0
votes
1answer
33 views

Can the Beast attack from a distance?

The rules state the Beast can move 5 spaces on a turn, but can attack the Agent only if it shares the same space that turn I believe this means that the beast can only attack the Agent it ...
0
votes
0answers
15 views

In Arkham Horror, do I have to perform the upkeep action for the Blessing card during the fight with the Ancient One? [duplicate]

This question is an added question to here. I thought I'd post it as a separate question. From the rulebook I see At the beginning of a round of combat with an Ancient One, the investigators may ...
1
vote
2answers
39 views

Euchre played by a group of 3 people

I have played Euchre for years. Often a group of us finds ourselves one player short of the required 4. We then usually joke that we should play Canadian Euchre, which apparently allows rules for ...
0
votes
1answer
39 views

Bet process when 2 players and Big blind is all in on the Pre-Flop

as I understand when 2 players playing no Limit Hold-em dealerButton is smallBlind bigBlind goes All-In at the preflop. smallBlind opens the game and he CALL. how does the game move forward? (does ...
5
votes
1answer
188 views

Should a judge assume that any triggers not mentioned have been missed when providing a ruling?

Alice and Nathan are playing a friendly game of magic in a tournament run at Competitive REL. They run into a situation that they don't quite understand, and so they call for a judge. Jason arrives, ...
7
votes
1answer
114 views

Does “return” from graveyard to Zone X require a card to have been in Zone X?

When an ability says, return X from Zone A to Zone B, can the ability only be used if X was in Zone B previously? In particular, consider the Reassembling Skeleton's ability text: {1}{B}: Return ...
1
vote
1answer
33 views

In Arkham Horror, what card is shown on the bottom right of the board display of the rulebook?

The rulebook here shows a board layout on page 4. At the right side are the various investigator items (common and unique items, skills, spells, allies, etc). There are 11 cards stacked there. What ...
3
votes
2answers
270 views

Can I play countered sorcery speed spells with Guile?

During an opponent's turn, I had Guile and used Rethink to counter a permanent spell (in my case, it was a Deathbringer Thoctar). Guile's second ability states "if a spell or ability you control ...
3
votes
0answers
40 views

Can I add Ogre mercenaries to any army in Warhammer fantasy?

In the fluff, Ogres are generally employed as mercenaries, as opposed to an army in their own right. Can I do the same in the tabletop version? And if so, does it matter which army? Could both the ...
0
votes
1answer
82 views

Has Hive already been completely 'solved' for AI?

According to some calculations, Hive has not too many positions to check them all out through programming, and basically make the best possible AI for it. Has it been done yet?
4
votes
1answer
47 views

In Arkham Horror, do you ignore counting items that can't be lost or stolen when going insane or unconscious?

The Arkham Horror errata says on page 6: Q: Some Items state that they cannot be lost or stolen unless you choose to allow it. When does this ability come into play? A: It would come into ...
4
votes
1answer
273 views

Who gets to “search target player's graveyard, hand, and library?”

When a spell says, Search target player's graveyard, hand, and library for X, as is the case with Memoricide and Surgical Extraction, does that mean the casting player gets to look? (Thereby being ...
0
votes
1answer
26 views

Stalingrad Pocket 2nd ed Air Power Barrage Shift

According to rule 1.10g Divisional Integrity Artillery Bonus: "Artillery which does not have a friendly unit adjacent to the intended target ... will receive a (leftward) shift on the Barrage ...
6
votes
1answer
164 views

Is this box an official MTG product? Who are the featured characters?

I got this box years ago from a (then) friend together with their collection of cards (many from 5th edition up to Urza's Saga). It is a flip-top box with a warrior on the top (pictured), the sides ...
2
votes
2answers
84 views

Additional/Made up roles in Resistance or Resistance avalon

My friends and I have started making up new roles for resistance when we get tired of using the basics like Merlin, Percival Mordred, Morgana and Oberon. I know Mordred can hide from Merlin, Merlin ...
1
vote
1answer
43 views

Where do trashed Travellers go?

In Dominion Adventures, when you trash one of the Traveller cards, where does that Traveller go? The rules seems to imply the Trash pile. However, since there are only 5 of each pile, I was ...
2
votes
1answer
27 views

In Arkham Horror, are Ally cards treated specially in setup?

The rules say this in setup: The players shuffle the Common Item, Unique Item, Spell, and Skill decks, then return them face down to their places next to the board. Whenever players draw cards, ...
1
vote
1answer
42 views

How prepared will I be to play Arkham Horror after reading just the Rulebook?

I noticed the faq files for Arkham Horror are very large and are partially incorporated into the revised printing, but will I simply be doing some things outright wrong unless I review the faq first? ...
5
votes
2answers
836 views

If I copy a spell, do I need to pay the costs again? Will copying a spell trigger Prowess?

If I cast Howl of the Horde and then cast a Collateral Damage, do I need to sacrifice a creature for each new copy of Collateral Damage? Does each new copy trigger Prowess?
0
votes
2answers
53 views

In a&a 1942 2nd edition is it necesarry to build an industrial complex in order to mobilize units?

Like if the soviet union does not build a complex that means it cant mobilize units anywhere? I dont see any complexes printed on the board itself to start the game off, does that mean i have to buy ...
3
votes
2answers
35 views

In Arkham Horror, does the first player look at the drawn monster before deciding how to place it?

What is the accepted procedure for drawing monsters? If I need to draw 8 monsters for 3 gates, it's easy to determine which two will get the extra monster, but do I draw them one by one, looking at ...
1
vote
1answer
26 views

In Arkham Horror, should the newly placed monsters or the final count of monsters be evenly distributed?

The rules state: When placing monsters, they should be divided as evenly as possible among the open gates, with no gate having more monsters placed on it than the gate where the monster surge ...
1
vote
2answers
148 views

Dividing up Hexagonal Board Tiles

So I'm designing a board game that uses a number of adjacent hexagonal boards. These boards need to be divided up into spaces (tiles) that players move through. I've been playing with using Hexagons ...
1
vote
1answer
74 views

How to balance Dixit?

The rules of Dixit that the game ends when the deck runs out (leaving players with full hands at the end). Every time I have played, the players have commented that this means that some players have ...
6
votes
4answers
1k views

Do morph cards suffer summoning sickness [duplicate]

When you have the card face down then you morph the card to face up, does it suffer summoning sickness? My friend has lots of them in his deck and I'm not too sure and would like to know whether they ...
1
vote
1answer
40 views

Why am I seeing the same 3 Spider Solitaire games today that I saw 2 days ago [closed]

For the third time in 5 or 6 games today and yesterday I am seeing the same Spider Solitaire layout that I saw two days go. These three games all had very unique patterns, and took a large number of ...
5
votes
1answer
124 views

Can I use Settlers of Catan (older edition) with Catan: Explorers and Pirates (2015 ed.)?

I have an older version of The Settlers of Catan (part number 483), and an older version of The Cities and Knights of Catan (part number 494), which were purchased sometime around the late 1990s. I ...
1
vote
1answer
20 views

In Elder Sign, can I use Jenny Barnes' ability to discard a spell when the mythos lingering effect bars investigators from using spells?

Can I use Jenny's ability to discard a spell to gain the dice, because discarding is not the same as 'using' a spell?
0
votes
1answer
16 views

Islands as Coastal Spaces

Do Islands count as Coastal spaces? One specific effect in the game makes reference to coastal spaces, which do not appear to have a clear definition or specific terrain icon. Do islands count for ...
0
votes
1answer
21 views

Fabulous Wealth as Sultan

Does being Sultan bypass the special requirements for being Fabulously Wealthy? When gaining the Sultan status, a player automatically moves their wealth counter directly to fabulous (the highest ...
2
votes
1answer
31 views

Accessing Tale 2,600

Is there a way to access passage 2,600 in The Book of Tales through normal play? Passage 2,600 in The Book of Tales appears to be a humorous easter egg referencing the fact that it is the last ...
0
votes
0answers
6 views

Skills as a Victory Tie-Breaker

How are skills counted for the victory condition? The first tie-breaker for winning the game is the number of statuses each contested player possesses, followed second by how many skills they ...
1
vote
1answer
33 views

Returning to Origin city when Married

Do you need to end your turn in the city with your origin marker in order to satisfy the condition on the Married status? The status Married says, in part: After you have an encounter in another ...
4
votes
2answers
85 views

Who is the male investigator on the cover of Arkham Horror, Elder Sign, and Eldritch Horror?

The 30- or 40-something dark-haired male on the cover of these games appears to be the same character, but it's not clear to me which. Is it one of the in-game characters?
2
votes
1answer
18 views

Can i cast a spell after collecting rewards for an adventure?

Page 13 says a player can only use his items, clues, spells, and allies during his own turn. Does this mean I can use a spell immediately after collecting adventure rewards, such as opening an other ...
1
vote
1answer
16 views

Can I use a spell after I complete all the tasks?

Can I use a spell to heal all my stamina after I complete the final task?
1
vote
1answer
31 views

In Elder Sign, can I free a focused die?

If I focus a die, can I free it and reroll it later in the same turn? The only reference I see in the rules is the following (with something similar in the faq as well): Note: A player can focus ...
1
vote
1answer
30 views

In Robo Rally, what happens to locked registers if I power up with more than 4 damage?

If I wake my robot with locked registers, do I have a 'blank' there until it unlocks?
1
vote
1answer
28 views

In Robo Rally, what happens if I run out of cards and can't play a card on the 5th register?

The crab legs option card lets me play 2 cards in one register. If I have 4 damage, this leaves me with no cards to play in the 5th register. Is this just a pass in that turn?
2
votes
2answers
45 views

A Game of Thrones Feast breaking ties for objectives

In A Game of Thrones the board game the player who holds the iron throne breaks ties. In the expansion A Feast for Crows, objective cards are introduced such as Control more land areas than any ...
3
votes
1answer
50 views

In Robo Rally, does a powered down robot get to earn option cards and repair?

If he is pushed onto repair spaces etc, does he repair and earn option cards at the end of the 5 register phases if he is on an option space? The rules state: The robot doesn’t receive or execute ...
1
vote
1answer
23 views

Can Unity play Mechanical Golems when she gets to play a card outside of her turn?

All Mechanical Golems in Unity's deck say the following: This card cannot be played during your play phase. It's pretty clear that this means that during your turn, you cannot play a Mechanical ...
5
votes
2answers
67 views

If I lose my central tile, do I lose the round?

I was playing a game of Galaxy Trucker the other day when one of the players took a small meteor to his exposed central tile. He had a number of other occupied crew pods, but I was under the ...
2
votes
1answer
115 views

Mindslaver and Conspiracy's vote cards

I have a Mindslaver and my opponent has a Coercive Portal on the board. I use the Mindslaver's ability to take control of my opponent's next turn. Do I get to choose what his vote is for the Portal's ...
0
votes
1answer
26 views

In Elder Sign, If I free a locked die by defeating a monster, can I use it in the same turn?

If a monster locks a yellow die, can I use an item/spell to gain that die once I defeat the monster? Also, I have not looked through the cards, but if there is a monster that locks the green die, ...
0
votes
1answer
27 views

In Elder Sign, if you need to draw from a deck and there are no cards left, do you lose the opportunity?

There don't seem to be a large number of spell cards, and Dexter Drake can accumulate cards very fast. If the spell deck (or any other deck for that matter) runs out, do players simply lose the ...
2
votes
2answers
50 views

In Elder Sign, does defeating a monster with a spell count as a completed task?

My understanding is that a 'completed' task is one in which you fulfill the roll requirements and thus can roll the remaining dice without discarding one as a penalty. If I use a spell to defeat a ...
0
votes
1answer
58 views

Does removing a token from play trigger effects that happen when a dude is discarded or aced?

Say that I have a Gunslinger token in a shootout and he gets discarded or Aced. Per the card's text, you need to "Remove this token from the game after this shootout." I presume that this means they ...
0
votes
1answer
62 views

Can outfits other than Law Dogs start with Gomorra Jail?

Gomorra Jail is a deed with the following text: You may start with this deed in play in place of a Law Dogs dude. Controller React, Boot: When another player's wanted dude is discarded during ...
-1
votes
2answers
114 views

If an object has at least 2 colors, does it also count as non[color] for every color?

Are all multi-color permanents of colors C1,C2 also non-C1 and non-C2 simultaneously? Example: Battle Frenzy: does a Red/Green creature gain +1/+1 and +1/+0 by being both green and nongreen? ...

15 30 50 per page