6
votes
1answer
473 views

If a creature loses flying after blockers are declared, is the block still legal?

My opponent declared attack with a flying creature, after that I declared a blocker with my own flying creature. He then cast Turn to Frog, targeting my blocker. My creature was a 6/6 flying, my ...
6
votes
1answer
213 views

Does an increase in monster Toughness also mean an increase in monster trophy value?

There are several things that change a monster's Toughness. For instance: Azathoth gives +1 Toughness to all Maniacs for the duration of the game Heat Wave gives +1 Toughness to all Fire Vampires ...
6
votes
2answers
544 views

Proper use of Stations - and how to convince others

I played a game of Ticket to Ride Europe recently, I don't own it but am vaguely familiar with the rules. When we started playing however there was some confusion about the placement of stations and I ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

What are my cards good for once they have rotated out of Standard?

So I'm a little upset, but I am realizing this is just part of MtG. I spent some time last year putting together some nice decks and stocking up on quite a bit of the M13 cards. And then work / life ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Can non basic lands be tapped for colorless mana?

For example, Evolving Wilds has a mana fixing ability, but it doesn't say you can tap it for mana. Other non-basic lands have a mana ability listed on the card. Should I assume that Evolving Winds ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens when the Runner stack is empty?

When the corporation R&D is empty the corporation loses. What happens when the Runner's stack is empty? I think that: He must finish the game with only the cards on the table. or I doubt ...
6
votes
4answers
3k views

When is a creature's toughness calculated

At what point is a creature's toughness calculated? If I have Korozda Guildmage where I can sacrifice a creature and put X 1/1 token creatures onto the battlefield, where X is the sacrificed ...
6
votes
2answers
3k views

Does Cremate counter Flashback, Scavenge, and their ilk?

I'm looking at the card Cremate: Cremate - {B} Instant - common RTR Exile target card from a graveyard. Draw a card. Now, can I use this to respond to a flashback or scavenge? ...
6
votes
2answers
353 views

In Bridge, what is the punishment for misclaiming tricks?

Down to the last two rounds in rubber bridge. Declarer claims remaining tricks only to discover that he has miscounted. He claims the two tricks with Q-10; however, opponent holds the J and ...
6
votes
1answer
926 views

In multiplayer, what happens if a player you're attacking dies before combat damage is dealt?

I can't work this one out. For example: I declare a creature attacking one of my opponents (who's on 5 life). Before he/she declares blockers another player casts Beacon of Destruction (or similar), ...
6
votes
3answers
14k views

Can a Space Marine army consist of units from different chapters?

I'm a newcomer to the Warhammer 40K tabletop miniature game and I'm researching different armies, but I wasn't sure if different Space Marine chapters were compatible. For example, could I play an ...
5
votes
2answers
518 views

If an effect would prevent a spell from doing damage, does it continue to prevent that damage after the spell changes zones?

Anthony casts Searing Blood, targeting Nathan's Elvish Mystic. Nathan casts and resolves Dromoka's Command, choosing to 1) prevent all damage that would be dealt by Searing Blood this turn and 2) put ...
5
votes
1answer
604 views

Is your commander still a “commander” if it gets turned face down? [duplicate]

Does your commander still count as being your commander if it is turned face down? For example, I have my commander on the battlefield and my opponent plays Ixidron. Ixidron then turns my commander ...
5
votes
1answer
353 views

What are the characteristics of a flip card in my library?

Are the characteristics of a flip card in my library determined by both faces or just the front face? For example, can I use an Enlightened Tutor to fetch Sasaya, Orochi Ascendant? Enlightened Tutor ...
5
votes
1answer
3k views

How long does mana from Burning-Tree Emissary stay around?

Does mana added to your pool from Burning-Tree Emissary get destroyed when the card that added it is destroyed?
5
votes
3answers
507 views

In bridge, are there some 13 point hands that should not be opened?

Suppose you have: (s) Jx (h)KQxx (d) KJxx (c) Kxx. That's 13 points, by the usual count. But I can think of at least two things wrong with it. First, there are no aces, meaning that the hand has ...
5
votes
2answers
12k views

In Sorry, can I be forced to move out of my “safe zone”?

For example, if I draw a 4 (move 4 spaces backward) and the only piece that could make the move is in my "safe zone", do I have to make the move?
5
votes
2answers
6k views

What is “Go” in cribbage?

I've played a fair bit of cribbage, but I've never heard of scoring one point for "Go" (as mentioned in this other question: Cribbage score going out). What is it, and what impact does it have on the ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

In Axis and Allies, Should the U.S. Build a “Factory” in Brazil?

In Axis and Allies (original version), the basically maritime powers, the US and UK have a problem coming to grips with the land-based Axis. One solution is for them to buy industrial complexes in ...
4
votes
1answer
589 views

Pyxis of Pandemonium and 'enters the battlefield' abilities [duplicate]

My question about Pyxis of Pandemonium is: When all of the cards are finally turned face up, what determines the order in which their "when X enters the battlefield..." effects resolve?
4
votes
1answer
423 views

What happens when a creature enchanted with Soul Link would deal lethal damage to a player?

Player A has 3 life left. Player B attacks with a Dauthi Marauder that has been enchanted by Player A's Soul Link. Does player B win, or does nothing happen? On the one hand, "whenever" makes it ...
4
votes
1answer
475 views

Drawn through gate during an Arkham encounter

Two investigators were in the same location in Arkham. The first investigator drew an encounter 'A monster and gate appear!'. He resolved that encounter by fighting the monster and then getting drawn ...
3
votes
1answer
81 views

Navigator Role ability

If I am a Navigator and I decide to move my partner can I also assume an action through them also? For example if I move a partner 2 spaces beside a flooded tile can I shore up the piece for an action ...
3
votes
3answers
804 views

Can older cards that refer to a player/opponent ever be used on planeswalkers?

Many older cards refer to players or opponents, e.g. "deal 3 damage to target player". Can any of these be used on planeswalkers, beyond the fact that you can simply attack them with creatures? For ...
3
votes
2answers
622 views

What does X mean in a spell's cost?

What does the X in a spell's cost do? For example, Strength of the Tajuru has X in its cost. What do I need to do in order to cast that spell, and what happens with the X when it resolves? Note: If ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens to cards cast from exile?

There are a few cards that allow you to exile cards and then cast them later (Narset, Enlightened Master for example). After a spell cast this way resolves, does it go back into exile, or does it ...
3
votes
1answer
396 views

Returning permanents from my graveyard

If i have a sorcery or instant or creature ability that allows me to return target permanent to its owners hand, can I use that ability or spell to return permanents from my graveyard
3
votes
2answers
187 views

Which player wins in this scenario?

player A : 4,4 player B : A,10 board : K,K,Q,Q,2 Which player wins? I guess Player B but player A claims he has a pair of 4 which is a bigger kicker. who is correct?
3
votes
3answers
2k views

How does priority work in these cases?

I understand the ruling that when a Planeswalker resolves the player controlling the walker can activate its ability without their opponent getting priority in between. Are there any other rules ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a creature's sacrifice benefit be taken when it is sacrificed to Eldrazi Monument?

I asked a general question about double sacrifice bonus, but thought it better to ask a specific question. If a creature has a "Sacrifice this creature for X" ability, can you sacrifice it for that ...
3
votes
3answers
804 views

In Axis and Allies, Can Heavy Bombers Be “Tamed”?

Most players of Axis and Allies understand intuitively that the original heavy bombers tech "unbalances" the game by being disproportionately good. My own research confirms this by valuing the two ...
3
votes
4answers
2k views

Can We Find a Middle Ground on the Russia First Turn Attack Rule In Allies and Axis?

Some (mainly Axis) players refuse to play Axis and Allies if Russia is allowed to attack on the first turn. Other (mainly Russian) players argue that Russia is unfairly hobbled if it has to play ...
2
votes
3answers
618 views

Who draws a card if my opponent has stolen control of Pelakka Wurm when it dies?

If an opponent casts Act of Treason to gain control of Pelakka Wurm then sacrifices it who will draw the card?
2
votes
1answer
450 views

Does a heroic trigger still resolve if the heroic creature is gone?

Having read When does Heroic trigger? I think the answer is yes, but I'd just like to double check: I have Akroan Crusader and I cast Nyxborn Rollicker for its bestow cost so my stack looks like ...
2
votes
1answer
3k views

Do cards with abilities that target trigger heroic?

Would something like Satyr Grovedancer or something that has "When ~ enters the battlefield, put a +1/+1 counter on target creature" trigger Heroic? It has the keyword target, but does it count as an ...
2
votes
1answer
232 views

When do static bonuses go away relative to damage dealt?

I use Radiant Archangel in a deck full of flying creatures. It is a 3/3 flyer with +1/+1 for each other flying creature in play. During a game, I had seven other flying creatures, making it a 10/10. ...
2
votes
4answers
1k views

Are Basic Lands (Mana) Block/Set Agnostic? [duplicate]

What is the point in Wizard creating RtR Forests and M13 Forests, for example? It seems like it would be a lot more efficient and cost effective to everyone involved if these basic land types were ...
2
votes
1answer
883 views

How does metalcraft work in Two-Headed-Giant?

I'm playing Two-Headed-Giant and have a creature with metalcraft. I control 1 artifact and my teammate controls 2. Does my creature's metalcraft ability 'trigger'? I know metalcraft says "if you ...
2
votes
2answers
473 views

Are there “established” systems where “Five Card Majors” isn't a strict rule?

In "Standard American," I must open a major with 65432 while refraining from opening a major with AKQJ. IMHO, there are five card majors that are too weak to be opened and there four card majors that ...
1
vote
2answers
274 views

What pauper cards are legal in MTGO but not paper?

I am trying to collect most cards relevant to pauper. All cards that have ever been printed at the common level on paper are legal for pauper, except for 8 cards on the pauper the ban list. Because ...
1
vote
1answer
208 views

Par-zero deal with many points for N/S [closed]

This question is about the card game bridge : How many points can N/S have in a par-zero deal ? (Only consider the high card points) In a par-zero deal, no player can make any contract assuming ...
1
vote
1answer
336 views

When a permanent has a “When a creature dies” ability, and gets destroyed at the same time as creatures, does that ability trigger? [duplicate]

Say I control Fecundity, which states: Whenever a creature dies, that creature's controller may draw a card. If I control 2 creatures and my opponent controls one creature, and I cast Planar ...
1
vote
2answers
2k views

When a spell targeting a creature with heroic gets countered, does heroic still trigger?

Tethmos High Priest has the heroic ability: Whenever you cast a spell that targets Tethmos, return target creature card with converted mana cost 2 or less from graveyard to battlefield. Suppose ...
1
vote
1answer
258 views

What happens when more than one creature dies causing a trigger

Overseer of the Damned is a creature with the ability "Whenever a nontoken creature an opponent controls dies, put a 2/2 black Zombie creature token onto the battlefield tapped" Now, lets say 3 of my ...
1
vote
3answers
609 views

What happens if 2 separate abilities require you to sacrifice a creature?

If i have two cards that force opponents to sacrifice every upkeep like for example Mogis God of Slaughter "At the beginning of each opponent’s upkeep, Mogis deals 2 damage to that player unless he or ...
1
vote
1answer
138 views

Are there specific names for the signature images in the Ravnica guilds?

Each 2 colour combination has its own name and it's own picture used on cards that have both colours involved (generally in the background of the card text). Do the pictures themselves have a name ...
1
vote
2answers
4k views

When does Heroic trigger?

Suppose Player 1 controls a Favored Hoplite and casts Ordeal of Heliod targeting it. In response, player 2 casts Magma Jet on the Favored Hoplite. Does the Heroic trigger from Ordeal of Heliod happen ...
0
votes
1answer
76 views

Cribbage scoring for a run of 4 out of sequence

The play was the following set of cards: 4, 3, 6, 4, 5. Should the score be for 4 points for the 3,6, 4, 5 or only 6, 4, 5?
0
votes
3answers
497 views

Is an Enchantment Creature also an Enchanted Creature?

Is an Enchantment Creature also an Enchanted Creature? For example, Spiteful Returned states Whenever Spiteful Returned or enchanted creature attacks, defending player loses 2 life. If I have ...
0
votes
1answer
156 views

Will an object trigger if the source is sacrificed to pay a cost?

Will "When/Whenever Foo" trigger if the source is sacrificed to pay a cost for Foo? Examples If I activate Birthing Pod's ability and sacrifice Kurkesh, Onakke Ancient, will Kurkesh trigger, ...

15 30 50 per page