3
votes
2answers
494 views

Using Copycat with one-shot abilities

In the Science Fiction Double Feature expansion, the card Copycat allows you to copy the ability of another's player minion for a turn. Choose another player's minion in play. This card has the ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

What's the technical term for the period of time between when an opponent concludes their turn and mine begins?

Apologies if this is poorly phrased. I'll try to make this as clear as possible... I recently realized that I can utilize the period of time between a players turn and my turn in Magic. What's the ...
7
votes
2answers
921 views

Proper use of Stations - and how to convince others

I played a game of Ticket to Ride Europe recently, I don't own it but am vaguely familiar with the rules. When we started playing however there was some confusion about the placement of stations and I ...
2
votes
1answer
238 views

Exalted trigger timing

My opponent is playing an exalted deck and I am playing Pyxis of Pandemonium. The exalted text reads: Whenever a creature you control attacks alone, that creature gets +1/+1 until the end of the ...
2
votes
2answers
935 views

How do I determine my monster's hit points?

I'm the traitor and I'm in control of a monster. The guide says this monster has a Speed, Might, and Sanity values of 3 each. How do I determine the monster's hit points, I.E. how much damage it can ...
0
votes
1answer
51 views

Can you ron with these hands?

Can a person ron from a person that sits across or right next to him but the last tile he takes from discard pile are sequence melds? (assume all hands are closed) Can a person call ron and the last ...
2
votes
3answers
137 views

Double after a pre-empt?

A bridge player opens with a pre-emptive bid of 3 or 4 of a suit and the opponent doubles. Is this bid assumed to be for take out?
1
vote
1answer
614 views

After being drawn into a gate during an Encounter, do you have an Other World encounter in the same turn? [duplicate]

The encounter phase is split into two, 1st the locations, then the otherworlds. So you do all the locations, then after that you do all the otherworlds. So, if you are drawn through the a gate in the ...
1
vote
1answer
408 views

Does Prophet of Kruphix apply to Planeswalker abilities that create creatures?

The Prophet of Kruphix has the ability You may cast creature cards as if they had flash. Does this apply to the Loyalty ability Put three 1/1 white soldier creature tokens onto the ...
2
votes
1answer
234 views

Does Deserter's Quarters get overriden by Horizon Boughs?

In a game of Planechase, suppose we're on Horizon Boughs, which says: All permanents untap during each player's untap step. I have Deserter's Quarters out, tapped using its second ability to ...
2
votes
1answer
333 views

Can one use a Wordly Tutor to fetch Nylea, God of the Hunt

Worldly Tutor searches your library for a creature card. So could I find Nylea, God of the Hunt with it since Nylea is an Enchantment Creature?
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Two Rooms and a Boom with few players

I've had groups of 8, 10, and even 20+ to play Two Rooms and a Boom, and it was always a fantastic time. There was enough unknown information and things were hectic enough that things kept being ...
1
vote
1answer
3k views

Do creatures summoned by a Planeswalker have summoning sickness? [duplicate]

Elspeth, Sun's Champion has a loyalty ability which says: Place three 1/1 white soldier creature tokens onto the battlefield. When this ability is activated, do these soldiers have summoning ...
2
votes
1answer
136 views

Is there a Standard card similar to Debt to the Deathless? [closed]

With M15 around the corner I need a standard card that has a similar effect as Debt to the Deathless. Does anyone know a white, black, or green standard set card that works like this?
4
votes
1answer
8k views

Can you sacrifice a creature that's in the middle of an attack?

Earlier tonight, I was playing magic. My opponent had a card out that allowed him to place a 2/2 goblin token on the board for every creature that made an attack. He also had one out that allowed him ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Does “Destroy all creatures with power 4 or greater” also affect *my* creatures?

Does "Destroy all creatures with power 4 or greater" also affect my creatures? I have a planeswalker card that has this ability; will it also kill my creatures? Also, this only affects creatures on ...
2
votes
1answer
585 views

Does Phantasmal Bear get sacrificed if its affected by spells or abilities that don't say 'target'?

Phantasmal Bear says that if it becomes the target of a spell or ability that it must be sacrificed. If I played Phantasmal Bear and later in the game played a creature that gave all of my other blue ...
6
votes
2answers
967 views

Why are Tabernacle at Pendrell Vale and Pendrell Mists worded differently?

Tabernacle says the following: All creatures have "At the beginning of your upkeep, destroy this creature unless you pay 1." Pendrell Mists says the following: All creatures have "At the ...
0
votes
3answers
3k views

Chess: Move 2 pawns one space each as first move

When I was young I remember that it was usual to move 2 pawns one space each on your first move, instead of one pawn two spaces. (ie b3 and g3 at the same time). I'm not sure if the 2 pawns had to be ...
6
votes
1answer
804 views

What is this game, played with chess board and pieces, but with totally different rules?

Multiple decades ago, I was introduced to a game as described in the title of this question. What I can remember of it is: The two rooks had different functions. They were distinguished by placing ...
0
votes
1answer
77 views

Is it possible to get 3 success markers on an unopposed story?

Played my first game of Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game the other day and I was able to get 3 success tokens out of the 5 required from my first story due to the other player not having any characters ...
2
votes
2answers
351 views

Pandemonium and Muscle Sliver

Pandemonium is an enchantment that says "Whenever a creature enters the battlefield, that creature's controller may have it deal damage equal to its power to target creature or player of his or her ...
1
vote
2answers
220 views

How can I keep track of which outbreaks I've resolved?

In a situation where outbreaks chain into other cities, how can I manage cube placement so that I know which cities I've resolved? If I just place the cubes into the city, it's easy to lose track of ...
7
votes
4answers
901 views

How does the wording “for each” work?

Some cards in magic has something happen for each {something}. For instance: Alive // Well makes you gain 2 life for each creature you control. Tapping Selvala adds one green mana to your mana pool, ...
1
vote
1answer
446 views

Can I use Plaxcaster Frogling to temporarily shut off Species Gorger's ability?

I'm currently working on a deck which is built around Species Gorger and its ability to return creatures I control to my hand. In order to make my deck work as intended, I need a way to "turn off" or ...
-2
votes
2answers
364 views

A Couple of Hearts Probabilities

Here's what I don't get. I've played a lot of Hearts for many years - thousands of games I'm sure. The number of times I've played a low heart, and the trick has gone 2H, 3H, 4H, 5H seems way out of ...
1
vote
1answer
136 views

How high do transfer bids (to 1NT) go?

In today's bridge column, opener opened 1NT with (s)A94 (h)AQ97 (d)763 (c) AQJ. Responder had s)KT (h)KJT863 (d)K52 (c)86. At two different tables, both pairs got to 4H, but in different ways. At ...
0
votes
1answer
257 views

What energy type does poison use and does it stack?

I am new to Pokemon but not TCGs in general. I have a Skrelp (Psychic Type) which has a Spit Poison ability (also Psychic Energy) that it used on Honedge which has a resistance -20 to Psychic ...
3
votes
1answer
236 views

In Pandemic: on the brink, can I remove multiple bioterrorist cubes at once for a cured strain?

In Pandemic On the brink we ran into a situation where both the black strain and bioterrorist purple strain were cured. At one point one of the players moved into a territory that had multiple black ...
1
vote
1answer
328 views

How many different right-handed Power Swords are there on the sprues of the Space Marines?

I am looking to make a group of Vanguard Veterans who wield Power Swords, but since they are not on the sprue I will have to pilfer them from other boxed sets. But since the GW website is rather ...
1
vote
1answer
2k views

Will Aegis of the Gods negate my opponent's Erebos, God of the Dead for me?

I am playing a life gain deck and I find that if an opponent plays Erebos, God of the Dead my deck is ruined because of its effect "your opponents can't gain life." If I run Aegis of the Gods, whose ...
0
votes
1answer
130 views

What's the name of the type of expansion set “packs” that MTG players can buy at release events?

I've heard that MTG vendors can have release events for expansion sets. During these events, players can spend a relatively small amount (say, $20 bucks) and get a collection of cards from that set ...
2
votes
2answers
272 views

Monopoly hotel sell to pay debt to opponent [duplicate]

I recently played Monopoly and was forced to sell hotels to pay my opponent. The problem was that the bank only had two houses left, so I was unable to sell hotels because there weren't enough houses ...
1
vote
1answer
480 views

In multiplayer, does Dictate of Erebos still take effect if the combat that kills its owner's creature defeats the owner?

I was playing a 4 way standard multiplayer match. One player had 3/3 on the field, and Dictate of Erebos which says: Whenever a creature you control dies, each opponent sacrifices a creature. I ...
0
votes
1answer
64 views

Elimination when a player loses all herds, but still has a Chupacabra

I'm looking for a rules clarification for "Chupacabra: Survive the Night" by Steve Jackson Games. The rules state: Any player who loses all his dice is out of the game, even if he hasn't attacked ...
5
votes
1answer
764 views

When is my earliest opportunity to destroy a creature I couldn't counter?

My friend has been playing a sliver commander deck and uses Root Sliver which is a thorn in the side of my control. Lets say I have an instant in my had that can destroy the Root Sliver and a counter ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Is there any complete downloadable Pokémon TCG text database?

I'm aware those guys have such a database, but I couldn't find any way to download it. Not even access it by an API. Is there any one of those available for download?
3
votes
5answers
931 views

Which has to be declared first: Marklights or Jink?

Situation: A squad of (jet)bikes has several Markerlights on them. The tau player is about to shoot at them with some Plasma or other weapon w/ low enough AP to punch their armor. Does the Tau player ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

Forests you control vs Forests in play

I was playing MTG with a friend last night when we had a slight disagreement about the wording of some cards. Sometimes cards will be marked as having a special ability "for each forest you control" ...
2
votes
1answer
365 views

Where can I find the rules for the Roc Pattern Storm Eagle?

I've seen that its rules exist, but not in which book or web supplement to find them. Where can I find them?
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Dictate of Erebos and Undercity Informer stack question

Situation: My opponent has Dictate of Erebos out ("Whenever a creature you control dies, each opponent sacrifices a creature."). He then attacks me with one of his creatures; I defend, killing his ...
6
votes
1answer
3k views

In Pandemic, when does the discard-over-7-cards rule take effect?

Scenario Pandemic's excess card rule states that if you have more than 7 cards in your hand at any time, you must discard the excess (according to your preference, of course). Let's say you're the ...
1
vote
2answers
504 views

In Android: Netrunner, is there a bias towards a particular sub-type of ICE in corp decks?

I'm looking to put together a runner deck that takes advantage of Tinkering and Paintbrush. I'm also considering cards that care about ICE or breaker sub-types, such as Kit for my identity, or ...
-5
votes
1answer
443 views

When a card asks you to flip a coin is it against the rules to use a two headed coin?

I know in a casual setting it's probably considered unsportsmanlike conduct, but let's say I was in some sort of tournament and I played a card that said I have to flip a coin. Would a judge issue me ...
4
votes
1answer
331 views

6 power favor tile Town/Culture benefit order

In the middle of a game I built a temple which let me pick a favor tile. I selected the favor tile that lets you form a town with 6 power. This favor tile also awards you 2 of the red cultures. It ...
2
votes
1answer
138 views

Engineers end of game victory point stronghold

When an Engineer builds a Stronghold they get 3 victory points for each bridge. My question is when the game ends do they get this victory point bonus for each bridge again? I'm kinda confused ...
3
votes
1answer
972 views

Do creatures come into play tapped if they come into play at the same time as a card which says “Creatures come into play tapped”?

An example situation : Living Death resolves while there is a Urabrask the Hidden in my graveyard and another creature in my opponent's graveyard. Urabrask says "Creatures your opponents control ...
3
votes
1answer
467 views

Correct use of Bonus cards in Terra Mystica

Does a player take a Bonus card as soon as they have passed their turn? Page 7 of the rule book states "Three out of the nine Bonus cards award Victory points when you have completed all the actions ...
2
votes
3answers
217 views

Is the card “Outshine Them All” from the MLP CCG useless?

In the MLP CCG there is a card from the Twilight / Applejack theme deck called "Outshine Them All": http://mlpccg.wikia.com/wiki/Outshine_Them_All_(Premiere) You have to pay one action token to use ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Challenging an Ambassador Exchange

A couple nights ago while playing Coup for the first time. During one of our games we came across the situation of someone challenging an Ambassador Exchange action. Given that both the Ambassador's ...

15 30 50 per page