11
votes
1answer
852 views

Can a route be included in more than one destination ticket?

The rules that come with the game do not specifically state the a route (between two cities) can be included in more than one destination string, but this is assumed when we play. Is that a correct ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

How do I handle casting a spell with a cost of X when the casting cost is reduced?

If I play a spell with {X} in the mana cost, and I have a card out that reduces the casting cost by 2 generic mana, what happens to the X? Does it start at -2? For example: I have Arcane Melee in ...
11
votes
2answers
811 views

Arkham Horror: dominant personality issue?

I recently experienced the problem mentioned here, with myself being one of the enthusiasts pushing other party members around. It wasn't intentional, it's just that the structure of the game lends ...
11
votes
2answers
863 views

Are copied spells cast from the graveyard?

If you copy Increasing Confusion or any other "cast from the graveyard" spell with Increasing Vengeance, does the copy act like it was cast from the graveyard? Or, since the copy technically was not ...
10
votes
1answer
609 views

How do I identify the role of a singleton in a well-tuned deck?

In this instance, I'm looking at Matt Sperling's Pro Tour top 8 Boros Burn deck, and there's one thing I don't get--what's the single Eidolon of the Great Revel doing here? Creatures: 4 ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

In what order are replacement effects chosen with respect to damage prevention?

How are replacement effects handled in multiplayer? Here's a concrete example. Player A, B, and C are seated around the table. It is Player A's turn. Player A has a Furnace Of Rath (double all ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

In Seven-Wonders Can I buy resources that were built by my neighbors this turn?

In 7 Wonders, you do a lot of building things and purchasing resources from your neighbors. Naturally, you cannot purchase resources that aren't actually there. However, sometimes you run into a ...
10
votes
1answer
611 views

Dark Confidant and split cards

On my upkeep controlling a Dark Confidant I trigger revealing a card and losing life to it's cmc cost. What happens if I have a split card with 2 identifiable spells? Do I get to choose which one I ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Microbot Alpha: how far does it consider others Microbots?

Microbot Alpha says "All of your minions are considered Microbots." Does this mean while this card is in play, every single minion in play and in discard and in my hand are considered Microbots? ...
9
votes
4answers
5k views

Why is 20 the starting life total for Magic the Gathering? How would the game be different if this number was changed?

To my knowledge, each player starts with 20 life in nearly every MTG game ever played. But why exactly was the number 20 chosen? How would the game be different if we started with more or less life? ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens if you reach the gold with both (blue and green) doors?

If you construct a path from a ladder to an end card with a blue or green door in the path, the end card is flipped. If the card is the gold, all dwarves on that colored team (blue or green) win, as ...
8
votes
2answers
102 views

Do you still collect a noble if the day ends?

If there is one noble left in line and you play "fled to England" to discard it (thus, ending the day) do you collect a noble from the new day?
8
votes
3answers
1k views

Proper use of Stations - and how to convince others

I played a game of Ticket to Ride Europe recently, I don't own it but am vaguely familiar with the rules. When we started playing however there was some confusion about the placement of stations and I ...
8
votes
3answers
7k views

What are the standard time settings in chess

What are some of the most popular time limits for chess games? I'm looking for those used today as well as historically.
8
votes
1answer
516 views

What are the legal tournament formats for MtG?

What are the current legal tournament formats for Magic: The Gathering? What are the differences/definitions of each format? At what point do sets rotate in/out of a format?
8
votes
2answers
3k views

Can the Diplomat power be used against a player without an active race?

Tonight I gained Diplomatic Sorcerers, two of the other 3 players were in decline so had no active race. A reading of the rules implied to us that the Diplomatic power could not be used against those ...
8
votes
5answers
570 views

Inherited thousands of Magic Cards

I have inherited over 20,000 Magic cards. What is the best way to find out what they are worth for selling. Do I need to look up each card? How? Where?
8
votes
1answer
2k views

When must an Instant be played that prevents damage?

Consider the card Harm's Way or similar. The Oracle text states: The next 2 damage that a source of your choice would deal to you and/or permanents you control this turn is dealt to target ...
7
votes
3answers
8k views

When can lands be tapped?

I'm completely new to Magic the Gathering. I've read the basic rulebook pretty thoroughly and have a pretty good grasp of the basic rules, but it's unclear to me as to when you can tap lands to ...
7
votes
1answer
987 views

Can uncounterable spells still be countered somehow?

I cast Fling, sacrificing my only creature to kill my opponent. My opponent responds with Last Word, which will win the game the other way. Last Word says it "can't be countered by spells or ...
7
votes
1answer
107 views

What are the differences between various versions of Citadels

I'm shocked by the amount of rule differences between the US English version of Citadels (by Fantasy Flight) and the various European (non-English) versions. I'm looking for a complete list of the ...
7
votes
1answer
5k views

Are there any restrictions to the number of weapons a survivor can equip?

In the game, Dead of Winter, one of the players had their survivor pretty much camp out at the police station and search for weapons. He then equipped pretty much every single weapon he found to the ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens when the Runner stack is empty?

When the corporation R&D is empty the corporation loses. What happens when the Runner's stack is empty? I think that: He must finish the game with only the cards on the table. or I doubt ...
7
votes
1answer
10k views

Are gods treated as creatures before they enter the battlefield?

Gods, such as Purphoros or Mogis, are not creatures if your devotion is not high enough. Does this count when casting them? If, for example, an opponent tries to counter with Essence Scatter when the ...
7
votes
1answer
328 views

Do characters perform Upkeep actions, such as rolls for Blessed/Cursed, during a final battle?

During an Ancient One final battle, do investigators roll for Blessed/Cursed and any other Upkeep rolls? (Not sure if there are any others that matter, since Retainer is useless then). I find that the ...
6
votes
1answer
401 views

Has anyone made regular-themed version of the Star Trek Catan role cards?

I see that "Star Trek" catan has some extra role cards, which add a new element to the game (and are the only things that do). I'd like to try these, but I don't really like the "Star Trek" theme, ...
6
votes
2answers
451 views

In Bridge, what is the punishment for misclaiming tricks?

Down to the last two rounds in rubber bridge. Declarer claims remaining tricks only to discover that he has miscounted. He claims the two tricks with Q-10; however, opponent holds the J and ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I get an enters-the-battlefield effect out of a second legendary before I must sacrifice it?

If I have a legendary creature out, and I make a copy of it (such as by enchanting it with Splinter Twin or making a Clone), do I get enters-the-battlefield effects from the creature before I have to ...
6
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens when additional costs can't ultimately be paid, but the spell is on the stack?

I have a question that bothers me after reading a part of the big book of rules :). It's about the rule 717, illegal actions. 717.1. If a player realizes that he or she can’t legally take an ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

In multiplayer, what happens if a player you're attacking dies before combat damage is dealt?

I can't work this one out. For example: I declare a creature attacking one of my opponents (who's on 5 life). Before he/she declares blockers another player casts Beacon of Destruction (or similar), ...
6
votes
2answers
3k views

Does Cremate counter Flashback, Scavenge, and their ilk?

I'm looking at the card Cremate: Cremate - {B} Instant - common RTR Exile target card from a graveyard. Draw a card. Now, can I use this to respond to a flashback or scavenge? ...
6
votes
1answer
323 views

Does an increase in monster Toughness also mean an increase in monster trophy value?

There are several things that change a monster's Toughness. For instance: Azathoth gives +1 Toughness to all Maniacs for the duration of the game Heat Wave gives +1 Toughness to all Fire Vampires ...
6
votes
1answer
3k views

Can non basic lands be tapped for colorless mana?

For example, Evolving Wilds has a mana fixing ability, but it doesn't say you can tap it for mana. Other non-basic lands have a mana ability listed on the card. Should I assume that Evolving Winds ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Do the Elf creatures put into the battlefield by Planeswalker Nissa Revane suffer from summoning sickness? [duplicate]

The 3rd ability of Nissa Revane Planeswalker is -7: Search your library for any number of Elf creature cards and put them onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library. So the question is do the ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

How can I play around targeted discard?

Many decks in competitive Magic have access to targeted discard spells, like Duress and Thoughtseize. Against counterspells, you can rely on a variety of tricks like baiting counters, bottlenecking ...
6
votes
1answer
887 views

If a creature loses flying after blockers are declared, is the block still legal?

My opponent declared attack with a flying creature, after that I declared a blocker with my own flying creature. He then cast Turn to Frog, targeting my blocker. My creature was a 6/6 flying, my ...
5
votes
2answers
19k views

In Sorry, can I be forced to move out of my “safe zone”?

For example, if I draw a 4 (move 4 spaces backward) and the only piece that could make the move is in my "safe zone", do I have to make the move?
5
votes
3answers
939 views

Is there any way to stop someone from sacrificing a Golden Urn?

My friend had a Golden Urn on the board with 10 counters on it. If I destroy it and he sacs it in response to gain the life, is there anything that can be done about that? Like, can I put another ...
5
votes
1answer
600 views

What happens if a target for removal becomes ineligible after a card has been cast?

When you have a card like Complete Disregard which reads "Exile Target Creature with power 3 or less", as I understand it, it becomes untargetable if the opponent's creature power increases thanks to ...
5
votes
1answer
278 views

Is Argothian Elder a Druid?

Argothian Elder is listed on a lot of websites with the Druid creature type, but the card only lists "Elf". Is Argothian Elder a Druid too?
5
votes
2answers
3k views

Do deathtouch and deathtouch-like effects stop trample damage?

My friend has a trample deck, and I have a Stinkweed Imp that says "Whenever Stinkweed Imp deals combat damage to a creature, destroy that creature." Can a creature destroyed this way still deal ...
5
votes
2answers
739 views

If an effect would prevent a spell from doing damage, does it continue to prevent that damage after the spell changes zones?

Anthony casts Searing Blood, targeting Nathan's Elvish Mystic. Nathan casts and resolves Dromoka's Command, choosing to 1) prevent all damage that would be dealt by Searing Blood this turn and 2) put ...
5
votes
2answers
8k views

What is “Go” in cribbage?

I've played a fair bit of cribbage, but I've never heard of scoring one point for "Go" (as mentioned in this other question: Cribbage score going out). What is it, and what impact does it have on the ...
5
votes
3answers
662 views

In bridge, are there some 13 point hands that should not be opened?

Suppose you have: (s) Jx (h)KQxx (d) KJxx (c) Kxx. That's 13 points, by the usual count. But I can think of at least two things wrong with it. First, there are no aces, meaning that the hand has ...
5
votes
2answers
3k views

In Axis and Allies, Should the U.S. Build a “Factory” in Brazil?

In Axis and Allies (original version), the basically maritime powers, the US and UK have a problem coming to grips with the land-based Axis. One solution is for them to buy industrial complexes in ...
5
votes
1answer
369 views

What are the characteristics of a flip card in my library?

Are the characteristics of a flip card in my library determined by both faces or just the front face? For example, can I use an Enlightened Tutor to fetch Sasaya, Orochi Ascendant? Enlightened Tutor ...
5
votes
1answer
3k views

How long does mana from Burning-Tree Emissary stay around?

Does mana added to your pool from Burning-Tree Emissary get destroyed when the card that added it is destroyed?
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Is your commander still a “commander” if it gets turned face down? [duplicate]

Does your commander still count as being your commander if it is turned face down? For example, I have my commander on the battlefield and my opponent plays Ixidron. Ixidron then turns my commander ...
5
votes
3answers
3k views

Debt condition abuse?

The rules states that you cannot have two of the same conditions. You can take a debt condition to gain two additional successes on your influence test to gain assets from the reserve. Thus if you ...
4
votes
2answers
4k views

Can an Aura which was not cast be attached to a permanent with shroud?

If an Aura is placed on the battlefield using Genesis Wave or an ability like Sun Titan's, can it enchant a creature that has shroud (or an opponent-controlled creature with hexproof)? I'm looking at ...

15 30 50 per page