7
votes
1answer
267 views

What chess-opening does this cat play

I just saw this funny cat video where the cat gets beaten in chess by a trick opening. It is not the well known fool's mate, but I guess it is a famous opening too. Can anyone identify the opening ...
5
votes
2answers
4k views

What is “Go” in cribbage?

I've played a fair bit of cribbage, but I've never heard of scoring one point for "Go" (as mentioned in this other question: Cribbage score going out). What is it, and what impact does it have on the ...
4
votes
2answers
419 views

Can a Cloister be scored if one tile is an all-city tile in Carcassonne? [closed]

Image one - http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3526/5813112525_333660fa6e_z.jpg Image two - http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5023/5813111763_178a1178f9_z.jpg A little confused about the scoring in the ...
6
votes
1answer
380 views

Do “play immediately” cards in the zombie turn affect the number of cards a zombie player will have in his hand?

This is probably a silly question, but I've just read the rulebook of "Last Night on Earth", and need a small clarification: the rulebook says that a zombie player must draw up to two cards at the ...
4
votes
2answers
491 views

In Bridge, When and Why Do People Sacrifice Overtricks to Be Sure of Making Game?

Most players I've seen will often sacrifice potential overtricks in "rubber" bridge to be sure of making game. Apparently, that's not the case in "duplicate." Why is that?
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Cribbage score going out

i.e. Player needs 4 points to go out. The hand value is 3. Does the Player get to go out with the added 1 point "Go"?
5
votes
4answers
2k views

In Bridge, Why Do People Use “Transfer Bids” Over 1 NT?

Over 1NT, some people bid two diamonds to say they have five hearts, and two hearts to say they have five spades. The 1NT person bids the desired suit, completing the transfer. Apparently the idea is ...
4
votes
1answer
608 views

In Axis and Allies, Which Ally Should “Take Out” Norway.

In most versions of the game it is essential for the Allies to capture Norway to allow the US and UK to properly reinforce Russia. A question them arises, which Ally should do the capturing (i.e. ...
1
vote
2answers
208 views

In Axis and Allies, Should An Attacker Be Allowed to Relinquish Certain “Prerogatives?”

These are situations that seem to be outside the official (second edition) rules. Unless I'm missing something. Suppose Russia is allowed attack Norway on the first turn, and does so with two ...
3
votes
6answers
6k views

In Axis and Allies, Should Germany build a first turn transport and try and control the Med/Africa?

When playing Germany in A&A 2nd Edition, is it a feasible strategy for Germany to buy a Italian transport on the first turn, for the purposes of cementing Germany's Mediterranean naval presence ...
7
votes
4answers
1k views

What Crazy Bridge Bidding Systems Actually Work In Practice?

There's been a lot of talk about bridge bidding in these parts lately. A lot of people like to play "straight down the line", to the point where they're mortally offended when you suggest something ...
0
votes
1answer
161 views

How do I Decide to Sacrifice or Preserve “Smaller” Naval Units (E.g. Subs) In Axis and Allies?

In the Pearl Harbor attack, people like Don Rae advocate sacrificing a battleship or bomber (instead of a cheaper fighter) as a "second" casualty as a "gambit" just to get American air forces to head ...
1
vote
2answers
377 views

Why Is Two Clubs the Preferred “Strong Two” In Bridge?

I'd prefer to use two spades myself. And save two clubs for a "weak two." Moreover, I was taught that "higher bids mean higher points" (all other things being equal). Two spades is the highest suit ...
1
vote
3answers
240 views

Which Experts Seem to Interchange Trumps and Points in Bridge Bidding?

Most bridge players know that you can make a major suit game with combined partnership holdings of 26 points and eight trumps. (Plus the absence of "bad breaks" in trumps, finesses, etc.). My ...
16
votes
3answers
2k views

Supporting Routed Units in A Game of Thrones

In FFG's A Game of Thrones boardgame, can routed units be supported? In a recent game, one player (the aggressor) attacked another (the defender) but was defeated. His routed units had to retreat ...
2
votes
1answer
359 views

In Axis and Allies, When (and How) Would You Adjust Your Opening Strategy?

Most AA players have a preferred strategy. But not every player gets to go first. Meaning that the later going players may have to adjust their strategies, based on what has gone on before. Or do ...
2
votes
2answers
3k views

In Axis and Allies, Should Russia Head East, West, Or Stay Put in the Early Going?

Some Russian players like to send armies east. That is, to reinforce Allied outposts in Sinkiang and India. Maybe attack Manchuria on the first turn, if allowed. The theory is that Russia is strong ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

In Bridge, Which Forms of Deception Are Ethical? Does This Include “Moodying?”

Playing in a casual game of bridge, holding JTx of trumps, I "falsecarded" on the second trump lead with the J. Believing that he had drawn them, declarer stopped leading trumps. Later, I trumped one ...
5
votes
1answer
101 views

What are pyramid games?

I wondered if someone could explain what properties define "pyramid games"? Someone suggested that I have a look at icehousegames.org but it's not clear to me from that site what are the the things ...
3
votes
3answers
644 views

Why Do Modern Players Use “Negative Doubles” In Bridge

Personally, I think that too many people overcall. Meaning that we need a penalty double for it in bridge. But the modern fashion seems to be for "negative doubles" over overcalls. These seem to mean, ...
2
votes
2answers
449 views

Are there “established” systems where “Five Card Majors” isn't a strict rule?

In "Standard American," I must open a major with 65432 while refraining from opening a major with AKQJ. IMHO, there are five card majors that are too weak to be opened and there four card majors that ...
4
votes
1answer
223 views

Reign of Terror on Through the Ages

On the "Reign of Terror" event, do you lose one worker from the worker pool or the population bank?
3
votes
4answers
1k views

Why Do People “Pre-empt” With Seven Of A Suit In Bridge?

One advantage of a "pre-empt" is quite clear: You take two levels of bidding away from your opponents with a "three" bid. But could that be cutting off your nose to spite your face? Recently, I had ...
1
vote
6answers
2k views

Why Do People Use “Precision” Bidding in Bridge?

As I understand it, in the "precision" bidding system in bridge, you open one club with 16+ points (a greater than minimum opening hand), while all the other "one" level bids show 13-15 (a minimum). ...
2
votes
3answers
532 views

Can the U.S. Open With an Air-based Strategy in Allies and Axis?

In Axis and Allies, the U.S. starts with the largest number of IPCs, and also has the furthest to go to reach the main battlefields. These conditions both suggest the use of strategies using ...
7
votes
3answers
731 views

How Would I Get A Modern Diplomacy -“Like” Game Produced?

Some years ago, I created a modern Diplomacy "takeoff" game (with a new name to be determined). The five "countries" are U.S., Russia, China, Europe and the Middle East. The pieces are fleets (F), ...
1
vote
1answer
491 views

What are rules for an overcall that have wide acceptance? [closed]

This question was inspired by this link, http://www.jazclass.aust.com/bridge/br14.htm which required a five card suit with two honors, at least one of them a queen or higher, for a one-level overcall. ...
5
votes
1answer
863 views

What is (Larry Cohen's) the “Law of Total Tricks” In Bridge?

Based on my (imperfect) understanding of the "law," it means that my partnership should bid up to the same level as the number of trumps. For instance, with four trumps over my partner's five card ...
1
vote
1answer
476 views

Should We Eliminate or Modify the “Factory Rule” In Axis and Allies?

The better players I know don't build industrial complexes "factories" outside of their home countries. It costs 15 IPCs (five infantry) up front, and offers an uncertain return. Far better, they ...
2
votes
2answers
205 views

Should Japan and the US Meet on Another Battlefield Than the North Pacific In Axis and Allies?

In World War II, the US and Japanese navies battled it out in the north Pacific. That's understandable because Japan controlled the western edge, the US the eastern edge, and the ocean was the route ...
3
votes
3answers
704 views

In Axis and Allies, Can Heavy Bombers Be “Tamed”?

Most players of Axis and Allies understand intuitively that the original heavy bombers tech "unbalances" the game by being disproportionately good. My own research confirms this by valuing the two ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

In Seven Wonders can you use the “Play card from Discard Piles” ability to play an age III card?

In Seven Wonders one of the the wonder abilities allows you to look through discarded cards and pick one to build for free. If you use this in your very last turn can you pick a card from Age III, ...
2
votes
4answers
497 views

Axis and Allies Europe edition: Neutral Territories?

So, as far as I understand it, the rulebook for Europe states that if a country invades a "strict neutral" (that is, any neutral that doesn't specify if it is Pro-Allies or Pro-Axis) then ALL other ...
11
votes
2answers
472 views

Is there a good casual online place to practice/learn bridge?

I know that Pogo.com (which powers Yahoo Games) has a long running online bridge game and that there are a handful of places for serious tournament/MasterPoint level bridge players online (though most ...
0
votes
2answers
167 views

In Axis and Allies, Is There A Way to Measure the Benefits of Various Techs Against Each Other? And the Cost of Discovery?

At one level, we can measure the cost of discovering tech using IPCs. Each die roll costs 5 IPCs, and one discovery will be made every six rolls, on average, yielding an average cost of 30 IPCs. Some ...
3
votes
4answers
1k views

Can We Find a Middle Ground on the Russia First Turn Attack Rule In Allies and Axis?

Some (mainly Axis) players refuse to play Axis and Allies if Russia is allowed to attack on the first turn. Other (mainly Russian) players argue that Russia is unfairly hobbled if it has to play ...
6
votes
4answers
8k views

What Is the Preferred Strategy For the US in Axis and Allies? Why?

Everyone knows how the United States REALLY won World War II. It concentrated first in North Africa, then the Mediterranean (Italy), and closed with the cross-channel invasion at Normandy that ended ...
1
vote
1answer
229 views

Can Russia and Japan Follow A Mutual “Hands Off” Policy In Axis and Allies?

During World War II, the Soviet Union and Japan had a five year mutual non-aggression pact that was kept until the very end. Could a similar thing happen in Allies and Axis? In some versions of the ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

In Axis and Allies, Should the U.S. Build a “Factory” in Brazil?

In Axis and Allies (original version), the basically maritime powers, the US and UK have a problem coming to grips with the land-based Axis. One solution is for them to buy industrial complexes in ...
11
votes
8answers
789 views

Recommendation for D&D players who want a faster dungeon/questing game after dinner? [closed]

My friends and I play Advanced Dungeons and Dragons from time to time. Since it's cumbersome to make so many preparations to play so little, I'd like a faster alternative reason to get together and ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

House Rule for Minor Improvement/Occupation distribution?

I'm in a group that regularly plays together. We love Agricola, but we tend to play the family version because we feel the minor improvements and occupations are a bit too unbalanced. Or sometimes one ...
6
votes
2answers
326 views

Can Dawnguard Scyir get 4 damage dice on a charge?

Dawnguard Scyir has the ability Flank[Faction Warjack]. If a warjack was in melee with a given enemy model and the Scyir charged into combat with that model, would he get four dice on the damage roll? ...
7
votes
1answer
229 views

Are the counters limited in Wrath of Ashardalon?

In the new D+D game Wrath of Ashardalon, suppose that you use a daily power that places counters (like Blade Barrier, Mirror Image, or Flaming Sphere) and then get the power refreshed (through an ...
3
votes
1answer
133 views

Would this potential Saint Petersburg house rule work? [closed]

A friend mentioned a possible easy tweak of the Saint Petersburg rules: just pay out the buildings once again at the end of the game (perhaps disallowing observatory/debtor's prison except for taking ...
10
votes
4answers
394 views

In Catan, should you try to exclude others players from one resource?

In Settlers of Catan (the board game), in a game with four players, is it considered a good strategy to try to lock one (or two) other player(s) from a given resource in order to have an upper hand ...
10
votes
3answers
2k views

Did tactics training improve your chess significantly?

There are quite a few sites for training in chess tactics. For those having experience with using any of these, how did these affect your rating? Is there a strong correlation between e.g. ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

MTG: Activated abilities and change of control on the stack.

Let's say I play an activated ability of one of my creatures; for example, this one: My opponent responds to this with an instant that takes control of this creature: Question: Will the effect ...
5
votes
1answer
347 views

Can sheep farmer perform multiple exchanges at once?

We were playing Agricola last night and I ran into an unusual situation. I had three pastures, each able to contain four animals. I also had the House Goat minor improvement, which means I was not ...
3
votes
1answer
120 views

When does Urbanization occur in Age of Steam

I am second in turn order, I select Urbanization. Do I place the city at the start of my build track phase or before the first person who builds track?
5
votes
3answers
627 views

Can Monty Python Fluxx be used with the regular Fluxx deck, or is it a separate game?

As far as I understand, Monty Python Fluxx is a separate game, not an expansion pack, that doesn't require the original Fluxx deck to play. But can it be used with the original deck - can it be used ...

15 30 50 per page