5
votes
1answer
508 views

Do I need to reveal a face-down card if it is put on top of my library?

If I have a face-down card (such as a morph or manifested card), and an effect puts it on top of my library, do I need to reveal the card (as I would if it was destroyed or exiled)? Example: I ...
4
votes
1answer
63 views

Custom special abilities rules

I know ther are some rules for creating custom Investigators, so new character is balanced and does not ruin the game. It's utilized in Strange Eons. Are there any rules for custom special abilities ...
3
votes
2answers
104 views

Terra Mystica - Taking a bonus card with coins on the final turn as an Alchemist

The Alchemists' special ability is to turn gold into victory points at any point in the game. So on the last turn, when passing, could I take a bonus card with coins built up on it, and immediately ...
0
votes
1answer
106 views

Can the Mage Wars Warlock be played without any Demon cards?

As the subject states, I was wondering if the Mage Wars Core Set comes with enough Fire type cards to allow the Warlock Mage to build a spellbook with absolutely no Demon cards. Without seeing the ...
0
votes
2answers
59 views

Do multiple encounters combine for craft?

On page ten of the rulebook, there is the rule: If there is more than one Enemy that attacks by Strength on a space and they have the same encounter number, they fight as one during battle, adding ...
1
vote
1answer
59 views

What variations are there on Solo whist?

This was the second trick-taking game that I learned as a kid and it involved bidding and gambling (we played for tiddlywinks). Needs 4 players and you can play to lose. It was used as a ...
1
vote
1answer
53 views

Villages card game rules

In the Villages card game, we did not understand a few rules. Can you pick up cards from your villages during your turn? Can multicolor/light units switch which village they are in if possible? if ...
0
votes
1answer
41 views

When you don’t have to move (bonus card), do you pick up your separated assistant or do you have to separate another one?

My question is about this bonus card: When playing it at the beginning of your turn, you don’t have to move your merchant (and you may use the field’s action). The rules say that you "again" have ...
2
votes
3answers
275 views

Is there a “consensus” definition of what constitutes a “strong” or “weak” deck? [closed]

In various Magic the Gathering posts, I've seen references to "strong" and weak" decks, and specifically to decks that are "too strong" or "too weak" to be "playable. Is a deck that is "too strong" ...
5
votes
2answers
5k views

What happens if you manifest a creature card with morph?

If a player manifests a creature card with the morph ability, can that player pay the morph cost to turn it face up? For example, if Anthony casts Formless Nurturing to manifest Abomination of ...
0
votes
1answer
50 views

Tsumego problem 899

I am not able to solve this tsumego problem 899 of the elementary set. Black is to move and perhaps to kill white. But it seems to me that regardless of what black does, white will always make one eye ...
2
votes
1answer
69 views

Are Item Finder and Dowsing Machine the same card?

Item Finder is a card from the original Pokemon TCG Base Set. Dowsing Machine is a card that has the same effect, but was printed as an Ace Spec in the much more recent Plasma Storm set. I would like ...
-1
votes
1answer
76 views

Trying to understand KGS ranking system: why did my rank drop?

I really don't understand what's going on in the GoKGS ranking system and why did my rank dropped in Decemeber. Look at my December game list. I was ranked as "13k?". Then I played an even game ...
-1
votes
1answer
99 views

Playing against underestimated player damages my rank at KGS

At GoKGS.com, I (13 kyu) was playing against player ranked as "13k?", and I lost and dropped to 14 kyu. But then we found out (thanks to another user watching the match) that the user is actually much ...
5
votes
3answers
88 views

Can you announce that you are a character not in play in Mascarade

As per the title - can you announce that you are a character that is not in play currently in Bruno Faidutti's Mascarade ?
1
vote
1answer
520 views

Proper Sleeves for Android Netrunner

I am trying to find the right sleeves to get for Android Netrunner. And while Fantasy Flight was nice enough to put a color coded sleeve and number of packs needed for that box on the back of both the ...
7
votes
2answers
749 views

When must one communicate denial of a shortcut?

Anthony begins his turn by drawing a card. He then immediately turns his creatures sideways and declares "I attack with Runeclaw Bear and Alpine Grizzly." Anthony's opponent, Nathan, has 6 life. ...
0
votes
1answer
91 views

Eldritch Horror test resolutions in other board games [closed]

I'm new at modern board-games, basically, and I got Eldritch Horror as a present. I love the test resolution system where you through n number of dice and the number of 5 or 6 determines if a test is ...
8
votes
2answers
275 views

Spell targets player in multiplayer game, and that player leaves. Does it still resolve?

Let's say I have infinite mana, Soulfire Grand Master and Crater's Claws. I play a multiplayer game with 5 other players. I use Soulfire Grand Master last ability with infinite damage crater claws on ...
2
votes
0answers
134 views

What is the name of this solitaire variant?

I recently learned a new solitaire from a friend, but we have no idea what the name of it is. Can anyone help? You use two decks of cards, and start by placing 14 rows of cards. The middle 4 rows ...
3
votes
3answers
118 views

Fluxx: Does this person play all cards or does his turn end with new cards in hand?

The "Play All" rule is on the table. Someone plays the new rule, "Get on with it" which states that "At any time before your final play, you may discard your entire hand and draw a new hand of 3 ...
2
votes
1answer
94 views

Where can you post new Dominion card rule suggestions?

The question I am a big Dominion fan and have made some "fan cards". I have followed these suggestions on how to make your cards work, have play tested them many times and now would like to share ...
0
votes
1answer
105 views

How does PlayDominion´s rating system work?

Does anyone know how the rating system on PlayDominion.com works? I am familiar with the chess rating system, which is quite, but this is not the one used.
2
votes
1answer
127 views

Is Flesh Allergy combined with Grave Pact counterproductive?

I need a little help again. Imagine the following situation: I have Grave Pact, Bloodthrone Vampire and 9 other creatures on the battlefield. The opponent has only one creature on the battlefield but ...
3
votes
3answers
626 views

Indestructible and the stack

If I play an instant that grants target creature "indestructible" can an opponent use an instant in response to destroy said creature? Would the stack resolve their ability first? If so, would I be ...
2
votes
2answers
252 views

Multiple questions about Betrayal at the House on the Hill

We bought and played our first game of Betrayal at the House on the Hill and we had a great time. Our haunt scenario was with a mummy, I wont spoil more about it. Who's turn is it when the haunt ...
1
vote
2answers
45 views

How would changing the timing of the “starter” affect strategy/tactics?

As we know, the non-dealer cuts for the "starter" before the play happens. Is there any strategic/tactical reason why you couldn't cut for the starter after the play? Just before the play, the ...
7
votes
3answers
3k views

Can you force property onto players in Monopoly

The Monopoly rules state that if your debt to another player is greater than the cash at hand, you can give property at its original (or higher, if mutually agreed) price to the person you owe. ...
6
votes
1answer
227 views

Victory conditions with the “Limited Range of Influence” option

In a ten player Grand Melee, Anthony controls a Darksteel Reactor with 20 counters on it. Anthony has satisfied the trigger condition for Darksteel Reactor. The trigger resolves, and he wins the ...
2
votes
2answers
156 views

Does Marchesa and a creature with modular work together?

I control Marchesa, the Black Rose and Arcbound Ravager. When Ravager dies, will the abilities of Marchesa and Ravager both trigger? If you can confirm it with rules, that would be great.
0
votes
1answer
113 views

Will my opponent lose from his own Plague Spitter enchanted with Soul Link, if the Plague Spitter deals him lethal damage? [duplicate]

My opponent is at 1 life. He controls a Plague Spitter and 2 other creatures (1/1 tokens). In his second main phase, he puts Soul Link on the Plague Spitter and passes the turn. In my turn I do ...
4
votes
1answer
667 views

Does Deathtouch apply to damage dealt via Fall of the Hammer?

Does Deathtouch (from my creature) apply if Fall of the Hammer is used on an enemy creature? The rules say about deathtouch: The rule that causes creatures dealt damage by a source with ...
0
votes
2answers
217 views

Bonus Troops in Risk

So I have all of Australia taken over and I get 2 extra troops. MY friend then attacks Indonesia from Southeast Asia. Then, I re control Indonesia. Now, do I get 2 more bonus troops since I retook ...
2
votes
2answers
583 views

Are there cards which turn life gain into damage instead?

I was playing Hearthstone the other day and was intrigued by a card that causes healing spells to do damage instead. I was curious if there was ever anything printed in MTG that would have a similar ...
2
votes
1answer
175 views

What happens when I deal lethal damage to everyone at the same time?

In an EDH game, I was able to get infinite mana, and I used it to cast a Squall Line with X = 1,000,000. What is the result of this decision? Do I win, or does everyone lose and thus tie?
1
vote
1answer
1k views

What happens to enchantments that are attached to creatures when the creatures are returned to your hand?

What happens to enchantments that are attached to creatures when the creatures are returned to your hand?
2
votes
1answer
210 views

What's the name of the board game about sailing between islands?

I recently played a board game but forgot the name of it. Can someone please tell me the title? You compete with other players to travel to other islands. During your turn, you can place boats in ...
-2
votes
1answer
52 views

Can you back out of action?

I claim to be Duke and use Tax if challenged can I back out of using the action?
-9
votes
1answer
154 views

How many rules does Magic have?

More specifically, how many subrules exist in the September 25, 2014 revision of the Comprehensive Rules, located here? 1 Game Concepts Not a rule. This is a header. 100 General Also not a ...
1
vote
1answer
107 views

How is a gin rummy hand scored if both the knocking and defending player have gin?

I am playing with the Big Gin variant, which is not part of the base game. Say I pick up a card from the deck which makes me a gin hand. Only, I don't realise it due to say, misreading my hand, or I ...
5
votes
1answer
295 views

Can you use a Wizard's charm on another player's monster?

The card says "You may discard your whole hand (minimum 3 cards) to charm a single Monster instead of fighting it." Can I use this on another player to charm his monster? Or does it only apply to a ...
2
votes
3answers
199 views

Did Balance change when its wording was changed?

I noticed that the original text of Balance, from Alpha, says that someone must discard some number of lands to equalize (sorta). In the most recent reprint, I notice they have to choose some number ...
0
votes
1answer
91 views

Is Mr. Jack Pocket balanced?

[To be clear, this is about the distinct two-player edition called Mr. Jack Pocket. This is not about the full-size board game Mr. Jack.] I really like Mr. Jack Pocket , but I wonder if it's not ...
3
votes
1answer
266 views

Agricola question about minor improvement and occupation cards

Every time I want to play a minor improvement or occupation do I need to pay what is on the top right hand side every time i play that card? or is it just one time pay and then i can use it for the ...
6
votes
1answer
144 views

No doom tracker markers when sealing a gate with an Elder Sign

Yesterday we came across a very 'rare' situation in Arkham Horror. We had been lucky with getting one Elder Sign via setup (random possession) and managed to buy another 2 within the first few turns ...
0
votes
1answer
83 views

Can I activate an ability after part of a spell has resolved? (please read example) [duplicate]

I made a Phelddagrif group hug deck with Windfall as my win condition (obviously I would only use it in an emergency) and Elixir of Immortality. So, I cast Windfall with, say, 40 cards in my hand, ...
1
vote
1answer
120 views

Would it matter if I mark a Star Realms deck on the front?

I bought a pair of Star Realms decks to allow play with up to 4 people. To make it easier to separate the decks for 2-player play, I was thinking I'd mark one of the decks on the front, with a small ...
1
vote
1answer
168 views

What are the odds of being dealt particular melds in Double Deck Pinochle?

This is a followup to another question: What are the odds of getting a double run in four-handed pinochle? I'd love to know the odds of being dealt particular melds in Double Deck Pinochle. I found a ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens if Humble Defector is sacrificed before its ability resolves? [duplicate]

Humble Defector reads {T}: Draw two cards. Target opponent gains control of Humble Defector. Activate this ability only during your turn. Anthony controls Humble Defector and Butcher of the ...
0
votes
1answer
25 views

Final round conflicts in Lancaster

In the final round of Lancaster do you only have to pay a ransom for knights involved in a battle that has been lost twice?

15 30 50 per page