Tag Info

New answers tagged

3

No you wouldn't. You don't instantly gain stamina/sanity when your maximum increases, thus you also wouldn't gain stamina/sanity if a penalty to your maximum was removed.


2

No, you couldn't use Duke in that situation. Certain cards such as Flesh Ward specifically allow interrupting the order of things to prevent you from taking damage, but Duke does not. You would need to choose to use Duke before whatever action you were taking (such as drawing an encounter), or afterwards, but it cannot interrupt the resolution of a card ...


3

Yes, Exhibit items can be traded like other items. From the Curse of the Dark Pharaoh rules: The Exhibit Item cards represent the ancient Egyptian artifacts brought to Arkham as part of the "Legacy of the Pharaohs" museum exhibit. They are similar to Unique Items, but have no monetary value and can only be gained through Arkham, Other World, and ...


1

The FAQ attempts to clarify this but the answer to the Q here is still not crystal clear even after the clarification=) Q: Exactly where, when, and what can investigators trade? A: Investigators may trade any time during the Movement Phase when they are in the same location, street area, or Other World area except during combat. They may trade ...


2

This was already in the base rules (top of page 10, Mythos phase, part C3): Exception: If there are five or more investigators playing, then draw and place two monsters instead of one. The Dunwich rules are just saying explicitly that you also do this on the first mythos card of the game. That was already true in the base rules, since they said to do ...


2

Yes, you're correct about both. Until the Arkham encounter phase, it doesn't really matter that there's a gate there. So you can do whatever you like during movement, including exchanging items. When you arrive at the Arkham encounter phase, each player in a location with a gate will be drawn in if they haven't been through the gate before. So depending on ...


2

From the base rules: Whenever an investigator enters combat with a monster, resolve the following steps, in order. You enter combat separately with each monster. "Combat" refers to that set of steps (horror check, fight or flee, monster damage). So no, it doesn't stay active for multiple monsters, and yes, "this combat" means combat with a single ...


2

Page 7 of the Arkham Horror FAQ says Q: When exactly can Flesh Ward be cast? A: When you are told to lose 1 or more points of Stamina, you may cast Flesh Ward to prevent that loss. For instance, this can work on the Stamina from a single failed Combat check. This does not make the investigator immune to fur- ther harm from that source, it only ...


3

If you fail to cast a spell, none of its effects happen. So you're left exactly where you started: you have a combat check to make. Of course, Bind Monster is two-handed, so... you won't have any weapons and may not fare too well in the check. (Side note: combat checks are a special kind of fight check; this is a combat check, not just a fight check.)


0

I feel that the location icons (p24 of rulebook) can give some hints to what skills you need. Specifically stamina, sanity and spells. I also think the game did a good job of making the areas generally (but not altogether) lean to logically what you might encounter in them. Like lore for the Spell shop. I am spoiler sensitive so I have no proof, akin to ...


3

Yes, different locations do skew toward different skills. If you really want to know, you can look at something like this cheat sheet. I personally think that kind of spoils the game a bit, though. It's not as bad as if you just looked through the encounter cards yourself, but it still takes out a bit of surprise and fun in playing. The one broad rule is ...


3

Yes, I believe so. I don't think there are specific rules, but: Every other interaction with the cup is drawing randomly. Other encounters with rewards like this instead say "Draw a monster from the cup and take it as a monster trophy, even if it has the Endless ability." or even "Draw one monster trophy at random from the cup." If this were meant to be ...


3

This is explicitly answered in the FAQ: Q: Can an investigator trade in trophies to become the Deputy if another investigator is already the Deputy (the existing Deputy would stop being Deputy)? If so, do they acquire the Patrol Wagon and/or Deputy’s Revolver if they are still in the other investigator’s possession? A: No.


6

If you start your movement phase on a location or Street with any monsters, you must either evade them all or fight them. If you attempt to pass through a location or street with a monster on it, you must either evade or fight them. If you end your movement on a location or street with a monster, you must either evade or fight them. Flying monsters ...


5

No you don't. Moving from Lost in Time and Space happens during the Upkeep phase, and you may only pick up clues at the end of movement that happens during the Movement phase. From the Arkham Horror FAQ (page 14): Q: Do you immediately gain any Clues at locations you move to during Upkeep (from being Lost in Time and Space)? A: No.


3

Losing your turn is different to being delayed. Being delayed means you cannot do anything during your movement phase If you have lost your turn, you skip all phases (including upkeep) except for the Mythos phase. From the FAQ: Q: If a card tells you to “lose your next turn,” does this mean skip all phases, including Upkeep? A: Yes, all phases ...


2

Short Answer: Being lost in time and space means that during your next turn, you skip all phases, including Upkeep. The only exception is during that same turn's Movement Phase, you simply stand up your token. Long Answer: Here is the text on what happens when lost in time and space (core rulebook, pg. 17): Any investigator who is lost in time and space ...


2

The only reason that you would be unable to repeat the "Any Phase" ability on a card is if you must exhaust the card to use the ability (e.g. Dragon's Eye), or if it explicitly says that you can only use the ability once per turn (e.g. Mandy Thompson's ability). Since the Enchanted Jewelry meets neither of these conditions, it can be used multiple times per ...


2

Yes, those are things that are more likely to come up in encounters there. It's no guarantee, though. This is described in detail in the rules in the section titled "Location Icons" on the last page of the rules, along with a lot of other helpful summary information. The key part is: Each location on the map also has several icons associated with it. ...


3

The rules for The Final Battle (page 22 of the rulebook) state that the first player token should be passed at the start of the turn, when the investigators refresh: 1. Investigators Refresh At the beginning of a round of combat with an Ancient One, the investigators may refresh their cards, use any character abilities, and adjust their skill ...


3

Yes. See this example from the official Arkham FAQ, p.12 (emphasis mine): In a 3-player game, the monster limit is 6 and the maximum number of monsters in the Outskirts is 5. There are 3 open gates on the board, 6 monsters in Arkham, and 4 monsters in the Outskirts. During the Mythos Phase, you draw a location that already has an open gate, ...


2

From the Arkham Horror FAQ: The Sky is considered part of Arkham (since it is on the Arkham board) And A monster that is arriving in Arkham is moved to the Outskirts if its arrival would exceed the monster limit. So the sky is considered part of Arkham. The outskirts are never considered part of arkham. (Also, it is impossible for Cthonians and ...


2

I think the rest of this cards text is relevant: Pass a Luck (-1) check or the book is a prison. If you fail, roll a die. On a failure, a monster appears from the book. On a success, you are drawn into the book for a time. Stay here next turn. So, you basically only deal with the consequences if you fail the luck check (due to the book being a ...


2

Yes, combat bonuses are cumulative as long as you do not exceed the 'hands' requirement. Shrivelling requires 1 hand so this rules out other two handed weapons or spells. Skill bonuses such as Fight+1 will also come in to effect.


2

No, this item does not affect the gate tokens as they are placed by the Mythos Cards. It is referring to gate encounter cards that you draw when you are in an other world location. Also, the rules contains the contents of the game and the gate cards are listed separately to the gate tokens and mythos cards


1

Yes, left over success rolls do carry over, but the number of success required depend on the GOO that you are facing and the number of players. Also, if the GOO awakens, you always fill up the doom track if it wasn't already full. The following is quote from the FAQ which you can find on the FFG Arkham Horror website: To defeat the Ancient One, the ...


1

The 'limits' that change with more players are: Maximum number of monsters on the board before they go into outskirts Maximum number of monsters in the outskirts before the terror track is moved Maximum number of gates that can be open at any time Maximum number of monsters that trigger the awakening of the Great Old One once the terror level has reached ...


1

Flying monsters can be in one of three places when the action to move them may occur: Location Streets Sky If it is in a location or the streets, the monster moves to a connected street location if there is an investigator there. If there is no investigator, it goes to the sky If it is in the sky, it moves to any street location which contains an ...



Top 50 recent answers are included