0
votes
1answer
47 views

Can I use the Shining Trapezohedron against Epic Monsters to attempt to move them?

The trapezohedron allows the investigator to discard the chosen monster on a roll of 5 or 6. Since discarding Epic Monsters is disallowed, would a 5 or 6 result in no action while a roll of 1-4 result ...
5
votes
1answer
72 views

Forester and Copse in Agricola

Looking at some links that show statistics of the most used occupations and minor improvements from winning players, I've noticed that the Forester and Copse do not rank nearly as high as I thought ...
2
votes
2answers
122 views

Do you have to give others a chance to say “Uno”? [duplicate]

I have a friend "J" who will say uno when you say uno to make you draw the the penalty. Does he have to give you a chance to say uno?
3
votes
3answers
215 views

Can Boss Monster work with 5+ players?

The Boss Monster game is specific in that it says only 2-4 players can play the game, but from reading all the rules, and the fact that there are more than 4 monsters, I don't understand why it cannot ...
4
votes
4answers
147 views

Bridge and bidding

If I have an opening strength hand and my best suit is the same major as the opening opposition's suit bid, I don't think I can cue bid in this event. How can I tell my partner that we want to play in ...
1
vote
0answers
25 views

Command cards (Star Trek Catan) for vanilla Catan? [duplicate]

I played Star Trek Catan for the first time last night and really enjoyed what the command cards (Sulu, Kirk, Spock) added to the game. I would like to purchase a deck of command cards themed to ...
4
votes
1answer
113 views

Could i run a stormcast eternals body with a head from a space wolf?

I was wondering if I could use a stormcast eternals body but use a space wolves head and run him as a terminator? I got some stormcasts from a small local tournament and I run space wolf army so I was ...
1
vote
1answer
87 views

Question about April

For example the Funded Event card Remote Treatment, which allows removal of 2 cubes from anywhere on the board,
0
votes
0answers
71 views

If Kokusho is my command and dies, does his ability still trigger? [duplicate]

Okay, so I am intending on using Kokusho, the Evening Star as my commander. When Kokusho dies, each opponent loses 5 life. In normal combat, Kokusho fights a larger creature and dies. Does the ability ...
1
vote
1answer
30 views

Mage Wars Academy - zone spells : do they attack mages?

The spell Voltaic Discharge is said in the rules to target every creatures in the play area, including your own. That being said, and including the mages as creature, it seems right that it affects ...
0
votes
0answers
29 views

Can two races form one large army? [duplicate]

I wanted two know if I could make one army with Tau and Space wolves? I don't mean like one being an ally, I was thinking more along the lines of say them both have an equal force in the army.
8
votes
3answers
629 views

Mercurial Pretender and Typhoid Rats interaction

Player A has Mercurial Pretender on the board (copied a 4/4 creature) Player B attacks with Typhoid Rats Player A blocks Typhoid Rats with Mercurial Pretender Player A then pays 4 mana to "Return ...
1
vote
1answer
39 views

Unexploded Cows placing into another player's herd

So the rules state that you can place on another player's herd and that it must be placed on either end of the herd. However it doesn't not state who decides which end it goes on. The person playing ...
4
votes
2answers
208 views

Does “creature with flying” count creatures that gained flying from an enchantment?

Clip Wings says you have to sacrifice a creature with flying. Assume the opponent has a non-flying creature (Rancid Rats for example) enchanted with Gryff's Boon (creature gains flying). Will Clip ...
1
vote
1answer
101 views

Do creatures with summoning sickness count as tapped? [duplicate]

My friend played Sheer Drop (Destroy target tapped creature) and targeted a creature of mine with summoning sickness. Is a creature with summoning sickness considered tapped?
1
vote
1answer
22 views

Do riders have to move at least the amount of their base movement?

Do riders (that aren't part of the peloton obviously) have to move at least the amount of their base movement, or can they opt not to move, or to move less than their base movement? This is an edge ...
0
votes
1answer
80 views

Does sister Mary pass with rolls of 3-6 when Blessed and 5-6 when Cursed?

The faq says Sister Mary and each other investigator on her space adds 1 to the result of each die rolled as part of an effect printed on a Condition card that has the BANE or BOON trait. This ...
1
vote
1answer
42 views

Can you play Big Two with multiple decks for more than 4 players?

We have 5-7 players, which is too much for one normal game and not enough for two. We could just deal less cards per player, but it would reduce the strategy involved. Are there any variants for using ...
2
votes
1answer
169 views

Can you attack any creature of your opponents with flying if he can't block it

Let's say you have a flying creature and your opponent has nothing with flying or reach. Could you attack any one of his creatures you choose?
0
votes
1answer
33 views

Can investigators easily avoid being stuck in the Bent Pyramid and avoid the Sanity loss from Nephre-Ka's reckoning?

This is a multi-faceted question and revolves around Nephren-Ka's reckoning which says Each investigator may move 1 space toward the Bent Pyramid. Then each investigator that did not move loses 1 ...
1
vote
1answer
86 views

How do pump spells interact with damage at end of turn? [duplicate]

My friends recently got into a heated argument over a rules interaction. One player had a 2/2 creature, and responded to the opponent's Lightning Bolt targeting it with a Mutagenic Growth. The player ...
5
votes
1answer
146 views

Getting started (Advanced) with Magic: The Gathering, and where to play

I am a recent college grad without many friends who play MTG, but I am interested in starting to play again. I am familiar with most of the rules, including things like turn phases and the stack. I ...
5
votes
3answers
193 views

Is either player at a disadvantage when cards “arent' shuffled well enough”?

Perhaps I should be asking this on one of the math sites rather than here, but I reckon cardplayers would know: when my wife and I play Skip-Bo and things aren't going her way, she claims that I "didn'...
3
votes
1answer
104 views

Shuffle destination cards in Ticket to Ride

I'm considering a house rule where discarded Destination cards are always shuffled into the deck instead of returned to the bottom. The pros and cons seem balanced to me: Pros :- We may need the ...
1
vote
1answer
52 views

What can be made a free action?

I just got my first model for X-Wing Minis (an E-Wing) and received a card in the box called "Advanced Sensors". It's a 3-point card granting "...1 free action..." "Immediately before you reveal your ...
5
votes
1answer
102 views

What are some basic strategies for Labyrinth?

My comp sci class currently is on the topic of AIs and we're tasked to write an AI for Labyrinth (the Ravensburger game) and have them play each other to see who wrote the best AI. As someone who's ...
11
votes
3answers
202 views

When casting a spell, how can a mana ability be paid with another mana ability?

A situation was presented with Skyshroud Elf and Ashnod's Altar: apparently, you could generate WW or RR by: Activate the Elf's filter ability ({1}: Add {R} or {W}) Activate the Elf's filter ability ...
3
votes
2answers
180 views

How much does Vryn Wingmare increase the cost of my Bring to Light by?

Say my opponent has a Vryn Wingmare on the battlefield. When I cast Bring to Light: Do I pay 1 extra for the Bring to Light? Do I pay 1 extra for the (noncreature) spell I find? Both? If #2 ...
4
votes
2answers
920 views

Why can't I play a card for its alternative cost after searching for it with Bring to Light?

According to the card rulings on Gatherer, I can't, say, fetch Reveillark from my deck with Bring to Light, and then cast it for its Evoke cost instead (which is what I was hoping to do). While this ...
6
votes
1answer
46 views

Can I go for both Tichu types in one round?

The rules seem to imply that people cannot call two or more tichus of the same kind. Doing this would also take the fun out of the game, as the first player to have a strong hand simply calls for ...
11
votes
2answers
270 views

Why is Royal Flush ever listed separately from Straight Flush?

Many sources (including here, here, here, and here) explicitly list Royal Flush as the highest poker hand. This seems unnecessary - it's the highest hand anyway as the highest Straight Flush. When ...
8
votes
1answer
178 views

Two Headed Giant - do I gain life when my teammate gains life?

I'm playing Two-Headed Giant. I have Ajani's Pridemate, which has "Whenever you gain life...". My teammate plays a card, that makes him gain life. As we share our life total, my life is also updated. ...
3
votes
4answers
301 views

Munchkin with 7-12 players

I am wondering on what modifications could we make to Munchkin for a better overall gameplay when adapting it to be played with 7-12 players. I am currently worried with the following issues: ...
3
votes
1answer
70 views

Psi 0, 1, or 2 games - are credits from thin air or player's pool?

Psychic Field mentions spending credits. Are both players actually spending these credits from their credit pool, or are these imaginary credits? If a runner has 0 credits, this is basically a ...
5
votes
2answers
99 views

Companions lost on death in same room as other explorers

I understand the general ruling on companions lost on death. Essentially it says "whomever enters the room first gains custody of the companion". However, this doesn't quite make sense for the ...
0
votes
1answer
81 views

Android: Netrunner judge program

Does Android: Netrunner have anything similar to Magic the Gathering's judge program?
1
vote
1answer
34 views

Twilight Imperium 2 Planetary Defence Units per planet question

So I was reading the rules for PDS units using the Deep Space Cannon technology and I want to be positive I understand it correctly. So if an enemy faction puts a control marker down and moves ships ...
1
vote
0answers
17 views

What counts as an interior square in the Witch House tile?

The rules for Cthulhu!!! Hastur La Vista Baby! cover named buildings: If the tile is any other “named building” (e.g. the “Pharmacy” or “Burial Hill”), place one cultist in each interior square (...
5
votes
2answers
138 views

Texas Holdem All-In Question

This is regarding a texas holdem no limit home game. After the flop, player 1 and player 2 are the only remaining who bet. After the turn of the river card, player 1 goes all in. Player 2 decides to ...
7
votes
2answers
121 views

Spells and Items during combat

It is quite clear that an investigator can only use one item that gives the highest bonus in combat, even if they have multiple items (i.e. Multiple weapons) However, what about spells such as ...
4
votes
1answer
132 views

Does Gleam of Authority care if a creature gains extra counters?

The rules text on Gleam of Authority is as follows: Enchant creature Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 for each +1/+1 counter on other creatures you control. Enchanted creature has vigilance ...
2
votes
1answer
78 views

When referring to “every location” in Dead of Winter does this include the colony?

When a crossroad card says that something happens at every location does that include the colony? Does the colony by itself count as one location or do each of the numbered entrances count as a ...
1
vote
0answers
45 views

Can you deal commander damage with any players commander? [duplicate]

If I gain control of another players commander, does it still deal commander damage or does that only work with your own commander?
3
votes
1answer
151 views

What happens when destroying something that gives flash to a spell on the stack?

Say Player 1 has something like Shimmer Myr that reads: You may cast artifact cards as though they had flash. Then when that player tries to cast an artifact as an instant, Player 2 places ...
2
votes
3answers
115 views

Help with the rules of checkmate

I am playing white and it is my turn. I am currently in check. Can I capture the pawn in front of my king to escape the check, placing his king in checkmate? Or is it illegal and therefore I lose?
3
votes
1answer
130 views

Anger of the Gods and totem armor

When my friend has totem armor on a creature and I use Anger of the Gods, what happens? They are both replacement effects but which is applied first?
4
votes
3answers
248 views

Does Reduce to Ashes Kill indestructible creatures?

When I first read Reduce to Ashes: Reduce to Ashes deals 5 damage to target creature. If that creature would die this turn, exile it instead. I thought "ok, a way to deal with indestructible", ...
4
votes
1answer
156 views

Deathtouch/Monstrosity Interaction

Alice has a Wildfire Cerberus and a Bow of Nylea, and Bob has a tapped 3/3 Beast token. Alice attacks with the Cerberus, and activates its Monstrosity. In response, Bob targets the Cerberus with ...
0
votes
0answers
41 views

For Sister Grimm's Super Power, where does the plot twist go if you can't play it?

The Sister Grimm supporting character's Super Power reads: {C} Any Combat {Y}: Search your deck for an {C} Combat plot twist with a different name from each plot twist in your KO pile and play it ...
12
votes
4answers
594 views

When should I play my land for my turn?

Does it really matter when I play my land for my turn? Some people get extremely annoyed/agitated when I play a land before spells and I don't actually need the land right away for casting my spells. ...

15 30 50 per page