12
votes
2answers
9k views

Does Doubling Season affect planeswalkers?

According to 306.5b, A planeswalker is treated as if its text box included, "This permanent enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to its printed loyalty number." ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Unleash Unleashed

Looking at preview cards for Return for Ravnica a question about Unleash popped into my mind: "It can't block as long as it has a +1/+1 counter on it." Simple question really: if you cast Rakdos ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

What would happen if I used regeneration on a creature that was the target of Annihilating Fire?

For example, what would happen if a freshly cast Lotleth Troll were to be regenerated in response to Annihilating Fire? My hypothesis is that it depends on whose turn it is. The regeneration being ...
6
votes
2answers
3k views

Does Cremate counter Flashback, Scavenge, and their ilk?

I'm looking at the card Cremate: Cremate - {B} Instant - common RTR Exile target card from a graveyard. Draw a card. Now, can I use this to respond to a flashback or scavenge? ...
7
votes
2answers
655 views

Can I play a card using flashback without it having been successfully cast first?

For instance, if I try to cast Army of the Damned and my opponent uses Cancel to stop it, can I still cast Army of the Damned from the graveyard for it's Flashback cost?
11
votes
4answers
15k views

If I lose control of an equipped creature, does the equipment stay attached to it?

If I have an equipped creature and my opponent Mind Controls it, does my equipment remain attached to it? Can I re-equip that equipment to one of my creatures on my turn? I assume since I control the ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

Do undying creatures get counters if I sacrifice them with Plaguemaw Beast?

I'm building a deck with undying creatures. Suppose I have a card named Plaguemaw Beast, which has the ability {T}, Sacrifice a creature: Proliferate. What happens If I sacrifice a creature ...
6
votes
3answers
343 views

How does Jandor's Ring work with modern Magic rules?

A 2004 Oracle ruling for Jandor Ring, above, states: If you do not have the card still in your hand, you can't pay the cost. There is currently no way to prove that it was the card you drew except ...
9
votes
2answers
435 views

Will Elesh Norn kill creatures if I don't pay the extra cost for Flash?

Suppose I use Flash to bring Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite into play, then choose to sacrifice her rather than pay her mana cost. Will my opponent's creatures with two or less toughness die?
5
votes
2answers
2k views

How can I play around targeted discard?

Many decks in competitive Magic have access to targeted discard spells, like Duress and Thoughtseize. Against counterspells, you can rely on a variety of tricks like baiting counters, bottlenecking ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Can an opponent make me discard a Miracle card before I cast it, after it is revealed?

For example, if my hand is empty and I draw and reveal Temporal Mastery, can an opponent cast Funeral Charm and make me discard it before I have a chance to cast it for its Miracle Cost?
3
votes
2answers
776 views

How does Mitotic Slime work with Devour?

Say that I have a Mitotic Slime in play and then play Thromok the Insatiable. When I sacrifice the Slime due to Thromok's Devour ability, I get two 2/2 Slime tokens. Am I able to sacrifice those Slime ...
1
vote
2answers
3k views

Resetting Soulbound

Say I have a creature with the Soulbound ability, Stonewright, which is currently bound to my Llanowar Elves. If I play a Birds of Paradise, can I switch my Stonewright to be bound to the Birds ...
6
votes
2answers
627 views

How does this interaction between Black Sun's Zenith and Geralf's Messenger resolve?

My opponent has a Geralf's Messenger in play with a single +1/+1 counter on it. He also has a Diregraf Captain in play. Due to the combined effects, the Messenger is a 5/4. When I cast a Black Sun's ...
11
votes
2answers
15k views

Does 'fight' involve combat?

The text for Ulvenwald Tracker says: {1}{G}, {T} : Target creature you control fights another target creature. (Each deals damage equal to its power to the other.) Does this have anything to do with ...
7
votes
2answers
438 views

How do Layers work?

Trying to expand my knowledge of Magic, and hopefully become a better player, I've come across several references to "layers." From what I've been able to find, they are as follows: Copy Control ...
1
vote
2answers
266 views

What's the missing white card in this New Phyrexia cycle?

There's a cycle of instants and sorceries in New Phyrexia that have an effect and adds at the end a loss of life to the targeted player or the targeted permanent's controller: Vapor Snag, Geth's ...
10
votes
3answers
1k views

Why play Land Grant?

When looking through recent results of Pauper daily events in Magic Online, I noticed that some of the Infect decks are using Land Grant. For the life of me, I can't figure out what this card is ...
16
votes
3answers
17k views

What is the converted mana cost of a spell with {X} when cast with the Miracle mechanic?

Say I topdeck Entreat the Angels and cast it for its miracle cost of XWW. But my opponent wants to counter it with a CMC-based effect, such as Spellstutter Sprite or Spell Burst. 202.3. The ...
3
votes
6answers
10k views

How to describe the strengths and weaknesses of white to a new mtg player?

When I'm teaching Magic: The Gathering to a new player, one of the things I usually give them early on is a run down of each of the different colors and its pros and cons. I usually try to come up ...
7
votes
1answer
10k views

If my creature with deathtouch and 0 power blocks one of my opponent's creatures, does my opponent's creature die?

Deathtouch means that "any creature dealt damage by another creature with deathtouch is destroyed", but what if that creature with deathtouch is 0/1? I suppose a better title would be 'does a creature ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

How does the Miracle mechanic interact with Flashback?

The new Miracle mechanic causes a replacement effect for the casting cost of the card, which must be revealed and played immediately. How does this interact with flashback? If a player plays a card ...
7
votes
2answers
760 views

Are cards that interact with sacrificing rare, and why?

For independent reasons, I was looking recently for cards that interact with Sacrificing. At the time (owing mostly to my lack of knowledge in MtG templating), I found none. Looking at the Avacyn ...
5
votes
2answers
390 views

Is Loyal Cathar's ability a “delayed triggered ability”?

Loyal Cathar - When Loyal Cathar dies, return it to the battlefield transformed under your control at the beginning of the next end step. Question reposted from user Zacula: I believe that ...
4
votes
1answer
209 views

Copying Soul Seizer

In a recent sealed queue I entered, my opponent had a Soul Seizer on the board, and a Cackling Counterpart in his hand. Soul Seizer has the following ability: When Soul Seizer deals combat damage ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Can Angel's Grace set your life total to 1 when you have Negative Life?

An opponent plays a storm combo, ending in Tendrils of Agony. In response I play Angel's Grace. After the storm of Tendrils finishes resolving, I am at -10 life, but I have not lost the game because ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

Does the flanking provided by Slivers stack?

If I was to play 2 Sidewinder Slivers would the 'All Slivers have flanking' ability stack causing creatures blocking my Slivers to get -2/-2 until the end of the turn or would it gain flanking twice ...
15
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens when I remove Mistbind Clique with its champion trigger still on the stack?

So, this recently happened to me in playtesting: It's my upkeep. My opponent casts Mistbind Clique. I don't have a relevant counter, but I do have Path to Exile. He has multiple fairies on the ...
4
votes
1answer
4k views

What happens when an Undying creature goes to the graveyard from the deck or hand?

What happens when you discard a creature(with Undying) from your hand to the graveyard? Does it go to the Battlefield (without summoning sickness)? And what happens if I use Mulch and put all ...
4
votes
4answers
5k views

MTG: Enchantments that require opponent to pay mana to attack

I had a deck many years ago that was blue/white and used a blue enchantment that made players pay 2 colorless to attack. I can't remember the name of the card, but it was around Mirage, no later than ...
6
votes
1answer
4k views

Countering cards played with flashback

Can a card cast using its flashback ability be countered by a spell such as Cancel?
5
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a creature with summoning sickness be targeted?

Can I target a creature as soon as it is played, even with summoning sickness? Example: If my card, Beguiler of Wills, reads "Gain control of target creature," or Dungeon Geist's "tap target creature ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Are cards that are both Land and Creature affected by summoning sickness?

Are cards that are both Land and Creature affected by summoning sickness with regard to: Possibility to attack Activating special abilities with the TAP symbol?
3
votes
2answers
766 views

Would Brink of Disaster destroy an already tapped permanent?

I'm aware this is very much like this question, but that question's answer does not answer my question. Brink of Disaster reads: Enchant creature or land. When enchanted permanent becomes ...
3
votes
2answers
5k views

Can the “Sacrifice (this card):” activated ability be placed back on the stack?

This is a broad question so for simplicity I will use Seal of Fire and Naturalize. Scenario 1: Common exchange- creating a baseline. Player A uses Naturalize on Seal of Fire Player B Sacrifices ...
1
vote
2answers
281 views

Can I pay two different costs with the same payment?

Say I have a Zombie token, Viscera Seer, and Altar of Dementia on the battlefield. Can I sacrifice the Zombie token to activate both the Altar's and Seer's abilities? Similarly, if I have one card in ...
8
votes
4answers
2k views

How do twitch effects work with the stack vs activated tap abilities?

I'm becoming more and more confused as I learn about how things have changed during a break in play I had some time ago. Seems the stack has changed now, and oft times abilities use a source's last ...
1
vote
1answer
3k views

How does Vorinclex's second ability work at the time of his death?

The Green New Phyrexian Praetor Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger is quite the beast, his second ability reads: If an opponent taps a land for mana, it does not untap during his next untap step. Say ...
2
votes
1answer
570 views

Regeneration specifics: activation of the ability in combat

I'm aware of this question about regeneration, which covers almost everything about it, but the focus of that question was on instants such as Shock or Doom Blade. My question is different and wasn't ...
3
votes
1answer
138 views

Brink of Disaster timing

Brink of Disaster says: Enchant creature or land. When enchanted permanent becomes tapped, destroy it. If you enchant something like Shrine of Burning Rage, and it's owner goes to tap and ...
7
votes
1answer
667 views

How does trample work against infect?

My opponent attacks me with say, a 6/6 trample generic Wyrm of some sort, and I block with a Whispering Specter, a 1/1 infect with flying. When damage is dealt the Specter will deal it in the form of ...
1
vote
1answer
499 views

What happens if you sacrifice a creature brought back with Postmortem Lunge?

Let’s say I have a creature in the graveyard. I then cast Postmortem Lunge, which reads Return target creature card with converted mana cost X from your graveyard to the battlefield. It gains ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

What mechanics exist that trigger Burning Vengeance?

Burning Vengeance is an enchantment that states: Whenever you cast a spell from your graveyard, Burning Vengeance deals 2 damage to target creature or player. I know the Flashback keyword will ...
2
votes
3answers
2k views

How do I make this zombie mill deck faster?

Although I'm not that bad at sealed deck format (I usually end up in the first 5 places) I suck at draft. This is my first attempt to build a T2 deck. I need help because I think the deck is too slow. ...
5
votes
1answer
706 views

What happens if you use a Clone Effect on a Double Faced Card that's Transformed?

Say someone has Ludevic's Test Subject, which is a 0/3 Defender, and after some mechanics, transforms into a 13/13 Lizard Horror with Trample. Say this someone managed to transform said card into its ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

Can Mirrorworks' ability be activated multiple times for the same artifact?

Mirrorworks reads like this: Whenever another nontoken artifact enters the battlefield under your control, you may pay 2 (colorless). If you do, put a token that's a copy of that artifact onto ...
7
votes
1answer
708 views

If Blightsteel Colossus loses its abilities through an effect like Lignify, can it be put into my graveyard?

If I cast Lignify on my opponent's Blightsteel Colossus and then deal 5 damage to it with one of my creatures, does it go to the graveyard since it has no abilities? Or is this ability regained once ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Can Thraben Heretic be used on creatures with undying?

Thraben Heretic says: {T}: Exile target creature card from a graveyard. Undying says: Undying (When this creature dies, if it had no +1/+1 counters on it, return it to the battlefield under ...
5
votes
2answers
994 views

Is the target for an ability part of the cost?

Can I cast a Manic Vandal if there are no artifacts in play? Manic Vandal says When Manic Vandal enters the battlefield, destroy target artifact.
4
votes
2answers
206 views

Can Ward Slivers protection be responded to?

So I was playing against someone sniping my creatures. I cast Ward Sliver and name protection from a colour. They said that because Ward Sliver says "as it comes into play" the effect is an ETB ...

15 30 50 per page