All Questions

2
votes
1answer
31 views

How does Necromantic Selection work with Adarkar Valkyrie?

Ran into this situation, and we were not sure how to resolve it. Player A has Adarkar Valkyrie on the battlefield, and an awesome creature, say Sun Titan. Adarkar Valkyrie has this ability: Tap: ...
1
vote
0answers
7 views

Should spiderines be allowed in 'A Dig Too Far?'

I was playing the Small World Realms scenario 'A Dig Too Far' with some friends the other night. The map has 'veins of gold' that must all be dug from top to bottom, simultaneously. Strategically ...
2
votes
1answer
17 views

Can the robot play duplicate developments in solo-play?

The base set rules state a player may have only one of any given development in their tableau yet the solo rules don't say anything about what happens when the robot attempts to play a development it ...
0
votes
0answers
6 views

Must you decide to activate shields before entering a nebula or asteroid field?

Xia is full of opportunities for hotshot stunt pilots: there are plenty of nebulas and asteroid belts to whiz about in, but it's a risky maneuver. You roll a d20, and if the result is from 1 to 10, ...
1
vote
2answers
215 views

For Goblin Grenade can you sacrifice an attacking creature?

My boyfriend plays a Goblin deck that absolutely destroys. But he has a combo that he does where he will attack with all of his creatures, and then sac one off after it has dealt damage to the player, ...
4
votes
2answers
124 views

Commander status as hidden information

Inspired by Ivo Beckers' comment on the answer to Is your commander still a "commander" if it gets turned face down? If Akroma, Angel of Fury is your commander and is returned to your hand, ...
3
votes
1answer
99 views

Random targeting and protection

I have a creature with protection from green in play along with another creature. My opponent plays a green spell that targets a creature I control chosen at random and does damage to it. Does the ...
2
votes
2answers
37 views

Is there a good place to keep updated on Carcassonne News?

I'm not sure if this fits, if not let me know and I'll delete it. I have many/most of the Carcassonne expansions and have spent way too much money doing so. However my biggest problem is finding out ...
-1
votes
1answer
70 views

Do I gain life if a creature I control with lifelink deals damage to another creature or player?

I control Stonehorn Chanter, which has lifelink. If Stonehorn Chanter deals damage to an opposing player, do I gain life? If Stonehorn Chanter deals damage to an opposing creature, do I gain life?
1
vote
0answers
41 views

Russia is Falling!

My brother, my friend and I all sat down last night and we started playing an Axis and Allies game, (Axis and Allies 1942 Second Edition). After about two hours of playing my friend and I, (Allies, ...
5
votes
2answers
66 views

Do destination cards have to be completed in a particular direction?

When completing a destination card, does the train have to be started from the beginning city on the card or can it be started from the destination city and worked backwards?
5
votes
1answer
286 views

Is your commander still a “commander” if it gets turned face down?

Does your commander still count as being your commander if it is turned face down? For example, I have my commander on the battlefield and my opponent plays Ixidron. Ixidron then turns my commander ...
-1
votes
2answers
123 views

What is the ability Flash about?

I am having Nephalia Seakite in my deck, and it has Flash. I read from MTG Salvation that "Flash is a keyword ability which allows cards to be played at any time you could play an Instant." But I am ...
2
votes
1answer
101 views

Exiling Creatures: When is the card face up and when face down?

An opponent's Banisher Priest exiled my Goblin Shortcutter. As I was reading some rules, I came across the fact that in some situations exiled cards face upwards and sometimes downwards. What factor ...
0
votes
3answers
84 views

Conditions about returning Chandra's Phoenix in one's hand

My opponent and I encountered a problem. I had a Volcanic Geyser, which let me choose to deal damage to an opponent Creature, or the opponent Player. I also had a Chandra's Phoenix in my Graveyard, ...
2
votes
1answer
73 views

Is there a reasonable suit preference signal on this lead?

The contract is 3 NT, and the bidding has been a straightforward, 1NT, pass, 3NT, all pass. West leads the king of diamonds from AKTxx. The defenders have agreed that this means three honors, ...
2
votes
2answers
128 views

How many Enchantment cards can enchant one Creature?

I played Magic: The Gathering with couple of friends. I was asked a question when we came to a situation where we could put two Auras on one Creature. Can one enchant a create with more than one Aura? ...
1
vote
1answer
127 views

Are activated abilities only abilities with mana costs?

Example, if I had Archon of Redemption out and my opponent played Arrest on it (Arrest says that the creature's activated abilities cant be activated). When something with flying enters the ...
1
vote
3answers
150 views

What is the “Timeshifted” rarity?

I'm confused about the "Timeshifted" cards. I looked at the Wizards of the Coast rarity scale. How rare are they and are they valid in Modern? (example Undertaker)
4
votes
1answer
779 views

Are lands colorless?

My opponent plays a vampire deck and has Vampire Nocturnus out. It says Play with the top card of your library revealed. As long as the top card of your library is black, Vampire Nocturnus and ...
2
votes
2answers
119 views

Don't the Planeswalkers in Commander 2014 that say they can be your Commander contradict the fact the Commanders have to be legendary creatures?

Ob Nixilis of the Black Oath and the other Commanders in Commander 2014 say they can be your Commander. Doesn't that contradict the rule that Commanders can only be Legendary Creatures?
0
votes
1answer
76 views

What happens when two players both play Control Magic on the same creature?

For example, I control a Pathraizer of Ulamog. One of my opponents cast Control Magic on it to take control of it. Then my other opponent casts the same spell. How can they both control it?
2
votes
1answer
70 views

What happens if I have two different cards that give me an extra turn after this one?

For example, I play Emrakul, the Aeons Torn. That gives me an extra turn after this one. Then I activate Ral Zarek's ultimate and only get one extra turn (one) heads. Will the Emrakul's extra turn ...
0
votes
2answers
102 views

What happens when a Jace, the Mind Sculptor is played in an unspecific format? [on hold]

If I'm playing casual without a specific format but I'm still trying the rules, what happens when a Jace, the Mind Sculptor is played. It is banned from Modern but not from Legacy.
0
votes
1answer
110 views

What happens when a card with undying dies that has a +1/+1 counter put on it by something other that undying?

For example, I have a Howlgeist that I enchanted with Oath of Ancient Wood so it has a +1/+1 counter on it, when it dies does it not come back because of the +1/+1 counter even though it wasn't put ...
-2
votes
1answer
48 views

Can I use a card from Eighth Edition in Modern Format? [duplicate]

If I'm playing Modern Format, can I use an Eighth Edition Air Elemental?
3
votes
1answer
148 views

Is a countered flashback spell exiled?

If I flashback Past in Flames and it is countered by Cancel, is it exiled or put back into my graveyard?
1
vote
1answer
112 views

Can a Guildgate be tapped for colorless?

Can Izzet Guildgate be tapped for colorless mana? For example, could I tap 7 Guildgates to cast Karn Liberated?
0
votes
1answer
164 views

Two players have a straight to the 8 [on hold]

Bob had a straight to the 8 and Alice had a straight the 8, Bob had a 4 & Queen, Alice had a 8 & Jack. Who wins?
0
votes
3answers
77 views

How exactly does Extort ability work?

So a friend of mine bought a new deck today which is (heavily) based on Extort ability: Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life. ...
4
votes
1answer
779 views

Can I sacrifice a creature that I lost control of after activating its ability?

My opponent controls a Rootwater Hunter enchanted with Charisma and I control a Tar Pitcher. I tap Tar Pitcher to sacrifice it to deal 2 damage to my opponent. In response, my opponent taps ...
2
votes
2answers
57 views

Can Axis and Allies be played with two players, and does it require all countries to be picked?

I had just recently bought the game and I was wondering if we needed more than two players to control all the countries. We had already decided that I would take the UK and USA while he would take ...
2
votes
1answer
83 views

Would I level up if I “automatically defeated” a monster but someone wandered in a monster that killed me afterwards?

This question arises when we saw this in the FAQ: Q. I used an ability to automatically kill a monster. Another player used Wandering Monster to add a monster to the fight, and then played ...
1
vote
1answer
22 views

Reforming to gain extra rank in close combat

If I have a unit that is 10 models wide. And an enemy unit is attacking me in the front with only one monster size model on the very far left side of my unit, can I reform my unit to gain an extra ...
5
votes
1answer
58 views

Are spells mostly a dubious strategy in Quarriors?

Granted we only have the basic set, it seems every time we play the games don't last long enough for spells to be useful. I can see how it would be a good idea to ramp resources, provide yourself with ...
4
votes
2answers
674 views

What happens if I must attack with two creatures, but am only allowed to attack with one?

I'm a little confused about what happens when the enchantment Dueling Grounds and Juggernaut. Juggernaut must attack each turn if able. Dueling Grounds only allows one creature to attack each turn. ...
0
votes
2answers
141 views

Can Skullcrack's damage be prevented?

Rule 608.2c. starts with "The controller of the spell or ability follows its instructions in the order written.", and Skullcrack's effects read Players can't gain life this turn. Damage can't be ...
8
votes
2answers
159 views

“Counter target ability from a [quality] source” — changing [quality]?

Some cards counter abilities, but only from some sources. For example, Ouphe Vandals can only counter activated abilities of artifacts. I know that removing the source of an ability does not prevent ...
0
votes
1answer
87 views

Will an object trigger if the source is sacrificed to pay a cost?

Will "When/Whenever Foo" trigger if the source is sacrificed to pay a cost for Foo? Examples If I activate Birthing Pod's ability and sacrifice Kurkesh, Onakke Ancient, will Kurkesh trigger, ...
4
votes
2answers
272 views

Why can the activated ability of Genju of the Fields stack multiple times?

According to a ruling on Genju of the Fields, its activated ability can be activated multiple times to enhance its lifelink effects: 8/1/2005: When activated multiple times, it will have the ...
2
votes
1answer
16 views

When taking damage to an outfit, does damaging an arming space also apply a -1 to the outfit's die?

The Xia rules are just slightly vague about damage to outfits. It has two separate sections for "putting damage on an outfit" and "putting damage on a use space": Use Space: If the (damage marker) ...
1
vote
1answer
317 views

Must a “target creature” be on the battlefield?

If an ability says "target creature," does the creature have to be on the battlefield? I think I found a loophole that depends on the answer.
1
vote
1answer
39 views

Trading item cards to another player that already has 5

On a player's turn can they give an item card to another player that already has 5 cards? Would that player just have to discard a card or is it not allowed?
0
votes
1answer
16 views

In Scarborough Fair, how is the length of a path defined?

The rules say that the customer always takes the shortest number of paths to the next stage. It also says that the number of tents along the way is irrelevant. Is path defined as a segment between ...
0
votes
0answers
15 views

Do Monstrous Creatures still only have AP6 when using Scything Talons?

Scything Talons have AP6, but to me it seems odd that a creature the size of a Carnifex with talons nearly twice the size of a human would have trouble cutting its way through a Guardsman's flak vest. ...
1
vote
0answers
12 views

Different backgammon variation name

In my country and in Greece we have three variations of Backgammon. The basic one that is played all around the world and two others. I am looking for the name of on of the two different ones and if ...
1
vote
2answers
33 views

Splitting Movement and Support

In the following example from the rulebook, Tyrell attacks Blackwater using two knights from the Reach with support from a knight in King's Landing, resulting in an initial combat strength of 7. If ...
3
votes
3answers
76 views

4-4 high approach - why is the defensive approach prefered?

In the 4-4 high approach joseki, why would black ever want to play the defensive - left variant? The result of the right variant looks much better! While the left variant leaves monkey jump ...
0
votes
0answers
21 views

Does the robot's 6-cost development counters count towards Galactic Federation?

During solo-play, if the robot successfully places Galactic Federation, do each of the 6-cost counters earned by the robot also earn the additional 2 VPs from Galactic Federation? This is from the ...
0
votes
0answers
30 views

What are common strategies for beating the robot in Race For The Galaxy?

I recently got the The Gathering Storm expansion to Race For The Galaxy and I've played solo against the robot about twelve times, winning only once. I consider myself a competent player ...

15 30 50 per page