2
votes
2answers
229 views

Pandemonium and Muscle Sliver

Pandemonium is an enchantment that says "Whenever a creature enters the battlefield, that creature's controller may have it deal damage equal to its power to target creature or player of his or her ...
1
vote
2answers
87 views

How can I keep track of which outbreaks I've resolved?

In a situation where outbreaks chain into other cities, how can I manage cube placement so that I know which cities I've resolved? If I just place the cubes into the city, it's easy to lose track of ...
7
votes
3answers
214 views

How does the wording “for each” work?

Some cards in magic has something happen for each {something}. For instance: Alive // Well makes you gain 2 life for each creature you control. Tapping Selvala adds one green mana to your mana pool, ...
1
vote
1answer
226 views

Can I use Plaxcaster Frogling to temporarily shut off Species Gorger's ability?

I'm currently working on a deck which is built around Species Gorger and its ability to return creatures I control to my hand. In order to make my deck work as intended, I need a way to "turn off" or ...
0
votes
1answer
59 views

A Couple of Hearts Probabilities

Here's what I don't get. I've played a lot of Hearts for many years - thousands of games I'm sure. The number of times I've played a low heart, and the trick has gone 2H, 3H, 4H, 5H seems way out of ...
1
vote
1answer
75 views

How high do transfer bids (to 1NT) go?

In today's bridge column, opener opened 1NT with (s)A94 (h)AQ97 (d)763 (c) AQJ. Responder had s)KT (h)KJT863 (d)K52 (c)86. At two different tables, both pairs got to 4H, but in different ways. At ...
0
votes
1answer
62 views

What energy type does poison use and does it stack?

I am new to Pokemon but not TCGs in general. I have a Skrelp (Psychic Type) which has a Spit Poison ability (also Psychic Energy) that it used on Honedge which has a resistance -20 to Psychic ...
2
votes
1answer
70 views

In Pandemic: on the brink, can I remove multiple bioterrorist cubes at once for a cured strain?

In Pandemic On the brink we ran into a situation where both the black strain and bioterrorist purple strain were cured. At one point one of the players moved into a territory that had multiple black ...
1
vote
1answer
53 views

How many different right-handed Power Swords are there on the sprues of the Space Marines?

I am looking to make a group of Vanguard Veterans who wield Power Swords, but since they are not on the sprue I will have to pilfer them from other boxed sets. But since the GW website is rather ...
1
vote
1answer
233 views

Will Aegis of the Gods negate my opponent's Erebos, God of the Dead for me?

I am playing a life gain deck and I find that if an opponent plays Erebos, God of the Dead my deck is ruined because of its effect "your opponents can't gain life." If I run Aegis of the Gods, whose ...
0
votes
1answer
105 views

What's the name of the type of expansion set “packs” that MTG players can buy at release events?

I've heard that MTG vendors can have release events for expansion sets. During these events, players can spend a relatively small amount (say, $20 bucks) and get a collection of cards from that set ...
1
vote
2answers
143 views

Monopoly hotel sell to pay debt to opponent [duplicate]

I recently played Monopoly and was forced to sell hotels to pay my opponent. The problem was that the bank only had two houses left, so I was unable to sell hotels because there weren't enough houses ...
1
vote
1answer
120 views

In multiplayer, does Dictate of Erebos still take effect if the combat that kills its owner's creature defeats the owner?

I was playing a 4 way standard multiplayer match. One player had 3/3 on the field, and Dictate of Erebos which says: Whenever a creature you control dies, each opponent sacrifices a creature. I ...
0
votes
0answers
33 views

Elimination when a player loses all herds, but still has a Chupacabra

I'm looking for a rules clarification for "Chupacabra: Survive the Night" by Steve Jackson Games. The rules state: Any player who loses all his dice is out of the game, even if he hasn't attacked ...
5
votes
1answer
607 views

When is my earliest opportunity to destroy a creature I couldn't counter?

My friend has been playing a sliver commander deck and uses Root Sliver which is a thorn in the side of my control. Lets say I have an instant in my had that can destroy the Root Sliver and a counter ...
2
votes
1answer
89 views

Is there any complete downloadable Pokémon TCG text database?

I'm aware those guys have such a database, but I couldn't find any way to download it. Not even access it by an API. Is there any one of those available for download?
-1
votes
1answer
66 views

Marklights Vs. Jink

Situation: A squad of (jet)bikes has several Markerlights on them. The tau player is about to shoot at them with some Plasma or other weapon w/ low enough AP to punch their armor. Does the Tau player ...
3
votes
2answers
507 views

Forests you control vs Forests in play

I was playing MTG with a friend last night when we had a slight disagreement about the wording of some cards. Sometimes cards will be marked as having a special ability "for each forest you control" ...
2
votes
1answer
49 views

Where can I find the rules for the Roc Pattern Storm Eagle?

I've seen that its rules exist, but not in which book or web supplement to find them. Where can I find them?
4
votes
3answers
293 views

Dictate of Erebos and Undercity Informer stack question

Situation: My opponent has Dictate of Erebos out ("Whenever a creature you control dies, each opponent sacrifices a creature."). He then attacks me with one of his creatures; I defend, killing his ...
5
votes
1answer
129 views

In Pandemic, when does the discard-over-7-cards rule take effect?

Scenario Pandemic's excess card rule states that if you have more than 7 cards in your hand at any time, you must discard the excess (according to your preference, of course). Let's say you're the ...
0
votes
1answer
125 views

In Android: Netrunner, is there a bias towards a particular sub-type of ICE in corp decks?

I'm looking to put together a runner deck that takes advantage of Tinkering and Paintbrush. I'm also considering cards that care about ICE or breaker sub-types, such as Kit for my identity, or ...
-4
votes
1answer
245 views

When a card asks you to flip a coin is it against the rules to use a two headed coin?

I know in a casual setting it's probably considered unsportsmanlike conduct, but let's say I was in some sort of tournament and I played a card that said I have to flip a coin. Would a judge issue me ...
1
vote
1answer
34 views

6 power favor tile Town/Culture benefit order

In the middle of a game I built a temple which let me pick a favor tile. I selected the favor tile that lets you form a town with 6 power. This favor tile also awards you 2 of the red cultures. It ...
1
vote
1answer
45 views

Engineers end of game victory point stronghold

When an Engineer builds a Stronghold they get 3 victory points for each bridge. My question is when the game ends do they get this victory point bonus for each bridge again? I'm kinda confused ...
3
votes
1answer
391 views

Do creatures come into play tapped if they come into play at the same time as a card which says “Creatures come into play tapped”?

An example situation : Living Death resolves while there is a Urabrask the Hidden in my graveyard and another creature in my opponent's graveyard. Urabrask says "Creatures your opponents control ...
2
votes
1answer
41 views

Correct use of Bonus cards in Terra Mystica

Does a player take a Bonus card as soon as they have passed their turn? Page 7 of the rule book states "Three out of the nine Bonus cards award Victory points when you have completed all the actions ...
1
vote
2answers
157 views

Is the card “Outshine Them All” from the MLP CCG useless?

In the MLP CCG there is a card from the Twilight / Applejack theme deck called "Outshine Them All": http://mlpccg.wikia.com/wiki/Outshine_Them_All_(Premiere) You have to pay one action token to use ...
2
votes
2answers
66 views

Challenging an Ambassador Exchange

A couple nights ago while playing Coup for the first time. During one of our games we came across the situation of someone challenging an Ambassador Exchange action. Given that both the Ambassador's ...
5
votes
2answers
266 views

Do MTG Core sets contain new (never before seen) cards? How does this compare with expansion sets?

(I clearly didn't format my prior question appropriately so I'll rephrase things). Do MTG Core sets contain new (never before seen) cards? Or is it just cards for the prior year's expansion set? ...
6
votes
1answer
196 views

What is this game with Knights and Ogres and wolf riders I played when I was a kid?

I grew up in the 80s, so the game should of come out in the late 80s or early 90s. I believe that the game was made by the same makers that made Hero Quest, but I might be wrong. The game was an War ...
3
votes
2answers
66 views

Munchkin Booty: is there a time limit for “Not so fast me bucko”

Is there a time limit in which the Not so fast me bucko card must be played. The card text reads as follows: play this card Immediately after a card is drawn or played. I drew into a low level ...
9
votes
2answers
188 views

Can Band of Misfits be played as a reaction card?

Band of Misfits is an imitation action card from Dark Ages expansion: Suppose there are also reaction cards in the Supply, such as Moat or Beggar: For simplicity, I will refer to the player who ...
0
votes
0answers
10 views

Can Quincy 'The Spider' be moved to a battlefield with a full sandstorm in Revolver?

I'm playing the side of the law in Revolver, without any expansions. I played Quincy 'The Spider' Whitmore at Whiskey Canyon, the second battlefield. My opponent has placed a Sandstorm at Buzzard ...
1
vote
0answers
66 views

What is it about Twilight Struggle that keeps it so consistently highly rated on BGG? [closed]

Some say it's due to BGG being full of people who lived through the Cold War, adding a certain nostalgic element, but perhaps someone who has played it can offer some further insight.
5
votes
2answers
247 views

What's the name of the theory that the player with the most options has the advantage?

A long time ago, I remember reading about a theory that sounds like this: Players A and B have access to options X and Y. Player A also has access to option Z. Player A is, at worst, equal to and, ...
2
votes
2answers
261 views

40k - Ork Mob Rule vs Psychic Shriek

I think I know the answer to this but was just hoping someone could prove me wrong... Let's say you're casting Psychic Shriek against a mob of 15 Boyz. Psychic Shriek states "Roll 3d6 and subtract the ...
2
votes
2answers
66 views

What happens when a promoted cell that makes a capturing move is at the king-row, and there are capturing moves available?

When a capturing move of a non-promoted cell is at the king-row, the cell becomes a king cell and can't make any other capturing move even if there are available. What about a promoted cell that ...
2
votes
1answer
68 views

What if there are two paths connecting to the gold in Saboteur 2?

Let's say a blue dwarf makes the final connection to the gold. However, there are two paths that one could take to get from the ladder to the gold. One of these paths has a blue door, one of them has ...
0
votes
1answer
110 views

For one who likes trading games like monopoly what's the closest 2-player game with similar dynamics? [closed]

I've recently kindled my spouse's joy in board games but she has always enjoyed Monopoly as a child and tends to have that bias when selecting games. We've played Carcassone and she genuinely enjoys ...
2
votes
2answers
198 views

Priorities at End of Turn

So I announce the end of my turn. My opponent responds with a lightning bolt to my head. It resolves so I take 3. Do I still have priority to do something else, eg to play instants that says do ...
3
votes
1answer
181 views

Will Yixlid Jailer negate Snapcaster Mage's flashback-giving ability?

Yixlid Jailer makes all cards in graveyard lose their abilities while Snapcaster Mage giveths a card in graveyard the flashback ability. In this scenario, Yixlid Jailer's ability prevails, correct? ...
3
votes
1answer
184 views

Name and rules of Japanese card game

While in Japan recently, a Japanese colleague taught me an excellent card game. It involved a standard 52 card deck, and the game play proceeded like Uno in that each player could lay a card whose ...
7
votes
1answer
67 views

In Android: Netrunner, can the Shaper event Scavenge install the program that was trashed to pay for it?

This question touches on the timing when an event card is played. If a runner plays Scavenge, they must trash an installed program as part of the cost. Is that program already in the heap by the time ...
2
votes
1answer
79 views

Sorry! Move past safety zone or forfeit turn?

In Sorry, if you are 7 spaces away from your Home and you draw a 12 (and your other pawns are in Start or Home), do you have to move past your safety zone like you're going around the board a second ...
1
vote
1answer
110 views

Could Cemetery Puca copy a Primordial Hydra?

If I kill my opponents 4/4 Primordial Hydra, will I be able to use my Cemetery Puca's activated ability on the Hydra, and have it become a 4/4 Primordial Hydra, or will my Puca die because the Hydra ...
1
vote
1answer
92 views

When do static bonuses go away relative to damage dealt?

I use Radiant Archangel in a deck full of flying creatures. It is a 3/3 flyer with +1/+1 for each other flying creature in play. During a game, I had seven other flying creatures, making it a 10/10. ...
7
votes
2answers
758 views

Does a +1/+1 counter remove a -1/-1 counter?

My opponent controls a Kulrath Knight. I control a 4/4 creature (with a -1/-1 counter on it, due to an earlier cast Black Sun's Zenith). If I use an ability to put a +1/+1 counter on my 4/4 ...
2
votes
1answer
150 views

Are expansion sets in magic designed for use with specific deck archetypes?

I'm new to Magic so apologies in advance if this is an obvious question: Are expansion sets designed to accommodate any/all deck archetypes? For example, my current play style gravitates towards red ...
4
votes
2answers
98 views

If the Warlord destroys a player's eighth district, does the game still end?

In Citadels, if the Warlord destroys a player's eighth district, assuming no other players have eight districts, does the game still end at the end of the round? If so, does that player still get ...

15 30 50 per page