0
votes
2answers
67 views

4-4 high approach joseki question

I have a question about 4-4 high approach joseki. Everything is clear until move 4. I don't know how to respond if black plays C15 instead of the expected C17 (stone number 5). It leads to the ...
0
votes
1answer
26 views

Was a larger version of Chitin I: The Harvest Wars ever released?

I owned Metagaming's Chitin I: The Harvest Wars (MicroGame 2) when I was a kid. I have a possibly flawed recollection that a larger bookshelf game using the Hymenoptera universe was released or ...
0
votes
2answers
92 views

Predator's Rapport and counters [duplicate]

Suppose Predator's Rapport's target has counters (for example, a few +1/+1 counters). Do the counters count when calculating the gained life? I thought power and toughness do not change after adding ...
0
votes
3answers
257 views

How much mana does Radiant Fountain provide when tapped? [duplicate]

Radiant Fountain reads "{T}: Add {1} to your mana pool." Does this card alone produce a total of {1} or {2}? Basic Land cards produce mana when tapped. So, either All land cards produce mana when ...
3
votes
2answers
270 views

When is the game state checked for “Whenever you cast […]” triggers?

When you cast a creature for its bestow cost: When you begin casting, it is a Creature spell We know this because Steel Golem prevents Bestow creatures from being cast When you pay the alternative ...
0
votes
1answer
39 views

Can characters be summoned into a unit?

With the arrival of new summoning spells in the End of Times expansion there is a new spell which allows the wizard to summon a character (worth up to 65 points). Can this spell be used to summon a ...
1
vote
1answer
41 views

Rune of spellbreaking on multiple runelords

If I have rune of spellbreaking on multiple rune smiths can I use it once on each of them? It says one use only, does that mean one use only on that character or for the entire army?
5
votes
2answers
108 views

How to apply the ko rule (Go)

I'm having trouble understanding how to apply the ko rule. For instance, in the description in Wikipedia, there is an example where the ko rule can potentially apply. But suppose there were two, or ...
11
votes
4answers
2k views

Must a player disclose what deck they are using before play?

Our family is just learning this game. We were wondering if each player typically announces which deck they are using beforehand. If yes, in how much detail? I could not find anything in the rules ...
1
vote
1answer
42 views

Does Defectors do anything when triggered by Five-Year Plan

I was playing as the USSR, and Five-Year Plan was played against me. Defectors was the randomly selected card. It has a US event, so it triggers. But, the event in question occurs when "played by ...
14
votes
4answers
484 views

What makes a cooperative game require multiple players?

Many cooperative games (like Pandemic or Arkham Horror) could be played by a single player, even though they're intended to be played by a team of players striving against the board. What makes a ...
0
votes
1answer
51 views

Does a Junta during the Cuban Missile Crisis end the game?

In Twilight Struggle, if the Cuban Missile Crisis is in effect and the targeted player takes a free coup using the Junta event, does that trigger the end of the game clause on the Cuban Missile ...
1
vote
1answer
23 views

Does the event on CIA Created* have a one-time effect or last the duration of the turn?

The event on CIA Created* reads: The USSR reveals their hand of cards for this turn. The US may use the Operations value of this card to conduct Operations. Playing as the US, am I allowed to ...
1
vote
1answer
46 views

Is the extra attack from frenzy on the profile of the Vargheist?

Vargheist have frenzy. Frenzy gives an extra attack. The profile for vargheist says it has 3 attacks. Does the profile include the extra attack from frenzy or are they supposed to have 4 attacks with ...
6
votes
2answers
435 views

If face down permanents have no abilities, why are they affected by “loses all abilities”?

The Khans of Tarkir Release Notes say: If a face-down creature loses its abilities, it can’t be turned face up [...] This implies that Morph is an ability. However, the community here seems ...
0
votes
2answers
64 views

Custom boards for Eclipse

I was thinking of creating a custom player board for Eclipse as a gift for a friend of mine. Looking it up online I found an image of something quite similar to what I wanted: I have three ...
0
votes
2answers
79 views

Does Alien Fuel Refinery count as having a trade power in Race for the Galaxy?

In Race for the Galaxy, does the Alien Fuel Refinery restriction ("you may not trade a good from this world") count as a "trade power" for the purposes of Trade League, or in other words do I score a ...
3
votes
1answer
156 views

Does Soul Link give life twice in combat and fighting?

Soul Link says: Enchant Creature Whenever enchanted creature deals damage, you gain that much life. Whenever enchanted creature is dealt damage, you gain that much life. If the ...
4
votes
4answers
652 views

Putting cards into your hand while the top of library is revealed

Anthony has Courser of Kruphix on the field. He begins resolving Dig Through Time. While Dig Through Time is resolving, must the top card be kept separate from the other six? I'm thinking that ...
1
vote
1answer
56 views

Translation Software [closed]

Which software is best for translating Yu-gi-oh cards from Japanese to English without changing the original art.
2
votes
2answers
87 views

Handling dwindling supplies in Splendor

Splendor is a great game, but the rules were written sub-optimally. The following quotes the rules that specify what actions a player can take on his turn: On their turn, a player must choose to ...
4
votes
1answer
258 views

When a creature dies and later returns to the battlefield, does it keep +1/+1 counters?

If I have a Bloodcrazed Hoplite that's been given +1/+1 counters from its heroic ability, and then it's killed by an enemy creature, and then I cast a spell that returns it to the battlefield, does it ...
1
vote
1answer
121 views

What deck should be used for a beginner in Netrunner

The Netrunner rules suggest playing with Jinteki as a first hand, but I have heard that is a bad starting deck. Which should be used for a starting deck for introducing someone to the game? And which ...
1
vote
1answer
38 views

Is Ticket To Ride Asia played with stations?

In Ticket To Ride US Edition there was no stations, but in Europe Edition there were. When playing Asia Edition, do you play with/without stations or is there no set rule about them? I couldn't spot ...
8
votes
7answers
309 views

When should I get rid of the queen of spades in Hearts?

Whenever I play the QS on the 3rd or 4th round everyone gets mad at me and says that's a low down nasty thing to do! I thought the QS should be dumped asap so as not to get stuck with it myself - ...
7
votes
2answers
916 views

Mystery cards in Magic 2015 card list

If you look at the full card list for Magic 2015, at Gatherer or elsewhere, you'll see a bunch of cards listed with collectors number 270-284. What are these cards, and why are they listed as being ...
1
vote
1answer
49 views

Model positioning during multiple close combats after removing models

Here is the scenario. A multiple close combat scenario. 3 units are attacking one of my units. One is attacking the front. 1 on my left flank. 1 on my right flank. I have 15 models in the unit. 3 ...
3
votes
1answer
136 views

Can we extend the game by playing Multiple Boards At Once?

I play Ticket To Ride with my gf and friends and we love it! So much so that we always reach the end thinking, 'this went too quickly!'. We've toyed with playing two maps simultaneously, has anyone ...
1
vote
1answer
54 views

Fakir/Dwarf ability

In the rules it states: When taking "Transform and build action" you may skip one terrain or river space With our last game we had a little discussion that produces 2 questions: If you ...
4
votes
2answers
334 views

Does “other” refer to that particular instance or all cards of the same name?

For example Chief of the Edge has the ability: Other Warrior creatures you control get +1/+0. So I understand that it would definitely affect Avalanche Tusker. But if I play another Chief of the ...
0
votes
2answers
183 views

What does “each other player” mean on Unwinding Clock?

If I am playing a four man free for all, when do my artifacts untap using Unwinding Clock's ability? I'm having trouble understanding. The card says "each other player". If I am player one, are ...
0
votes
0answers
37 views

Why do some players get starting trade goods in 7 player TI3?

In 7 player Twilight Imperium there are 3 starting positions that get trade goods at the beginning of the game. The position that gets 6 trade goods is obviously worse than the others. The two that ...
-3
votes
1answer
107 views

Magic the gathering deck foundation [duplicate]

I have 800 cards dated between 2004 up to 2011.... Is it cool to to build a deck from a variety of sets? Trying to get into mtg and need a boost of knowledge.
1
vote
1answer
43 views

Connect 4 with 2 slots name?

Alright, so I had this game for a while, it's a connect 4 , but each column has 2 slots. Some pieces, (called "blockers" take up both slots in the column) I'm not sure if I have enough pieces and ...
-1
votes
1answer
55 views

Are there any games with handicaps/imbalancing? [closed]

Often one will want to play with less skilled players, who are there to be social. This will make a game like Settlers a bit boring for them, as they're likely to lose and have to play the whole ...
2
votes
1answer
30 views

The charged unit dies before combat

What happens if I charge an enemy unit and it dies before the first close combat after the charge? Suppose they die from my magic phase. Do they get any additional movement or anything?
2
votes
1answer
451 views

What happens to cards cast from exile?

There are a few cards that allow you to exile cards and then cast them later (Narset, Enlightened Master for example). After a spell cast this way resolves, does it go back into exile, or does it ...
0
votes
1answer
25 views

Charging a unit with no space?

If my unit is in the frontal charging cone of an enemy unit and I already have a friendly unit in front of that unit and taking up all the front base space, can I charge the enemy unit? What if I was ...
1
vote
1answer
25 views

Invocation of nehek and swarms?

How does invocation of nehek affect swarms? For example the bat swarm. If I cast nehek on a bat swarm that has 4 bases/models with full wounds and nehek replenishes 3 wounds, what happens? Does it ...
0
votes
1answer
25 views

Can invocation of nehek heal a lone character?

Can the invocation of nehek spell, vampire counts, heal a lone character? The spell says unit.
0
votes
0answers
41 views

Follow up question to “Do I need On the Brink to play ”Pandemic In the Lab“”

Having read this Do I need On The Brink to play In The Lab? I have no interest in buying On the Brink, however if I were to buy the On the Brink replacement cards can I use the events cards from OtB ...
3
votes
1answer
685 views

Does Sarkhan, the Dragonspeaker's first ability trigger “enters the battlefield” effects? [duplicate]

Sarkhan, the Dragonspeaker has the ability [+1]: Until end of turn, Sarkhan, the Dragonspeaker becomes a legendary 4/4 red Dragon creature with flying, indestructible, and haste. (He doesn't lose ...
2
votes
2answers
180 views

Statistics on a booster pack (to make my own re-packs)

I have a lot of magic cards. For constructed play they are mostly worthless. I would like to pack these up into re-packs that are like booster packs. But I am not sure what cards go into a booster ...
0
votes
1answer
313 views

7 wonders Babel and Armada

When is the exact release date for Babel? It seems to be some time in November, but It was due to come out in Feb, so why did it drag on? Also what happened to Armada, which was tested by some ...
1
vote
1answer
39 views

Necromancer mounting corpse cart pricing?

If a necromancer mounts a corpse cart do you have to pay the 90 points to mount the cart and pay the price of the corpse cart? Equaling 180 points to mount a corpse cart.
2
votes
2answers
59 views

Benefits of not equipping skeletons with spears?

The vampire counts skeletons can carry spears for free. What would be the benefit for not carrying spears? Just seems weird to me. I don't see any reason to not carry them.
0
votes
1answer
60 views

Is a noble permanently yours once he's visited you in Splendor?

Splendor is a great game, but the rules were written sub-optimally. At the end of their turn, each player checks the noble tiles in order to determine if they’re receiving a visit from one of ...
1
vote
3answers
73 views

Do you need more to “pre-empt” with a major, than a minor suit?

When I pre-empt at say, the three level, I am doing so with a "lopsided" hand that has relatively few points and is long in one suit (and short in two or three others). Under the circumstances, if the ...
1
vote
2answers
174 views

Game for 140 people [closed]

I would like to organize a game playing session for 140 people in the same room. I could just split them up into lots of small groups and organize a tournament. But then I started to wonder, are ...
0
votes
1answer
48 views

Ursaring Adrenalash clarification

Move Adrenalash says add 50 damage on next turn. Does that mean every other turn or every next turn while he's active?

15 30 50 per page