10
votes
4answers
3k views

Is it impossible to pay off-color mana costs in EDH?

In Commander, there is a rule that states: During the game, if mana would be added to your mana pool that isn't a color in your commander's color identity, that much colorless mana is added to ...
1
vote
2answers
17 views

A Game of Thrones Feast breaking ties for objectives

In A Game of Thrones the board game the player who holds the iron throne breaks ties. In the expansion A Feast for Crows, objective cards are introduced such as Control more land areas than any ...
1
vote
2answers
5 views

In Arkham Horror, does the first player look at the drawn monster before deciding how to place it?

What is the accepted procedure for drawing monsters? If I need to draw 8 monsters for 3 gates, it's easy to determine which two will get the extra monster, but do I draw them one by one, looking at ...
1
vote
1answer
6 views

In Arkham Horror, should the newly placed monsters or the final count of monsters be evenly distributed?

The rules state: When placing monsters, they should be divided as evenly as possible among the open gates, with no gate having more monsters placed on it than the gate where the monster surge ...
0
votes
0answers
2 views

In a&a 1942 2nd edition is it necesarry to build an industrial complex in order to mobilize units?

Like if the soviet union does not build a complex that means it cant mobilize units anywhere? I dont see any complexes printed on the board itself to start the game off, does that mean i have to buy ...
3
votes
2answers
33 views

If I lose my central tile, do I lose the round?

I was playing a game of Galaxy Trucker the other day when one of the players took a small meteor to his exposed central tile. He had a number of other occupied crew pods, but I was under the ...
5
votes
4answers
835 views

Do morph cards suffer summoning sickness

When you have the card face down then you morph the card to face up, does it suffer summoning sickness? My friend has lots of them in his deck and I'm not too sure and would like to know whether they ...
40
votes
2answers
4k views

Which property group colour gives the best ROI , undeveloped or fully developed, in Monopoly?

Everybody always goes for the dark blues in Monopoly (Mayfair and Park Lane in the UK edition), but I'm convinced that the cheaper colour groups offer a better return on investment, partly because you ...
1
vote
1answer
54 views

In what ways does the Arkham Horror Toolkit app improve or detract from the experience?

In what ways do people find using the Arkham Horror Toolkit reduces the play time, and how much does it further enhance or detract from the experience? I can imagine one negative is that it simply ...
4
votes
3answers
377 views

Ways to remove creatures with Shroud

I was playing Forge last night and the computer brought out Wall of Denial. What an annoying wall! Is there any way to destroy it other than attacking with a big creature and having the wall block ...
3
votes
2answers
48 views

Who is the male investigator on the cover of Arkham Horror, Elder Sign, and Eldritch Horror?

The 30- or 40-something dark-haired male on the cover of these games appears to be the same character, but it's not clear to me which. Is it one of the in-game characters?
2
votes
1answer
26 views

In Robo Rally, does a powered down robot get to earn option cards and repair?

If he is pushed onto repair spaces etc, does he repair and earn option cards at the end of the 5 register phases if he is on an option space? The rules state: The robot doesn’t receive or execute ...
1
vote
1answer
33 views

Dividing up Hexagonal Board Tiles

So I'm designing a board game that uses a number of adjacent hexagonal boards. These boards need to be divided up into spaces (tiles) that players move through. I've been playing with using Hexagons ...
0
votes
1answer
12 views

Islands as Coastal Spaces

Do Islands count as Coastal spaces? One specific effect in the game makes reference to coastal spaces, which do not appear to have a clear definition or specific terrain icon. Do islands count for ...
0
votes
1answer
38 views

How to balance Dixit?

The rules of Dixit that the game ends when the deck runs out (leaving players with full hands at the end). Every time I have played, the players have commented that this means that some players have ...
2
votes
1answer
78 views

Mindslaver and Conspiracy's vote cards

I have a Mindslaver and my opponent has a Coercive Portal on the board. I use the Mindslaver's ability to take control of my opponent's next turn. Do I get to choose what his vote is for the Portal's ...
8
votes
3answers
1k views

When to make suggestions that include cards in my own hand in clue?

One strategy I've heard of in clue is to name a card or two in your own hand when making a suggestion. I presume this is primarily so you can gain information about the other two factors that need to ...
1
vote
1answer
23 views

Why am I seeing the same 3 Spider Solitaire games today that I saw 2 days ago

For the third time in 5 or 6 games today and yesterday I am seeing the same Spider Solitaire layout that I saw two days go. These three games all had very unique patterns, and took a large number of ...
2
votes
1answer
22 views

Accessing Tale 2,600

Is there a way to access passage 2,600 in The Book of Tales through normal play? Passage 2,600 in The Book of Tales appears to be a humorous easter egg referencing the fact that it is the last ...
5
votes
1answer
65 views

Can I use Settlers of Catan (older edition) with Catan: Explorers and Pirates (2015 ed.)?

I have an older version of The Settlers of Catan (part number 483), and an older version of The Cities and Knights of Catan (part number 494), which were purchased sometime around the late 1990s. I ...
1
vote
1answer
9 views

In Elder Sign, can I use Jenny Barnes' ability to discard a spell when the mythos lingering effect bars investigators from using spells?

Would using Jenny's ability count as 'using' a spell here just because her ability involves discarding a spell to gain the dice?
0
votes
1answer
21 views

Returning to Origin city when Married

Do you need to end your turn in the city with your origin marker in order to satisfy the condition on the Married status? The status Married says, in part: After you have an encounter in another ...
0
votes
1answer
12 views

Fabulous Wealth as Sultan

Does being Sultan bypass the special requirements for being Fabulously Wealthy? When gaining the Sultan status, a player automatically moves their wealth counter directly to fabulous (the highest ...
0
votes
1answer
294 views

If Queen covered with opponent coin and both players have coins to pocket, Queen will be recovered?

In carrom, if the Queen pocketed, while covering, covered with opponent coin by mistake(both players have coins remaining on the board), will the Queen belongs to opponent or recovered to place on ...
1
vote
1answer
9 views

In Elder Sign, can I free a focused die?

If I focus a die, can I free it and reroll it later in the same turn? The only reference I see in the rules is the following (with something similar in the faq as well): Note: A player can focus ...
0
votes
1answer
10 views

In Elder Sign, If I free a locked die by defeating a monster, can I use it in the same turn?

If a monster locks a yellow die, can I use an item/spell to gain that die once I defeat the monster? Also, I have not looked through the cards, but if there is a monster that locks the green die, ...
0
votes
0answers
4 views

Skills as a Victory Tie-Breaker

How are skills counted for the victory condition? The first tie-breaker for winning the game is the number of statuses each contested player possesses, followed second by how many skills they ...
0
votes
1answer
15 views

In Elder Sign, if you need to draw from a deck and there are no cards left, do you lose the opportunity?

There don't seem to be a large number of spell cards, and Dexter Drake can accumulate cards very fast. If the spell deck (or any other deck for that matter) runs out, do players simply lose the ...
1
vote
1answer
5 views

Can i cast a spell after collecting rewards for an adventure?

Page 13 says a player can only use his items, clues, spells, and allies during his own turn. Does this mean I can use a spell immediately after collecting adventure rewards, such as opening an other ...
1
vote
1answer
5 views

Can I use a spell after I complete all the tasks?

Can I use a spell to heal all my stamina after I complete the final task?
1
vote
1answer
13 views

In Robo Rally, what happens if I run out of cards and can't play a card on the 5th register?

The crab legs option card lets me play 2 cards in one register. If I have 4 damage, this leaves me with no cards to play in the 5th register. Is this just a pass in that turn?
1
vote
1answer
13 views

In Robo Rally, what happens to locked registers if I power up with more than 4 damage?

If I wake my robot with locked registers, do I have a 'blank' there until it unlocks?
0
votes
1answer
638 views

Returning Monsters to my hand

I'm looking for cards that allow me to return one or more Monster Cards from my own side of the field to my hand repeatedly. By repeatedly, I mean that they can be used several times per turn, ...
0
votes
1answer
18 views

Can land and sea units adjacent to the territory or sea zone being attacked ( also units range permitting) move in and help defend?

My friend and I recently started playing a&a 1941. I played the germans which attacked Caucasus then my friend started moving in units from other territories into Caucasus to defend. Can you do ...
8
votes
1answer
190 views

Help identify an old board game with three rooms in a castle and a ghost

Some things that I can remember: There is a castle with 3 rooms. There are tree treasures in each of the rooms Maximum about 4 players Someone plays as a Ghost and others as people Ghost is hunting ...
0
votes
0answers
44 views

Mtg tournament play [on hold]

Are alternate art dual lands cards from fate reforged allowed in tournament play? The art on the card is extended but applied to an original mtg land card and the wording is exact with proper borders. ...
0
votes
1answer
10 views

Can Unity play Mechanical Golems when she gets to play a card outside of her turn?

All Mechanical Golems in Unity's deck say the following: This card cannot be played during your play phase. It's pretty clear that this means that during your turn, you cannot play a Mechanical ...
0
votes
1answer
33 views

Does removing a token from play trigger effects that happen when a dude is discarded or aced?

Say that I have a Gunslinger token in a shootout and he gets discarded or Aced. Per the card's text, you need to "Remove this token from the game after this shootout." I presume that this means they ...
0
votes
1answer
14 views

Does the bonus die for Captain of the Guard's Battle Steed ability have to be assigned a target color before the roll?

One of the new heroes in Expansion #1 is Captain of the Guard, and he gets a bonus die when initiating attack in a new location. Does this extra die have to be assigned to a color of minion on that ...
1
vote
1answer
77 views

Why are there multiple copies of figures in Gaming Night Kits

I'm curious as to why there are 6 copies of the same miniature an corresponding ID cards in the Gaming Night Kits. I understand the different languages ID cards copies of the same miniature? I would ...
3
votes
2answers
219 views

How does Sundial of the Infinite help you avoid losing turns to Eater of Days?

This article on Wizards of the Coast website claims that Eater of Days "lose your next two turns" can be avoided by use of Sundial of the Infinite. I can't figure that out. There are no rulings on ...
6
votes
1answer
70 views

Where does the term “sacred discard” come from?

In most variants of Mahjong with restrictions on when a player can complete their hand off a discarded tile (especially Japanese Mahjong with furiten), the English rules refer to the situation as a ...
-1
votes
2answers
83 views

If an object has at least 2 colors, does it also count as non[color] for every color?

Are all multi-color permanents of colors C1,C2 also non-C1 and non-C2 simultaneously? Example: Battle Frenzy: does a Red/Green creature gain +1/+1 and +1/+0 by being both green and nongreen? ...
0
votes
0answers
8 views

In Elder Sign, does defeating a monster with a spell count as a completed task?

My understanding is that a 'completed' task is one in which you fulfill the roll requirements and thus can roll the remaining dice without discarding one as a penalty. If I use a spell to defeat a ...
0
votes
1answer
26 views

Can Auction be played on a deed that is already Private?

The Action card Auction says the following: Noon: Choose a deed in play. It becomes Private. If you own and control that deed, gain 1 ghost rock for each dude controlled by another player at that ...
0
votes
1answer
33 views

Can outfits other than Law Dogs start with Gomorra Jail?

Gomorra Jail is a deed with the following text: You may start with this deed in play in place of a Law Dogs dude. Controller React, Boot: When another player's wanted dude is discarded during ...
7
votes
1answer
66 views

How to win with Greyjoy in Game of Thrones board game?

Seems like Greyjoy have a massive disadvantage. No special orders, so no mustering. When the cards for possible mustering or bidding on the tracks came up, other players declined those options. So as ...
-1
votes
1answer
63 views

World of Warriors - how to play?

I've been googling away, but I just can't find any resources that explain the rules of how to play World of Warriors (the Topps card game, not that app). Does anyone know a resource? Or could anyone ...
32
votes
21answers
2k views

Which alternative methods of choosing a starting player actually WORK?

So I've been noticing that there's a vogue in gaming recently for the starting player to be chosen by some method other than simple lot. I'm wondering if this is a good fashion, or if it's just ...
0
votes
1answer
68 views

Saving throws against Destroyer weapons

If your opponent hits one of your models with a D strength weapon, rolls on the table and gets a 'Seriously Wounded' result, then rolls 3 for the number of wounds. How many saving throws do I roll? Is ...

15 30 50 per page