1
vote
1answer
190 views

Anticipate in response to instant

So I was playing in a standard tournament for fun the other day, I was playing red white black mardu warriors against white blue control. I played Crackling Doom forcing him to sacrifice his only ...
16
votes
1answer
4k views

How does Starfield of Nyx interact with the Theros Gods?

Starfield of Nyx has the ability As long as you control five or more enchantments, each other non-Aura enchantment you control is a creature in addition to its other types and has base power and ...
5
votes
1answer
246 views

How do I mitigate 'alpha playing' in Pandemic?

I don't quite like Pandemic for a simple reason. Basically - because all players have the same knowledge, and same goal, I don't see the need to have multiple players; one person (the alpha player) ...
4
votes
1answer
31 views

Counting runs during play [duplicate]

When playing Cribbage, if I played a 7, and my opponent played an 8, (making a 15 for 2 points), can I then play a 6 for a run of three, or do they have to be in consecutive order?
2
votes
2answers
163 views

Is resistance Coup worth getting if I already have resistance avalon?

I've played regular Resistance and I have Resistance Avalon, but I've never played Resistance Coup is it worth getting? I like that you can play with just 2 people but, besides that I don't know much ...
0
votes
1answer
35 views

In Elder Sign, what is the distinction between completing and defeating a task?

The faq says that Mandy Thompson's ability should read Once per day, after any player has rolled, Mandy may re- roll 2 dice before determining if the active player was able to defeat a task. ...
3
votes
2answers
48 views

Is it allowed to play a jetpack when buried?

The rules state that if you are buried, you can take no other action until you dig yourself out. The jetpack card says "play at any time". Does playing a jetpack count as an action for the purposes of ...
2
votes
1answer
33 views

Losing the player board ability in the middle of the turn

In a game the other day we came up in a situation where the blue player ended up in a complex situation: He had selected the player board ability that lets him take the board action and also attack ...
0
votes
1answer
119 views

Roll-and-Move Board Design [closed]

Some games (like Chutes and Ladders) have a single track that players move along by rolling a die to see how far they travel. (These are often called roll-and-move games.) Many of the spaces on a ...
0
votes
0answers
43 views

Can a sub attack a lone sub in axis and allies and the attacked sub submerge?

If a English sub attacks a german sub(by itself in a sea zone), can the german sub submerge? From my understanding subs can only conduct a surprise strike or submerge if there are other sea units ...
0
votes
0answers
37 views

How to capture territories with no numbers printed on them?

In a&a 1941 if japan conducts an amphibious assault on soviet far east can she capture it? If yes, then does she still put the controller marker and does nothing else? (I mean no adding anything ...
0
votes
1answer
57 views

Where can combat dice and extra units be bought?

As a beginner I got axis and allies 1941 and noticed the game has only 4 dice and very few pieces. I had to use a lot of substitution chips (they can get confusing) and make my own paper slips with ...
3
votes
4answers
295 views

How can I ensure the Commander deck I'm creating is appropriate for my group's meta?

Our group's been playing Magic since mid-2013, and Commander 2013 since a while after that. A couple of us are keen on building our own commander decks now. We're aware the Commander format can easily ...
0
votes
1answer
30 views

After an amphibious assault can overland attacking aircraft stay in newly captured territory?

Germany attacks England with transports(loaded with infantry) and overland fighters, captures the territory. Can the fighters stay in England or need to fly back to mainland?
0
votes
1answer
35 views

How to capture unoccupied enemy-controlled territories?

How do I capture them? (besides tanks blitzing). That would not work if im trying to capture an island. Just move in with a bunch of infantry and claim it for myself?
0
votes
0answers
15 views

Mobilization of units allowed on a territory with an industrial complex controlled by a power on same side?

My friends an I were playing a&a 1941 and soviet union wanted to mobilize units in India. Is that ever allowed? If yes, when? I read through the whole book and I did not find anything about when ...
0
votes
1answer
25 views

Is the combat move and the conduct combat phase always necessary to execute?

I am in Karelia with a couple of infantry and tanks. The german territories are heavily fortified. I don't want to lose what few units I have. Do I have to conduct combat or can I skip to noncombat ...
0
votes
1answer
32 views

Can land and sea units adjacent to the territory or sea zone being attacked ( also units range permitting) move in and help defend?

My friend and I recently started playing a&a 1941. I played the germans which attacked Caucasus then my friend started moving in units from other territories into Caucasus to defend. Can you do ...
2
votes
1answer
47 views

Does the Pirate stop fish production when playing Seafarers with Fishermen of Catan?

I know that the Robber can be placed upon the Lake hex in a normal "Fishermen of Catan" game. (see here) But when you combine it with Seafarers, does anyone know the official answer for either of ...
4
votes
1answer
208 views

Using Wizard on another player when draw deck is empty?

Description of situation: A player's turn begins and they draw the last card from the deck and get a Wizard. The use the Wizard on the other player which forces them to discard their hand and redraw ...
2
votes
1answer
66 views

dominion adventures, using tokens on duration piles

If a token from Dominion Adventures is placed on a duration pile, is the token applied only when you initially play (lay down) the duration card or both when you lay it down AND when you play the ...
1
vote
1answer
20 views

Can I enter a non-target foreign home in Chinese Checkers?

Given a game of Chinese Checkers And that I have a marble next to a foreign home which is not the taget opposite Can I place my marble in that foreign home? Can I jump in and out of that foreign ...
2
votes
1answer
26 views

In Elder Sign, why do multiple locks have to be resolved in order?

The rules on page 12 say For example, if there are two effects in play that lock the yellow die, the locks are addressed in the order in which they came into play: after the yellow die is freed ...
1
vote
1answer
58 views

In One Night Ultimate Werewolf, what are some common opening moves?

From only a handful of plays I've gathered that a few moves might be to If you are on the good team, kick things off with full disclosure such as "I am the seer and I know for a fact you are a ...
5
votes
1answer
162 views

Is there a card that makes an enemy play my spell?

I'm an amateur player in Magic: The Gathering (Modern format) and I was looking for a card that makes an enemy play a spell from my hand. For example if I had a "Discard your hand" card I could make ...
0
votes
2answers
61 views

In a&a 1941 can tanks and infantry hit aircraft?

The book does not specifically say anything.
3
votes
2answers
305 views

How does Sundial of the Infinite help you avoid losing turns to Eater of Days?

This article on Wizards of the Coast website claims that Eater of Days "lose your next two turns" can be avoided by use of Sundial of the Infinite. I can't figure that out. There are no rulings on ...
3
votes
1answer
74 views

How is 'The Homeworld' played correctly?

In a recent Smash Up match we had the base 'The Homeworld', that has the following ability: After each time a minion is played here, its owner may play an extra minion of power 2 or less. I ...
3
votes
2answers
171 views

How can I efficiently filter MagicCards.info searches down to cards castable with only certain mana colours?

I've been constructing a green/white commander deck, and doing a lot of searches on MagicCards.info for its cards. To cut out all the cards I can't use, I've been using the search term c!gw to get ...
0
votes
1answer
34 views

If a card with a pull has an effect that boots the character, do they boot only if successful?

Consider a card like Soothe from Faith & Fear: Noon Miracle 10, Boot: Boot this Blessed to unboot another dude at this or an adjacent location. This card has a pull and an effect that ...
4
votes
2answers
235 views

How can a Morph ability counter split second spells?

Voidmage Apprentice is a creature with Morph that counters target spell when it is turned face up. I've read that it can counter spells with split second. How does it do this? Is it that the ...
1
vote
3answers
970 views

Does killing a creature mana source that's being tapped for mana to pay for a spell counter that spell?

If an opponent is using an Avacyn Pilgrim (and three forests) to cast a Cudgel Troll, and I Lightning Bolt the monk, does that counter the Troll being cast? Would the same be true for a Loxodon ...
3
votes
2answers
47 views

Clarification about drawing and assigning plot cards

The rules are explicit about plot cards being assigned only once per round, there being only five rounds in a game. However, a single round can go through several leaders (if votes fail). My ...
2
votes
3answers
140 views

Does 'The plot thickens' make the game easier or harder?

Just curious for games going forward. Because the expansion allows you to see how people have played on missions, can reveal people's cards, etc, it seems like these are all an advantage mostly to ...
1
vote
1answer
41 views

Hex Hex card interactions (foretell, play only when hexed, maddening compulsion)

In the game of Hex-hex, our gaming group gets into some rather interesting debates as to how particular timing and effects. This is one of my favorite aspects to the game, though it can cause things ...
1
vote
1answer
109 views

What are the differences between Deadlands: Doomtown and Doomtown: Reloaded?

On first glance, Doomtown: Reloaded (2014) looks pretty similar to Deadlands: Doomtown (1998) and they are both published by AEG. What differences are there between each other? Are they compatible?
3
votes
1answer
157 views

If I sacrifice a creature for a spell and it creates a token, can I sacrifice that token for the spell too?

I have to sacrifice multiple creatures to pay for an ability, e.g. Flashback - Sacrifice two creatures. How does the stack interaction work if I sacrifice one creature with an enters the graveyard ...
2
votes
2answers
86 views

Does the 3-3 invasion work with 3 stones already placed?

With the three black stones placed, I did the 3-3 invasion. $$Wm1 $$ ---------- $$ ........| $$ ...X....| $$ ...X.1..| $$ ....X...| $$ ........| I tried tried to force a KO and did get 2 moves ...
8
votes
1answer
234 views

Am I allowed to shortcut two abilities that allow me to search my deck?

If I have two abilities that allow me to search my deck for something and shuffle, may I use a shortcut to grab both to save time on shuffling? Say I have two Polluted Delta on the field, and I ...
5
votes
3answers
297 views

Numbers after a draft format

Most drafts that I have seen on MTGO use a set of numbers after the format. I think it describes what matches are played after the drafting portion. For example: Modern Masters 2015 6-2-2-2[1] ...
5
votes
2answers
220 views

How do I prevent cheating on my token based card game? [closed]

I have created a card game in which one of the mechanics relies a lot on trust, and would be very easily cheated. The game is played in 5 rounds, and has a total of 15 tokens to spread as you wish ...
0
votes
1answer
61 views

Can a hunter attack diagonally?

The rules state that line of sight for a hunter is down the row and column it is on. However, if an agent has been spotted by one hunter, can another hunter attack diagonally since the position of the ...
2
votes
1answer
193 views

Can you block with a creature then return it to your hand before it takes damage? [duplicate]

Someone said they can block with a Dryad Arbor then return it to their hand with a Quirion Ranger before the Arbor takes damage. That sounds wrong to me.
1
vote
1answer
40 views

Tsumego elementary problem 633 - seki?

I'am trying to solve problem 633 of the elementary set (black's move): It seems to me that after black takes the outside liberty, it's a seki. Or is there a better solution?
2
votes
2answers
79 views

Can I stack ongoing action cards on the same base in Smash Up?

In Smash Up, can I play multiple actions on a base?
5
votes
1answer
148 views

Will Open the Vaults let me return Bestow creatures as Auras?

If I use Open the Vaults and there is a Bestow enchantment creature in my graveyard, can I bring it onto the field as an aura? Or just as a creature?
1
vote
1answer
50 views

Does State Parlor give bonus for dwellings added after the fact?

When the state parlor is built, and a dwelling is later added, does the player get the two food bonus? One school of thought is that the bonus is applied only once for the parlor itself. Another ...
0
votes
2answers
85 views

Website / software for playing bridge against computer, but partnering with a human

There seems to be a lot of websites offering games against computer AND with a computer partner. There is also plenty of portals where you can play with 3 other people. I am looking for something in ...
0
votes
1answer
33 views

Does move priority come first when deciding option card play?

If you started in Dock 1, but my move has higher priority than yours, and my option cards involve my movement while your option card involves your movement, does the higher movement priority allow me ...
0
votes
1answer
26 views

Can I use more than one option card at a time?

I don't see any explicit rules in when or how to use option cards. The rules on page 8 talk of option card priority and refer to using 'an option card'. Can I use two at the same time, such as Ramming ...

15 30 50 per page