6
votes
2answers
2k views

Pillar of Flame, Blood Artist and Goblin Arsonist Trigger Ability

Quick Question on these Spells Pillar of Flame, Blood Artist and Goblin Arsonist Lets say I cast pillar of flame on Goblin Arsonist or Blood Artist, would it still trigger their ability? From my ...
3
votes
2answers
287 views

Trash an Estate or Curse your opponents? Full Version

I just asked a question about whether to trash an Estate with Jack of All Trades or play a Witch to curse my opponents. The answer was a definitive "trash!", because Jack is so good at trashing that ...
3
votes
1answer
222 views

If I fail to defeat all defenders of a fortified site, does this count as a forced withdrawal?

Discussing combat, the rules (p.9, Combat Outcomes) say If you failed to defeat all the defenders of a fortified site, you have to withdraw back to the space you were attacking from. If it is not ...
2
votes
1answer
116 views

In Bridge, should a defender “encourage” with a "stranded honor?

In the example in Today's New York Post, the bidding went: S 1 spade, N 2 clubs, S 2 NT, N3 spades, S 4 Spades (East and West passed throughout). West led the 9 of hearts, which as between these ...
0
votes
1answer
128 views

Where can I find what LCG's exist? [closed]

I know of four Living Card Games: Warhammer Call of Cthulhu game of Thrones Lord of the rings Is there somewhere that maintains a canonical list of all LCG's?
7
votes
1answer
283 views

To trash an estate or to curse my opponents?

I'm playing Dominion, 3-player game, I get a 5-2 split on the opening and get a Witch and a Pearl Diver. Other players have 4-3, they both open Jack of All Trades and Silver. I pick up a Jack and ...
8
votes
1answer
613 views

What is an LCG (Living Card Games)?

What is an LCG? I was looking at Lord of the Rings board games and came across Lord Of The Rings: The Card Game. I saw that all of the expansions were marked with "LCG." I've done some Google ...
6
votes
4answers
1k views

What first turn kill in multiplayer FFA provides the best ratios?

People love to figure out first turn kills in Magic: the Gathering, and have been around since the beginning, when someone threw together a deck with Channel, Black Lotus, Fireball, Mountain. Pulling ...
9
votes
7answers
457 views

How can I get better at lying?

In games that allow you to 'backstab' other players (such as Diplomacy and Cosmic Encounter), it is often very important to make other players think you are going to do one thing while really planning ...
9
votes
2answers
435 views

How likely are you to lose because Fool's Landing sinks into the abyss?

Since I like probability questions, and tttpp brought it up, I figured it might be interesting to calculate how likely you are to lose on the first turn in Forbidden Island, because Fool's Landing ...
8
votes
1answer
407 views

Close to winning means no go for you?

A long while back I was playing crib with a friend, and his crib board (I might be imagining things here, but I'm fairly certain) was shaded in the 118, 119, and 120 point area. This three-point zone ...
6
votes
2answers
7k views

Is Ace high? Or low? Or both?

When playing the cards, Ace is worth 1. When counting runs, A 2 3 is worth 3. I've often played with Q K A also being worth 3. I've even played with K A 2 being worth 3! Definitely good ways to ...
5
votes
1answer
714 views

In Small World, how does the Spirits' ability apply to already declined races?

I have a small question regarding the "Spirit special power" (quote from the rules: You may thus end up with two different races in decline on map at the same time and score for them both.) If I have ...
4
votes
1answer
87 views

Why are the extension cards in separate stacks?

I recently purchased several extensions for Catan card-game and noticed that the manual says to put the cards of the extensions into separate stacks at the beginning of the game. Before reading the ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Housing shortage in Monopoly

So the rules of Monopoly state that you can't buy a house if there are no houses left for sale. You can't even pay all at once and buy a Hotel if there aren't enough houses to place 4 on the property ...
4
votes
3answers
687 views

Lifelink and fatal damage question

My life is down to 1 and my opponent 4. I attack with a 4/4 lifelink creature, and my opponent answered with a Shock to deal two damage to me, will I lose or will lifelink save me first?
4
votes
1answer
29 views

Does the event card “Build Master” force you to put the card back under the same pile as you choose to search in?

I have a Dutch version of the Catan card-game so bear with me a little regarding translation to English. My question refers to the event card that allows both players to search through a pile and put ...
1
vote
1answer
700 views

What are the strengths and weaknesses of the factions in the Call of Cthulhu LCG?

What are the mechanics and playing styles that best suit each of the factions? What combinations of factions can offset each other's weaknesses? I only have the seven factions in the core set, but ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

How does Babylons's second stage wonder work for building/discarding your last two cards? [duplicate]

Babylon: When you have the second stage of the wonder that allows you to buy your last 2 cards in the age instead of discarding, does this count as 1 turn or as 2 separate turns? Here's why I ask... ...
6
votes
1answer
136 views

Picking up opportunity card on exiting career path

I recently bought a board game called Careers for a themed party. It looks a lot of fun, I am just reading the rules but cannot work out something. On exiting a career path you are allowed to take a ...
-2
votes
2answers
367 views

Can't remember the name of this card game [closed]

There was a game we played a few years ago... a friend taught us but can't remember how to play! I remember we named it "Slummy" because it was a cross between rummy and solitaire (and we didn't know ...
6
votes
3answers
2k views

How much strategic depth is there in Quarriors?

I've played Quarriors a few times and I love Dominion. The one game of Quarriors that I won, I just happened to roll my monsters attack side up many times in a row, I didn't make any coherent plans ...
9
votes
2answers
369 views

Will Elesh Norn kill creatures if I don't pay the extra cost for Flash?

Suppose I use Flash to bring Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite into play, then choose to sacrifice her rather than pay her mana cost. Will my opponent's creatures with two or less toughness die?
3
votes
1answer
93 views

Do chest traps happen before loot is distributed?

If the player says they're opening a chest, and the overlord plays a trap card, does the trap effect take place before or after the chest is opened? This is particularly important in the case of ...
6
votes
3answers
2k views

Can nonbasic dual lands such as “Azorius Chancery” be destroyed by the card text “destroy target land”?

My cousin and I play MtG together sometimes. He has many years of experience, and I just started playing recently and we have had an argument when I tried to destroy his nonbasic dual lands such as ...
18
votes
4answers
777 views

Is it possible to lose Forbidden Island on the first turn?

My first time playing this game last night. My friend that was teaching me had only played a couple times. Despite a quick rules reading we wanted to verify this sequence that happened to us. ...
5
votes
1answer
710 views

How to kill the red army (Moloch) in Neuroshima-Hex

It seems to me that the red army in Neuroshima is the most powerful one, it has more tough and shield tiles than any other. On the other hand, it is very limited in movements. When playing ...
4
votes
1answer
59 views

When should you take a scholar early in “In The Year of the Dragon”?

In what cases does it pay off to take a scholar character early in the game?
3
votes
2answers
167 views

Does the Quarriors “Shaping Charm” allow me to rotate creatures to same level but with a burst (*)?

The Shaping Charm rules state: Cast this Spell to rotate all Creatures in your Ready Area up 1 Level, if possible. Although the "level" of the creature is the number in the upper left hand ...
8
votes
2answers
341 views

In bridge, what are some exceptions to “second hand low?”

Most beginners are taught to play "second hand low." That is, play a low card if one is led to them, to give the partner a chance to take the trick. This is particularly to avoid situations where ...
5
votes
1answer
204 views

Pieceworker and Landing Net

This came up in an online game I was playing yesterday and I wasn't confident in what would happen... I have the Pieceworker Occupation: Whenever you receive wood, clay, reed, stone or grain on an ...
4
votes
2answers
976 views

Strategies for playing The Masochist in Cosmic Encounter?

Some of the Aliens in Cosmic Encounter have alternate win conditions, some of which are very beneficial as they allow you to simultaneously pursue two paths to victory. However, I haven't really been ...
8
votes
3answers
281 views

Dominion Money Purchasing When Actions Lacking

When the action cards on board are lacking in gaining money additions, what's your strategy in purchasing money vs action cards in the early rounds? More money, or look for actions that drill through ...
2
votes
1answer
274 views

Clarification on Privileged Attacks

When making a Privileged Attack, the rules say that no one else can "interfere" with it. "Interfere" is defined by the rules as spending money from your Illuminati group to aid either side. Can the ...
4
votes
1answer
312 views

If I Find the “Objective Clue” with Gloria's Psychic Sensitivity, Does That Reveal the Objective

I used Gloria Goldberg's Psychic Sensitivity to reveal the cards in the Ceremony Room, which contained Clue 1, which also says "Reveal Objective". As I have to return the cards face down, does that ...
4
votes
1answer
410 views

Strategies for playing Fido in Cosmic encounter?

I've played about 7 games of Cosmic Encounter, and by now I've learned that you need to adjust your strategy to take full advantage of your alien power in order to get the best odds of winning. Most ...
4
votes
2answers
84 views

Do I get to declare HQ Mole before watching the first cards I'd access anyway?

If I make a successful run on the HQ or R&D, do I have to declare I'm going to use a Mole before watching the cards I would access, or can I access them, and then decide if I want to access more ...
4
votes
2answers
113 views

If I rez Rasmin Bridger after an ICE, does the Runner have to pay its bit immediately?

If I rez Rasmin Bridger after the Runner has passed a piece of ICE, does he get to pay its bit immediatly, or does it take effect only after the following ICE?
6
votes
3answers
286 views

How does Jandor's Ring work with modern Magic rules?

A 2004 Oracle ruling for Jandor Ring, above, states: If you do not have the card still in your hand, you can't pay the cost. There is currently no way to prove that it was the card you drew ...
4
votes
1answer
610 views

What if the queen is pocketed along with all remaining carrommen?

Whilst playing carrom, if only one piece is remaining of each player, e.g. one white and one black and a queen, and I pot a queen, what happens in the following scenario: While covering the queen ...
10
votes
5answers
7k views

Where to buy or how to cut blank hexes for own game prototype?

Fellow board game player wants to test his game prototype, which uses a number of hex pieces (prefreably smaller than Catan or Eclipse ones). Is there a place to buy some blank ones? We could then use ...
6
votes
1answer
191 views

Looking for the name of a 2d6 game

I remember a simple but interesting dice game, I remember the rules but I don't know its name. I would like to know its name to be able to look up stuff about it. It is played with two 6-sided dice. ...
4
votes
1answer
98 views

Can you turn around in Circus Imperium?

In FASA's Circus Imperium, are you allowed to turn your chariot around on an oval track? One of the tactics suggested during a previous game was for a player who has no chance of winning to turn ...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

In Jenga, what happens if there are 2 blocks on the top of the tower blocking the way for the 3rd block?

I am programming a game of jenga however I have a problem where the player can place down 2 blocks on the top of the tower, and leave no room for a 3rd block? Is there any rule here to prevent this? ...
2
votes
4answers
20k views

Which MTG booster packs have the highest rate of return on investment?

Most players will tell you that buying booster packs for values is a loosing investment, and for the most part this is true because the average expected value of cards in a set is lower than the ...
18
votes
7answers
514 views

Something that only happens every X turns

I'm working on a new board game where there's an action (we'll call it Brazening) that only happens every X turns (let's say it happens every 5 turns). What's a good way to keep track of when it's ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

How do you protect your Munchkin cards?

I love playing Munchkin, but haven't found a good way to protect the cards. So, how do you protect your beloved Munchkin cards?
8
votes
1answer
646 views

Choosing new targets for a spell with a variable number of targets

Rolling Thunder can have any number of targets. I play the Rolling Thunder choosing three target creatures. I copy the Rolling Thunder with Reverberate and can choose new targets for the copy. Can I ...
1
vote
2answers
381 views

In bridge, can the “rule of 20” be used outside of opening bids (e.g for takeout doubles)?

Here's another example from today's New York Post. West opened 1 club. (He had a 19 point 1NT hand, and was planning to re-bid 2NT.) North made a (takeout) double with (s) KQxxx (h) Qxxxx (d) xx (c) ...
6
votes
1answer
265 views

In Texas Hold'em, who is awarded second and third place in this scenario?

Consider the scenario where there are three players remaining: Player A has 1,000 chips Player B has 200 chips Player C has 50 chips and is the dealer The hand starts and Player C goes all in. ...

15 30 50 per page