gain life. As we share our life total, my life is also updated. ...
3
votes
4answers
282 views

Munchkin with 7-12 players

I am wondering on what modifications could we make to Munchkin for a better overall gameplay when adapting it to be played with 7-12 players. I am currently worried with the following issues: ...
3
votes
1answer
62 views

Psi 0, 1, or 2 games - are credits from thin air or player's pool?

Psychic Field mentions spending credits. Are both players actually spending these credits from their credit pool, or are these imaginary credits? If a runner has 0 credits, this is basically a ...
5
votes
2answers
85 views

Companions lost on death in same room as other explorers

I understand the general ruling on companions lost on death. Essentially it says "whomever enters the room first gains custody of the companion". However, this doesn't quite make sense for the ...
0
votes
1answer
75 views

Android: Netrunner judge program

Does Android: Netrunner have anything similar to Magic the Gathering's judge program?
1
vote
1answer
30 views

Twilight Imperium 2 Planetary Defence Units per planet question

So I was reading the rules for PDS units using the Deep Space Cannon technology and I want to be positive I understand it correctly. So if an enemy faction puts a control marker down and moves ships ...
1
vote
0answers
14 views

What counts as an interior square in the Witch House tile?

The rules for Cthulhu!!! Hastur La Vista Baby! cover named buildings: If the tile is any other “named building” (e.g. the “Pharmacy” or “Burial Hill”), place one cultist in each interior square (...
5
votes
2answers
130 views

Texas Holdem All-In Question

This is regarding a texas holdem no limit home game. After the flop, player 1 and player 2 are the only remaining who bet. After the turn of the river card, player 1 goes all in. Player 2 decides to ...
7
votes
2answers
79 views

Spells and Items during combat

It is quite clear that an investigator can only use one item that gives the highest bonus in combat, even if they have multiple items (i.e. Multiple weapons) However, what about spells such as ...
4
votes
1answer
126 views

Does Gleam of Authority care if a creature gains extra counters?

The rules text on Gleam of Authority is as follows: Enchant creature Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 for each +1/+1 counter on other creatures you control. Enchanted creature has vigilance ...

15 30 50 per page