2
votes
1answer
40 views

What to do when briefcases in the bag run out?

Near the end of the game, when a price adjustment occurs 9 or 10 briefcases can be puled from the bag, but only 5 will be replaced. I played recently where the bag ran out of cases except for these 5 ...
1
vote
1answer
12 views

Does a creature's ability trigger while it's in the hand or graveyard?

When a creature card like Agent of the Fates is not on the battlefield but for example in the hand or graveyard, will its triggered abilities still trigger when I play Animate Dead or my opponent ...
0
votes
0answers
2 views

If I fail to evade Dimensional Shambler, am I lost in time and space?

Failing a combat check results in being lost in time and space, and this monster has no combat damage listed. If I fail to evade, that implies I suffer no damage nor do I become lost as it was not a ...
0
votes
0answers
1 view

Do I effectively lose two opportunities to have an encounter when I get arrested by patrols?

When I get arrested by patrols during the movement phase, I get moved to the jail and am told to become delayed and skip the entire next turn. Does this mean I miss this turn's encounter phase and ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Does doubling counters trigger Hardened Scales?

I have a Hardened Scales and Setessan Oathsworn with no counters on the battlefield. I cast Solidarity of Heroes on the Oathsworn, it gets three counters from it's heroic trigger which happens while ...
0
votes
0answers
1 view

Do I get to use non-bonus abilities from items I don't have equipped?

For the abilities underneath the "+N to combat check", for instance, am I allowed to use them when I don't have them equipped? I believe the answer is yes but I was hoping to find documentation. I ...
0
votes
0answers
1 view

Do I make the sneak check on the patrol marker or confront monsters first?

When I end my turn in the street where there are monsters and a patrol marker, do I encounter the monsters first or perform the sneak check to avoid being arrested. Do I get to choose?
7
votes
6answers
2k views

What can the dummy player do in Bridge?

We're learning to play Bridge from Gramma, who played the game a lot ~40 years ago but doesn't really remember the rules (or, at least, the reasons behind some rules and conventions). One of the ...
2
votes
1answer
63 views

How do Hexproof and Combat Damage interact?

Here's a quick question say you have hexproof and your blocking creature has defender, indestructible, and hexproof. Now say your creature blocks a 8/8 with Trample and your creature is a 5/5. Trample ...
0
votes
0answers
22 views

Help with activating abilities [duplicate]

I have multiple nivmagus elemental a on the field and its effect says "exile an instant or sorcery spell you control: put two +1/+1 counters in nivmagus elemental." Does exiling one spell activate the ...
2
votes
0answers
33 views

Carcassonne fan expansions - available in English?

I was browsing the Hans im Glück website and found two 'official' fan-made expansions for Carcassone. Unfortunately the site is in German. The expansions are (probably) called: The City Gates (Die ...
52
votes
15answers
2k views

Countermeasures to “analysis paralysis”?

Several of my gaming friends are victim to more or less chronic analysis paralysis, which can drag down even the simplest of games. We've occasionally used an hourglass to combat this, but it tends ...
5
votes
3answers
12k views

How does trample interact with damage prevention effects and indestructible blockers?

Say I have a 4/4 creature with trample. I attack, and my opponent blocks with a... 0/1 creature that is indestructible: Does my 4/4 trampler's extra 3 damage carry over even though the blocking ...
7
votes
2answers
335 views

How to win with Greyjoy in Game of Thrones board game?

Seems like Greyjoy have a massive disadvantage. No special orders, so no mustering. When the cards for possible mustering or bidding on the tracks came up, other players declined those options. So as ...
2
votes
2answers
50 views

Beefy assault marines

I'm going for a very expensive but hopefully good assault marine setup, but I require advice. The setup is 5 marines total in the squad with one wielding an evicerator, two wielding flamers and the ...
4
votes
1answer
22 views

Can a trauma card meet the requirements for victory

There is a winning condition for the keeper that states that a Mi Go monster must kill an investigator. If the Mi Go monster did damage to an investigator and then I trigger a Trauma card that kills ...
18
votes
13answers
7k views

How can I get the trait clips in Betrayal at House on the Hill to stay on?

Betrayal at House on the Hill features character pentagons with 4 traits that can increase or decrease and are marked by clips. I find (at least with my copy) that the clips slip and slide too ...
0
votes
1answer
383 views

If Queen covered with opponent coin and both players have coins to pocket, Queen will be recovered?

In carrom, if the Queen pocketed, while covering, covered with opponent coin by mistake(both players have coins remaining on the board), will the Queen belongs to opponent or recovered to place on ...
3
votes
2answers
44 views

Does it make sense for a defender to lead a short major when opponents fail to find a fit using Stayman?

Both vulnerable, at rubber, South dealt and bid 1NT, North 2 clubs, South 2 hearts, North 3NT. You, West, have (s) 64 (h) AJ7 (d)J8752 (c) Q84. North clearly has four spades, but not hearts. Any ...
4
votes
1answer
74 views

Are there good ways to “handicap” Midway?

In the Q&A section of the "rulebook," questions were asked about how to "handicap" the game in favor of either the Japanese or American player. The answers were to increase the "search" ...
0
votes
2answers
69 views

is your turn over after playing an action card and doing what the card says

The Action card "Draw two, play two" says to draw two cards and play them. Then you're supposed to continue your turn. But isn't your turn already over? Because you've already drawn a card and played ...
-2
votes
1answer
107 views

Do I need mana in my mana pool to summon a creature card? [on hold]

Is there a limit to how many creatures I can summon in a turn?
2
votes
2answers
163 views

Playing pairs of non-cat cards

I am unclear on a detail. Can I play a pair of cards with instructions (such as shuffles)? From the instructions: "If you play matching pairs with no instructions on them,....". It seems like ...
4
votes
1answer
25 views

Can a Mayor be used to create a Castle?

We combined Abbey & Mayor with Bridges, Castles & Bazaars for the first time last night, and one situation cropped up for which I want to clarify the rules. I created a small city (with no ...
1
vote
1answer
375 views

Summoning Beast King Barbaros with Majesty's Fiend on the field

My opponent summoned Majesty's Fiend on their turn, I have Beast King Barbaros in hand. May I summon Beast King without tribute with Majesty's Fiend on the field and what is Beast King's attack when I ...
0
votes
1answer
63 views

What is the very last step that Juragedo can be special summoned and tributed

My opponent declares and attack with a Nekroz holding Nekroz of Decisive Armor in hand. Can I wait until the damage step to special summon and then tribute Juragedo? Juragedo During either ...
5
votes
1answer
24 views

Do Cylon Leaders in Battlestar Galactica (Daybreak expansion) draw an extra card in sickbay?

I recently played a game of BSG with some friends and we ran into a situation wherein the Cylon Leader was in the sickbay and their turn came around. The sickbay states that you draw only one card, ...
8
votes
4answers
1k views

Does Double Strike mean you count as Attacking twice?

Does Narset, Enlightened Master's ability trigger twice if she has double strike, since she has an ability that says "When (she) attacks"?
0
votes
0answers
54 views

Help bulding a mtg deck please [on hold]

I wanted to know if i can make at least one deck with these spare old cards I have here, I'm not willing to buy more to create a deck with these because I'm saving for my modern deck at the moment. ...
10
votes
4answers
9k views

Do you have to have exactly 60 cards in a Magic the Gathering deck?

Do you have to have exactly 60 cards in a Magic the Gathering deck? Some people I've talked to at FNM say yes, others say no.
1
vote
1answer
24 views

Ramses and Babel tile 23: are Guilds free or do you have to pay coins?

If you have recruited the Leader Ramses and the Babel tile 23 is active, can you build Guilds for free, or do you have to pay coins? Leader Ramses: (Leaders, page 6) As soon as Ramses enters ...
0
votes
1answer
24 views

Stalingrad Pocket 2nd ed Air Power Barrage Shift

According to rule 1.10g Divisional Integrity Artillery Bonus: "Artillery which does not have a friendly unit adjacent to the intended target ... will receive a (leftward) shift on the Barrage ...
22
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you throw animals into the stewpot if you don't have enough pasture room for any of them?

In Agricola, the Fireplace and Cooking Hearth both allow you to convert animals to food "at any time." Can you use this ability to cook animals if you don't have room in your pastures? In ...
2
votes
3answers
70 views

What's a good way to shuffle sleeved cards?

I usually use a riffle shuffle with unsleeved cards. Riffle shuffling sleeved cards however is, uh, slightly disastrous as cards frequently get caught in the sleeve openings. What's a good way to ...
10
votes
1answer
99 views
+100

What has changed in the new edition of Junta?

I have the 1985 WEG version of Junta (that I rescued from a second-hand store years ago), and while it's a favorite of mine, I'll easily admit that it's not the clearest game for explanations or text ...
1
vote
1answer
26 views

How do I have to arrange the remaining meeples after using the Ultra Bright Smile ability?

The Super Secret ability Ultra Bright smile lets you eat escaped meeples then you can rearrange the remaining escaped meeples. My question regards rearranging the remaining meeples. The first level ...
16
votes
4answers
14k views

Does Wrath of God really destroy creatures with shroud?

I heard - (from an official MtG judge) - that Wrath of God ("Destroy all creatures") destroys creatures with the Shroud ability, because it doesn't target a single creature, it targets all creatures. ...
1
vote
1answer
130 views

Saving throws against Destroyer weapons

If your opponent hits one of your models with a D strength weapon, rolls on the table and gets a 'Seriously Wounded' result, then rolls 3 for the number of wounds. How many saving throws do I roll? Is ...
1
vote
3answers
150 views

Casting a creature and hexproofing

If I play Krenko, Mob Boss and retain priority and cast Swiftfoot Boots on Krenko Mob Boss and at the same time my opponent casts Unsummon on Krenko Mob Boss, will my creature be safe or will he be ...
14
votes
5answers
11k views

How can I tell if these vintage boardgames are worth anything?

My grandparents passed away recently, and my mother is cleaning out their house. They have some vintage board games (ca. 1960's, maybe?) in their house, and she's wondering what to do with them. I ...
2
votes
2answers
55 views

How can I handicap in Suburbia?

I have Suburbia, and I quite like it. However, some of the people I play with, don't quite have the cutthroat edge to win. It makes not so fun to play if I win every game. What's an effective way to ...
22
votes
6answers
4k views

Does anyone have a way to modify Ticket to Ride to accommodate six people?

I recently bought Ticket to Ride to play at our monthly game night, which consists of three couples, i.e. six people. Stupid me, didn't read the five player limit before ordering the game. I've played ...
2
votes
0answers
21 views

Discard Ongoing Card for effect (Mad Mod)

I'm playing the Teen Titan's version of the DC building game which focus heavily on "Ongoing" effect cards. Now we came across an scenario that we are not too sure on. Now he plays the "Mad Mod" ...
1
vote
1answer
145 views

Can you play base-game Claustrophobia scenarios with De Profundis included?

Perhaps stupidly, I bought both Claustrophobia and its De Profundis expansion both at once. After doing so I discovered that the designer has stated the scenarios in the base game are not suitable ...
9
votes
1answer
378 views

How can we win at Bohnanza: Al Cabohne?

My girlfriend and I have played the game Bohnanza a lot and we have bought the version Bohnanza: Al Cabohne. But somehow the game always beats us. Does anybody know a good tactic to win this?
1
vote
0answers
44 views

Games similar to X-Wing? [on hold]

Recently I played the X-Wing miniature game and I'd like to find a game that is similar to that, but not collectible. I don't want to buy lots of ships to play as I like. EDIT: As @PhillipKendall ...
1
vote
1answer
26 views

Canasta - 2 Players

In Online Canasta - I cannot understand how the opponent can pick up the discard pile before melding. I have been melding before taking the top card from the discard pile. They have a huge advantage ...
2
votes
2answers
43 views

Exchange Keeper Card

In Zombie Fluxx, if you play an Exchange Keepers Card, can you give them a Creeper and they give you a Keeper so you can match the goal?
6
votes
1answer
61 views

In King of Tokyo, how does Mecha Blast interact with High Altitude Bombing?

King of Tokyo: Powerup has an evolution card for Meka Dragon called Mecha Blast that reads: Discard this Evolution to deal 2 extra damage. There is also a discardable card from the main game ...
2
votes
1answer
158 views

Does the newly implemented Scry Rule change the way we play Magic: the Gathering?

At Pro Tour Magic Origins, Wizards decided to implement a new rule, dubbed the Scry Rule. This rule stated that after mulligans (if any) had been taken, any player with fewer cards than the original ...

15 30 50 per page