11
votes
1answer
1k views

How do I handle casting a spell with a cost of X when the casting cost is reduced?

If I play a spell with {X} in the mana cost, and I have a card out that reduces the casting cost by 2 generic mana, what happens to the X? Does it start at -2? For example: I have Arcane Melee in ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

Can Trait Doctoring be used to change words like “nonblack”?

Trait Doctoring reads: Change the text of target permanent by replacing all instances of one color word with another or one basic land type with another until end of turn. Doom Blade, for ...
11
votes
2answers
802 views

Are copied spells cast from the graveyard?

If you copy Increasing Confusion or any other "cast from the graveyard" spell with Increasing Vengeance, does the copy act like it was cast from the graveyard? Or, since the copy technically was not ...
11
votes
1answer
759 views

Can a route be included in more than one destination ticket?

The rules that come with the game do not specifically state the a route (between two cities) can be included in more than one destination string, but this is assumed when we play. Is that a correct ...
11
votes
2answers
787 views

Arkham Horror: dominant personality issue?

I recently experienced the problem mentioned here, with myself being one of the enthusiasts pushing other party members around. It wasn't intentional, it's just that the structure of the game lends ...
10
votes
1answer
578 views

Dark Confidant and split cards

On my upkeep controlling a Dark Confidant I trigger revealing a card and losing life to it's cmc cost. What happens if I have a split card with 2 identifiable spells? Do I get to choose which one I ...
10
votes
2answers
407 views

How do ranks work in Go?

One of the most commonly asked questions of beginners. How do ranks work in Go? Why do we start backwards? And why do we suddenly count upwards again? What is the difference between 9d and 9p? How is ...
9
votes
1answer
621 views

Microbot Alpha: how far does it consider others Microbots?

Microbot Alpha says "All of your minions are considered Microbots." Does this mean while this card is in play, every single minion in play and in discard and in my hand are considered Microbots? ...
9
votes
1answer
582 views

How do I identify the role of a singleton in a well-tuned deck?

In this instance, I'm looking at Matt Sperling's Pro Tour top 8 Boros Burn deck, and there's one thing I don't get--what's the single Eidolon of the Great Revel doing here? Creatures: 4 ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens if you reach the gold with both (blue and green) doors?

If you construct a path from a ladder to an end card with a blue or green door in the path, the end card is flipped. If the card is the gold, all dwarves on that colored team (blue or green) win, as ...
8
votes
2answers
346 views

Identical creatures entering the battlefield

If I have two cards called Sin Collector in hand and I play my first, Sin Collector (A). I use its triggered ability. "When Sin Collector enters the battlefield, target opponent reveals his or her ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Can the Diplomat power be used against a player without an active race?

Tonight I gained Diplomatic Sorcerers, two of the other 3 players were in decline so had no active race. A reading of the rules implied to us that the Diplomatic power could not be used against those ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Do I need to sacrifice again if I copy Goblin Grenade?

Let's say that I cast Goblin Grenade, sacrificing a goblin to pay it's additional cost. Then, before it resolves I cast Increasing Vengeance, which allows me to copy the Goblin Grenade. Since I've ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

When must an Instant be played that prevents damage?

Consider the card Harm's Way or similar. The Oracle text states: The next 2 damage that a source of your choice would deal to you and/or permanents you control this turn is dealt to target ...
8
votes
2answers
90 views

Do you still collect a noble if the day ends?

If there is one noble left in line and you play "fled to England" to discard it (thus, ending the day) do you collect a noble from the new day?
7
votes
1answer
89 views

What are the differences between various versions of Citadels

I'm shocked by the amount of rule differences between the US English version of Citadels (by Fantasy Flight) and the various European (non-English) versions. I'm looking for a complete list of the ...
7
votes
1answer
261 views

Do characters perform Upkeep actions, such as rolls for Blessed/Cursed, during a final battle?

During an Ancient One final battle, do investigators roll for Blessed/Cursed and any other Upkeep rolls? (Not sure if there are any others that matter, since Retainer is useless then). I find that the ...
7
votes
1answer
3k views

Are there any restrictions to the number of weapons a survivor can equip?

In the game, Dead of Winter, one of the players had their survivor pretty much camp out at the police station and search for weapons. He then equipped pretty much every single weapon he found to the ...
7
votes
2answers
920 views

Proper use of Stations - and how to convince others

I played a game of Ticket to Ride Europe recently, I don't own it but am vaguely familiar with the rules. When we started playing however there was some confusion about the placement of stations and I ...
7
votes
3answers
6k views

When can lands be tapped?

I'm completely new to Magic the Gathering. I've read the basic rulebook pretty thoroughly and have a pretty good grasp of the basic rules, but it's unclear to me as to when you can tap lands to ...
7
votes
1answer
9k views

Are gods treated as creatures before they enter the battlefield?

Gods, such as Purphoros or Mogis, are not creatures if your devotion is not high enough. Does this count when casting them? If, for example, an opponent tries to counter with Essence Scatter when the ...
7
votes
2answers
12k views

Does untapping an attacker stop its attack?

If someone declares an attacker and that creature does not have vigilance, if I untap that creature, for example with Burst of Energy, does it stop the creature from attacking?
7
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens when the Runner stack is empty?

When the corporation R&D is empty the corporation loses. What happens when the Runner's stack is empty? I think that: He must finish the game with only the cards on the table. or I doubt ...
6
votes
1answer
879 views

Can I get an enters-the-battlefield effect out of a second legendary before I must sacrifice it?

If I have a legendary creature out, and I make a copy of it (such as by enchanting it with Splinter Twin or making a Clone), do I get enters-the-battlefield effects from the creature before I have to ...
6
votes
1answer
885 views

Can uncounterable spells still be countered somehow?

I cast Fling, sacrificing my only creature to kill my opponent. My opponent responds with Last Word, which will win the game the other way. Last Word says it "can't be countered by spells or ...
6
votes
1answer
692 views

If a creature loses flying after blockers are declared, is the block still legal?

My opponent declared attack with a flying creature, after that I declared a blocker with my own flying creature. He then cast Turn to Frog, targeting my blocker. My creature was a 6/6 flying, my ...
6
votes
1answer
284 views

Does an increase in monster Toughness also mean an increase in monster trophy value?

There are several things that change a monster's Toughness. For instance: Azathoth gives +1 Toughness to all Maniacs for the duration of the game Heat Wave gives +1 Toughness to all Fire Vampires ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

What are my cards good for once they have rotated out of Standard?

So I'm a little upset, but I am realizing this is just part of MtG. I spent some time last year putting together some nice decks and stocking up on quite a bit of the M13 cards. And then work / life ...
6
votes
1answer
3k views

Can non basic lands be tapped for colorless mana?

For example, Evolving Wilds has a mana fixing ability, but it doesn't say you can tap it for mana. Other non-basic lands have a mana ability listed on the card. Should I assume that Evolving Winds ...
6
votes
4answers
4k views

When is a creature's toughness calculated

At what point is a creature's toughness calculated? If I have Korozda Guildmage where I can sacrifice a creature and put X 1/1 token creatures onto the battlefield, where X is the sacrificed ...
6
votes
2answers
3k views

Does Cremate counter Flashback, Scavenge, and their ilk?

I'm looking at the card Cremate: Cremate - {B} Instant - common RTR Exile target card from a graveyard. Draw a card. Now, can I use this to respond to a flashback or scavenge? ...
6
votes
2answers
391 views

In Bridge, what is the punishment for misclaiming tricks?

Down to the last two rounds in rubber bridge. Declarer claims remaining tricks only to discover that he has miscounted. He claims the two tricks with Q-10; however, opponent holds the J and ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

In multiplayer, what happens if a player you're attacking dies before combat damage is dealt?

I can't work this one out. For example: I declare a creature attacking one of my opponents (who's on 5 life). Before he/she declares blockers another player casts Beacon of Destruction (or similar), ...
6
votes
3answers
16k views

Can a Space Marine army consist of units from different chapters?

I'm a newcomer to the Warhammer 40K tabletop miniature game and I'm researching different armies, but I wasn't sure if different Space Marine chapters were compatible. For example, could I play an ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Do the Elf creatures put into the battlefield by Planeswalker Nissa Revane suffer from summoning sickness? [duplicate]

The 3rd ability of Nissa Revane Planeswalker is -7: Search your library for any number of Elf creature cards and put them onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library. So the question is do the ...
5
votes
2answers
671 views

If an effect would prevent a spell from doing damage, does it continue to prevent that damage after the spell changes zones?

Anthony casts Searing Blood, targeting Nathan's Elvish Mystic. Nathan casts and resolves Dromoka's Command, choosing to 1) prevent all damage that would be dealt by Searing Blood this turn and 2) put ...
5
votes
1answer
135 views

Snakeform and buff ineractions

This came up in a game. I controlled Prossh who has an ability that gives him +1/+0 whenever I sacrifice a creature. After I sacrified 6 creatures to Prossh's ability (+6/+0), my opponent cast ...
5
votes
1answer
839 views

Is your commander still a “commander” if it gets turned face down? [duplicate]

Does your commander still count as being your commander if it is turned face down? For example, I have my commander on the battlefield and my opponent plays Ixidron. Ixidron then turns my commander ...
5
votes
1answer
362 views

What are the characteristics of a flip card in my library?

Are the characteristics of a flip card in my library determined by both faces or just the front face? For example, can I use an Enlightened Tutor to fetch Sasaya, Orochi Ascendant? Enlightened Tutor ...
5
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens when additional costs can't ultimately be paid, but the spell is on the stack?

I have a question that bothers me after reading a part of the big book of rules :). It's about the rule 717, illegal actions. 717.1. If a player realizes that he or she can’t legally take an ...
5
votes
1answer
3k views

How long does mana from Burning-Tree Emissary stay around?

Does mana added to your pool from Burning-Tree Emissary get destroyed when the card that added it is destroyed?
5
votes
3answers
589 views

In bridge, are there some 13 point hands that should not be opened?

Suppose you have: (s) Jx (h)KQxx (d) KJxx (c) Kxx. That's 13 points, by the usual count. But I can think of at least two things wrong with it. First, there are no aces, meaning that the hand has ...
5
votes
2answers
16k views

In Sorry, can I be forced to move out of my “safe zone”?

For example, if I draw a 4 (move 4 spaces backward) and the only piece that could make the move is in my "safe zone", do I have to make the move?
5
votes
2answers
7k views

What is “Go” in cribbage?

I've played a fair bit of cribbage, but I've never heard of scoring one point for "Go" (as mentioned in this other question: Cribbage score going out). What is it, and what impact does it have on the ...
5
votes
2answers
3k views

In Axis and Allies, Should the U.S. Build a “Factory” in Brazil?

In Axis and Allies (original version), the basically maritime powers, the US and UK have a problem coming to grips with the land-based Axis. One solution is for them to buy industrial complexes in ...
4
votes
2answers
134 views

can keepers kill creepers in same turn over and over again?

In Monty Python Fluxx, there are keepers that kill creepers. Can they be played and also kill in the same turn, or is it 1 turn to play them and 2nd turn to kill? Also, can they be used over and ...
4
votes
1answer
151 views

Navigator Role ability

If I am a Navigator and I decide to move my partner can I also assume an action through them also? For example if I move a partner 2 spaces beside a flooded tile can I shore up the piece for an action ...
4
votes
3answers
3k views

Are (un)tapped permanents still legal targets for “(un)tap target permanent” effects?

So I noticed that many cards with tap-effects ship with a clause specifying that they can only be used on untapped permanents, such as Earthcraft and Crackleburr. So here's my question: Doesn't ...
4
votes
1answer
698 views

Pyxis of Pandemonium and 'enters the battlefield' abilities [duplicate]

My question about Pyxis of Pandemonium is: When all of the cards are finally turned face up, what determines the order in which their "when X enters the battlefield..." effects resolve?
4
votes
1answer
523 views

What happens when a creature enchanted with Soul Link would deal lethal damage to a player?

Player A has 3 life left. Player B attacks with a Dauthi Marauder that has been enchanted by Player A's Soul Link. Does player B win, or does nothing happen? On the one hand, "whenever" makes it ...

15 30 50 per page