0
votes
0answers
10 views

In The Captain Is Dead Episode 2: Adrift, do all systems with any damage gain damage no matter where hostile aliens are?

The instuctions here say At the start of any turn in which a hostile alien is present, add a damage token to any system that already has a damage token. Does this mean if an alien is anywhere in ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

What is “summoning sickness” and how does it affect my creatures?

Note: this is intended to be a canonical question about summoning sickness. "Summoning sickness", broadly, is the rule that stops you from attacking or paying {T} costs with a creature that you just ...
1
vote
1answer
88 views

How many spades does my partner have when responding to my opening 1club bid and left overcalls 1 heart

I open with 1 club. Left bids 1 hearts. My partner bids 1 spade. How many spades can I assume my partner has?
1
vote
2answers
149 views

If someone blocks an infect creature, do the -1/-1 counters stay on the creature?

The Infect ability is worded as follows: Infect (This creature deals damage to creatures in the form of -1/-1 counters and to players in the form of poison counters.) I'm just wondering if these ...
3
votes
1answer
548 views

Do creatures put on the battlefield via a sorcery have summoning sickness? [duplicate]

I have a card named Doubling Chant, the effect of this card is "For each creature you control, Search your library for a creature with the same name and put it onto the battlefield. Then Shuffle your ...
1
vote
1answer
54 views

Where can I find 'no limits' Texas Hold'em game logs?

I've been looking at some papers about developing AI players for Texas Hold'em, and many of them have used betting history from expert human players as training data. I have so far been unable to ...
4
votes
1answer
168 views

multiple lines in spell abilities - why new paragraph sometimes

I have a question regarding the structure of rules text in regards to abilities and effects. Incinerate reads: Incinerate deals 3 damage to target creature or player. A creature dealt damage this ...
0
votes
0answers
14 views

World of Warriors - how to play? Follow-Up

In this post someone asked for resources on the how to play the World of Warriors Trading Card Game (not the app): World of Warriors - how to play? The answer was helpful but only repeated what is ...
1
vote
1answer
34 views

Passengers and Fugitives: can they be cashed in at a location, like goods?

Just as some Nav cards give you Cargo and Contraband, which you can sell to a contact for cash, some situations result in you having extra Passengers or Fugitives. I know they may be useful to keep ...
2
votes
2answers
217 views

Double Strike with Lifelink that destroys its blocker in the first strike phase [duplicate]

Say I have a 5/5 creature with double strike and lifelink. I attack with the 5/5 and my opponent blocks with a 1/1. The creature is killed by the damage in the first strike phase and I gain 5 life. Do ...
1
vote
1answer
70 views

Does spreading a bite effect at the colony affect helpless survivors?

Does spreading the bite effect end at the colony if the last player survivor dies, or does it spread to helpless survivors?
6
votes
2answers
258 views

Starting out in MTG, but core sets are being phased out, so what to do? [closed]

I've played MTG casually a couple times, built some starter decks, but gave all my cards away in a purge a couple years ago. I want to get back into Magic, but after reading about all of the upcoming ...
10
votes
2answers
737 views

Why do double-faced planeswalkers from Origins get exiled before being transformed?

In Magic the Gathering Origins set, there is a cycle of 5 creatures, each that are double-sided and have a planeswalker on the back side. Previously when double-sided cards were used, the cards had a ...
5
votes
0answers
85 views

Betrayal at House on the Hill: Poltergeist haunt (#17) - do item tokens count for the poltergeist's damage track?

In the poltergeist haunt, heroes are collecting item tokens (candles) to defeat the poltergeist. The Poltergeist wants to accumulate items to get stronger (move the damage track). In our game, a ...
0
votes
1answer
29 views

Does the One Hive rule apply to preserving a continuous hive for your opponent as well?

Here are the rules. Page 9 lists the One Hive rule. The pieces in play must be linked at all times. I'm looking for confirmation that this means my move must preserve my opponent's hive's ...
2
votes
1answer
47 views

Can two bases be scored in one turn?

If a base scores and a minion moves to another base, like First Mate or Flying Monkey, and the new base has more power than the breaking point, does the new base score on this turn or next turn?
6
votes
2answers
187 views

When is my last opportunity to turn a manifested Kytheon face up and still cause his trigger?

I have 3 creatures that have attacked, one of which is a manifested Kytheon, Hero of Akros. Assuming he will survive combat, when is my last opportunity to "un-manifest" him from a 2/2 and still ...
0
votes
0answers
39 views

Striking opponent carrom men directly to pot our coin

In carrom let's say I have my black coin near the pot but there is a white coin which is blocking it from my strike. Can I pot my black coin striking on the white coin? More like cannon
2
votes
1answer
49 views

Can you exchange items with another player, or can you only give items to another player on your turn?

The rules on page 11 under Use Item and Omen Cards say that one of the things an explorer can do once is Trade an item to another explorer in the same room (assuming you both agree). Does this ...
4
votes
1answer
67 views

Are rooms drawn because of tiles and cards always considered 'discovered' and thus the symbol on the card executed?

Page 10 of the rules say If you discover a new room because of a tile's or card's effect, and that new room has a symbol on it, you draw the appropriate card for that new room. Disclaimer: I ...
16
votes
2answers
1k views

Is this a win or loss?

Does a player need to complete a full turn (i.e. 4 actions, pickup, infect) if during the action portion the final disease was cured? I only ask because there was only 1 player card left in the deck ...
0
votes
2answers
47 views

Can exiled players only increase an unused die once if they spend a Food 2 card?

Page 14 of the rules under Exile says The exiled player cannot spend food tokens to increase his action die results, but may play food cards to increase an action die result by 1 for each food ...
9
votes
1answer
220 views

When should a judge intervene in a match?

I started judging at Regular last week, and one thing that made me uncomfortable was watching players break rules. Sometimes the opponent would look at me like, "Are you really going to let this ...
8
votes
1answer
97 views

Big expansion boards for ticket to ride

I enjoy giving anniversary or otherwise "nicer" editions of games to family and friends. Last year for Christmas, I got my sister and brother-in-law a copy of Ticket to Ride 10th Anniversary Edition. ...
3
votes
1answer
93 views

Can I double Furnace Scamp's triggered ability damage with a 3-counter Quest for Pure Flame?

Assuming I have a Quest for Pure Flame with 3 quest counters on them and my Furnace Scamp deals combat damage to an opponent, can I then sacrifice my Quest in time to double the Scamp's triggered ...
5
votes
2answers
445 views

Gustcloak's ability vs. creatures with Vigilance

Gustcloak Savior has Whenever a creature you control becomes blocked, you may untap that creature and remove it from combat. What about creatures with Vigilance? Attacking does not cause them ...
2
votes
2answers
86 views

Battlestar Galactica: How to balance core game

I never saw the human team win and I would like making it a little bit easier for humans to finish the game without losing. How can I balance that? Is there anywhere a new set of rules that balance ...
1
vote
1answer
52 views

Risk Legacy “Riots” event card is ambigious

The "Riots" card has three ambiguities: Do the troops that get removed have to die in the "major city" territory or just from anywhere controlled by that player? Can the last troop in a territory ...
1
vote
1answer
181 views

Problem with lifelines in “Who Wants To Be A Millionaire” board game

I have found an issue with playing the board game Who wants to be a millionaire 2nd edition, and the rules do not cater for the problematic scenario. The rules can be downloaded from ...
1
vote
2answers
422 views

What are permanents?

What are the specific types of permanents in the game? Are lands included in permanents?
-1
votes
1answer
154 views

How do poison counters work and how would a player get them?

How do poison counters work? What are the scenarios a player would receive a poison counter?
3
votes
2answers
256 views

How can creatures with indestructible end up in the graveyard?

How does a creature with indestructible end up in the graveyard? I have been trying to figure this out for a little while.
1
vote
1answer
38 views

Do I immediately get any clues at a location I jump to from the “Lost In Time And Space” location?

Once I return from Lost In Time And Space, do I take the clue in that location immediately upon landing there during the Upkeep phase?
0
votes
0answers
31 views

Can multiple doom tokens be removed in one hit in the final battle? [duplicate]

If I have two players and my investigator is blessed and has a resultant fight of 11 and rolls 8 successes, do I outright take 4 doom tokens off the ancient one? We spent 2-3 hours slogging through ...
3
votes
1answer
57 views

Is the only time a monster encounter occurs during the movement phase or when 'a monster appears'?

Do monster encounters only occur during the movement phase when leaving a space with a monster or ending at one, and also when cards say a monster appears? Flying monsters moving to your space don't ...
3
votes
1answer
61 views

Double Agenda card

In Fluxx, if you play the "Double Agenda" rule this allows for two goals in play. If the Double Agenda card is removed by an action how do you deal with the two goals in play? Does the person who ...
2
votes
1answer
66 views

In Eldritch Horror, when a mythos card refers to a monster's toughness, does it mean its current or max toughness?

The Blood Flows mythos card says under its event: The Lead Investigator discards 1 Monster of his choice and loses Health equal to its toughness Do I use the monster's current or max health?
4
votes
1answer
75 views

What penalty should the Dummy receive for telegraphing to his partner after play has started?

What penalty should the Dummy receive for touching cards or moving cards forward? After play started, when his partner led to the diamonds, Dummy arranged them again in my mind to make sure she knew ...
0
votes
1answer
51 views

In axis and allies 1941 do fighters have to take off to participate in an attack?

ON the UK players turn he attacks a Japanese destroyer in sea zone 32 with a UK carrier(carrying 1 UK and 1 US fighter) from sea zone 29. I know that if the carrier gets destroyed, the US fighter is ...
4
votes
1answer
82 views

Munchkins Combat Shenanigans

Level 1 sock puppet says players may not play cards from hand to aid or help this combat. May they use the cards that are in their unequipped zone?
4
votes
1answer
43 views

Munchkin Dungeon of Comprehensive Curses Technical Difficulties

So this dungeon says any curse that affects someone happens to everyone, unless the curse already does so. Most curses are pretty cut and dry, but what does "effects everyone" technically mean? ...
3
votes
1answer
54 views

Munchkins: Apocolypse Preparing for the 7th seal

Ok, so we are mid-game and the pressure is thick. My so called "friend", has been stealing all my small items the entire game. The host of tonights game has favored his apocolypse doors for every ...
5
votes
1answer
597 views

Do blocking creatures heal back to full between phases?

I am new to MTG and this has been bothering me. Say I use any spell on my 1st main phase to deal 1 damage to my opponenent's 2/5 creature. If I attack him during the combat phase of the same turn ...
3
votes
1answer
52 views

Can Bunker's Grenade Launcher be used on the same target 3 times?

Bunker's Grenade Launcher power says "Deal 2 damage to a target, may deal 2 damage to another target, may deal 1 damage to another target." Does that imply that each target would have to be unique? Or ...
2
votes
1answer
21 views

Can Unity play a golem after playing Inspired Repair

Unity's card Inspired Repair's text says she can play a card. If inspired repair is played during her Play Phase, can she play a golem, which of course reads "cannot be played during the Play Phase."? ...
0
votes
1answer
24 views

In a&a 1942 2nd edition, can bombers conducting a strategic bombing raid and fighter escorts retreat?

Im guessing they cant because the book talks about retreats only in the "general combat" section; says nothing about sbr planes retreating, but i am not sure.
2
votes
1answer
311 views

“If a creature would enter the battlefield and it wasn't cast…”

Can someone explain precisely what this means (i.e. all the technical details)? I'm referring to cards like Containment Priest and Hallowed Moonlight. I don't understand this mechanic at all.
2
votes
1answer
99 views

Would this Whist Variation work?

Variation: The game plays as a normal (whist is a very basic trick-taking game) with the last card dealt face-up to determine the trump suit. The variation is simply this -- the other suit with the ...
1
vote
1answer
98 views

Which hand wins [duplicate]

The community has King, King, Queen, Queen, 2. Bob has 10, 7 in the hole. Charlie has 3, 3 in the hole. Does Bob win because he has high card, or does Charlie win because he pocket 3 pair?
1
vote
1answer
97 views

Two Headed Giant Sealed Events Card Trading

Origins is being released soon, and I plan on going to the THG prerelease for the first time. Me and my partner have been running pull simulations to see what deck strats come up often. We are ...

15 30 50 per page