Hot answers tagged

6

As stated by the rules (English Rules, p. 4), you're required to use your own resources first and buy the missing afterwards. Often, a player will want to build a structure requiring resources he or she does not produce. If these resources are produced by a neighboring city – players sitting directly to the left or right of that player – the player will ...


5

I believe I can get to 231 using the restrictions of the OP, being a 3 player game and only the Leaders and Cities expansions. Wonders used are Byzantium (A) West, Babylon (B) You, and Roma (B) East. A summary of the points are: Military - 16 - from an Age II Stables Coins - 27 - finish with 82 coins from neighbours purchasing from you, Gambling ...


5

Once only. According to the cities rulebook, p. 5: If there are ever only 2 players left during a conflict resolution, they only face each other once and each take a single token.


4

No. The guilds in question specifically award points for cards. Workers Guild: 1 victory point for each brown card present in the neighboring cities. Shipowners Guild: 1 victory point for each brown, gray and purple card in your city. Clarification: the Shipowners Guild counts towards this total. Craftmans Guild: 2 victory points for each gray ...


4

I have a score of 250 points, using Leaders, Cities and 2 wonders from the Wonder Pack. I score 229 from science, 18 from war and 3 from coins. The strategy focuses on science, and grabs an easy 18 bonus points with a first age war card. See the image at the bottom of this answer for an example game. Goals The main player has the following goals: Buy ...


4

With Ramses in effect, guilds are still free. This is the reason Babel tile 23 specifies "construction of guilds via resources" is forbidden. Antoine Bauza (the game's creator) was asked this directly on his forums this past December. The question was posed: «When we built a guild with Ramses Leader in play but the tile Babel No. 23 (resources become parts ...


4

I'll put forward an approach that if nothing else will set a beginning bar. I'll start with some justification as to how I think you could get the cards you need, and then we'll add up the points at the end. Let's assume that the gods are smiling upon you (or that your neighbors are idiots) first and foremost. They play the perfect cards, including ones ...


3

According to the rulebook this phase is resolved simultaneously: Once every player has selected his or her card, they perform their action simultaneously. Three actions are possible with the chosen card : a. Build the structure b. Build a stage of their Wonder c. Discard the card to gain 3 coins In other words, all players announce ...


3

As correctly stated by @unor, you may opt not to use the chain building, but normally pay for resources (English Rules, p. 4): If the player has built the structure named there during a previous Age, that player can build the structure for free, meaning without having to fulfill the resource cost. Both French and German rules confirm the above. The ...


2

I assume you inquire about stage #2 of side A. According to the Rules, p. 8: the player gains a resource of their choice from the 4 Raw material types [Stone, Clay, Wood, Ore] every turn. Clarification : this resource cannot be sold through commerce. In other words, each turn you have a wild, exclusive raw material at your disposal, for free, just ...


2

The recruitment phase is specifically at the beginning of an age before players have received cards. I would agree that Maecenas would only get the bonus during this phase and not if leader is put in play by any other means.


2

thesunneversets’ answer is correct, and here’s a quote from the official FAQ to confirm it: Q: Can I buy the resource from a card played this turn by a player next to me? A: No, the only resources which can be used are those which were available before the card was played.


2

Answer #1 - Yes, any brown cards played by neighboring players count toward earning coins this way. Answer #2 - This question is unanswered and not clarified by the official rules. You can only change the action you intended for the card you selected if you can't perform the action you intended for it. In your case, since you can't build the structure as ...


1

Despite not having, yet, a Project that hands out defeat tokens as penalties, the phrase "apply to Conflict tokens from the Great Projects" is still in the rules just in case a relevant Great Project will be released, either as a promo or in a future expansion. That's my best guess.


1

In the BoardGameGeek thread Choosing to pay for resources, the user Jacek Deimer says he has asked the designer (Antoine Bauza): 2a. Can you decide to buy resource instead of using your own resources? 2a. You have to use your own resources in the first place. (I could not verify if this source/quote is accurate.) However, in the same ...


1

(I’m not sure about this interpretation and welcome insight/corrections.) The rules say about "Free Construction (Chains)" (English PDF, page 4): Some structures in Age II and Age III have, to the right of their resource cost, the name of a structure of a previous age. If the player has built the structure named there during a previous Age, that ...


1

The Courtesan token stays on a Leader that gets entombed. This is based on Eddie the Cranky Gamer’s post on BoardGameGeek (to which @Jean-Sébastien links to in his answer, too), who says the he’s asked Repos: I put the question to Repos and the answer was that the Courtesan stays in play, with the same assumed power of the now-entombed leader. Putting ...


1

According to this, you keep the power of the entombed leader. As for seducing an already emtombed leader, I have not found anything, but I would not allow it.


1

The two sides are not designed to be balanced. On 6 out of 7 wonders in the base game, side A has been in fact created to ease new players in the game, by providing a common pattern among them: 3 Victory Points Variable power 7 Victory Points Side B is almost always strictly better than side A. Here's a detailed approach, from my point of view. ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible