Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

7

For simplicity, I will focus on the base game (Sid Meier's Civilization the Board Game, as published in 2010) without any expansions because this is what I assume you are currently playing. Tech victories are common while learning the game rules. This is because the Research phase acts as a sort of timer; if everyone acquires approximately 1 technology per ...


7

Only during your movement phase. Page 22 or the rulebook, there is the card Currency : City management : Gain 3 culture tokens and the following explanation : For example, Currency (shown above) allows a player to spend one incense resource token to gain three culture tokens during the player’s City Management Phase


6

Cards with Battle abilities can only be played before or after an attack on an enemy front (or starting a new front), not during the battle. Animal husbandry can therefore only remove wound tokens from units who've survived with some damage. Likewise, Mathematics can only add wound tokens to units already in fronts. All these cards are resolved before the ...


5

Military bonuses can be blockaded, but not stolen. So you get the trade, but nobody gets the combat advantage. Source Blockading a Great General (Board Game Geek), from the the designer Military bonuses CAN be blockaded, however, scouts CANNOT steal military bonuses (military bonuses weren't originally icons, and I'm pretty sure that could be game ...


4

No. If you aren't drawing square unit cards, a battle isn't taking place From the FFG rule book (page 23) Battle is the struggle of one civilization against another for dominance. When an army figure moves into a square containing a village marker, an enemy army figure, or an enemy city, a battle takes place. If you had continued reading the section ...


2

I've been thinking about this problem. On top of that I've also noticed that the wonders barely get used in our games. So we thought it might work to restrict level 3+ tech until after the 4 ancient wonders are placed, then restrict level 5 until all medieval wonders are placed. Haven't tested this yet but I think it might work to balance the huge ...


2

We recently played the Civilization Board Game with 3 players and had a similar experience. In our case one of the players was the Soviets (who have the ability to "steal" tech by marching units into other players cities), and also managed to get a wonder allowing them to steal a technology once per turn. This speeded up the tech victory win, however in ...


2

From the Rules (page 12): In the City Management Phase, the first player takes one action with each of their cities. A city may produce an item (such as a building or unit card), devote itself to the arts to gain culture, or harvest a resource as its action (see pages 15–18). After the first player completes their City Management Phase, play ...


2

Your question is a little bit confused. Coin tokens do not accumulate on map squares. Coin tokens are used only to track coins gained through technologies. Your economy dial tracks the total of coin tokens on your technologies, plus the current number of coins you control on the map. From p. 26 of the rulebook: A player may acquire economic power in the ...


2

According to the rules of the base game (p. 25), eliminated unit cards are discarded and put face up under the appropriate deck on the market board.


1

There is not (at least yet) an official, explicit statement for this. For the time before a new FAQ version is released, I would suggest to stick into the Official and Unofficial rules and clarifications made by Itchi (BGG). He was one of the playtesters of the Wisdom & Warfare expansion, and this UFAQ is used in our playgroup if no help is offered by ...


1

If could affect the game in the way, that you do not know if some player will trade with you. If he does not accept a trade you might be interested in, you could lack the ressources to do what you intended to do and have misplaced your pioneer (or vice versa, could have done some better move due to a surprisingly good deal). However, we always decide where ...


1

Yes. This was covered by the FAQ, v2.0: Q: Can a player disband an army figure in a city that already contains a fortification marker, or a scout in a city that already contains a caravan marker? A: Yes. However, the player does not add an additional fortification or caravan marker, or gain an additional bonus.


1

Civilization can certainly be made a 2x2 team game. The rules you wrote will work. One slight addition: Rules and culture cards referring to "an opponent" (such as A Gift From Afar or Disoriented) refer only to players on the other team. If it refers to "another player", it can be used on a player on the opposing team or your ally (such as Exchange of ...


1

You may interrupt the figures movement in any place between the starting point and ending point. Including the starting and ending points. This can be argued By the official FAQ (v.2.0) Q: If a player has the Navigation tech and is moving a figure across water but cannot end in water, and his opponent stops that figure’s movement in a water ...


1

The answer to your question was the first sentence "You make him stay at original place". So for that entire turn, the figure cant move.


1

You make him stay at original place. You can do this to any figure, even if the figure is planning to attack someone else and not you. The reason it says "may interrupt a movement" is that you are allowed to use this ability out of your turn, when someone else is doing the movement you can interrupt them. You dont necessarily have to use this ability in your ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible