6
votes
3answers
18k views

Can a Space Marine army consist of units from different chapters?

I'm a newcomer to the Warhammer 40K tabletop miniature game and I'm researching different armies, but I wasn't sure if different Space Marine chapters were compatible. For example, could I play an ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Do the Elf creatures put into the battlefield by Planeswalker Nissa Revane suffer from summoning sickness? [duplicate]

The 3rd ability of Nissa Revane Planeswalker is -7: Search your library for any number of Elf creature cards and put them onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library. So the question is do the ...
5
votes
1answer
544 views

What happens if a target for removal becomes ineligible after a card has been cast?

When you have a card like Complete Disregard which reads "Exile Target Creature with power 3 or less", as I understand it, it becomes untargetable if the opponent's creature power increases thanks to ...
5
votes
3answers
925 views

Is there any way to stop someone from sacrificing a Golden Urn?

My friend had a Golden Urn on the board with 10 counters on it. If I destroy it and he sacs it in response to gain the life, is there anything that can be done about that? Like, can I put another ...
5
votes
2answers
712 views

If an effect would prevent a spell from doing damage, does it continue to prevent that damage after the spell changes zones?

Anthony casts Searing Blood, targeting Nathan's Elvish Mystic. Nathan casts and resolves Dromoka's Command, choosing to 1) prevent all damage that would be dealt by Searing Blood this turn and 2) put ...
5
votes
1answer
144 views

Snakeform and buff ineractions

This came up in a game. I controlled Prossh who has an ability that gives him +1/+0 whenever I sacrifice a creature. After I sacrified 6 creatures to Prossh's ability (+6/+0), my opponent cast ...
5
votes
1answer
995 views

Is your commander still a “commander” if it gets turned face down? [duplicate]

Does your commander still count as being your commander if it is turned face down? For example, I have my commander on the battlefield and my opponent plays Ixidron. Ixidron then turns my commander ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Do deathtouch and deathtouch-like effects stop trample damage?

My friend has a trample deck, and I have a Stinkweed Imp that says "Whenever Stinkweed Imp deals combat damage to a creature, destroy that creature." Can a creature destroyed this way still deal ...
5
votes
1answer
368 views

What are the characteristics of a flip card in my library?

Are the characteristics of a flip card in my library determined by both faces or just the front face? For example, can I use an Enlightened Tutor to fetch Sasaya, Orochi Ascendant? Enlightened Tutor ...
5
votes
3answers
3k views

Debt condition abuse?

The rules states that you cannot have two of the same conditions. You can take a debt condition to gain two additional successes on your influence test to gain assets from the reserve. Thus if you ...
5
votes
1answer
3k views

How long does mana from Burning-Tree Emissary stay around?

Does mana added to your pool from Burning-Tree Emissary get destroyed when the card that added it is destroyed?
5
votes
3answers
630 views

In bridge, are there some 13 point hands that should not be opened?

Suppose you have: (s) Jx (h)KQxx (d) KJxx (c) Kxx. That's 13 points, by the usual count. But I can think of at least two things wrong with it. First, there are no aces, meaning that the hand has ...
5
votes
2answers
18k views

In Sorry, can I be forced to move out of my “safe zone”?

For example, if I draw a 4 (move 4 spaces backward) and the only piece that could make the move is in my "safe zone", do I have to make the move?
5
votes
2answers
8k views

What is “Go” in cribbage?

I've played a fair bit of cribbage, but I've never heard of scoring one point for "Go" (as mentioned in this other question: Cribbage score going out). What is it, and what impact does it have on the ...
5
votes
2answers
3k views

In Axis and Allies, Should the U.S. Build a “Factory” in Brazil?

In Axis and Allies (original version), the basically maritime powers, the US and UK have a problem coming to grips with the land-based Axis. One solution is for them to buy industrial complexes in ...
4
votes
4answers
1k views

What game asks “who is most likely to…”?

There is a board game popular amongst students at my university back in the mid 90's that I am trying to identify. What I remember (or think I remember) about it is that there was a stack of cards ...
4
votes
1answer
404 views

Changing control of an attacking or blocking creature mid-combat

I've happened upon a new scenario I didn't realise was possible: I attack or block with Jackal Pup, and after blockers are declared, I use Zedruu the Greatheated or Bazaar Trader to give the Jackal ...
4
votes
2answers
150 views

can keepers kill creepers in same turn over and over again?

In Monty Python Fluxx, there are keepers that kill creepers. Can they be played and also kill in the same turn, or is it 1 turn to play them and 2nd turn to kill? Also, can they be used over and ...
4
votes
1answer
207 views

Navigator Role ability

If I am a Navigator and I decide to move my partner can I also assume an action through them also? For example if I move a partner 2 spaces beside a flooded tile can I shore up the piece for an action ...
4
votes
3answers
4k views

Are (un)tapped permanents still legal targets for “(un)tap target permanent” effects?

So I noticed that many cards with tap-effects ship with a clause specifying that they can only be used on untapped permanents, such as Earthcraft and Crackleburr. So here's my question: Doesn't ...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

How does the four card limit work?

I'm new to the game and trying to make my first constructed deck. My understanding of the card rule is I can only have four cards of one kind. What does this precisely mean? For instance, does this ...
4
votes
1answer
749 views

Pyxis of Pandemonium and 'enters the battlefield' abilities [duplicate]

My question about Pyxis of Pandemonium is: When all of the cards are finally turned face up, what determines the order in which their "when X enters the battlefield..." effects resolve?
4
votes
1answer
559 views

What happens when a creature enchanted with Soul Link would deal lethal damage to a player?

Player A has 3 life left. Player B attacks with a Dauthi Marauder that has been enchanted by Player A's Soul Link. Does player B win, or does nothing happen? On the one hand, "whenever" makes it ...
4
votes
1answer
621 views

Drawn through gate during an Arkham encounter

Two investigators were in the same location in Arkham. The first investigator drew an encounter 'A monster and gate appear!'. He resolved that encounter by fighting the monster and then getting drawn ...
4
votes
2answers
3k views

Can an Aura which was not cast be attached to a permanent with shroud?

If an Aura is placed on the battlefield using Genesis Wave or an ability like Sun Titan's, can it enchant a creature that has shroud (or an opponent-controlled creature with hexproof)? I'm looking at ...
4
votes
3answers
284 views

How can I tell what has changed in a Comprehensive Rules update?

As an example, the Comp Rules were updated February 1, 2012. I know that a reference to "Fateful Hour" was added to 207.2c since I know to search for fateful hour, but how do I know what else ...
3
votes
1answer
376 views

MTG: Sideboard if maindeck has more than 60 cards

I did some calculation and found out, that my Living End deck (modern) might be better of with 66 cards maindeck. SB still contains of 15 cards. Depending on the match up, I'd like to cut my deck for ...
3
votes
3answers
2k views

Can older cards that refer to a player/opponent ever be used on planeswalkers?

Many older cards refer to players or opponents, e.g. "deal 3 damage to target player". Can any of these be used on planeswalkers, beyond the fact that you can simply attack them with creatures? For ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

What does X mean in a spell's cost?

What does the X in a spell's cost do? For example, Strength of the Tajuru has X in its cost. What do I need to do in order to cast that spell, and what happens with the X when it resolves? Note: If ...
3
votes
1answer
685 views

Returning permanents from my graveyard

If i have a sorcery or instant or creature ability that allows me to return target permanent to its owners hand, can I use that ability or spell to return permanents from my graveyard
3
votes
3answers
2k views

How does priority work in these cases?

I understand the ruling that when a Planeswalker resolves the player controlling the walker can activate its ability without their opponent getting priority in between. Are there any other rules ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

How does metalcraft work in Two-Headed-Giant?

I'm playing Two-Headed-Giant and have a creature with metalcraft. I control 1 artifact and my teammate controls 2. Does my creature's metalcraft ability 'trigger'? I know metalcraft says "if you ...
3
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a creature's sacrifice benefit be taken when it is sacrificed to Eldrazi Monument?

I asked a general question about double sacrifice bonus, but thought it better to ask a specific question. If a creature has a "Sacrifice this creature for X" ability, can you sacrifice it for that ...
3
votes
3answers
877 views

In Axis and Allies, Can Heavy Bombers Be “Tamed”?

Most players of Axis and Allies understand intuitively that the original heavy bombers tech "unbalances" the game by being disproportionately good. My own research confirms this by valuing the two ...
3
votes
4answers
2k views

Can We Find a Middle Ground on the Russia First Turn Attack Rule In Allies and Axis?

Some (mainly Axis) players refuse to play Axis and Allies if Russia is allowed to attack on the first turn. Other (mainly Russian) players argue that Russia is unfairly hobbled if it has to play ...
2
votes
3answers
1k views

What pauper cards are legal in MTGO but not paper?

I am trying to collect most cards relevant to pauper. All cards that have ever been printed at the common level on paper are legal for pauper, except for 8 cards on the pauper the ban list. Because ...
2
votes
1answer
216 views

Par-zero deal with many points for N/S [closed]

This question is about the card game bridge : How many points can N/S have in a par-zero deal ? (Only consider the high card points) In a par-zero deal, no player can make any contract assuming ...
2
votes
3answers
935 views

Who draws a card if my opponent has stolen control of Pelakka Wurm when it dies?

If an opponent casts Act of Treason to gain control of Pelakka Wurm then sacrifices it who will draw the card?
2
votes
1answer
4k views

What happens to cards cast from exile?

There are a few cards that allow you to exile cards and then cast them later (Narset, Enlightened Master for example). After a spell cast this way resolves, does it go back into exile, or does it ...
2
votes
1answer
527 views

Does a heroic trigger still resolve if the heroic creature is gone?

Having read When does Heroic trigger? I think the answer is yes, but I'd just like to double check: I have Akroan Crusader and I cast Nyxborn Rollicker for its bestow cost so my stack looks like ...
2
votes
1answer
5k views

Do cards with abilities that target trigger heroic?

Would something like Satyr Grovedancer or something that has "When ~ enters the battlefield, put a +1/+1 counter on target creature" trigger Heroic? It has the keyword target, but does it count as an ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Sorry! Move past safety zone or forfeit turn?

In Sorry, if you are 7 spaces away from your Home and you draw a 12 (and your other pawns are in Start or Home), do you have to move past your safety zone like you're going around the board a second ...
2
votes
1answer
325 views

When do static bonuses go away relative to damage dealt?

I use Radiant Archangel in a deck full of flying creatures. It is a 3/3 flyer with +1/+1 for each other flying creature in play. During a game, I had seven other flying creatures, making it a 10/10. ...
2
votes
4answers
1k views

Are Basic Lands (Mana) Block/Set Agnostic? [duplicate]

What is the point in Wizard creating RtR Forests and M13 Forests, for example? It seems like it would be a lot more efficient and cost effective to everyone involved if these basic land types were ...
2
votes
2answers
521 views

Are there “established” systems where “Five Card Majors” isn't a strict rule?

In "Standard American," I must open a major with 65432 while refraining from opening a major with AKQJ. IMHO, there are five card majors that are too weak to be opened and there four card majors that ...
1
vote
1answer
50 views

Can a “crippled” aircraft carrier launch airplanes in Midway?

In Midway, a large aircraft carrier (all of the Americans and two of the Japanese) can take five hits. If a ship has received one less hit than the critical number (four in this case), it is deemed ...
1
vote
1answer
581 views

When a permanent has a “When a creature dies” ability, and gets destroyed at the same time as creatures, does that ability trigger? [duplicate]

Say I control Fecundity, which states: Whenever a creature dies, that creature's controller may draw a card. If I control 2 creatures and my opponent controls one creature, and I cast Planar ...
1
vote
2answers
3k views

When a spell targeting a creature with heroic gets countered, does heroic still trigger?

Tethmos High Priest has the heroic ability: Whenever you cast a spell that targets Tethmos, return target creature card with converted mana cost 2 or less from graveyard to battlefield. Suppose ...
1
vote
1answer
333 views

What happens when more than one creature dies causing a trigger

Overseer of the Damned is a creature with the ability "Whenever a nontoken creature an opponent controls dies, put a 2/2 black Zombie creature token onto the battlefield tapped" Now, lets say 3 of my ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

Cards changing mana color

What cards across all sets allow the utilization of mana, either colorless or otherwise, as colored mana of another color? One early example with an unlimited 1:1 ratio: Sunglasses of Urza ...

15 30 50 per page