Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

17

Spoils is played twice, but is returned to the Spoils pile and not trashed. Spoils is a treasure providing three coins that reads: When you play this, return it to the Spoils pile. Counterfeit reads: When you play this, you may play a Treasure from your hand twice. If you do, trash that Treasure. According to the Dark Ages rulebook (PDF), page ...


11

Do exactly what it says on the card, in the order it says it. So: Procession says you may play an action card from your hand twice. You pick Madman. You play Madman once. You get +2 actions, and then return it to the Madman pile. If you do, +1 card per card in your hand - you did, so +3 cards. You play Madman a second time. You get +2 actions again, and ...


10

The Golden Rule of Dominion is "do as much as you can". If no copies of a card exist (e.g. because they've all been trashed) then no card is given out by a Jester. Since Knights are unique cards, no-one gains anything when a Jester reveals one.


9

The Procession rules state: If you Procession a Procession, you will play one Action twice, trash it, gain an Action card costing more, then play another Action twice, trash it, gain an Action card costing more, then trash the Procession and gain an Action costing more than it. There is no reason to assume that Throne Rooming a Procession would ...


9

The cost of Spoils is 0. When you 'gain(s)' a card, unless it specifically names a card not in the supply, you can only choose for cards from the supply. Copper, Curse, and Ruins (when playing with them) are in the supply and cost 0. Making all valid choices for cards that can be gained when Swindler trashes Spoils. ...


8

Nothing happens at all. There's a (likely unofficial) rules clarification on Ambassador's Dominion Strategy wiki: If you reveal a card which is not in the Supply, such as Spoils, Madman, Mercenary, or Shelters, Ambassador does nothing. The same article also quotes an official FAQ clarification: If the pile for the chosen card runs out, some ...


8

It gives you the coin when you play it. You just don't use it until the buy phase. This is really a case of "do what it says on the card, in the order it says it", what you called "top to bottom" in your question. It's true that a lot of people tally up their coin at the start of the buy phase, but that's just because it's when they care about it, not ...


7

Dominion cards are always processed from the top down: To play an Action, the player takes an Action card from his hand and lays it face-up in his play area. He announces which card he is playing and follows the instructions written on that card from top to bottom. -- Base rules PDF However, "when you trash" cards interrupt the existing ...


6

If Dame Jospheine is revealed, she is a Victory card,so that triggers the first text on Jester, and the player owning her gets a Curse.


6

The strategies used against Cultist and Marauder, the two offensive Ruins-giving cards, are similar to the strategies used against Curse-givers in other sets. Ruins are not quite as bad as Curses, since the cards have a little bit of utility and don't carry a VP penalty. That said: Dark Ages has lots of light trashing to help you handle both unwanted ...


6

This is the best I can find, which seems to be a definitive answer. The text in the Dark Ages rulebook is enlightening (page 7): In rare circumstances an effect may try to move a card that is not where that effect expects the card to be. In those cases, the card does not move - the effect has "lost track" of the card. Losing track of a card ...


6

The cards are trashed at the same time, so if you are trashing Market Square, you would not be allowed to discard Market Square for its effect also. You choose all the cards you want to trash, and then trash them at the same time; you don't trash them one-by-one. This matters for interactions with Dark Ages cards with on-trash abilities. Dominion ...


5

The drawing (from trashing rats) happens first. The cards you draw are the unrevealed cards.


4

In sum, +4 actions and +3 cards. When you first return madman, it is not in your hand anymore, hence you cannot return it the second time or trash it after that. Why: See the rules, page 7: In rare circumstances an effect may try to move a card that is not where that effect expects the card to be. In those cases the card does not move - the effect has ...


4

Colin is right, the Dark Ages rule book says: " If Rats is trashed, you draw a card. This happens whether it is your turn or another player's, and regardless of which player has the card that trashed Rats." Also from the Original rule book: “Reveal” – when a player reveals a card, he shows a card to all players and then returns it to wherever it came from ...


2

You can't gain a gold by trashing Market Square, only by discarding it. Once you've trashed it you can't then discard it. Consequently you can't gain a gold by using Chapel to trash it and another card. The only way I can see to trash the Market Square and use its ability is by discarding it, reshuffling, picking it up again and then trashing it. This ...


1

Regardless of whether you throne room your procession, or procession your throne room, you'll play the bridge and village twice if you play them. Some key things to note: If you Throne Room first you will play Procession twice, trashing both the village (getting a 4 cost) and bridge ( getting a printed 5 cost card, see below.) If you Procession the throne ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible