1
vote
2answers
94 views

How do Opalescence and Humility interact?

How exactly do Opalescence and Humility interact with each other?
0
votes
0answers
7 views

Can jihadists plot in more than one location for a single operation in Labyrinth: War on Terror?

In rules section 8.5 Plot, this rule is stated: 8.5.1. A Plot operation may target any country (including IRAN) not under Islamist Rule. At least one cell must be present in each target country ...
3
votes
1answer
67 views

What is 5/5/2 variant of the Machi Koro?

Can someone explain this variant in details? Do we need the expansions for this variant to work? Or is it also applicable to the base game?
7
votes
2answers
98 views

Swap Plays For Draws and Play X with fewer than X cards on hand

Lets say the rules are Draw 1 / Play 4, and the Swap Plays For Draws promotional rule card is in play: My turn begins and I have zero cards in my hand. So I draw one card. If I now want to make ...
3
votes
1answer
58 views

King of Tokyo: Background Dweller

Background Dweller states the following: You can always reroll any [3] you have. Can you reroll the 3's only after you are done rerolling or also inbetween?
3
votes
1answer
136 views

King of Tokyo: Poison Spit

Poison Spit states the following: When you deal damage to monsters give them a poison counter. Monsters take 1 damage for each poison counter they have at the end of their turn. You can get rid ...
2
votes
1answer
140 views

King of Tokyo: Omnivore

Omnivore states the following: Once each turn you can score [1][2][3] for 2[Star]. You can use these dice in other combinations. Does this only trigger when you are finished rerolling or at any ...
0
votes
2answers
39 views

If you are fourth seat after a third seat raise, can you make a takeout double with “intermediate” values?

If first seat opens, and you are in the second seat, you need opening values in order to make a take out double (that is 13-14 hcps, maybe 12 with 4-4-4-1 or 5-4-4-0 distribution, while short in ...
1
vote
2answers
217 views

Does Doubling Cube's ability affect the mana used to activate it?

Rules Question: When Doubling Cube doubles mana, does that include the mana used to activate the ability?
2
votes
1answer
74 views

Should “100 or 150 honors” allow you to open light?

By "light," mean with something like (s) AKQJx (h)Jxx (d)xxx (c)xx, or (s) KQJTx (h)Jxx (d)Axx (c)xx, or even (s) AKQJT (h)xxx (d)xxx (c)xx? I can think of two reasons. 1) I was taught that three or ...
2
votes
2answers
108 views

How to play Werewolf/Mafia with exactly 6 players?

Wikipedia claims that werewolf/mafia requires "At least 6 people" but all calculations for that I can figure out results in the "evil" side winning the vast majority of the time. I would like to play ...
2
votes
3answers
64 views

Proper Opening Moves

What are the most common opening move for 6,2 and 6,3? It seems the logical move is to take a runner and move 8 or 9 pips. However, after playing a lot lately online I notice people also like to ...
0
votes
0answers
14 views

Lords & Ladies: Gossip Card Timing and Servant Actions

How does the timing work when playing gossip cards on servants with actions? More specifically, I targeted a cook with Forbidden Love which was immediately confirmed by another player. In reaction, ...
5
votes
1answer
106 views

Clarification of Pillbug movement rule in Hive

The fourth exception on Page 3 of the rulebook for the pillbug states: The Pillbug may not move a piece through a too-narrow gap of stacked pieces (violating the Freedom to Move Rule). What ...
1
vote
1answer
64 views

How many times can you use hero ability?

For hero abilities bought with XP is there a limit to how many times they can be used? For example can Diala use her Force Adept: 1 strain: Use while you or a friendly figure is performing and attack ...
0
votes
1answer
31 views

When can Wookie Loyalty be applied?

Wookiee Loyalty: Exhaust this card while you or an adjacent friendly figure is defending to apply +1 Block to the defense results. An issue came up with in our recent game about the timing of using ...
4
votes
1answer
77 views

What tokens are endless despite having a limited supply?

What tokens should be treated as unlimited in supply despite having a limited number in the game box, i.e. focus tokens, travel tickets, and the like? Naturally it makes the game 'harder' for the ...
2
votes
2answers
177 views

Help me identify this card playing board game.

Hello all you card game aficionados! Back in the day, my Mom & Dad played a card game that used this game board (see image). I do not remember the name, OR, how to play. I don't really need the ...
2
votes
1answer
84 views

Adding zombies, what order

It's stated in the rules that you add from 1 to 6 sequentially, but what I find unclear is if it is per turn or always. Example (reduced to 3 entrances for simplicity) z = zombie, - empty Round 1 ...
3
votes
2answers
87 views

In King of Tokyo, which turns does Monster Batteries' effect happen on?

Monster Batteries states the following: When you purchase this put as many [Energy] as you want on it from your reserve. Match this from the bank. At the start of each turn take 2[Energy] off and ...
5
votes
1answer
39 views

Does passing a horror or strength test mean 1 success or enough to avoid losing sanity or health?

Some monsters say if you fail the horror check, then there are consequences. Do these consequences occur if you get zero will test successes or if you take even 1 point of sanity damage? Ie if a ...
7
votes
2answers
106 views

Zombicide: Why do zombies split?

In the various Zombicide games, if zombies can take two or more valid paths, they split. E.g. if there are 8 walkers in one square, and they can go one of 2 ways, you get 8 walkers go one way and ...
3
votes
4answers
646 views

Animated Planeswalkers

Say I have a Liliana of the Veil that is also a 3/3 creature (possibly via Enchanted Evening and Opalescence). My opponent attacks Lilly with a 4/4 lifelink, trample and I decide to block with Lilly. ...
2
votes
2answers
122 views

Maze Game - Late 70's / Early 80's - Battleship-esk - What's it name?

I am looking for the name of a Late 70's / early 80's board game. The basic design was based on Battle Ship. Each of the two players had a clam shell case where they built their own maze at the ...
0
votes
0answers
65 views

Multiple triggers with “Plunge into darkness” or only once? [duplicate]

I am still not sure about the following - hoping you can give me final certainty: Do cards such as "Renounce" or "Plunge into Darkness" cause Karlov of the Ghost Council to get two +1/+1 counters ...
3
votes
1answer
207 views

How does Elemental Resonance convert a Mana Cost to a Mana Source?

With the new updates to how mana is shown and displayed, someone pointed out to me that Elemental Resonance effectively converts the generic mana in its target's casting cost to colourless mana. ...
12
votes
1answer
121 views

How can you get around the lack of early stone in two-player Agricola?

In two-player Agricola, the first Take Stone action space appears in Rounds 5-7. Apart from one or two Minor Improvements, there is no way to get stone earlier than this. Having played quite a few ...
5
votes
1answer
206 views

When does an opponent make the decision to pay extra mana in response to a spell?

I have a rules question. Let's say I have 2 Judge's Familiar's in play and an opponent casts Lightning Bolt on another one of my creatures. In response, I sac one of the Judges to counter the spell. ...
3
votes
1answer
44 views

Locking Assigned Dice During Resolution Phase in Elder Sign

I came across a situation when attempting a mystery that had a terror effect that spawned a monster. The player had completed one of the tasks using the yellow die. On the next roll, the terror ...
7
votes
1answer
508 views

Playing lands with Ugin's ultimate

With Ugin, the Spirit Dragon's third ability, it says "Gain seven life, draw 7 cards, and place up to 7 permanents from your hand to the battlefield." Does this include land because land is a ...
6
votes
1answer
266 views

Does a -1/-1 effect from a static ability cause a creature to die before it can do anything, upon entering the battlefield?

My friend has played Engineered Plague, naming Elf. Is the Elvish Hexhunter of any use here? Imagine it has haste via Concordant Crossroads.
5
votes
1answer
78 views

Chit assignment in Catan: Seafarers, Scenario 8: The Wonders of Catan?

In Seafarers, Scenario 8: The Wonders of Catan, each player gets a single Catan chit to start with. Is that chit just meant to count as a victory point or it supposed to be used to indicate the level ...
23
votes
1answer
4k views

What's the deal with the new Wastes land and the diamond symbol on it?

One of the cards revealed for Oath of the Gatewatch is the basic land Wastes with a new diamond symbol instead of one of the existing mana symbols. We also saw Kozilek, the Great Distortion, which has ...
1
vote
1answer
47 views

Cribbage and scoring 31 plus go

Recognizing that I am arguing against pretty clear rules, but my buddy and I got in an argument regarding the logic behind only getting two pegs/points (Vs. 3) when you get a "go" from your partner ...
3
votes
1answer
111 views

Karlov of the Ghost Council and multiple counters

when I have Karlov of the Ghost Council and Righteous Cause on the battlefield and I attack with three creatures, does Karlos get six +1/+1 counters or only two counters since the creatures attack ...
0
votes
2answers
106 views

Teysa, Orzhov Scion sacrificing one creature multiple times to exhile

I have a rules question for you all. I run Teysa, Orzhov Scion and many black/white creatures in my decks, and I'm wondering if I can sacrifice a black/white creature for her exile ability, and then ...
3
votes
1answer
49 views

Does attacking zero strength units (eg. routed units, siege engines) require a full combat resolution?

Say I march into a territory that has either some routed units, or a siege engine (both having zero combat strength). Does this start a full combat resolution- ie calling for support, playing house ...
4
votes
1answer
218 views

Will Karlov get multiple +1/+1 counters with Soul Warden when multiple tokens are created simultaneously?

When I have Karlov of the Ghost Council and Soul Warden on the battlefield and I cast something like Lingering Souls, does Karlov get two +1/+1 counters twice since two spirits enter the battlefield ...
2
votes
1answer
103 views

Good Risk strategy suggestion? [closed]

I'm looking for good Risk strategy suggestions. I tried a couple of things like conquering smaller and easier continents, going for territories which I have a card for but none of this yielded awesome ...
0
votes
0answers
36 views

Guillotine: Swapping hands and drawing cards - evil move!

My question is about the game Guillotine, and has two (somewhat related) parts: 1a) If you forget to draw an action card at the end of your turn, can you do so after the next person has started ...
2
votes
0answers
135 views

Trying to figure out name of the game below

If anyone could help I would love to find the name of this game. As you stack the blocked the sides on the block below rotate and they change color (see the stickers) and there are four "bases" or ...
9
votes
1answer
264 views

Medic at a city with cured disease

Say Medic got to Paris with 3 blue cubes but didn't have enough action to remove cubes, and a next player cures blue. Do we get to remove those blue cubes from Paris right away or do we wait till ...
2
votes
1answer
98 views

Can I activate abilities in response to spells?

If my opponent plays Kill! Destroy! on my Caldera Kavu, can I activate its ability to turn it black?
6
votes
2answers
76 views

Can I gain a random Ally card from the reserve if the deck and discard do not have one?

When instructed to gain a random Ally card, if the asset deck and discard do not have any ally cards (and the reserve has 1), can I take the Ally from the reserve? The rulings of interest are from ...
4
votes
1answer
147 views

Pandemic chain reactions

During the infect cities step, if an outbreak occurs and causes a chain reaction, then another city card is pulled which was involed in the chain reaction, does the chain reaction occur a second time? ...
2
votes
2answers
78 views

What is the origin of the term “Alpha Strike” in board gaming?

I've head the term Alpha Strike used frequently, usually to refer to a single massive attack or a single round of heavy attacks, and I'm wondering where the term originated in board gaming and its ...
0
votes
2answers
110 views

What triggers/resolves first, an effect from a creature dying or an effect from a creature going into the graveyard?

I'm trying to use Verdant Succession with only one copy of Worldspine Wurm in my deck. Need I say more? EDIT: Nevermind, lol, I'll just "say more." Worldspine Wurm automatically goes back in the ...
7
votes
2answers
253 views

Can a creature sacrifice itself?

Say I have Quagmire Druid as my only Creature. My opponent has Curse of the Bloody Tome. Can I use Quagmire Druid to destroy Curse of the Bloody Tome, sacrificing itself?
4
votes
1answer
1k views

What does “removed from the game” mean?

I've seen some cards that say "remove from the game". For example, an old version of Swords to Plowshares says "remove target creature from the game." What does that mean? Is it different from ...
6
votes
1answer
826 views

What's the difference between Pandemic Legacy Red and Blue?

So, basically what the title says. Is there any difference at all in the contents of the boxes or anything else? (without spoilers!) Maybe it'll make a difference in "Season 2"? (it does say "Season ...

15 30 50 per page