Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

17

You get $3 now, and next turn as well. The Seaside rules contain this blurb on page 4 that clarifies most such situations: If you play or modify a Duration card with another card, that other card also stays in your play area until it is no longer doing anything. For example if you play Throne Room on Merchant Ship, both cards stay in play until the ...


16

I got a 3,000 card box from the local gaming store and then printed off a cardstock set of tab dividers from Board Game Geek (I use the Sumpfork tabs). All cards go alphabetically instead of by set, except for the cards common to all games. Prizes are stored with Tournament, because that's the only scenario in which you would need them. To simplify setup of ...


15

This is really an answer to a broader question, but I think a fair way to break down the various Dominion boxes would be: Base: Build a powerful deck. Stack actions, and build up to buying Provinces. Intrigue: Change the rules of the game. Swap cards. Make cards cost less than normal. Make Coppers worth more. Victory cards double as actions or treasures. ...


14

Intrigue generally has nastier attack cards than Base does, and you really need to avoid getting hit by them or at least learn how to deal with their fallout. The three major attacks are: Saboteur: This is the only card in the game that can force you to trash a Colony or Province (and not get one back). Swindler: This allows your opponent to force you ...


13

No, cards Set Aside cards are not In Play The Seaside Rules states rather specifically on page 4 that set aside cards are not in play, only played cards are. In play cards are those you have played - not those set aside, trashed, or discarded. Nor are they cards in your hand, deck, supply or discard piles. (page4, sidebar) “In play” -- Action ...


12

I would not recommend any one card set to teach all the important rules from each expansion. That may be too much. For brand new beginners, I recommend the "Big Money" set from the first game. I use this before the one recommended by the base set rules ("First Play"?) because it teaches the trade off between money and actions. First Play is really a ...


12

Personally, my favorite expansion is Prosperity. My least favorite expansion is Alchemy. So, if I had to suggest an order, it would be: Prosperity, Dark Ages, Seaside, Intrigue, Hinterlands, Cornucopia, Guilds, Alchemy. Here are the major new things in each set: Intrigue New Mechanic: Multi-type cards (ex. Action – Victory) Actions tends to be ...


11

I already answered this here. And the other answers on that page are very good, but specific to Intrigue. If you have a friend you always play with who is getting Intrigue, I would get Seaside first. If not, get Intrigue first.


10

I've actually seem some rather nice setups for storing Dominion cards on BoardGameGeek. The standard I've seen is using card dividers and storing the cards in one of the original boxes with the insert removed. Here are a few of the examples I've seen of what that looks like. One Game box containing multiple sets: Example Picture 1, 2, 3 and 4 ...


10

Your opponent should have drawn the extra cards on the next turn (the bonus one awarded by Outpost). From the Seaside rules, about Outpost: If you play Outpost as well as a "Now and at the start of your next turn" card, such as Merchant Ship, the turn from Outpost will be that next turn, so you'll get those coins then. I think you can replace ...


9

Nothing happens at all. There's a (likely unofficial) rules clarification on Ambassador's Dominion Strategy wiki: If you reveal a card which is not in the Supply, such as Spoils, Madman, Mercenary, or Shelters, Ambassador does nothing. The same article also quotes an official FAQ clarification: If the pile for the chosen card runs out, some ...


8

I feel like the biggest difference between the Base set and Intrigue is that Intrigue focuses a lot more on action combos instead of big money with action augmentation. In the Base game, action chaining is a great way to get the most out of your turn because it allows you to stack money and buys from action cards, as well as gets you a lot of draws to see a ...


7

You play the first, performing its action of trashing itself and the second Treasure Map and gain 4 golds. You can't continue to play the second Treasure Map since it's no longer in your hand. You also can't use Throne Room to gain more than 4 golds since the text states "If you do trash", and you can only trash a card once (I also tested on isotropic to ...


7

No, The single Treasure map will get trashed first before you can Scheme it. From the Seaside rules: Treasure Map - You can play this without another Treasure Map in your hand; if you do, you trash this and gain nothing. Scheme reads: At the start of Clean-up this turn, you may choose an Action card you have in play. If you discard it from play ...


7

You allude to this, but I think a key in Intrigue is knowing which cards interact with each other. There are a lot of ways this is important: Identifying which Kingdom cards can mitigate the effects of the Attack cards your opponent bought Finding ways to use two terminal actions in the same turn by supplementing them with +Action cards (for example, ...


7

I'd suggest avoid extra actions for the first game... Only use Throne Room/Expand if you have no +1 action cards, and don't use any +2 action cards. Combos can be fun, but they can both extend the length of the game, and are harder to grasp for a newbie, often leaving them wondering why their turns are always short and boring while yours take forever.


6

The turn Outpost is referring to is "this one", the Possession turn. Outpost doesn't really care what turn it was played on. So during the clean-up phase of the Possession turn, the possessed player will draw 3 cards instead of 5, and immediately take their Outpost turn. At the end of the Outpost turn, the originally possessed player will draw 5 cards as ...


6

A very similar question was posed on DominionStrategy.com (although now of course I can't find the link to the specific discussion). The thread was about paradoxes in which you aren't required by the rules to reveal your hand, but then your opponent couldn't verify that you in fact followed the directions on the card. The Treasure Map scenario was one of the ...


6

I certainly agree. For the hand playing it, Lookout is a dead card. Since you're considering a Big Money (BM) strategy, the natural comparison is against Silver. The first time you play it, if you're lucky, you remove a single dead card from your deck (an Estate), you're back to where you started, and you had to play with a 4-card hand that, had you had a ...


5

No. It's pretty simple - you don't play the Lighthouse, so it's never In Play. You set it aside in a special area that isn't the play area.


4

I pulled the insert from one box, and put each set of 10 cards into a snack sized ziplock. My dominion box holds Dominion and Intrigue this way; I could probably fit a third if I got more card-sized baggies. Since this makes for easily grabbed sleeved cardsets, I can simply random grab-n-go for play.


4

You don't lose the Coin tokens on your Pirate Ship Mat when you use them in your buy. I think the clue is in the fact that the rules refers to them as "Coin tokens", not just "Coins". Confusion between them and coins is understandable, but basically they're something completely different: the tokens only serve as a reminder of how many Coins you receive ...


4

No. If you set aside a Lighthouse (reaction text: While this is in play, when another player plays an Attack card, it doesn't affect you) with an Island, which card did you play? Not the Lighthouse, the Island! The Lighthouse never enters play on that turn. The Island doesn't stay "in play" either, it is set aside (analogous to Exile if you play Magic). At ...


4

Note that the cards say "at the start of your next turn". So you must obey the text literally; you do what it says "at the start", which means before you do anything else. If you played multiple Duration cards last turn, so that you have multiple "at the start of your next turn" things to do, you choose the order in which to do them, though there are not any ...


3

Go here for the divider cards for all the sets: http://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/73412/double-sided-horizontal-dividers-for-dominion-hint and for the perfect carrying case that you see in the first links picture: go to http://www.sciplus.com/p/STOREITALL-BOX_4254 - the STORE IT ALL BOX with removable dividers. We currently have the cards to: Dominion, ...


3

Others have answered how each expansion changes the game and what different behavior/strategies exist, so I'll comment on suggested order to buy expansions. Subjective/situational aspects I think it depends a lot on personal preference, whether you know anyone else with the game or intend to buy the game and how much money you want to spend. Personal ...


3

Lookout + Smithy would work better. There is little point using Lookout with no other action cards, as the +1 action is what makes lookout a good card. Generally "Big Money" means not buying any action cards, and Big Money + X means buying 1 of the X card, e.g. Big Money + Smithy. Big Money + Lookout and no other action cards therefore isn't a very good ...


3

If there are tons of attacks, sure, it's pretty useful. But setting aside the defense (which often isn't relevant), the coin it provides isn't really terribly powerful, so no, it's not at all overpowered. It's basically a copper that gives you one more coin the next turn. In order to get that extra coin you had to add a copper to your deck - the turn you ...


2

Lighthouse only provides $2 per time you play it: $1 this turn, and $1 the next. This is comparable to the $2 from a Silver. In some ways it is problematic: having the $2 be split across two turns is usually worse than having it in one spike; and it can be "drawn dead" with a card like Smithy. Also, Lighthouse shares the common disadvantage to Duration cards ...


1

The effects of duration cards happen first. Only after resolving these effects can you begin to take actions.



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible