Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

31

Short answer: You do the "one at a time" option as you described. Long answer: This case is precisely identical to the more common question of using Throne Room on a Throne Room, as the two cards are worded identically except for the number and a "you may". The official Dominion rules PDF says: You completely resolve playing the Action the first time ...


27

Just because you trashed the coppers doesn't mean you haven't earned the coins for that turn (and can spend them). Their value to you is accrued when you play them. Per the Prosperity rules you must play all treasures you want to use, before you buy cards. The rules for Mint state: If you buy multiple cards in a turn, trash your Treasures right when ...


23

From the Prosperity rulebook: If only Kingdom cards from Prosperity are being used this game, then the Platinum and Colony piles are added to the Basic cards in the Supply for the game. If a mix of Kingdom cards from Prosperity and other sets are being used, then the inclusion of Platinum and Colony in the Supply should be determined randomly, based on the ...


19

I see two benefits to this: First, it's helping you cycle through your deck quickly, which is almost always a good thing. Theoretically, your discard pile should contain new cards that make your deck stronger, so you want to get to shuffling them in as soon as possible. Second, though you don't mention it, Loan gives you the option of trashing the ...


19

The official rules for 5-6 players in Dominion is outlined in the Dominion: Intrigue rulebook, as it requires the extra treasure and Province cards included with that expansion. To set up for 5 or 6 players, combine the Treasure cards from Dominion and Dominion: Intrigue. Use 15 Provinces in the Supply for a 5-player game and 18 Provinces in the Supply ...


18

Almost never. A first turn Mint wrecks your economy, and being able to buy good cards on turns 3 and 4 is really important in order to not fall behind your opponent. Mint/Fool's Gold is an elite opening because it allows you to get a massive density of Fool's Gold in your deck quickly. Mint/Lighthouse is acceptable, especially if there are lots of attacks, ...


17

You get $3 now, and next turn as well. The Seaside rules contain this blurb on page 4 that clarifies most such situations: If you play or modify a Duration card with another card, that other card also stays in your play area until it is no longer doing anything. For example if you play Throne Room on Merchant Ship, both cards stay in play until the ...


16

I got a 3,000 card box from the local gaming store and then printed off a cardstock set of tab dividers from Board Game Geek (I use the Sumpfork tabs). All cards go alphabetically instead of by set, except for the cards common to all games. Prizes are stored with Tournament, because that's the only scenario in which you would need them. To simplify setup of ...


15

That's fine. From the Dominion rules: The cost of a card is in its lower left corner. The player may play some or all of the Treasure cards from his hand to his play area and add to their value the coins provided by Action cards played this turn. The player may then gain any card in the Supply of equal or lesser value. He takes the purchased card from its ...


13

Yes, you can. The card you get from Mine is definitely gained, therefore you can react to it with Watchtower and put it on your deck (or trash it!) if you like. There's not usually much reason to do so, but the cards don't actually conflict - you can use them both in this manner if you really want to.


12

I would not recommend any one card set to teach all the important rules from each expansion. That may be too much. For brand new beginners, I recommend the "Big Money" set from the first game. I use this before the one recommended by the base set rules ("First Play"?) because it teaches the trade off between money and actions. First Play is really a ...


12

Personally, my favorite expansion is Prosperity. My least favorite expansion is Alchemy. So, if I had to suggest an order, it would be: Prosperity, Dark Ages, Seaside, Intrigue, Hinterlands, Cornucopia, Guilds, Alchemy. Here are the major new things in each set: Intrigue New Mechanic: Multi-type cards (ex. Action – Victory) Actions tends to be ...


12

No. Technically, you play all treasure cards you want to use before entering at the beginning of your buy phase, after which point you cannot play more cards. If you have played any copper, you cannot buy Grand Market, and if you have already bought Grand Market you are into your buy phase already and cannot play any coppers. The pseudo-exception is in the ...


11

I already answered this here. And the other answers on that page are very good, but specific to Intrigue. If you have a friend you always play with who is getting Intrigue, I would get Seaside first. If not, get Intrigue first.


11

Beginners in Dominion suffer from the same cognitive problem that beginners in Magic the Gathering do: they only see how much a card costs in terms of what they spent on it. They don't notice another cost, that it takes up space in their deck. When people start playing Magic they think "Wow! An Ornithopters costs 0 mana to cast? I'll put 4 in my deck!". ...


11

No. A passed card is not considered a gained card. From the Intrigue rulebook: “Pass” – when a player passes a card to another player, he places that card face down on the table between himself and the other player. The receiving player then takes the card from the table and puts it in his hand. A passed card is not revealed to the other players. A ...


11

This is explained in the Intrigue rules Conspirator – You evaluate whether or not Conspirator gives you +1 Card and +1 Action when you play it. If later in the turn you play more Action cards, you do not go back and reevaluate a Conspirator played earlier. For the purposes of counting actions, if you Throne Room an Action, that's one Action ...


10

Yes From the Prosperity rules pg. 5: Watchtower - ... If a gained card is going somewhere other than to your discard pile, such as a card gained with Mine (from Dominion), you can still use Watchtower to trash it or put it on your deck. I think it's great that Dominion always includes blurbs in their rules for each card. They seem to ...


10

Peddler is a market without the +Buy. It would have been an unremarkable card if not for its unique price. The standard price is $8, which is the priciest action in the game, but you never really want to buy it at that cost. The below-the-line part reads: During your Buy phase, this costs $2 less per Action card you have in play, but not less than ...


9

More supply piles tend to go in 5 or 6 player games. Cards that synergize with themselves tend to get bought out quickly - like Caravan, Treasure Map, and Laboratory. Extra buys also seem to increase the rate at which Kingdom cards get bought out. Terminal actions (ones that do not give you +1 Action) tend to get bought less frequently, as each player ...


9

I've actually seem some rather nice setups for storing Dominion cards on BoardGameGeek. The standard I've seen is using card dividers and storing the cards in one of the original boxes with the insert removed. Here are a few of the examples I've seen of what that looks like. One Game box containing multiple sets: Example Picture 1, 2, 3 and 4 ...


9

No, you do not have to buy a card. You are free to use the power of Loan or any other treasure played during your turn. There is no obligation to buy anything just because you used the power of a treasure. From the rulebook pg7, emphasis mine: The player may play some or all of the Treasure cards from his hand to his play area and add to their ...


8

Personally, I like that goons opens up the possibility of winning without buying green cards as well as the possibility to have monstrous turns when you've stacked a few goons. But fun is subjective, if it's not fun for a subset of the players in your group, it is simply not fun for them. While attacks usually get meaner in Dominion games with more ...


8

One common mistake people make is picking up a Hoard right away, and then buying a Duchy (or even Estate) to get the extra Gold. When you do that, you have added 3 cards to your deck, for a total of $5 money. That's less money-per-card than just a Silver gives you! Each time you buy a Duchy and get a Gold, you're adding 2 cards for $3 money... again, worse ...


7

"one at a time" is correct. There's really nothing confusing about this or any card if you just read it simply and literally without adding any made up external ideas. You may choose an Action card in your hand. Play it three times So I play a King's Court. It says I may choose an action card, so I do. The card I choose is King's Court. I play it ...


7

I'd suggest avoid extra actions for the first game... Only use Throne Room/Expand if you have no +1 action cards, and don't use any +2 action cards. Combos can be fun, but they can both extend the length of the game, and are harder to grasp for a newbie, often leaving them wondering why their turns are always short and boring while yours take forever.


7

Buy hoard when you plan to buy victory cards early or often. Hoard is a great card to pick up if there are victory cards in the kingdom cards that interest you. Don't buy it when you think the game will end with you just having your share of provinces/colonies. These are expensive, meaning you will need the extra $1 from the gold. also, you will likely buy ...


6

Yes Mine says you are gaining a card. Watchtower says you can reveal the Watchtower from your hand and either trash or put the gained card on your deck. Found a game log reference on councilroom.com showing this exact situation: bandito plays a Mine. ... trashing a Copper. ... gaining a Silver in hand. ... ... revealing a Watchtower and putting the ...


5

If Mandarin is also available, buying Mandarin/Mint with you turns of 5 buy is sometimes worth it, as the +3coins from the Mandarin mean you can easily get a silver and start minting silver and gold (or other special treasures) Now dark ages is out there is another good Mint Combo, Mint/Squire. Squire gets you cash and a silver, which is better than any ...


4

I pulled the insert from one box, and put each set of 10 cards into a snack sized ziplock. My dominion box holds Dominion and Intrigue this way; I could probably fit a third if I got more card-sized baggies. Since this makes for easily grabbed sleeved cardsets, I can simply random grab-n-go for play.



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible